Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Oromocto LAV III Afghanistan Memorial

Hidden photo gallery

  • Participants at the June 22nd, 2016 Dedication Ceremony
    (Click for more images)
  • LAV III Commemorative Plaque
  • LAV III - Crew Commander Side
  • LAV III - Driver Side

Municipality/Province: Oromocto, NB

Memorial Number: 13004-077

Type: Canada Company LAV III Monument

Address: Intersection of Broad Road and MacDonald Avenue

Location: Next to Cenotaph

GPS Coordinates: Lat: 45.85088   Long: -66.47474

This LAV III Monument honours the members of our Canadian Armed Forces who served to protect our way of life and freedoms during the post 9/11 war on terror in Afghanistan from 2001 to 2014.

During their 12+ years in Afghanistan our troops were regularly confronted with enemy fire, suicide bombers and Improvised Explosive Devices (IEDs). The Canadian made LAV IIIs’ superior technology offered a great defense and soon became relied upon to protect our troops and preserve lives during the conduct of a variety of missions to help restore peace and government to the people of Afghanistan.

The LAV III became a "home away from home" for many soldiers and now it has returned to our hometown in the form of a memorial to say “thank you” to these very troops for their efforts and sacrifices. This monument - located next to the municipal cenotaph - will provide our citizens a place to pay tribute to our modern-day veterans of Afghanistan and to ensure that our local Fallen Heroes of that conflict will be forever remembered.

 

Add or Update Memorial Information


Inscription found on memorial

In recognition and memory of the efforts of approximately 40,000 Canadian Armed Forces personnel who served and the 162 Canadians who died in the cause of bringing peace and freedom to the people of Afghanistan.

Canada Company

 

En mémoire et en reconnaissance des efforts des quelque 40 000 membres des Forces armées canadiennes qui ont servi en Afghanistan et des 162 Canadiens qui sont morts pour la cause de la paix et de la liberté du peuple afghan.

La Compagnie Canada

Street View

Note

This information is provided by contributors and Veterans Affairs Canada makes it available as a service to the public. Veterans Affairs Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the information.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

VLB III commémoratif de la guerre en Afghanistan à Oromocto

Hidden photo gallery

Ville/Province : Oromocto, NB

Numéro du monument : 13004-077

Type : Monument du véhicule léger blindé III (VLB III) de la Compagnie Canada

Adresse : Intersection du chemin Broad et de l’avenue MacDonald

Lieu : À côté du cénotaphe

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 45.85088   Long: -66.47474

Ce monument du VLB III rend hommage aux membres des Forces armées canadiennes qui ont servi afin de protéger notre mode de vie et nos libertés pendant la guerre au terrorisme qui a suivi les événements du 11 septembre, de 2001 à 2014. 

Pendant plus de 12 années passées en Afghanistan, nos troupes ont été confrontées régulièrement aux tirs ennemis, aux kamikazes, et aux engins explosifs improvisés (IED). La technologie supérieure du VLB III, fabriqué au Canada, offrait une grande protection et on a vite compté sur cette technologie pour protéger nos troupes et préserver des vies pendant différentes missions visant à rétablir la paix et à établir un gouvernement pour les habitants de l’Afghanistan.

Le VLB III est devenu un « second foyer » pour beaucoup de soldats et il est maintenant de retour dans notre ville sous forme de monument pour dire « merci » à ces mêmes troupes pour leur travail et leurs sacrifices. Ce monument, situé à côté du cénotaphe municipal, sera pour nos citoyens un lieu pour rendre hommage à nos vétérans de l’Afghanistan et on pourra ainsi s’assurer que l’on se souvient toujours des héros de notre région morts au combat lors de ce conflit. 

 

Ajouter ou mettre à jour l’information


Inscription sur le mémorial

In recognition and memory of the efforts of approximately 40,000 Canadian Armed Forces personnel who served and the 162 Canadians who died in the cause of bringing peace and freedom to the people of Afghanistan.

Canada Company

 

En mémoire et en reconnaissance des efforts des quelque 40 000 membres des Forces armées canadiennes qui ont servi en Afghanistan et des 162 Canadiens qui sont morts pour la cause de la paix et de la liberté du peuple afghan.

La Compagnie Canada

Vue sur la rue

Les cartes pourraient être disponibles en anglais seulement.

Note

Ces renseignements sont fournis par des collaborateurs. Anciens Combattants Canada fournit ces renseignements à titre de service au public. Anciens Combattants Canada ne peut garantir l’exactitude, la fiabilité ou l’actualité du contenu.

Date de modification :