Passchendaele Canadian Memorial

Passchendaele Canadian Memorial

On the slopes overlooking the peaceful fields that today carpet the valley of the Ravebeek, this Canadian Battlefield Memorial marks the site of Crest Farm, where Canadian soldiers encountered some of the fiercest resistance they were to meet during the war. A large block of Canadian granite set in a grove of maple trees and encircled with a low hedge of holly carries the inscription:

THE CANADIAN CORPS IN OCT.- NOV. 1917 ADVANCED ACROSS THIS VALLEY - THEN A TREACHEROUS MORASS - CAPTURED AND HELD THE PASSCHENDAELE RIDGE

From the centre of the memorial grounds one can see, down a long avenue of trees, the rebuilt spires of Ypres.

Passchendaele, Fall 1917

Following the victory at Vimy, the Canadians continued operations in the Arras area to divert attention from the French front and to conceal from the Germans the planned offensive in Flanders. In the Battle of Hill 70, August 15-25, Canadian forces captured this strategic position on the northern approach to the city of Lens and secured the western part of the city. The fighting here cost the Canadian Corps 9,198 casualties. However, considerable ground was gained and the battle hampered enemy plans to send fresh troops to Flanders.

To the south the French offensive in Lorraine under General Nivelle was an unmitigated disaster. With losses in the neighbourhood of 200,000 men, it precipitated a wave of mutinies that paralyzed the French army for months.

In July, the British commander Sir Douglas Haig launched his disastrous drive in Flanders designed to break through the front and capture the German submarine bases on the Belgian coast. The offensive had had a successful prelude at Messines in June, but this local success was followed by weeks of delay.

The second and main stage of the attack got under way with a tremendous artillery barrage that not only forewarned the Germans, but also ground the battlefield into potholes and dust. Summer rains poured down on the very night that the offensive began and in no time the area became an impassable swamp. As the British soldiers struggled in the morass, the Germans inflicted frightful casualties from lines fortified with machine guns placed in concrete pill boxes.

In the next four months at Ypres only negligible advances were made. Early in October, although the main objectives were still in German hands and the British forces were reaching the point of exhaustion, Haig determined on one more drive. The Canadian Corps was ordered to relieve the decimated Anzac forces in the Ypres sector and prepare for the capture of Passchendaele.

General Currie inspected the muddy battlefield and protested that the operation was impossible without heavy cost. He was overruled and so began careful and painstaking preparations for the assault. In a series of attacks beginning on October 26, 20,000 men under heavy fire inched their way from shell-crater to shell-crater. Then on October 30, with two British divisions, the Canadians began the assault on Passchendale itself. They gained the ruined outskirts of the village during a violent rainstorm and for five days they held on grimly, often waist-deep in mud and exposed to a hail of jagged iron from German shelling. On November 6, when reinforcements arrived, four-fifths of the attackers were dead. Currie's estimate of 16,000 casualties proved frighteningly accurate. Passchendaele had become a Canadian Calvary. The award of no fewer than nine Victoria Crosses testified to the heroic determination and skill with which Canadian soldiers played their part in the bitter struggle for Passchendaele.

Directions

Aerial view of Passchendaele Canadian Memorial

The Passchendaele Canadian Memorial is about 40 kms north of Lille, 16 kms east of Ypres, 25 kms west of Courtrai and 240 kms north of Paris. You can reach Ypres by train or by bus, the stations are side by side in the centre of the town. The Memorial is about 17 kms away from them. You can reach it by bus, direction Roulers (line 64A Roulers) and you should get off in the village of Passchendaele. The Memorial is about 800 metres from the bus stop. By taxi, which you can take from the stations, the cost is approximately €30 return. You can also rent a bike at the train station; which costs approximately €5 per day, €11 per week and €17 per month.

Note: The cost of a taxi is based on return trips without a waiting period. If you want the taxi to wait for you while you visit the site you will be charged €20 per hour. In Belgium, Ypres is Ieper, Roulers is Roeselare, Passchendaele is Passendale, Courtrai is Kortrijk and Lille is Rijsel.

If you are travelling by car, please follow the directions below:

Note: Speed limits in Belgium are 50 km/h in city limits and residential areas, usually 90 km/h on secondary roads (but it may vary in areas) and 120 km/h on the motorway. You should be aware of the priority on the right rule and the presence of cycle lanes (usually unmarked) running alongside the road and generally not separated from it.

From Paris or Charles de Gaulle Airport or Arras take the A1 motorway direction Lille. As you approach Lille you will take the N17 towards Roulers. Drive for about 22 kms and then take the A19 direction Ypres. Drive for about 10 kms and turn north on the N303. Drive for about 8 kms and you will arrive in the village of Passchendaele. Go southwest on Canadalaan (street) from the Church in the town centre; to access the Memorial follow the traditional black and white signs with a maple leaf. It should take you approximately 2 1/2 to 3 hours to reach the Memorial.

From Ypres take the N332 towards Zonnebeke. Continue on that road for approximately 8 kms and then turn north on the N303. Drive for another 8 kms and you will arrive in the village of Passchendaele. Go southwest from the church in the town centre; to access the Memorial follow the traditional black and white signs with a maple leaf. It should take you approximately 20 minutes to reach the Memorial.

From Lille you will take the N17 towards Roulers. Drive for about 22 kms and then take the A19 direction Ypres. Drive for about 10 kms and turn north on the N303. Drive for about 8 kms and you will arrive in the village of Passchendaele. Go southwest from the church in the town centre; to access the Memorial follow the traditional black and white signs with a maple leaf. It should take you approximately 50 minutes to reach the Memorial.

From Courtrai take the A19 and continue on this road for approximately 15 kms. Turn north on the N303. Drive for about 8 kms and you will arrive in the village of Passchendaele. Go southwest from the church in the town centre; to access the Memorial follow the traditional black and white signs with a maple leaf. It should take you approximately 40 minutes to reach the Memorial.

Date modified:

Mémorial canadien à Passchendaele

Mémorial canadien à Passchendaele

Sur les pentes surplombant les paisibles champs qui, aujourd'hui, forment la vallée de la Ravebeek, ce mémorial canadien de champ de bataille se dresse à l'endroit même de la « ferme de la crête » où les soldats canadiens se heurtèrent à l'une des plus violentes résistances qu'ils connaîtraient pendant la guerre. Un gros bloc de granit canadien, érigé dans un bosquet d'érables et entouré d'une basse haie de houx, porte cette inscription :

APRÈS AVOIR FRANCHI SOUS UN FEU MEURTRIER LA REDOUTABLE FONDRIÈRE QU'ÉTAIT ALORS CE VALLON, L'ARMÉE CANADIENNES' EMPARA DE CETTE CRÊTE ET S'Y MAINTINT OCTOBRE - NOVEMBRE 1917

Du centre de ce parc commémoratif, on peut voir la silhouette effilée du clocher rebâti de l'église d'Ypres, qui se détache au bout d'une longue allée d'arbres.

Passchendaele (automne de 1917)

Après la victoire à Vimy, les Canadiens continuèrent leurs opérations dans la région d'Arras pour détourner l'attention des Allemands du front français et de l'offensive projetée dans les Flandres. Au cours d'une bataille qui dura du 15 au 25 août, ils s'emparèrent de la côte 70, hauteur stratégique dominant l'approche nord de Lens, et protégèrent la partie ouest de la ville. Le Corps canadien perdit à cette occasion neuf mille cent quatre-vingt-dix-huit hommes. Cependant, il gagna énormément de terrain et contrecarra les plans de l'ennemi, qui prévoyait envoyer de nouvelles troupes dans les Flandres.

Plus au sud, l'offensive française déclenchée en Lorraine par le général Nivelle fut un véritable désastre. Perdant quelque deux cent mille hommes, l'armée française connut toute une série de mutineries qui la paralysèrent pendant des mois.

En juillet, sir Douglas Haig, commandant des forces britanniques, déclencha dans les Flandres son offensive, qui devait aussi tourner au désastre; son plan était d'effectuer une percée et de s'emparer des bases sous-marines aménagées par l'ennemi sur la côte belge. L'offensive avait eu un heureux prélude à Messines en juin, mais cette réussite locale fut suivie d'un retard de plusieurs semaines.

La seconde et véritable étape de l'offensive débuta par un bombardement d'artillerie d'une rare violence, qui non seulement alerta l'ennemi, mais aussi troua et pulvérisa le champ de bataille. Des pluies diluviennes tombées la nuit même transformèrent vite le terrain en un bourbier impraticable. Montant péniblement à l'assaut, les troupes britanniques se virent infliger des pertes effroyables par les mitrailleuses allemandes installées dans des casemates de béton.

Pendant les quatre mois suivants, les gains sur le front d'Ypres furent négligeables. Au début d'octobre, bien qu'aucun des principaux objectifs ne fût tombé et que les forces britanniques fussent au bord de l'épuisement, Haig décida de tenter une nouvelle attaque. Le Corps canadien reçut l'ordre de prendre la relève des forces décimées d'Anzac dans le secteur d'Ypres et de se préparer à prendre d'assaut Passchendaele.

Après avoir inspecté le terrain transformé en bourbier, le général Currie protesta auprès de Haig, estimant que c'était envoyer les hommes à la boucherie. Ses objections ne changèrent rien et l'attaque fut préparée avec le plus grand soin. Au cours d'une série d'assauts déclenchée le 26 octobre, vingt mille soldats pris sous un feu nourri avancèrent pouce par pouce, cratère par cratère. Puis, le 30 octobre, les Canadiens attaquèrent Passchendaele même, avec deux divisions britanniques. Ils atteignirent les abords dévastés du village par un violent orage et, cinq jours durant, tinrent ferme, souvent dans la boue jusqu'à la taille, sous une pluie d'obus. Le 6 novembre, lorsqu'arrivèrent des renforts, quatre assaillants sur cinq y avaient laissé la vie. En prévoyant seize mille pertes, Currie avait hélas vu juste. Les Canadiens avaient trouvé leur Golgotha à Passchendaele. Pas moins de neuf Croix de Victoria attestent la détermination héroïque et l'habileté avec lesquelles les soldats canadiens participèrent aux âpres combats de Passchendaele.

Indications routières

Vue aérienne du Mémorial canadien à Passchendaele

Le mémorial canadien à Passchendaele est situé à environ 40 km au nord de Lille, 16 km à l'est d'Ypres, 25 km à l'ouest de Courtrai et 240 km au nord de Paris. Vous pouvez vous rendre à Ypres en train ou en autobus. Les stations se situent l'une à côté de l'autre au centre de la ville. Le mémorial se situe à environ 17 km des stations. Vous pouvez vous y rendre en autobus en direction de Roulers (ligne 64A Roulers) et descendre à l'arrêt du village de Passchendaele. Le mémorial se trouve à environ 800 mètres de l'arrêt de l'autobus. Vous pouvez également vous y rendre en prenant un taxi à partir des stations, au coût d'environ €30 pour un voyage aller-retour. Vous pouvez également louer une bicyclette à la station de train à un coût approximatif de €5 par jour, €11 par semaine ou €17 par mois.

Nota : Le coût d'un taxi indiqué plus haut est basé sur un voyage aller-retour sans période d'attente. Si vous désirez que le taxi vous attende pendant que vous visitez le site, vous devrez payer €20 l'heure. En Belgique, Ypres est Ieper, Roulers est Roeselare, Passchendaele est Passendale, Courtrai est Kortrijk et Lille est Rijsel.

Si vous vous déplacez en auto, veuillez suivre les directions suivantes :

Nota : Les limites de vitesse en Belgique sont de 50 km/h dans les villes et les zones résidentielles, d'habitude de 90 km/h sur les routes secondaires (mais ceci varie à certains endroits) et de 120 km/h sur l'autoroute. Soyez au courant de la règle accordant la priorité à droite et de la présence des voies de cyclisme qui ne sont généralement pas marquées. Ces voies sont parallèles à la route et, souvent, elles ne sont pas séparées de la route.

À partir de Paris ou de l'aéroport Charles de Gaulle ou d'Arras, suivez l'autoroute A1 en direction de Lille. En vous rapprochant de Lille, vous prenez la N17 vers Roulers. Conduisez environ 22 km et prenez alors la A19 en direction d'Ypres. Conduisez environ 10 km et prenez la direction du nord sur la N303. Conduisez environ 8 km et vous arriverez au village de Passchendaele. À partir de l'église située au centre-ville, prenez la direction sud-ouest sur la rue Canadalaan; pour accéder au site du mémorial, suivez les panneaux traditionnels noir et blanc ornés d'une feuille d'érable. Cela vous prendra environ 2,5-3 heures pour vous rendre au mémorial.

À partir d'Ypres, suivez la N332 en direction de Zonnebeke. Continuez sur ce chemin pour environ 8 km, puis prenez la direction du nord sur la N303. Conduisez encore 8 km et vous arriverez au village de Passchendaele. Allez sud-ouest de l'eglise au centre du village. Afin d'accéder le mémorial, suivez les signaux traditionnels noirs et blancs avec une feuille d'érable. Cela vous prendra environ 20 minutes pour vous rendre au mémorial.

À partir de Lille, suivez la N17 en direction de Roulers. Conduisez environ 22 km et prenez alors la A19 en direction d'Ypres. Conduisez environ 10 km et prenez la direction du nord sur la N303. Conduisez environ 8 km et vous arriverez au village de Passchendaele. Allez sud-ouest de l'eglise au centre du village. Afin d'accéder le mémorial, suivez les signaux traditionnels noirs et blancs avec une feuille d'érable. Cela vous prendra environ 50 minutes pour vous rendre au mémorial.

À partir de Courtrai, suivez la A19 et continuez sur cette route pour environ 15 km. Tournez vers la N303 en direction du nord. Conduisez environ 8 km et vous arriverez au village de Passchendaele. Allez sud-ouest de l'eglise au centre du village. Afin d'accéder le mémorial, suivez les signaux traditionnels noirs et blancs avec une feuille d'érable. Cela vous prendra environ 40 minutes pour vous rendre au mémorial.

Monuments commémoratifs en Belgique

Date de modification :