Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Andrew Willard Long

In memory of:

Private Andrew Willard Long

January 19, 1919

Military Service


Service Number:

192129

Age:

25

Force:

Army

Unit:

Canadian Army Medical Corps

Division:

1st Field Amb

Additional Information


Born:

December 24, 1893

Son of Mrs. Mary A. Long, of Montreal, Quebec.

Commemorated on Page 537 of the First World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:
Grave Reference:

X. 9. 12.

Location:

BRUSSELS TOWN CEMETERY is located in the north east corner of Brussels in the district of Evere. Follow the E40 Brussels-Luik road in the direction of Brussels and leave at junction 19 signposted Woluwe and Evere. Follow the sign Evere to the right and continue 500 M along the Avenue des Communautes to the first set of traffic lights. Go straight ahead here and down the Avenue Ciceron to turn left around the roundabout at the bottom of the road. The entrance to the BRUSSELS TOWN CEMETERY is then on your right. Follow the main avenue through the cemetery as far as you can go and the Commission plot is on your left.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Sherbrooke Monument– Cover of the original program distributed at the unveiling of the Sherbrooke WWI memorial on November 7th, 1926, and two images of the monument.   The monument was designed by Mr. G. W. Hill of Montreal, Quebec with bronze figures cast in Belgium and granite from the Stanstead district.  The bronze Memorial tablet lists 249 names.
  • Gravemarker
  • Cap Badge– Cap Badge 92nd Bn (48th Highlanders of Canada).  Private Long enlisted in the 92nd Bn but was transferred to 1st Field Ambulance CAMC as a reinforcement.  Submitted by Capt (ret'd) V.Goldman, 15th Bn Memorial Project Team.  DILEAS GU BRATH
  • Cap Badge– Cap badge Canadian Army Medical Corps.  Pte Long   originally enlisted in the 92nd Bn but was sent to the CAMC  as a reinforcement.  Submitted by Capt (ret’d) V. Goldman,  15th Bn Memorial Project Team.  DILEAS GU BRATH

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Andrew Willard Long

En mémoire

Soldat Andrew Willard Long

19 janvier 1919

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

192129

Âge :

25

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Service de santé de l'armée canadienne

Division :

1st Field Amb

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 24 décembre 1893

Fils de Mme Mary A. Long, de Montréal, Québec.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 537 du Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :
Information sur la sépulture :

X. 9. 12.

Emplacement :

Le CIMETIÈRE DE LA VILLE DE BRUXELLES est situé dans la partie nord-est de Bruxelles dans la commune d'Evere. Suivez la route Bruxelles-Liège E40 en direction de Bruxelles et prenez la sortie 19 annonçant Woluwe et Evere. Suivez les indications vers Evere à la droite et parcourez 500 mètres le long de l'avenue des Communautés jusqu'aux premiers feux de circulation. Continuez tout droit ici, descendez l'avenue Cicéron et tournez à gauche près du rond-point en bas de la rue. L'entrée du CIMETIÈRE DE LA VILLE DE BRUXELLES est alors à votre droite. Suivez la voie principale à travers le cimetière aussi loin que possible et le lot de la Commission est à votre gauche.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Monument de Sherbrooke – Couverture du programme original distribuée lors du dévoilement du monument commémoratif de la Première Guerre mondiale de Sherbrooke le 7 novembre 1926 et deux images du monument. Le monument a été conçu par M. G.W. Hill de Montréal (Québec) dont les figures de bronze ont été coulées en Belgique et le granite provient du district de Stanstead. La tablette commémorative de bronze énumère 249 noms.
  • Pierre tombale
  • Insigne de Casquette
  • Insigne de Casquette

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :