Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Clifford Stanley Phillips

In memory of
Flying Officer
Clifford Stanley Phillips
May 13, 1944

Military Service:

Service Number:
J/28259
Age:
25
Force:
Air Force
Unit:
Royal Canadian Air Force
Division:
426 Squadron

Additional Information:

Clifford Stanley Phillips was born October 5, 1918 in Valparaiso, Saskatchewan. He was the second youngest of five children born to Wareham and Mary Phillips, both of whom had emigrated from England. Clifford attended school in town, completing Grade 10, and then worked fulltime on the family farm until he joined the RCAF May 20, 1942 in Saskatoon. For hobbies, he enjoyed mechanics, building and flying model planes, and playing hockey and softball. He married Evelyn McFarland of Tisdale, Saskatchewan on February 27, 1943.

Clifford had aspirations of becoming a pilot. Following a brief period of pilot training, he completed the Air Observers (bomb aimers) Course and received his wings in July 1943. He disembarked in the U.K. the following August. Clifford was the bomb aimer on the mission. He was posthumously awarded the Croix de Guerre 1940 with Palm (Belgium) in July 1948.

Commemorated on Page 417 of the Second World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information:

Cemetery:
GERAARDSBERGEN (GRAMMONT) COMMUNAL CEMETERY , Belgium
Grave Reference:
Joint grave 4.
Location:
The town of Geraardsbergen is located south of the town of Aalst on the N42. From the motorway E40/A10, which runs between Oostende and Brussels, turn off at junction 17 onto the N42, direction Geraardsbergen. Follow this road to the town of Geraardsbergen and the junction with the N493. Turn right onto the N493, direction Parike, and the cemetery is along here on the right. The graves are located towards the centre of the cemetery.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • 426 Squadron and the Halifax LW682
  • Biography
  • Newspaper Clipping – From the Saskatoon Star-Phoenix. Submitted for the project, Operation: Picture Me

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email
VAC.CVWM-MVGC.ACC@vac-acc.gc.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Clifford Stanley Phillips

En mémoire

Lieutenant d'aviation Clifford Stanley Phillips

13 mai 1944

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

J/28259

Âge :

25

Force :

Aviation militaire

Unité :

Royal Canadian Air Force

Division :

426 Squadron

Renseignements additionnels


Clifford Stanley Phillips est né le 5 octobre 1918 à Valparaiso, en Saskatchewan. Il était l'avant-dernier d'une famille de cinq enfants. Son père s'appelait Wareham et sa mère, Mary, tous deux de Grande-Bretagne. Clifford fréquenta l'école municipale (il termina sa dixième année) et travailla ensuite à temps plein sur la ferme familiale jusqu'à son enrôlement dans le CARC, le 20 mai 1942, à Saskatoon. Clifford avait divers passe-temps : la mécanique, la construction et le pilotage de modèles d'avion réduits, le hockey et le softball. Le 27 février 1943, il épousa Evelyn McFarland, de Tisdale, en Saskatchewan.

Clifford espérait devenir pilote. Après une courte période d'entraînement de pilote, il termina le cours d'observation aérienne (bombardiers d'aviation), et reçut son insigne en juillet 1943. Il débarqua au Royaume-Uni au mois d'août suivant. Clifford était bombardier d'aviation lors de la mission. Il reçut la Croix de Guerre de 1940 avec palme (Belgique) à titre posthume, en juillet 1948.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 417 du Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :

CIMETIÈRE COMMUNAL DE GERAARDSBERGEN (GRAMMONT)
Belgique

Information sur la sépulture :

Joint grave 4.

Emplacement :

La ville de Geraardsbergen est située au sud de la ville d'Aalst au bord de la N42. On doit prendre l'autoroute E401A10 qui relie Oostende et Bruxelles et tourner à l'intersection 17 qui mène à la N42 en direction de Geraardspbergen. Suivez cette route jusqu'à la ville de Geraardsbergen et jusqu'à l'intersectio qui mène à la N493. Tournez à droite pour emprunter la N493 en direction de Parike. Le cimetière se trouve le long de cette route du côté droit. On retrouve les sépultures vers le milieu du cimetière.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Photo de CLIFFORD STANLEY PHILLIPS
  • Document
  • lettre
  • lettre
  • Document
  • Biographie
  • Coupure de presse
  • Le 426e Escadron et le Halifax LW 682
  • Monument
  • Monument
  • Monument

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :