Gueudecourt Newfoundland Memorial

Gueudecourt Newfoundland Memorial

Just north east of Gueudecourt is the Gueudecourt Newfoundland Memorial. The bronze caribou stag erected by the Newfoundland Government is clearly visible from the Albert-Bapaume-Cambrai road and stands in a small battlefield park on a low rise. It marks the spot where, in October 1916, the Newfoundlanders played a decisive role in the capture of a German strong-point named Rainbow Trench, thus wiping out the sting of Beaumont-Hamel.

The Battle of Le Transloy, 1916

The village of Gueudecourt lies five kilometres directly south of Bapaume. Here, on October 12, 1916, the Newfoundland Regiment made its heroic assault during the Battle of Le Transloy, one of the major battles of the Somme. Arriving from the north where it had spent 10 weeks in the Ypres Salient, the 88th Brigade, in which the Newfoundland Regiment was serving, was temporarily attached to the British 12th Division, which was holding Gueudecourt. By nightfall on October 10, the Newfoundlanders were manning a 450-metre section of the firing line on the northern outskirts of the village. The attack went in at 2:05 in the afternoon of the 12th, all four Newfoundland companies advancing in line with the 1st Essex Battalion on their left. So closely did the men keep up to the curtain of their artillery barrage that several became casualties from the shrapnel of their own supporting guns. In the front German trenches the defenders, compelled by the shelling to remain under cover, were quickly engaged in hand-to-hand fighting. By 2:30 p.m. both assaulting battalions of the 88th Brigade had secured their initial objective—Hilt Trench in the German front line.

As the Newfoundlanders advanced to their final objective, some 750 metres from their starting line, heavy machine-gun fire coming from the front and the right flank forced them back to Hilt Trench. On their left, a sharp German counter-attack drove the Essex Battalion back to the outskirts of Gueudecourt, leaving the Newfoundlanders with an open flank. Newfoundland bombing parties cleared and secured the vacated portion of Hilt Trench and with the Battalion's line suddenly doubled in length, all ranks began digging in the hard chalk to construct a new firing step and parapet and generally reverse the former German position.

In the late afternoon the expected counter-attack developed, but determined fire from the Newfoundlanders' rifles and Lewis guns drove off the enemy with costly losses. The position was held against further assaults and during the night, the arrival of a relieving battalion of the 8th Brigade enabled the weary defenders to hand over their responsibilities and go into reserve.

During the 55 hours that had elapsed since they had entered the trenches on October 10, the Newfoundland Regiment had suffered 239 casualties—of whom 120 had been killed or would die of wounds. But the Regiment had been one of the few units on the whole of the Fourth Army's front to capture and retain an objective. "The success," wrote the Brigade Commander later, "was all the more gratifying as it was the only real success recorded on that day."

Directions

Aerial view of Gueudecourt Newfoundland Memorial

The Gueudecourt Newfoundland Memorial is about 45 kms northeast of Amiens, 30 kms south of Arras and 135 kms north of Paris. You can reach Amiens by train or by bus and from there take a taxi to the Memorial. The trip to the Memorial is approximately €75 return. You can also take the train as far as Albert and from there take a taxi, the trip to the Memorial from Albert is approximately €44 return. You can also rent a bike at the train station; the cost is approximately €5 per day, €11 per week and €17 per month.

Note: The cost of a taxi is based on return trips without a waiting period. If you want the taxi to wait for you while you visit the site you will be charged € 17.90 per hour. Bus connections are difficult and there are not many of them in the rural areas of the department of the Somme.

If you are travelling by car, please follow the directions below:

Note: Speed limits in France are 50 km/h in city limits and residential areas (generally unmarked), usually 90 km /h on secondary roads (but it may vary in areas) and 130 km/h on the motorway. Motorists should be aware of the priority from the right rule.

From Paris or Charles de Gaulle Airport take the A1 motorway, direction Lille. Continue on this road for approximately 130 kms and take exit 14 for Bapaume; when in Bapaume follow directions for Albert D929. In the community of Le Sars, turn south on the D11 and drive for about 6 kms. Once in the village of Gueudecourt, follow D11 (D74E) direction Beaulencourt. The Memorial is 1 km beyond Gueudecourt on your right. It should take you approximately 1½ hours to reach the Memorial.

From Amiens take the D929, direction Bapaume and drive for about 40 kms. In the community of Le Sars, turn south on the D11 and drive for about 6 kms. Once in the village of Gueudecourt, follow D11 (D74E), direction Beaulencourt. The Memorial is 1 km beyond Gueudecourt on your right. It should take you approximately 45 minutes to reach the Memorial.

From Arras take the A1 motorway, direction Paris. Continue on this road for approximately 25 kms. Take exit 14 for Bapaume; when in Bapaume follow directions for Albert D929. In the community of Le Sars, turn south on the D11 and drive for about 6 kms. Once in the village of Gueudecourt, follow D11 (D74E), direction Beaulencourt. The Memorial is 1 km beyond Gueudecourt on your right. It should take you approximately 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 hours to reach the Memorial.

From Calais take the A26 and continue on this road for approximately 130 kms. Turn south on the A1 towards Paris and drive for about 25 kms. Take exit 14 for Bapaume, when in Bapaume; follow directions for Albert D929. In the community of Le Sars, turn south on the D11 and drive for about 6 kms. Once in the village of Gueudecourt, follow D11 (D74E), direction Beaulencourt. The Memorial is 1 km beyond Gueudecourt on your right. It should take you approximately 2 hours to reach the Memorial.

From Lille take the A1 direction Paris. Continue on this road for approximately 70 kms. Take exit 14 for Bapaume, when in Bapaume follow directions for Albert D929. In the community of Le Sars, turn south on the D11 and drive for about 6 kms. Once in the village of Gueudecourt, follow D11 (D74E), direction Beaulencourt. The Memorial is 1 km beyond Gueudecourt on your right. It should take you approximately 45 minutes to 1 hour to reach the Memorial.

Date modified:

Mémorial terre-neuvien à Gueudecourt

Mémorial terre-neuvien à Gueudecourt

Le mémorial terre-neuvien à Gueudecourt est situé juste au nord-est de Gueudecourt. On peut facilement voir, de la route Albert-Bapaume-Cambrai, le caribou mâle en bronze que le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve a érigé sur un monticule dans un petit parc de champ de bataille. Ce monument marque l'endroit où, en octobre 1916, les Terre-Neuviens jouèrent un rôle décisif dans la prise d'une place d'armes allemande appelée la tranchée Rainbow, rachetant ainsi la cuisante défaite à Beaumont-Hamel.

La bataille du Transloy (1916)

Le village de Gueudecourt est à cinq kilomètres directement au sud de Bapaume. C'est là que, le 12 octobre 1916, le Newfoundland Regiment déclencha son assaut héroïque pendant la bataille du Transloy, une des plus importantes batailles de la Somme.

À son arrivée du nord, où elle avait passé dix semaines au saillant d'Ypres, la 88e Brigade, dans laquelle servait le Newfoundland Regiment, fut temporairement attachée à la 12e Division britannique, qui occupait Gueudecourt. Le 10 octobre, à la tombée de la nuit, les Terre-Neuviens occupaient un secteur de quatre cent cinquante mètres sur la ligne de tir, dans la banlieue nord du village. Lorsque l'attaque se déclencha à 14 h 05 le 12, les quatre compagnies terre-neuviennes avancèrent en ligne, avec le 1st Essex Battalion sur leur gauche. Mais les hommes se tenaient si près de leur barrage d'artillerie que plusieurs furent tués ou blessés par leurs propres armes de soutien. Les Allemands qui défendaient les tranchées de première ligne, forcés de se mettre à l'abri pour se protéger des obus, se virent rapidement engagés dans un combat corps à corps. Dès 14 h 30, les deux bataillons d'assaut de la 88e Brigade atteignaient leur premier objectif - la tranchée Hilt, sur la première ligne allemande.

Comme les Terre-Neuviens progressaient vers leur dernier objectif, à quelque sept cent cinquante mètres de leur ligne de départ, ils furent obligés de revenir à la tranchée Hilt en raison du feu intense des mitrailleuses venant de l'avant et du flanc droit. Sur leur gauche, une vive contre-attaque ennemie força le 1st Essex à se replier dans la banlieue de Gueudecourt, laissant ainsi le flanc des Terre-Neuviens sans protection. Les équipes de bombardement terre-neuviennes dégagèrent la partie évacuée de la tranchée Hilt et s'en emparèrent puis, le front du bataillon doublant tout à coup de longueur, tous se mirent à creuser avec ardeur dans le dur sol de craie pour y construire un parapet et une nouvelle banquette de tir et, d'une façon générale, renverser la position occupée auparavant par les Allemands.

En fin d'après-midi, la contre-attaque prévue se déclencha, mais le feu nourri des fusils et des mitrailleuses Lewis des Terre-Neuviens repoussa l'ennemi, qui subit de lourdes pertes. Les troupes épuisées défendirent la position contre d'autres attaques jusqu'à ce qu'un bataillon de la 8e Brigade prenne la relève, pendant la nuit, pour qu'elles aillent se reposer en réserve.

Durant les cinquante-trois heures qui s'étaient écoulées depuis son arrivée dans les tranchées, le 10 octobre, le Newfoundland Regiment avait subi deux cent trente-neuf pertes, dont cent vingt tués ou morts à la suite de leurs blessures. Cependant, le régiment avait été l'une des rares unités de toute la Quatrième armée à s'emparer d'un objectif et à le conserver. « Ce succès » écrivit plus tard le commandant de la brigade, « est d'autant plus méritoire qu'il fut le seul véritable succès de cette journée. »

Indications routières

Vue aérienne du Mémorial terre-neuvien à Gueudecourt

Le mémorial terre-neuvien à Gueudecourt est situé à environ 45 km au sud-est d'Amiens, 30 km au sud d'Arras et 135 km au nord de Paris. Vous pouvez vous rendre à Amiens en train ou en autobus et de là, prendre un taxi jusqu'au mémorial, au coût d'environ €75 pour un voyage aller-retour. Vous pouvez aussi prendre le train jusqu'à Albert et de là, prendre un taxi, au coût d'environ €44 pour un voyage aller-retour. Vous pouvez également louer une bicyclette à la station de train à un coût approximatif de €5 par jour, €11 par semaine ou €17 par mois.

Nota : Le coût d'un taxi indiqué plus haut est basé sur un voyage aller-retour sans période d'attente. Si vous désirez que le taxi vous attende pendant que vous visitez le site, vous devrez payer €17,90 l'heure. Les correspondances par l'autobus sont difficiles et il n'y en a pas beaucoup dans la région rurale du département de la Somme.

Si vous vous déplacez en auto, veuillez suivre les directions suivantes :

Nota : Les limites de vitesse en France sont de 50 km/h dans les villes et les zones résidentielles, d'habitude de 90 km/h sur les routes secondaires (mais ceci varie à certains endroits) et de 130 km/h sur l'autoroute. Soyez au courant de la règle accordant la priorité de la droite.

À partir de Paris, de l'aéroport Charles de Gaulle, suivez l'autoroute A1 en direction de Lille. Continuez sur cette route pour environ 130 km et prenez la sortie 14 en direction de Bapaume. Une fois à Bapaume, suivez les directives pour Albert via la D929. Dans la communauté de Le Sars, tournez en direction du sud sur la D11 et conduisez pour environ 6 km. Une fois au village de Gueudecourt, suivez la D11 (D74E) en direction de Beaulencourt. Le mémorial se situe à environ un kilomètre après Gueudecourt sur votre droite. Cela vous prendra environ 1,5 heures pour vous rendre au mémorial.

À partir d'Amiens, suivez la D929 en direction de Bapaume et conduisez pour environ 40 km. Dans la communauté de Le Sars, tournez en direction du sud sur la D11 et conduisez pour environ 6 km. Une fois au village de Gueudecourt, suivez la D11 (D74E) en direction de Beaulencourt. Le mémorial se situe à environ un kilomètre après Gueudecourt sur votre droite. Cela vous prendra environ 45 minutes pour vous rendre au mémorial.

À partir d'Arras, suivez l'autoroute A1 en direction de Paris. Continuez sur cette route pour environ 25 km. Prenez la sortie 14 en direction de Bapaume. Une fois à Bapaume, suivez les directives pour Albert via la D929. Dans la communauté de Le Sars, tournez en direction du sud sur la D11 et conduisez pour environ 6 km. Une fois au village de Gueudecourt, suivez la D11 (D74E) en direction de Beaulencourt. Le mémorial se situe à environ un kilomètre après Gueudecourt sur votre droite. Cela vous prendra environ 1,25 à 1,5 heures pour vous rendre au mémorial.

À partir de Calais, suivez la A26 et continuez sur cette route pour environ 130 km. Tournez en direction du sud sur la A1 en direction de Paris et conduisez pour environ 25 km. Prenez la sortie 14 en direction de Bapaume. Une fois à Bapaume, suivez les directives pour Albert via la D929. Dans la communauté de Le Sars, tournez en direction du sud sur la D11 et conduisez pour environ 6 km. Une fois au village de Gueudecourt, suivez la D11 (D74E) en direction de Beaulencourt. Le mémorial se situe à environ un kilomètre après Gueudecourt sur votre droite. Cela vous prendra environ 2 heures pour vous rendre au mémorial.

À partir de Lille, suivez la A1 en direction de Paris. Continuez sur cette route pour environ 70 km. Prenez la sortie 14 en direction de Bapaume. Une fois à Bapaume, suivez les directives pour Albert via la D929. Dans la communauté de Le Sars, tournez en direction du sud sur la D11 et conduisez pour environ 6 km. Une fois au village de Gueudecourt, suivez la D11 (D74E) en direction de Beaulencourt. Le mémorial se situe à environ un kilomètre après Gueudecourt sur votre droite. Cela vous prendra environ 45 minutes à 1 heure pour vous rendre au mémorial.

Date de modification :