Monchy-le-Preux Newfoundland Memorial

Monchy-le-Preux Newfoundland Memorial

Nine kilometres east of Arras, the village of Monchy-le-Preux crowns a conical hill about a kilometre north of the main Arras-Cambrai road. At the eastern edge of the village, standing erect upon the ruins of a German strongpoint, the caribou of the Monchy-le-Preux Newfoundland Memorial gazes proudly toward Infantry Hill, where a handful of gallant Newfounlanders held off massive German counter-attacks on April 14, 1917.

Monchy-le-Preux

The encounter took place during Field Marshall Sir Douglas Haig's great spring offensive in which the British First and Third Armies attacked eastward from Arras on a 22-kilometre front. The 88th Brigade's operation was to be a two-battalion attack launched against Infantry Hill behind a creeping artillery barrage. The Newfoundland Regiment, commanded by Lieutenant-Colonel James Forbes-Robertson, was on the right and the 1st Essex Battalion on the left.

At 5:30 a.m. on April 14, the British barrage opened and the two battalions began their advance. At the end of 90 minutes the Essex had taken their part of the Infantry Hill objective. But as the Newfoundland companies advanced, they were raked by machine-gun fire. Suffering heavy casualties the Newfoundlanders pressed on to occupy the enemy's forward trenches in front of Infantry Hill.

As they reached the high ground of the Hill, a fresh German battalion met them. Second and third enemy battalions moved in and the Newfoundlanders were counter-attacked from three sides. Little knots of men held out until they were killed or captured.

At 10:00 a.m., Lieutenant-Colonel Forbes-Robertson received a report that not a single Newfoundlander remained unwounded east of Monchy and that some 200 to 300 Germans were advancing less than half a kilometre away. Quickly collecting all available men of his headquarters staff, he led them forward under fire to a trench on the village outskirts. They at once opened a series of rapid-fire bursts of rifle fire on the approaching Germans who, believing themselves opposed by a powerful force, speedily went to ground. For the next four hours these ten resolute men represented (to quote the British Official History) "all that stood between the Germans and Monchy, one of the most vital positions on the whole battlefield."

Every bullet fired by the defenders was made to count and by picking off scouts sent forward to appraise the situation, they kept the enemy in ignorance of their pitifully weak numbers. Relief came at mid-afternoon as British reinforcements arrived at Monchy. A final enemy attempt to launch an assault on Monchy was frustrated as heavy guns of the corps artillery bombarded German assembly areas in the Bois du Vert and the Bois du Sart.

Monchy had been saved, largely through gallantry and determination of ten men, but the Newfoundland Regiment's losses in the day's fighting had been severe. Total casualties for its part in the battle numbered 460 all ranks, including 153 taken prisoner.

Directions

The Monchy-le-Preux Newfoundland Memorial is about 25 kms west of Cambrai, 7 kms east of Arras, 45 kms south of Lille and 160 kms north of Paris. You can reach Arras by train or by bus and from there take a taxi to the Memorial. The trip to the Memorial is approximately €20 return. You can rent a bike at the train station; which costs approximately €5 per day, €11 per week and €17 per month.

Note: The cost of a taxi is based on return trips without a waiting period. If you want the taxi to wait for you while you visit the site you will be charged € 7.90 per hour. Bus connections are difficult and there are not many of them in the rural areas of the department of Pas-de-Calais.

If you are travelling by car, please follow the directions below:

Note: Speed limits in France are 50 km/h in city limits and residential areas (generally unmarked), usually 90 km/h on secondary roads (but it may vary in areas) and 130 km/h on the motorway.

From Paris or Charles de Gaulle Airport take the A1 motorway, direction Lille. Continue on this road for approximately 160 kms. Take exit 15 and follow the D939 towards Cambrai. Once on the Arras/Cambrai road, drive for about 2 kms then turn left on the D33 to get to Monchy-le-Preux. To access the Memorial follow the traditional black and white signs with a maple leaf. It should take you approximately 1 1/2 to 2 hours to reach the Memorial.

From Arras take the D939 towards Cambrai. Once on the Arras/Cambrai road, drive for about 7 kms then turn left on the D33 to get to Monchy-le-Preux. To access the Memorial follow the traditional black and white signs with a maple leaf. It should take you approximately 15 minutes to reach the Memorial.

From Cambrai take the D939 towards Arras. Continue on this road for approximately 23 kms and turn right on the D33 to get to Monchy-le-Preux. To access the Memorial follow the traditional black and white signs with a maple leaf. It should take you approximately 30 minutes to reach the Memorial.

From Calais take the A26 and continue on this road for approximately 130 kms. Take the A1, direction Paris and continue on this road for approximately 5 kms. Take exit 15, direction Cambrai and drive on the D939 for approximately 2 kms; turn left on the D33 to get to Monchy-le-Preux. To access the Memorial follow the traditional black and white signs with a maple leaf. It should take you approximately 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 hours to reach the Memorial.

From Lille take the A1 motorway, direction Paris. Continue on this road for approximately 45 kms. Take exit 15, direction Cambrai and drive on the D939 for approximately 2 kms, turn left on the D33 to get to Monchy-le-Preux. To access the Memorial follow the traditional black and white signs with a maple leaf. It should take you approximately 40 minutes to reach the Memorial.

Date modified:

Mémorial terre-neuvien à Monchy-le-Preux

Mémorial terre-neuvien à Monchy-le-Preux

À neuf kilomètres à l'est d'Arras, le village de Monchy-le-Preux couronne une colline en forme de cône, à environ un kilomètre au nord de la route principale Arras-Cambrai. En bordure est du village, sur les ruines d'une fortification allemande, se dresse le caribou du mémorial terre-neuvien de Monchy-le-Preux, le regard fièrement tourné vers la colline de l'Infanterie où, le 14 avril 1917, une poignée de valeureux Terre-Neuviens repoussèrent les contre-attaques massives de l'ennemi.

Monchy-le-Preux

La rencontre eut lieu au cours de la grande offensive du printemps du feld-maréchal sir Douglas Haig, tandis que les Première et Troisième armées britanniques attaquaient sur un front de vingt-deux kilomètres à l'est d'Arras. La 88e brigade devait lancer une attaque de deux bataillons contre la colline de l'Infanterie derrière un barrage d'artillerie roulant. Le Newfoundland Regiment, sous le commandement du lieutenant-colonel James Forbes-Robertson, se tenait sur la droite, et le 1st Essex Battalion, sur la gauche.

À 5 h 30 le 14 avril, les Britanniques ouvrirent leur barrage d'artillerie et les deux bataillons amorcèrent leur avance. Au bout de quatre-vingt-dix minutes, l'Essex s'était emparé de son secteur de la colline de l'Infanterie. Mais, pendant que les compagnies terre-neuviennes avançaient, elles furent balayées par le feu des mitrailleuses. Malgré de lourdes pertes, les Terre-Neuviens continuèrent d'avancer afin d'occuper les premières tranchées ennemies en face de la colline de l'Infanterie.

Arrivés au haut de la colline, ils furent reçus par un nouveau bataillon ennemi. Deux autres bataillons allemands entrèrent en lice et les Terre-Neuviens furent contre-attaqués sur trois côtés. Une poignée d'hommes poursuivirent le combat jusqu'à ce qu'ils fussent tous tués ou capturés.

À 10 heures, le lieutenant-colonel Forbes-Robertson apprit que pas un seul Terre-Neuvien n'était sorti indemne à l'est de Monchy, et que de deux cents à trois cents Allemands avançaient à moins d'un demi-kilomètre de là. Groupant rapidement tous les hommes disponibles de son état-major, il les conduisit sous le feu ennemi vers une tranchée dans la banlieue du village. Ils tirèrent aussitôt des rafales de feu sur les Allemands qui arrivaient, mais qui, croyant affronter une force supérieure, se terrèrent en grande hâte. Pendant les quatre heures suivantes, ces dix hommes déterminés représentèrent, selon le British Official History, « tout ce qu'il y avait entre les Allemands et Monchy, une des positions les plus vitales de tout le champ de bataille ».

Les défenseurs visèrent avec une extrême précaution afin que chaque belle comptât, tirant en particulier sur les éclaireurs ennemis envoyés pour étudier la situation; c'est ainsi qu'ils purent tromper les Allemands sur leur nombre si réduit. Ils furent finalement relevés au milieu de l'après-midi par des renforts britanniques arrivant à Monchy. L'ennemi tenta sans succès un dernier assaut sur Monchy, mais les grosses pièces de l'artillerie du Corps bombardèrent les zones de rassemblement allemandes au bois du Vert et au bois du Sart.

Si Monchy fut sauvé, c'est avant tout grâce à l'héroïsme et à la détermination de dix hommes. Toutefois, les pertes du Newfoundland Regiment furent très lourdes ce jour-là, soit quatre cent soixante militaires de tous rangs, dont cent cinquante-trois qui furent faits prisonniers.

Indications routières

Le mémorial terre-neuvien à Monchy-le-Preux est situé à environ 25 km à l'ouest de Cambrai, 7 km à l'est d'Arras, 45 km au sud de Lille et 160 km au nord de Paris. Vous pouvez vous rendre à Arras en train ou en autobus et de là, prendre un taxi jusqu'au mémorial, au coût d'environ €20 pour un voyage aller-retour. Vous pouvez également louer une bicyclette à la station de train à un coût approximatif de €5 par jour, €11 par semaine ou €17 par mois.

Nota : Le coût d'un taxi indiqué plus haut est basé sur un voyage aller-retour sans période d'attente. Si vous désirez que le taxi vous attende pendant que vous visitez le site, vous devrez payer €17,90 l'heure. Les correspondances par l'autobus sont difficiles et il n'y en a pas beaucoup dans la région rurale du département du Pas-de-Calais.

Si vous vous déplacez en auto, veuillez suivre les directions suivantes :

Nota : Les limites de vitesse en France sont de 50 km/h dans les villes et les zones résidentielles, d'habitude de 90 km/h sur les routes secondaires (mais ceci varie à certains endroits) et de 130 km/h sur l'autoroute.

À partir de Paris ou de l'aéroport Charles de Gaulle, suivez l'autoroute A1 en direction de Lille. Continuez sur cette route pour environ 160 km. Prenez la sortie 15 et suivez la D939 en direction de Cambrai. Une fois sur la route Arras/Cambrai, continuez pour environ 2 km, puis tournez à gauche sur la D33 afin d'arriver à Monchy-le-Preux. Suivez les panneaux traditionnels en noir et blanc avec une feuille d'érable afin d'accéder le mémorial. Cela vous prendra environ 1,5 à 2 heures pour vous rendre au mémorial.

À partir d'Arras, suivez la D939 en direction de Cambrai. Une fois sur la route Arras/Cambrai, continuez pour environ 7 km, puis tournez à gauche sur la D33 afin d'arriver à Monchy-le-Preux. Suivez les panneaux traditionnels en noir et blanc avec une feuille d'érable afin d'accéder le mémorial. Cela vous prendra environ 15 minutes pour vous rendre au mémorial.

À partir de Cambrai, suivez la D939 en direction d'Arras. Continuez sur cette route pour environ 23 km, puis tournez à droite sur la D33 afin d'arriver à Monchy-le-Preux. Suivez les panneaux traditionnels en noir et blanc avec une feuille d'érable afin d'accéder le mémorial. Cela vous prendra environ 30 minutes pour vous rendre au mémorial.

À partir de Calais, suivez la A26 et continuez sur cette route pour environ 130 km. Prenez la A1 en direction de Paris et continuez sur cette route pour environ 5 km. Prenez la sortie 15 en direction de Cambrai et continuez sur la D939 pour environ 2 km. Tournez à gauche sur la D33 afin d'arriver à Monchy-le-Preux. Suivez les panneaux traditionnels en noir et blanc avec une feuille d'érable afin d'accéder le mémorial. Cela vous prendra environ 1,25 à 1,5 heures pour vous rendre au mémorial.

À partir de Lille, suivez l'autoroute A1 en direction de Paris. Continuez sur cette route pour environ 45 km. Prenez la sortie 15 en direction de Cambrai et continuez sur la D939 pour environ 2 km. Tournez à gauche sur la D33 afin d'arriver à Monchy-le-Preux. Suivez les panneaux traditionnels en noir et blanc avec une feuille d'érable afin d'accéder le mémorial. Cela vous prendra environ 40 minutes pour vous rendre au mémorial.

Date de modification :