Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

George F.G. Stanley Memorial

Hidden photo gallery

  • inscription
    (Click for more images)
  • Part of Stanley's March 23, 1964, letter to MP John Matheson, showing Canadian flag concept. The letter pre-dates the official announcement of a search for a new flag by almost two months.
  • Note by MP John Matheson, Dec. 15, 1964, House of Commons voted in favour of the new Canadian flag

Municipality/Province: Sackville, NB

Memorial Number: 13002-035

Type: Granite

Address: 66 Main Street

Location: Sackville Public Library

GPS Coordinates: Lat: 45.8961289   Long: -64.3696128

Submitted By: Victoria Edwards

The George F.G. Stanley Memorial was erected by the Town of Sackville and unveiled on Canada Day, 1 July, 1995. The memorial honours his many contributions to the Town of Sackville, the Province of New Brunswick and to Canada. George suggested the design for the Canadian Flag, which was officially inaugurated on February 15, 1965. The date now celebrated annually as National Flag of Canada Day.

A letter, dated March 23, 1964, was written by George Stanley, an eminent Canadian historian and Dean of Arts at the Royal Military College in Kingston. He suggested the Royal Military College's red-white-red design as a good basis for a distinctive Canadian flag. Dr. Stanley's letter was addressed to John Matheson, a Liberal MP from Brockville, who had emerged as then-Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson's pointman on the Government's issue: the promised adoption of a new and distinctive national flag.

"The single leaf has the virtue of simplicity," Stanley wrote. "It emphasizes the distinctive Canadian symbol and suggests the idea of loyalty to a single country."

"If the flag is to be a unifying symbol, it must avoid the use of national or racial symbols that are of a divisive nature."

George served in the Second World War, joined a team of military historians headed up by Charles Perry Stacey, and retired in 1946 as Deputy Director of the army's historical section. He was Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick from 1982 to 1987. For 10 years (1982-92) he was Honorary Colonel of the Royal New Brunswick Regiment. In 1976, he was awarded the Order of Canada and in 1995 he was promoted to the rank of Companion within the Order.

There is also an Honourable George Stanley Sculpture.

Add or Update Memorial Information


Inscription found on memorial

ERECTED BY
THE TOWN OF SACKVILLE
TO COMMEMORATE
THE DESIGNER
OF THE CANADIAN FLAG
GEORGE F.G. STANLEY
C.C., C.D., K.St.J., D.Phil., LL.D.,
FORMER LIEUTENANT-GOVERNOR OF NEW
BRUNSWICK, PROFESSOR, HISTORIAN
SECOND WORLD WAR VETERAN AND FOR
MANY YEARS, CITIZEN OF SACKVILLE,
IN RECOGNITION OF HIS CONTRIBUTION
TO OUR TOWN, PROVINCE AND COUNTRY.
JULY 1, 1995.

Street View

Note

This information is provided by contributors and Veterans Affairs Canada makes it available as a service to the public. Veterans Affairs Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the information.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Monument commémoratif George F.G. Stanley

Hidden photo gallery

  • inscription
    (Cliquez pour images supplémentaires)
  • Partie de la lettre de Stanley datée du 23 mars 1964 au député John Matheson, montrant le concept du drapeau canadien. La lettre précède de près de deux mois l’annonce officielle concernant la recherche d’un nouveau drapeau.
  • Note du député John Matheson, le 15 décembre 1964, à l’effet que la Chambre des communes a voté en faveur du nouveau drapeau canadien.

Ville/Province : Sackville, NB

Numéro du monument : 13002-035

Type : Granit

Adresse : 66, rue Main

Lieu : Bibliothèque publique de Sackville

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 45.8961289   Long: -64.3696128

Soumis par : Victoria Edwards

Le monument commémoratif George F.G. Stanley a été érigé par la ville de Sackville. Il a été dévoilé le jour de la fête du Canada, le 1er juillet 1995. Le monument commémoratif rend hommage aux nombreuses contributions de George F.G. Stanley à la Ville de Sackville, à la province du Nouveau-Brunswick et au Canada. George a proposé son concept du drapeau canadien, qui a été officiellement inauguré le 15 février 1965. Cette date est désormais célébrée chaque année comme le Jour du drapeau national du Canada.

George Stanley, éminent historien canadien et doyen des Arts du Collège militaire royal de Kingston, a écrit une lettre en date du 23 mars 1964 dans laquelle il y proposait d’utiliser le concept rouge-blanc-rouge du Collège militaire royal comme bon fondement pour la création d’un drapeau canadien distinctif. La lettre du Dr Stanley était adressée à John Matheson, député libéral de Brockville, lequel était l’homme clé du premier ministre de l’époque, Lester B. Pearson, concernant cet enjeu gouvernemental, soit l’adoption promise d’un nouveau drapeau national distinctif.

« La feuille unique a la vertu de la simplicité », a écrit M. Stanley. « Elle met en valeur le symbole canadien distinctif et suggère l’idée de loyauté envers un seul pays. »

« Si le drapeau doit être un symbole d’unification, il doit éviter l’utilisation de symboles nationaux ou raciaux qui sont de nature à diviser. »

George, qui a servi pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, est devenu une aide précieuse pour Charles Perry Stacey. Il a pris sa retraite en 1946, alors qu’il occupait le poste de directeur adjoint de la section historique de l’armée. Il a été lieutenant-gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick de 1982 à 1987. Pendant 10 ans (1982-1992), il a été colonel honoraire du Royal New Brunswick Regiment. En 1976, il s’est vu décerner l’Ordre du Canada et, en 1995, il a été nommé au rang de compagnon de l’Ordre.

 

Il y a également une sculpture de l’honorable George Stanley.

Ajouter ou mettre à jour l’information


Inscription sur le mémorial

ERECTED BY
THE TOWN OF SACKVILLE
TO COMMEMORATE
THE DESIGNER
OF THE CANADIAN FLAG
GEORGE F.G. STANLEY
C.C., C.D., K.St.J., D.Phil., LL.D.,
FORMER LIEUTENANT-GOVERNOR OF NEW
BRUNSWICK, PROFESSOR, HISTORIAN
SECOND WORLD WAR VETERAN AND FOR
MANY YEARS, CITIZEN OF SACKVILLE,
IN RECOGNITION OF HIS CONTRIBUTION
TO OUR TOWN, PROVINCE AND COUNTRY.
JULY 1, 1995.

Vue sur la rue

Les cartes pourraient être disponibles en anglais seulement.

Note

Ces renseignements sont fournis par des collaborateurs. Anciens Combattants Canada fournit ces renseignements à titre de service au public. Anciens Combattants Canada ne peut garantir l’exactitude, la fiabilité ou l’actualité du contenu.

Date de modification :