Ecoivres Military Cemetery

Ecoivres Military Cemetery

This cemetery is really the extension of the communal cemetery, where the French army had buried over 1,000 men. The 46th (North Midland) Division took over the extension with this part of the line in March 1916, and their graves are in Rows A to F of Plot I. Successive divisions used the French military tramway to bring their dead in from the front line trenches and, from the first row to the last, burials were made almost exactly in the order of date of death.

The attack of the 25th Division on Vimy Ridge in May 1916 is recalled in Plots I and II. The 47th (London) Division burials (July to October 1916) are in Plot III, Rows A to H, and Canadian graves are an overwhelming majority in the rest of the cemetery, Plots V and VI containing the graves of men killed in the capture of Vimy Ridge in April 1917. Ecoivres Military Cemetery contains 1,728 Commonwealth burials of the First World War. There are also 786 French and four German war graves. The cemetery was designed by Sir Reginald Blomfield.

There are 165 Canadians buried here from the Battle of Vimy Ridge.

Directions

Mont-St. Eloi is a village in the Department of the Pas-de-Calais, 8 kilometres north-west of Arras. Ecoivres is a hamlet lying at the foot of the hill, to the south-west and about 1.5 kilometres from Mont-St. Eloi. The cemetery is on the D49 road.

Cemeteries

Date modified:

Cimetière militaire d'Écoivres

Cimetière militaire d'Écoivres

Le cimetière est, en fait, l'annexe du cimetière communal où l'Armée française avait inhumé plus de 1 000 hommes. La 46e Division (North Midland) a pris en main l'annexe dans cette partie de la ligne en mars 1916 et leurs tombes se trouvent dans le lot I, rangées A à F. Les divisions qui se sont succédé ont utilisé le tramway de l'armée française pour y transporter leurs soldats morts dans les tranchées de première ligne et, de la première à la dernière rangée, les inhumations ont été faites par ordre croissant, selon la date de décès, avec le plus de rigueur possible.

L'attaque de la crête de Vimy par la 25e Division, en mai 1916, est commémorée dans les lots I et II. Les tombes de la 47e Division (Londres) [juillet à octobre 1916] se trouvent dans le lot III, rangées A à H, et, dans le reste du cimetière, la très grande majorité des sépultures sont celles de soldats canadiens, les lots V et VI abritant les tombes des hommes tués lors de la prise de la crête de Vimy en avril 1917. Le cimetière militaire d'Écoivres renferme 1 728 sépultures du Commonwealth de la Première Guerre mondiale. Il compte également 786 sépultures de guerre françaises et quatre sépultures de guerre allemandes. La conception du cimetière est de Sir Reginald Blomfield.

Dans ce cimetière reposent 165 Canadiens victimes de la bataille de la crête de Vimy.

Indications routières

Mont-Saint-Éloi est un village du département du Pas-de-Calais situé à 8 kilomètres au nord-ouest d'Arras. Écoivres est un hameau qui se situe au pied de la colline à 1,5 kilomètre au sud-ouest de Mont-Saint-Éloi. Le cimetière se trouve sur la route D49.

Cimetières

Date de modification :