Language selection

Soldiers Monument

Hidden photo gallery

  • front
    (Click for more images)
  • back
  • front details
  • right side
  • Unveiling, July 6, 1903.

Municipality/Province: Charlottetown, PE

Memorial Number: 11003-012

Type: Bronze statue and granite shaft

Address: Richmond Street

GPS Coordinates: Lat: 46.2350627   Long: -63.1256971

Contributor: Sgt. G.E. Gallant

In October 1900, as the first Island contingent was sailing home, a group of Islanders decided there must be a monument to commemorate their heroic efforts. Prominent Charlottetown citizens struck a committee, chaired by Premier Donald Farquhar, a site was chosen on the south side of Queen Square, and in January 1901, a memorial was selected: an elaborate bronze statue with two figures to represent "Life and Death in Victory."

Subscriptions from Charlottetown citizens netted over $2,000.00 and a fund-raising campaign through Island schools raised close to $200.00. Provincial and city governments responded with a combined $900.00 in grants. A play, Zephra, was held with all proceeds going towards the statue, but all their efforts were not enough. By July 1901, the committee conceded that "life and Death in Victory" was too expensive.

By that time, the committee had received a proposal from Hamilton McCarthy, R.C.A., an Ottawa sculptor of note, whose work is found across Canada (Ottawa and Nova Scotia contain his work commemorating those who fought in South Africa). On October 11, the committee agreed on McCarthy’s submission.

The design for the statue, at a cost of $4,000, was a single figure defending a dismantled gun with his bayonet at the charge, his beardless face wearing an expression characteristic of a soldier of the Royal Canadian Regiment. The site was changed from directly in front of Province House to partway between that building and the Law Courts. Commemorative bronze tablets, designed by L. W. Watson (who also composed the music for "The Island Hymn"), were placed one the north and south sides of the pedestal, which was completed in June 1902 by local craftsman E. F. Purdy.

McCarthy was to complete the monument by July 1, 1902, but after lengthy delays at the founders, the Henry Bonnard Co. of New York, the hollow bronze statue was shipped to Prince Edward Island the following May. The Soldiers Monument was unveiled on July 6, 1903, in memory of Prince Edward Islanders killed in the South African War - Roland Taylor and Alfred Riggs.

On July 6, 2003, the monument was rededicated to all Islanders who volunteered to join the Prince Edward Island South Africa contingents and who served with the Royal Canadian Regiment from 1899 to 1902.

Add or Update Memorial Information


Inscription found on memorial

[front/devant]

TO THE MEN OF THE
ROYAL CANADIAN REGIMENT
WHO BY THEIR VALOUR AND EFFICIENCY
HAVE MADE MANIFEST TO THE WORLD
CANADA'S ABILITY AND WILLINGNESS TO SHARE
WITH THE MOTHERLAND THE DUTIES
AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF EMPIRE.
THIS MONUMENT IS DEDICATED
BY THEIR GRATEFUL COUNTRYMEN

[back/arrière]

PAARDEBERG
ROLAND TAYLOR, FEB. 18
ALFRED RIGGS, FEB. 27
1900

Street View

Note

This information is provided by contributors and Veterans Affairs Canada makes it available as a service to the public. Veterans Affairs Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the information.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Monument aux soldats

Hidden photo gallery

  • devant
    (Cliquez pour images supplémentaires)
  • arrière
  • détails du devant
  • côté droit
  • Inauguration, le 6 juillet 1903.

Ville/Province : Charlottetown, PE

Numéro du monument : 11003-012

Type : Statue en bronze et socle en granit

Adresse : Rue Richmond

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 46.2350627   Long: -63.1256971

Collaborateur : Sgt. G.E. Gallant

En octobre 1900, alors que le premier contingent de soldats de l’Île était sur le retour, un groupe d’habitants de l’Île décida qu’il fallait un monument pour commémorer leurs efforts héroïques. D’éminents citoyens de Charlottetown formèrent un comité, présidé par le premier ministre Donald Farquhar. Un site fut retenu sur le côté sud de Queen Square et, en janvier 1901, un monument commémoratif fut choisi : une statue de bronze élaborée avec deux figures représentant « la vie et la mort dans la victoire ».

Les souscriptions des citoyens de Charlottetown permirent de récolter plus de 2 000 $, et une campagne de collecte de fonds par le biais des écoles de l’Île permit de réunir près de 200 $. Les gouvernements provinciaux et municipaux répondirent par des subventions dont le total s’élevait à 900 $. Une pièce de théâtre, « Zephra », fut jouée, dont tous les bénéfices furent consacrés à la statue, mais tous ces efforts ne suffisaient pas. En juillet 1901, le comité reconnut que « la vie et la mort dans la victoire » était un projet trop cher.

Entretemps, le comité avait reçu une proposition de Hamilton McCarthy, un sculpteur réputé d’Ottawa, dont les œuvres se trouvent partout au Canada (notamment celles en l’honneur des combattants d’Afrique du Sud, à Ottawa et en Nouvelle-Écosse). Le 11 octobre, le comité s’est mis d’accord sur la proposition de M. McCarthy.

La statue, au prix de 4 000 $, représentait un personnage unique défendant un canon démonté en chargeant à la baïonnette, son visage imberbe portant une expression caractéristique d’un soldat du Royal Canadian Regiment. L’emplacement choisi fut changé, à savoir non plus directement en face de l’Assemblée législative de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, mais à mi-chemin entre ce bâtiment et le Palais de justice. Des plaques commémoratives en bronze, conçues par L. W. Watson (qui a également composé la musique de « The Island Hymn »), ont été placées sur les faces nord et sud du piédestal, qui fut achevé en juin 1902 par l’artisan local E. F. Purdy.

McCarthy devait terminer le monument avant le 1er juillet 1902, mais après de longs délais chez les fondeurs (l’entreprise Henry Bonnard Co. de New York), la statue de bronze creux fut expédiée à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard au mois de mai suivant. Le monument aux soldats fut inauguré le 6 juillet 1903 à la mémoire des habitants de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard tués pendant la guerre d’Afrique du Sud : Roland Taylor et Alfred Riggs.

Le 6 juillet 2003, le monument a été dédié de nouveau à tous les insulaires qui se sont portés volontaires pour rejoindre les contingents de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard en Afrique du Sud et qui ont servi dans le Royal Canadian Regiment de 1899 à 1902.

Ajouter ou mettre à jour l’information


Inscription sur le mémorial

[front/devant]

TO THE MEN OF THE
ROYAL CANADIAN REGIMENT
WHO BY THEIR VALOUR AND EFFICIENCY
HAVE MADE MANIFEST TO THE WORLD
CANADA'S ABILITY AND WILLINGNESS TO SHARE
WITH THE MOTHERLAND THE DUTIES
AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF EMPIRE.
THIS MONUMENT IS DEDICATED
BY THEIR GRATEFUL COUNTRYMEN

[back/arrière]

PAARDEBERG
ROLAND TAYLOR, FEB. 18
ALFRED RIGGS, FEB. 27
1900

Vue sur la rue

Les cartes pourraient être disponibles en anglais seulement.

Note

Ces renseignements sont fournis par des collaborateurs. Anciens Combattants Canada fournit ces renseignements à titre de service au public. Anciens Combattants Canada ne peut garantir l’exactitude, la fiabilité ou l’actualité du contenu.

Date de modification :