Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Marc Daniel Léger

In memory of
Sergeant
Marc Daniel Léger
April 17, 2002
Kandahar, Afghanistan

Military Service:

Age:
29
Force:
Army
Unit:
Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry
Division:
3rd Battalion
Citation(s):
Sacrifice Medal (Posthumous)

Additional Information:

Born:
March 26, 1973 Lancaster, Ontario
Enlistment:
March 3, 1991 Ottawa, Ontario

Son of Richard and Claire Léger (2005 National Memorial (Silver) Cross Mother) of Stittsville, Ontario. Husband of Marley (née McIntyre) Léger of Edmonton, Alberta. Brother of Sophie and Albert. Grandson of Alice Léger of Lancaster, Ontario.

He enrolled in the Primary Reserve of the Canadian Armed Forces in March 1991 as a member of the Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry Highlanders. The Glengarry High School of Alexandria graduate subsequently transferred to the Regular Force in February 1993 and became a member of the Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry (PPCLI).

Following completion of the PPCLI Battle School he was posted to the Regiment's First Battalion where he served as a rifleman. He was posted to the Third Battalion in 1996 and served with the unit for three tours in the former Yugoslavia (Bosnia-Herzegovina). He was promoted acting sergeant in January 2002. In February 2002, he was deployed to Afghanistan with the 3 PPCLI Battle Group as part of Operation Apollo, Canada's commitment to the international campaign against terrorism. He was parachute qualified and was awarded the South West Asia Medal and the United States Bronze Star posthumously.

Sergeant Léger received a Deputy Chief of Defence Staff Commendation for demonstrating initiative and compassion in dealing with displaced persons and returnees in the Livno Valley in Bosnia-Herzegovina. He had also served as a volunteer firefighter with the Lancaster Joint Fire Department and assisted with the Habitat for Humanity project.

Commemorated on Page 213 of the In the Service of Canada Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information:

Cemetery:
LANCASTER (ST. JOSEPH'S) ROMAN CATHOLIC CEMETERY ; Ontario, Canada
Grave Reference:
N/A

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Personal sketch of fallen comrade
  • Photo of Marc Leger
  • Marc Leger - Photo 2
  • Photo collage – Photo collage by Mr. Ken Wilson.
  • Last Respects – Members of the 3rd Battalion Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry (3 PPCLI) Battle Group pay their last respects aboard a United States Air Force C 17 aircraft to four of their fallen comrades, who were killed in a training accident near Kandahar, Afghanistan. The accident victims were Canadian Forces members serving with the 3 PPCLI Battle Group based out of Edmonton, Alberta. Photo by: Cpl Lou Penney, 3 PPCLI Battle Group
  • OP Apollo plaque – OP Apollo plaque commemorating Sgt. Marc D. Léger, Cpl. Ainsworth Dyer, Pte. Richard Green, Pte. Nathan L. Smith
  • Memorial – Chief Warrant Officer Steve Bartlett, Task Force Afghanistan's Regimental 
Sergeant Major takes time to reflect on the fallen. A consecration ceremony was held of the Memorial dedicated to those Canadians who gave their lives in the service of peace while serving in Afghanistan. This Memorial was 
originally consecrated in November 2003 at Camp Julien, Kabul. The closure of Camp Julien in November 2005 necessitated the move of the Memorial to its present location at Kandahar Airfield, Afghanistan.  Photo taken on February 21, 2006 by: Master Corporal Ken Fenner, Task Force Afghanistan Photographer
  • Grave Marker

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email
VAC.CVWM-MVGC.ACC@vac-acc.gc.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Marc Daniel Léger

En mémoire

Sergent Marc Daniel Léger

17 avril 2002

Kandahar, Afghanistan

Service militaire


Âge :

29

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry

Division :

3rd Battalion

Mention(s) élogieuse(s) :

La Médaille du sacrifice (posthume)

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 26 mars 1973
Lancaster, Ontario

Enrôlement :

le 3 mars 1991
Ottawa, Ontario

Fils de Richard et Claire Léger (La Mère de la Croix du Souvenir (Croix d’argent) de 2005) de Stittsville, Ontario. Époux de Marley (née McIntyre) Léger de Edmonton, Alberta. Frère de Sophie et Albert. Petit-fils de Alice Léger de Lancaster, Ontario.

Il s’est enrôlé dans la réserve primaire des Forces armées canadiennes en mars 1991 avec les Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry Highlanders. Gradué de l’école Glengarry High School d’Alexandria, il s’est ensuite joint à la Force régulière en février 1993 avec le Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry (PPCLI).

Suite à sa formation à l’école de combat avec le PPCLI, il a été affecté au 1er Bataillon de son régiment comme carabinier. En 1996, il a été affecté au 3e Bataillon et a pris part à trois rotations en ex-Yougoslavie (Bosnie-Herzégovine). Il fut promu sergent intérimaire en janvier 2002 et a été déployé en Afghanistan en février avec le 3e groupement tactique du PPCLI au cours de l’Opération Apollo, l’engagement du Canada dans la campagne internationale contre le terrorisme. Le Sergent Léger était un parachutiste qualifié. Il a été décoré de la médaille du Sud-ouest de l’Asie ainsi que de la Médaille de l’étoile de bronze des États-Unis à titre posthume.

Le Sergent Léger a reçu la mention élogieuse du Sous-chef d'état-major de la Défense pour son initiative et sa compassion dans la gestion d’une situation impliquant des personnes déplacées et des rescapés dans la vallée de Livno en Bosnie-Herzégovine. Il a aussi été pompier volontaire avec le Lancaster Joint Fire Department et a apporté son aide à l’organisme Habitat pour l’humanité.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 213 du Livre du Souvenir 'Au service du Canada'. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :

CIMETIÈRE CATHOLIQUE DE LANCASTER (ST. JOSEPH'S)
Ontario Canada

Information sur la sépulture :

N/A

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Mémorial
  • Photo de Marc Leger
  • Marc Leger - 2e photo
  • Collage des photos – Collage des photos par M. Ken Wilson.
  • Dernier respects – Des membres du Groupement tactique du 3e Bataillon du Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry (3 PPCLI) présentent leurs dernier respects à leurs camarades à bord d'un avion C-17 des Forces Aériennes des Etats-Unis, ils sont morts lors d'un exercice d'entraînement près de Kandahar en Afghanistan. Les victimes de l¿accident étaient membres du Groupement tactique du 3e Bataillon du Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry (3 PPCLI) basé à Edmonton en Alberta.  Photo par: Cpl Lou Penney, groupement tactique du 3 PPCLI
  • Plaque OP d'Apollo
  • Monument
  • Pierre Tombale

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :