Language selection

Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Thomas Henry Colbourne

In memory of:

Private Thomas Henry Colbourne

February 23, 1951

Military Service


Service Number:

C850399

Age:

23

Force:

Army

Unit:

Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry, R.C.I.C.

Division:

2nd Battalion

Citation(s):

Canadian Volunteer Service Medal, War Medal 1939-1945, Canadian Volunteer Service Medal for Korea and United Nations Service Medal.

Additional Information


Born:

August 9, 1927
Ottawa, Ontario

Enlistment:

August 15, 1950
Ottawa, Ontario

Son of Thomas Henry and Delia (née Riopelle) Colbourne. Brother of George, John and Joan (twins), Gerald, Mary Diana and Rita. He attended St. Anthony`s Separate School, Ottawa. He listing himself as single and stated he was employed as a labourer. He also had Second World War service serving as Pte under service number C-49043. He enlisted in Ottawa on 28 August 1944 and was demobilized on 9 October 1945. He was gainfully employed as a printer at the time. A Memorial erected by the Korean Veterans Association, National Capital Unit, commemorating the 516 Canadians who died in the Korean War will be unveiled and rededicated during Veterans Week 2003 at Ottawa City Hall Headquarters on Elgin Street.

Commemorated on the Wall of Remembrance.

Commemorated on Page 13 of the Korean War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:

UNITED NATIONS CEMETERY (BUSAN)
South Korea

Grave Reference:

Section 2, Row 1, Plot 44

Location:

The United Nations Cemetery is located in Tanggok, a suburb of Busan. The land for the cemetery was granted to the United Nations by the Republic of Korea as a tribute to all those who had laid down their lives in combatting aggression and in upholding peace and freedom. There are 2,267 servicemen buried in the United Nations Memorial Cemetery. Of these 1,538 were Commonwealth soldiers, including 376 Canadians.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Grave marker
  • Inscription– Inscription to the memory of THOMAS HENRY COLBOURNE on the family grave marker at Notre Dame Cemetery, Ottawa, Ontario.
  • Grave Marker– Grave Marker of Private Thomas Henry Colbourne's father, also named Thomas Henry Colburne,  who served in the First World War.  He signed one set of Attestation Papers at Niagara Camp on October 6, 1915 for the 37th Overseas Battalion.  He signed a second set of Attestation Papers in Ottawa on July 20, 1918 for the 2nd Depot Battalion.  He also served in the Veteran¿s Guard during the Second World War.
  • Attestation Papers– Private Thomas Henry Colbourne's father, also named Thomas Henry Colburne, served in the First World War.  He signed one set of Attestation Papers at Niagara Camp on October 6, 1915 for the 37th Overseas Battalion.  He signed a second set of Attestation Papers in Ottawa on July 20, 1918 for the 2nd Depot Battalion.  He also served in the Veteran's Guard during the Second World War.
  • Attestation Papers– Private Thomas Henry Colbourne's father, also named Thomas Henry Colburne, served in the First World War.  He signed one set of Attestation Papers at Niagara Camp on October 6, 1915 for the 37th Overseas Battalion.  He signed a second set of Attestation Papers in Ottawa on July 20, 1918 for the 2nd Depot Battalion.  He also served in the Veteran's Guard during the Second World War.
  • Attestation Papers– Private Thomas Henry Colbourne's father, also named Thomas Henry Colburne, served in the First World War.  He signed one set of Attestation Papers at Niagara Camp on October 6, 1915 for the 37th Overseas Battalion.  He signed a second set of Attestation Papers in Ottawa on July 20, 1918 for the 2nd Depot Battalion.  He also served in the Veteran¿s Guard during the Second World War.
  • Attestation Papers– Private Thomas Henry Colbourne's father, also named Thomas Henry Colburne, served in the First World War.  He signed one set of Attestation Papers at Niagara Camp on October 6, 1915 for the 37th Overseas Battalion.  He signed a second set of Attestation Papers in Ottawa on July 20, 1918 for the 2nd Depot Battalion.  He also served in the Veteran's Guard during the Second World War.
  • Memorial– National Capital Region Korean War Monument, Ottawa, Ontario
  • Inscription– Private THOMAS HENRY COLBOURNE is one of 21 soldiers whose names appear on this monument IN MEMORY OF THE CANADIANS WHO ENLISTED IN THE NATIONAL CAPITAL REGION AND MADE THE SUPREME SACRIFICE FOR THEIR COUNTRY 1950-1953 THE WAR IN KOREA, erected by the National Capital Unit of the Korea Veterans Association of Canada and the City of Ottawa.

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Thomas Henry Colbourne

En mémoire

Soldat Thomas Henry Colbourne

23 février 1951

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

C850399

Âge :

23

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry, R.C.I.C.

Division :

2nd Battalion

Mention(s) élogieuse(s) :

Médaille canadienne du volontaire, Médaille de la guerre 1939-45, Médaille canadienne du volontaire (Corée), Médaille du service des Nations Unies.

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 9 août 1927
Ottawa, Ontario

Enrôlement :

le 15 août 1950
Ottawa, Ontario

Fils de Thomas Henry et Delia (née Riopelle) Colbourne. Frère de George, John et Joan (jumeaux), Gerald, Mary Diana et Rita. Il a fréquenté l'école séparée St. Anthony's, à Ottawa. Manoeuvre de profession, il était célibataire. Il a également servi comme soldat (matricule C-49043) durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il s'est enrôlé le 28 août 1944, à Ottawa, et a été démobilisé le 9 octobre 1945. À l'époque, il était employé comme imprimeur. Un monument commémoratif érigé par l'Association canadienne des vétérans de la Corée, unité de la capitale nationale, et perpétuant le souvenir des 516 Canadiens qui ont perdu la vie au cours de la guerre de Corée sera dévoilé et inauguré officiellement au cours de la Semaine des anciens combattants 2003 à l'hôtel de ville d'Ottawa, rue Elgin.

Commémoré sur le Mur du souvenir.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 13 du Livre du Souvenir de la Guerre de Corée. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :

CIMETIÈRE COMMÉMORATIF DES NATIONS UNIES (BUSAN)
Corée du Sud

Information sur la sépulture :

Section 2, Row 1, Plot 44

Emplacement :

Le cimetière commémoratif des nations unies est situé à Tanggok, en banlieue de Busan. Le terrain du cimetière fut cédé aux Nations Unies par la République de Corée en guise de reconnaissance envers tous ceux qui avaient donné leur vie pour combattre un acte d'agression et rétablir la paix et la liberté. Il y a 2,267 militaires d'inhumés dans le cimetière commémoratif des Nations Unies. De ce nombre, 1,558 sont des soldats du Commonwealth, dont 376 sont des Canadiens.

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Pierre tombale
  • Inscription – Inscription à la mémoire de THOMAS HENRY COLBOURNE sur la pierre tombale familiale au cimetière Notre-Dame à Ottawa (Ontario).
  • Pierre tombale
  • Feuille d'engagement – Pierre tombale du père du Soldat Thomas Henry Colbourne, également appelé Thomas Henry Colbourne, qui a servi pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Il a signé des documents d'engagement à Niagara Camp le 6 octobre 1915 pour le 37e Overseas Battalion. Il en a signé d'autres à Ottawa le 20 juillet 1918 pour le 2e Depot Battalion. Il a également servi dans la garde territoriale des anciens combattants pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.
  • Feuille d'engagement – Pierre tombale du père du Soldat Thomas Henry Colbourne, également appelé Thomas Henry Colbourne, qui a servi pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Il a signé des documents d'engagement à Niagara Camp le 6 octobre 1915 pour le 37e Overseas Battalion. Il en a signé d'autres à Ottawa le 20 juillet 1918 pour le 2e Depot Battalion. Il a également servi dans la garde territoriale des anciens combattants pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.
  • Feuille d'engagement – Pierre tombale du père du Soldat Thomas Henry Colbourne, également appelé Thomas Henry Colbourne, qui a servi pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Il a signé des documents d'engagement à Niagara Camp le 6 octobre 1915 pour le 37e Overseas Battalion. Il en a signé d'autres à Ottawa le 20 juillet 1918 pour le 2e Depot Battalion. Il a également servi dans la garde territoriale des anciens combattants pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.
  • Feuille d'engagement – Pierre tombale du père du Soldat Thomas Henry Colbourne, également appelé Thomas Henry Colbourne, qui a servi pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Il a signé des documents d'engagement à Niagara Camp le 6 octobre 1915 pour le 37e Overseas Battalion. Il en a signé d'autres à Ottawa le 20 juillet 1918 pour le 2e Depot Battalion. Il a également servi dans la garde territoriale des anciens combattants pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.
  • Mémorial
  • Inscription

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :