Dury Canadian Memorial

Dury Canadian Memorial

At Dury Mill, 16 kilometres southeast of Arras, the Dury Canadian Memorial preserves in stone the memory of hard-fought actions to break the Drocourt-Qué ant Line. A beautifully landscaped park, complete with stately maples, surrounds the solid block of granite that tells the story:

THE CANADIAN CORPS 100,000 STRONG ATTACKED AT ARRAS ON AUGUST 26TH 1918, STORMED SUCCESSIVE GERMAN LINES AND HERE ON SEPT. 2ND BROKE AND TURNED THE MAIN GERMAN POSITION ON THE WESTERN FRONT AND REACHED THE CANAL DU NORD

The Second Battle of Arras, 1918

After the Allied success in the Battle of Amiens, August 8-11, a renewal of the offensive on an extended front brought the Canadian Corps again into action, this time with the British First Army in the Arras sector. Sir Douglas Haig directed the First Army to strike eastward from Arras, and the Canadian Corps once again became the spearhead of the attack. The Corps would assault astride the Arras-Cambrai road, with the canalized River Scarpe forming its left-hand boundary. The assignment given the Corps Commander, Lieutenant-General Sir Arthur Currie, was both important and difficult. A series of formidable defence positions barred the Canadian path, and in fortifying these the Germans had made full use of the deeply cut valleys and intervening ridges that crossed the battle area. Strongest of all, about nine miles east of Arras, was the Drocourt-Quéant (or D-Q) Line. Extending northward as a switch-line from the main Hindenburg position, this formidable deep system of trenches, fortified with concrete shelters and thick belts of wire, had been constructed by the Germans to contain any Allied advance into the Douai plain.

The Canadians struck before dawn on August 26, with the 2nd Division on the right, south of the Cambrai road; the 3rd Division between the road and the Scarpe and on the left, north of the river, the 51st Highland Division, temporarily under Currie's command. Aided by a powerful artillery and machine-gun barrage, the attack made good progress. Early in the day, the 3rd Division took Monchy in a skilfully executed encircling attack. On the right, the 2nd Division captured the villages of Guémappe and Wancourt during the afternoon. By nightfall the Canadian Corps was holding a line 914 metres east of Monchy, having repulsed several counter-attacks launched by the enemy in a determined attempt to regain the battered town.

Orders issued by General Currie for the 27th were to break through the strong Fresnes-Rouvroy Line - an advance of eight kilometres. It took two more days of hard fighting before the strong defence system was pierced near Boiry-Notre-Dame; and when the Battle of the Scarpe ended on August 30, resolute enemy garrisons were still clinging stubbornly to sections of the Fresnes-Rouvroy Line.

In the first three days of the battle the 2nd and 3rd Canadian Divisions had advanced more than eight kilometres over difficult, broken country beset with a maze of stoutly held trenches, and had captured 3,300 prisoners and a large number of guns. One of the 6,000 casual-ties in the two divisions was Major Georges Vanier, a future Governor General of Canada, who lost his right leg while commanding the 22nd Battalion near Chérisy.

After a brief respite Currie launched the assault of the Drocourt-Quéant Line on September 2. As day was breaking, armour and infantry began advancing be-hind a strong barrage to storm the enemy's main defensive line in the west. South of the Cambrai road battalions of the 1st Division swept forward as their tanks knocked out enemy posts and flattened wire that had survived the preliminary gunfire. By 7:30 a.m. one battalion had overrun the main trenches and was into the German support line, as a fresh battalion passed through to seize the village of Cagnicourt. Suffering crippling casualties, the Canadians gained their objective in the Buissy Switch before mid-night.

In the centre the 4th Canadian Division, which had taken over much of the 4th British Division's front, had been fighting its own hard battle. Between Dury and the main road the front trenches of the D-Q line were sited along the forward slope of the long low hill of Mont Dury. The attacking infantry had, therefore, to advance up an open incline swept by the enemy's machine-guns. At the crest they came under deadly fire from more machine-guns, as well as from shelling by the German field batteries in the rear. In spite of mounting casualties the Canadian battalions, aided greatly by tanks, reached the crest by mid-morning and drove the enemy from a sunken road linking Dury with the highway. With the capture of Dury village in vicious fighting, the 4th Canadian Division had gained its first objective. During the night the enemy fell back, and on September 3 the Canadian Corps, meeting no resistance, advanced some four miles to take up positions over-looking the next obstacle-the Canal du Nord.

In the bitter fighting of September 2, seven Victoria Crosses were won by Canadians. The enemy's enforced withdrawal had taken place on a wide front - with no fewer than four German armies retiring into the Hindenburg Line, and two more falling back in the north. Such was the measure of the Canadian achievement in smashing defences of the Drocourt-Quéant position. In the first four days of September the Canadian Corps captured more than 6,000 unwounded prisoners, and inflicted heavy German casualties. Its own losses numbered 5,600.

Directions

Aerial view of Dury Canadian Memorial

The Dury Canadian Memorial is about 15 kms west of Cambrai, 16 kms east of Arras, 60 kms south of Lille and 175 kms north of Paris. You can reach Cambrai by train or by bus and from there take a taxi to the Memorial. The trip to the Memorial is approximately €60 return. You can also reach Arras by train or by bus and from there take a taxi to the Memorial. The trip to the Memorial is approximately €60 return. You can rent a bike at the train station; which costs approximately €5 per day, €11 per week and €17 per month.

Note: The cost of a taxi is based on return trips without a waiting period. If you want the taxi to wait for you while you visit the site you will be charged €17.90 per hour. Bus connections are difficult and there are not many of them in the rural areas of the department of Pas-de-Calais.

If you are travelling by car, please follow the directions below:

Note: Speed limits in France are 50 km/h in city limits and residential areas (generally unmarked), usually 90 km/h on secondary roads (but it may vary in areas) and 130 km/h on the motorway. Motorists should be aware of the priority from the right rule.

From Paris or Charles de Gaulle Airport take the A1 motorway, direction Lille. Continue on this road for approximately 160 kms. Take exit 15 for the D939 towards Cambrai. Once on the Arras / Cambrai road, drive for about 16 kms and you will see the Dury Canadian Memorial on your left. It should take you approximately 1 1/2 to 2 hours to reach the Memorial.

From Arras take the D939 towards Cambrai. Continue on this road for approximately 15 kms and you will see the Dury Canadian Memorial on your left. It should take you approximately 20 minutes to reach the Memorial.

From Cambrai take the D939 towards Arras. Continue on this road for approximately 15 kms and you will see the Dury Canadian Memorial on your right. It should take you approximately 15 to 20 minutes to reach the Memorial.

From Calais take the A26 and continue on this road for approximately 130 kms. Take the A1, direction Paris and continue on this road for approximately 5 kms. Take exit 15, direction Cambrai, and drive on this road for approximately 10 kms. You will see the Dury Canadian Memorial on your left. It should take you approximately 1½ to 2 hours to reach the Memorial.

From Lille take the A1 motorway, direction Paris. Continue on this road for approximately 45 kms. Take the D939 towards Cambrai. Once on the Arras / Cambrai road, drive for about 16 kms and you will see the Dury Canadian Memorial on your left. It should take you approximately 50 minutes to 1 hour to reach the Memorial.

Date modified:

Mémorial canadien à Dury

Mémorial canadien à Dury

À Dury Mill, à seize kilomètres au sud-est d'Arras, le mémorial canadien de Dury préserve dans la pierre le souvenir de violentes opérations qui ont abouti à la percée de la ligne Drocourt-Quéant. Au centre d'un parc planté d'érables majestueux, se dresse le bloc de granit familier, sur lequel on peut lire d'un côté, en français, l'inscription suivante:

L'ARMÉE CANADIENNE ATTAQUA L'ENNEMI À ARRAS LE 26 AOUT 1918, ENFONÇA SUCCESSIVEMENT TOUTES LES POSITIONS ALLEMANDES : PUIS LE 2 SEPTEMBRE BRISA ICI MÊME LA FAMEUSE LIGNE QUÉANT - DROCOURT RÉPUTÉE IMPRENABLE ET AVANÇA JUSQU'AU CANAL DU NORD

La deuxième bataille d'Arras (1918)

Après le succès allié lors de la bataille d'Amiens, du 8 au 11 août, une reprise de l'offensive sur un front étendu ramena les Canadiens à l'action, cette fois dans le secteur d'Arras avec la Première armée britannique. Sir Douglas Haig ordonna à la Première armée de frapper vers l'est à partir d'Arras, et le Corps canadien servit encore une fois de fer de lance à l'attaque. Le Corps se trouvait à cheval sur la route Arras-Cambrai, avec la Scarpe sur sa gauche. La mission confiée au commandant du Corps, le lieutenant-général sir Arthur Currie, était à la fois importante et difficile. Les Canadiens se trouvaient en face d'une série de positions défensives formidables que l'ennemi occupait en nombre tout en prenant avantage de la topographie. À environ quatorze kilomètres à l'est d'Arras, s'étendait la ligne Drocourt-Quéant. Les Allemands avaient dressé cette barrière impressionnante de tranchées profondes et fortifiées, d'abris bétonnés entourés de barbelés, afin d'empêcher les Alliés d'avancer vers la plaine de Douai.

Les Canadiens se lancèrent à l'assaut avant l'aube du 26 août. La 2e division se tenait sur la droite, au sud de la route de Cambrai; la 3e division entre la route et la Scarpe: la 51st Highland Division, temporairement sous le commandement de Currie, sur la gauche, au nord de la Scarpe. Grâce à un puissant barrage d'artillerie et de mitrailleuses, l'attaque progressa avec succès. Tôt ce jour-là, la 3e division s'emparait de Monchy grâce à une habile manoeuvre d'encerclement. Sur la droite, la 2e division capturait dans l'après-midi les villages de Guémappe et de Wancourt. Dès la tombée de la nuit, la ligne canadienne s'étendait à quelque neuf cents quatorze mètres à l'est de Monchy après que le Corps eut repoussé plusieurs contre-attaques ennemies destinées à reprendre la ville dévastée.

Dans ses ordres pour le 27, le général Currie ordonnait d'enfoncer la ligne Fresnes-Rouvroy, soit une avance de huit kilomètres. II fallut encore deux jours de pénibles combats pour parvenir à enfoncer le système de défense près de Boiry-Notre-Dame; et lorsque la bataille de la Scarpe prit fin le 30 août, des garnisons allemandes résolues s'accrochaient encore obstinément à des sections de la ligne Fresnes-Rouvroy.

Pendant les trois premiers jours de la bataille, les 2e et 3e divisions avaient progressé de plus de huit kilomètres, sur un terrain difficile, accidenté et sillonné par un labyrinthe de tranchées âprement disputées, et avaient capturé trois mille trois cents prisonniers et un grand nombre de canons. Parmi les six mille tués ou blessés des deux divisions, se trouvait le major Georges Vanier, futur gouverneur général du Canada, qui perdit la jambe droite tandis qu'il commandait le 22e bataillon près de Chérisy.

Après un bref répit, le général Currie lançait, le 2 septembre, son assaut sur la ligne Drocourt-Quéant. L'aube pointait déjà lorsque les blindés et l'infanterie s'élancèrent contre la principale ligne défensive ennemie dans l'ouest, derrière un puissant barrage. Au sud de la route de Cambrai, les bataillons de la 1re division progressèrent rapidement, à mesure que les chars détruisaient les postes ennemis et les barbelés qui avaient survécu au tir préparatoire de l'artillerie. Dès 7 h 30 tranchées, et se trouvait dans la ligne de soutien ennemie pendant qu'un autre bataillon passait à travers la ligne pour s'emparer du village de Cagnicourt. En dépit de leurs lourdes pertes, les Canadiens atteignirent leur objectif, soit l'embranchement de Buissy, avant minuit.

Au centre, la 4e division canadienne, qui assumait la responsabilité de la majeure partie du front de la 4e division britannique, avait livré, elle aussi, un combat acharné. Entre Dury et la route principale, les premières tranchées de la ligne Drocourt-Quéant se trouvaient sur la longue arête exposée du mont Dury. Les Allemands criblaient de balles les pentes dénudées de cette montagne, de sorte que l'infanterie subissait toute la force du feu des mitrailleuses ennemies et, au sommet, le tir implacable d'autres mitrailleuses et les violents bombardements des batteries de campagne allemandes, placées à l'arrière. En dépit de leurs pertes croissantes les bataillons canadiens, fortement appuyés par les chars, atteignirent la crête dès le milieu de la matinée et expulsèrent l'ennemi d'une route encaissée reliant Dury à la grande route. Grâce à la chute de Dury après de durs combats, la 4e division canadienne avait atteint son premier objectif. Durant la nuit, l'ennemi se replia, et, le 3 septembre, le Corps canadien, ne rencontrant pas de résistance, avança de quelque six kilomètres pour prendre position face au prochain obstacle-le canal du Nord.

Au cours des violents combats du 2 septembre, sept croix de Victoria furent attribuées à des Canadiens. La retraite forcée des Allemands s'opéra sur un large front - non moins de quatre armées allemandes se repliaient derrière la ligne Hindenburg tandis que deux autres se retiraient vers le nord. Telle était l'ampleur des succès canadiens sur la ligne de défense Drocourt-Quéant. Au cours des quatre premiers jours de septembre, le Corps canadien captura plus de six mille prisonniers non blessés et infligea de lourdes pertes à l'armée allemande. Ses propres pertes s'élevèrent à cinq mille six cents hommes.

Indications routières

Vue aérienne du Mémorial canadien à Dury

Le mémorial canadien à Dury est situé à environ 15 km à l'ouest de Cambrai, 16 km à l'est d'Arras, 60 km au sud de Lille et 175 km au nord de Paris. Vous pouvez vous rendre à Cambrai en train ou en autobus et de là, prendre un taxi jusqu'au mémorial, au coût d'environ €60 pour un voyage aller-retour. Vous pouvez aussi vous rendre à Arras en train ou en autobus et de là, prendre un taxi jusqu'au mémorial, au coût d'environ €60 pour un voyage aller-retour. Vous pouvez également louer une bicyclette à la station de train à un coût approximatif de €5 par jour, €11 par semaine ou €17 par mois.

Nota : Le coût d'un taxi indiqué plus haut est basé sur un voyage aller-retour sans période d'attente. Si vous désirez que le taxi vous attende pendant que vous visitez le site, vous devrez payer €17,90 l'heure. Les correspondances par l'autobus sont difficiles et il n'y en a pas beaucoup dans la région rurale du département du Pas-de-Calais.

Si vous vous déplacez en auto, veuillez suivre les directions suivantes :

Nota : Les limites de vitesse en France sont de 50 km/h dans les villes et les zones résidentielles, d'habitude de 90 km/h sur les routes secondaires (mais ceci varie à certains endroits) et de 130 km/h sur l'autoroute.

À partir de Paris, de l'aéroport Charles de Gaulle, suivez l'autoroute A1 en direction de Lille. Continuez sur cette route pour environ 160 km. Prenez la sortie 15 en direction de Cambrai via la D939. Une fois sur la route Arras/Cambrai, continuez pour environ 16 km et vous verrez le mémorial canadien à Dury à votre gauche. Cela vous prendra environ 1,5 à 2 heures pour vous rendre au mémorial.

À partir d'Arras, suivez la D939 en direction de Cambrai. Continuez sur cette route pour environ 15 km et vous verrez le mémorial canadien à Dury à votre gauche. Cela vous prendra environ 20 minutes pour vous rendre au mémorial.

À partir de Cambrai, suivez la D939 en direction d'Arras. Continuez sur cette route pour environ 15 km et vous verrez le mémorial canadien à Dury à votre droite. Cela vous prendra environ 15 à 20 minutes pour vous rendre au mémorial.

À partir de Calais, suivez la A26 et continuez sur cette route pour environ 130 km. Prenez la A1 en direction de Paris et continuez sur cette route pour environ 5 km. Prenez la sortie 15 en direction de Cambrai et continuez sur cette route pour environ 10 km. Vous verrez le mémorial canadien à Dury à votre gauche. Cela vous prendra environ 1,5 à 2 heures pour vous rendre au mémorial.

À partir de Lille, suivez l'autoroute A1 en direction de Paris. Continuez sur cette route pour environ 45 km. Prenez la D939 en direction de Cambrai. Une fois sur la route Arras/Cambrai, continuez pour environ 16 km et vous verrez le mémorial canadien à Dury à votre gauche. Cela vous prendra environ 50 minutes à 1 heure pour vous rendre au mémorial.

« Cent jours du Canada » et l'Armistice - Mémoriaux >>

Date de modification :