The Tyne Cot Memorial

The Tyne Cot Memorial forms the northeastern boundary of Tyne Cot Cemetery, which is situated between Passchendaele (now known as Passendale) and Zonnebeke. The name "Tyne Cottages" or "Tyne Cotts" was given by the Northumberland Fusiliers to a group of German blockhouses, or pillboxes, situated near the level crossing on the Passchendaele-Broodseinde road. Three of these blockhouses still stand in the cemetery; the largest, which was captured on 4 October 1917 by the 3rd Australian Division, was chosen as the site for the Cross of Sacrifice by King George V during his pilgrimage to the cemeteries of the Western Front in Belgium and France in 1922.

The Tyne Cot Memorial.  Credit: Commonwealth War Graves Commission

The Tyne Cot Memorial. Credit: Commonwealth War Graves Commission

The Tyne Cot Cemetery is now the resting-place of nearly 12,000 soldiers of the Commonwealth Forces, the largest number of burials of any Commonwealth cemetery of either world war. It first came into being in October 1917 when one of the captured pillboxes was used as an Advanced Dressing Station, resulting in some 350 burials between then and the end of March 1918. The cemetery was much enlarged after the Armistice by the concentration of more than 11,500 graves from the battlefields of Passchendaele and Langemarck and from a few small burial grounds. The dates of death cover the four years from October 1914 to September 1918 inclusive. Unnamed graves in the cemetery number nearly 8,400, or 70% of the total, and the names of the unidentified soldiers who lie in them are inscribed on the Menin Gate and on the panels of the Memorial which stands to the rear of the cemetery.

The site of the Memorial is on high ground on the western slopes of the Passchendaele Ridge, from which the whole country to the English Channel lies open. It is in the middle of an agricultural district, with widely scattered farms and small villages. It represents the most desperate offensive fighting of the Commonwealth Armies in Belgium, as Ypres represents their most stubborn resistance, and it stands close to the farthest point in Belgium reached by Commonwealth arms in the First World War until the final advance to victory.

The Memorial, designed by Herbert Baker and with sculpture by F. V. Blundstone, is a semicircular flint wall 4.25 metres high and more than 150 metres long, faced with panels of Portland stone on which are carved nearly 35,000 names of those who have no known grave. There are three apses and two rotundas: the central apse forms the New Zealand Memorial and bears the names of nearly 1,200 officers and men who gave their lives in the Battle of Broodseinde and in the Third Battle of Ypres (Passchendaele) in October 1917; the other two, as well as the rotundas and the wall itself, carry the names of United Kingdom dead who fell in the Salient between the 15 August 1917, when the Battle of Langemarck began, and the Armistice, in the Third and Fourth Battles of Ypres. Two domed arched pavilions mark the ends of the main wall, each dome being surmounted by a winged female figure with head bowed over a wreath.

Directions

The Tyne Cot Memorial to the Missing, forms the north-eastern boundary of the Tyne Cot Cemetery. The cemetery is located nine kilometres north east of Ieper town centre, on the Tynecotstraat, a road leading from the Zonnebeekseweg (N332).

Memorials in Belgium

Date modified:

Monument commémoratif Tyne Cot

Le monument commémoratif Tyne Cot se trouve à la limite nord-est du cimetière Tyne Cot, lequel est situé entre Passchendaele (qui porte maintenant le nom de Passendale) et Zonnebeke. Des fusiliers de Northumberland ont donné le nom de « Tyne Cottages » ou « Tyne Cotts » à un groupe de blockhaus allemands ou casemates situés près du passage à niveau sur la route reliant Passchendaele à Broodseinde. Trois de ces fortins existent toujours dans le cimetière. Le plus gros, qui avait été pris par la troisième division australienne le 4 octobre 1917, a été choisi par le roi George V durant son pèlerinage aux cimetières du front ouest en Belgique et en France en 1922 pour y ériger la Croix du Sacrifice.

Monument commémoratif Tyne Cot.  Credit: Commonwealth War Graves Commission

Monument commémoratif Tyne Cot. Credit: Commonwealth War Graves Commission

Le cimetière Tyne Cot constitue la dernière demeure de près de 12 000 soldats des forces du Commonwealth et compte donc le plus grand nombre de sépultures de tous les cimetières du Commonwealth pour les deux guerres mondiales. Il a été créé en octobre 1917 lorsque l'un des blockhaus qui avaient été pris a été converti en poste de secours avancé. Quelque 350 personnes ont été enterrées entre cette date et la fin de mars 1918. Le cimetière s'est beaucoup agrandi après l'armistice lorsqu'on y a transporté la dépouille de plus de 11 500 combattants provenant des champs de bataille de Passchendaele et de Langemarck et de quelques petits lieux de sépulture. Les dates de décès s'étalent sur les quatre années comprises entre octobre 1914 et septembre 1918 inclusivement. Il y a près de 8 400 tombes sans nom dans le cimetière, ou 70 % du nombre total, et le nom des soldats non identifiés qui y reposent est inscrit sur le Portail Menin et sur les panneaux du monument commémoratif qui se trouve à l'arrière du cimetière.

Le monument est érigé en terrain surélevé sur le versant ouest de la crête de Passchendaele, d'où l'on voit toutes les terres qui s'étendent jusqu'à la Manche. Il est situé au milieu d'une région agricole avec des petits villages et des fermes très dispersés. Il symbolise l'offensive la plus désespérée des armées du Commonwealth en Belgique tandis qu'Ypres représente leur résistance la plus farouche. Il se trouve près du point le plus avancé qu'ont atteint les armées du Commonwealth en Belgique au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale jusqu'à leur progression finale vers la victoire.

Conçu par Herbert Baker et sculpté par F. V. Blundstone, le monument est un mur de silex en forme de demi-cercle de 4,25 mètres de haut sur plus de 150 mètres de long. À l'avant, il comporte des panneaux de pierre de Portland sur lesquels est gravé le nom de près de 35 000 personnes qui n'ont pas de tombe connue. Il comprend trois absides et deux rotondes. L'abside centrale forme le monument commémoratif de la Nouvelle Zélande et compte environ 1 200 noms d'officiers et d'hommes qui ont donné leur vie lors de la bataille de Broodseinde et de la troisième bataille d'Ypres (Passchendaele) en octobre 1917. Sur les deux autres absides, les rotondes et le mur lui-même est inscrit le nom des hommes du Royaume-Uni qui sont tombés dans le Salient entre le 15 août 1917, date où la bataille de Langemarck a éclaté, et l'armistice, lors des troisième et quatrième batailles d'Ypres. Les deux extrémités du mur principal forment des dômes voûtés, chacun étant surmonté d'une silhouette féminine ailée dont la tête est inclinée sur une couronne de fleurs.

Indications routières

Le Monument commémoratif Tyne Cot se trouve à la limite nord-est du cimetière Tyne Cot, à 9 km au nord-est du centre-ville d'Ypres, sur la Tynecotstraat, une route menant à Zonnebeekseweg (N332).

Monuments commémoratifs en Belgique

Date de modification :