Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Ralph Bostwick Raymond

In memory of
Sergeant
Ralph Bostwick Raymond
April 9, 1917

Military Service:

Service Number:
69839
Age:
31
Force:
Army
Unit:
Canadian Infantry (New Brunswick Regiment)
Division:
26th Bn.

Additional Information:

Son of John and Charlotte Raymond, of Norton, King's Co., New Brunswick.

Commemorated on Page 313 of the First World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information:

Cemetery:
ECOIVRES MILITARY CEMETERY ; Pas de Calais, France
Grave Reference:
VI. C. 29.
Location:
Mont St Eloi is a village in the Department of the Pas-de-Calais, 8 kilometres north-west of Arras. The village stands on high ground overlooking the battlefields of Vimy and Souchez and the main Bethune-Arras road, and the ruined towers that rise from it were used as an observation post during the French attacks at Neuville-St Vaast and Givenchy in May 1915. Ecoivres is a hamlet lying at the foot of the hill, to the south-west and about 1.5 kilometres from Mont St Eloi on the Arras-St Pol line. The ECOIVRES MILITARY CEMETERY is on the D49 road.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Essay – Belle Isle Regional High School - 'Lest We Forget - Springfield, New Brunswick'

In the Spring of 2008, the Grade 11 Modern History students at Belle Isle Regional High School completed biographies for eighteen First World War soldiers.  Their assignment was part of the ¿Lest We Forget¿ project initiated by Blake Seward, a history teacher, in Smiths Falls, Ontario.

The students researched individuals from Norton, New Brunswick who died while serving in the First World War.  There are 44 names listed on the local cenotaph, Riverbank Memorial and it is their intention to continue this project until students have completed biographies on all the individuals listed.  Their teacher, Stephen Wilson, then intends to research the soldiers from the Second World War.
  • Essay
  • Essay
  • Hampton Remembers
  • Hampton Remembers Biography
  • Hampton Remembers Biography
  • Hampton Remembers Biography
  • Photo of Ralph Raymond – This picture was in my Grandmother , Helen S. Raymond's photo album.  On the back she had written ""Died in the last great war.  Gave his live for his country and his remains were not allowed to be brought home."

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email
VAC.CVWM-MVGC.ACC@vac-acc.gc.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Ralph Bostwick Raymond

En mémoire

Sergent Ralph Bostwick Raymond

9 avril 1917

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

69839

Âge :

31

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Canadian Infantry (New Brunswick Regiment)

Division :

26th Bn.

Renseignements additionnels


Fils de John et Charlotte Raymond, de Norton, comté de Kings, Nouveau-Brunswick.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 313 du Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :

CIMETIÈRE MILITAIRE D'ÉCOIVRES
Pas de Calais France

Information sur la sépulture :

VI. C. 29.

Emplacement :

Mont-Saint-Éloi est un village du département du Pas-de-Calais situé à 8 kilomètres au nord-ouest d'Arras. Le village surplombe les champs de bataille de Vimy et de Souchez ainsi que la route principale qui mène de Béthune à Arras. Les tours en ruine qu'on peut apercevoir servaient de postes d'observation pendant les attaques françaises qui se sont déroulées à Neuville-Saint-Vaast et à Givenchy en mai 1915. Écoivres est un hameau au pied de la colline, à 1,5 kilomètre au sud-ouest de Mont-Saint-Éloi, sur la ligne Arras-Saint-Pol. Le cimetière se trouve sur la route D49.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Essai – École secondaire Belle Isle Regional High School - « Souvenons-nous - Springfield, Nouveau-Brunswick »

Au printemps 2008, les élèves du cours d¿histoire moderne de 11e année à l¿École secondaire régionale Belle Isle ont rédigé les biographies de dix-huit soldats de la Première Guerre mondiale. Leur devoir faisait partie du projet « Souvenons-nous » introduit par Blake Seward, un professeur d¿histoire, à Smith Falls, Ontario.

Les élèves ont fait des recherches sur des originaires de Norton, Nouveau-Brunswick, qui sont décédés alors qu¿ils servaient pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. 44 noms sont inscrits sur le cénotaphe local, le Monument commémoratif de Riverbank. L¿école a l¿intention de continuer ce projet jusqu¿à ce qu¿on ait rédigé les biographies de tous les soldats dont les noms figurent sur la liste. Le professeur d¿histoire moderne, Stephen Wilson, a alors l¿intention de commencer les recherches sur les soldats de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Victimes de la Première Guerre mondiale
  • Essai
  • Essai
  • Hampton se souvient
  • Biographie
  • Biographie
  • Biographie
  • Photo de Ralph Raymond

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :