The Mont-des-Cats Canadian Memorial

Sixty thousand Canadian soldiers died in France during World War I. The various governments decided that these heroes deserved more than a small patch of wasteland. The brave fallen soldiers have been laid to rest in well‑maintained cemeteries. Magnificent monuments, such as Vimy, serve as a reminder of their heroism.

Cemeteries and monuments are tangible ways to honour the dead.

In 1930, it was decided to show this honour in a spiritual way, and so the Ligue du Souvenir et de la Prière [League of Remembrance and Prayer] was established at the Mont-des-Cats Canadian Memorial.

The purpose of this League was prayer and penance for Canadian soldiers who died in France during the war, and for their comrades from France and the Allied forces; ceremonies organized in memory of the deceased members of the Canadian Army were held at the Abbaye Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, by the Trappists who have been there since 1826 and who have become—according to official acts that have passed—ministers of prayer and perpetual remembrance. This secular Abbey, which sits above many Canadian and Allied cemeteries in the region, has become a place of pilgrimage.

Cistercian Trappists, whose monastery was bombed in 1918, accepted the nomination of “Aumônerie des morts de la guerre” [Chaplaincy of the War Dead]. They became the chaplains of the League.

At the entrance to the Abbey, a large marble plaque was erected, dedicating the monastery to these valiant fallen soldiers.

Twelve other smaller plaques recognize the main battles fought by Canadian soldiers: Passchendaele, Festubert, Hill 70, Amiens, Cambrai, Valenciennes, Arras, Vimy, Courcelette, Somme, Mont Saint-Éloi, and Ypres.

In the monastery at the entrance of the Abbey, another marble plaque reads:

À la glorieuse mémoire des soldats canadiens, français et alliés tombés au champ d'honneur. Accordez-leur, Seigneur, le repos éternel! [In honoured memory of the fallen Canadian, French and Allied soldiers. Grant them eternal peace, Lord!]

It stands in the very centre of this house of prayer, a great thought which summarizes the sacrifice made and represents an ex-voto from the Canadian Catholic church to its brave fallen children.

From 1930 on, the Ligue du Souvenir et de la Prière grew quickly. Cardinal Rouleau had agreed to be their spiritual leader. The League’s founders included former commanding officers of the 22nd battalion as well as political, religious and military figures. In France, these individuals included Cardinal Verdier, Cardinal Liénart, and Marshal Louis Franchet d'Espérey.

Taking the role of intercessor to heart, the monks at Mont-des-Cats fulfilled the League’s purpose to the letter, namely, to pray for fallen Canadian and Allied soldiers. In the vast silence of the cemeteries, they sang out the liturgy. Each night they sang Salve Regina, specifically for the intentions of the League.

In a document given to the clergymen of the Abbey on June 14, 1933, His Eminence Villeneuve along with bishops and other prominent figures, wanted to recognize, on behalf of Canadian Catholics, the work accomplished by the founders and recalled the greatness of the sacrifice, and its pious and perpetual remembrance.

Later, 35 bishops from Canada joined the League, which has thousands of Canadians members.

“The Mont-des-Cats memorial is the militant Church to aid the suffering Church. It is the prayer of all those who have faith and believe in the resurrection. We are them. From afar, we must stand guard with the light of the Blessed Sacrament, the small sanctuary light. This is all that our powerful intercessors, the Trappists of Mont-des-Cats, ask of us.”
Taken from Le Bien Public newspaper – Dec. 3, 1936
Date modified:

Le mémorial Canadien du Mont-des-Cats

Soixante mille soldats de l'armée canadienne sont morts en France durant la Grande Guerre. Les divers gouvernements décidèrent que ces héros méritaient mieux que quelques pouces de terre inculte. Ceux qui sont tombés glorieusement reposent dans des cimetières toujours bien entretenus. De magnifiques monuments, comme celui de Vimy par exemple, rappellent leur héroïsme.

Cimetières et monuments sont des manifestations matérielles du culte des morts.

En 1930, on résolut de manifester ce culte d'une manière spirituelle; de cette idée est née la Ligue du Souvenir et de la Prière établie au Mémorial canadien du Mont-des-Cats.

L'objet de cette Ligue : la prière et la pénitence pour les soldats canadiens tombés en France au cours de la guerre, et de leurs camarades de France et des armées alliées ; l'organisation de cérémonies en souvenir des défunts de l'armée canadienne" est réalisée à l'abbaye Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, par les Trappistes qui s'y trouvent depuis 1826 et qui sont devenus – au terme des actes passés officiellement – les ministres de la prière et du souvenir perpétuel. Cette abbaye séculaire qui domine de nombreux cimetières canadiens et alliés de la région est devenue un lieu de pèlerinage.

Les Cisterciens Trappistes, dont le monastère fut bombardé en 1918, ont accepté l'investiture de « l'Aumônerie des morts de la guerre ». Ils sont devenus les chapelains de la Ligue.

À l'entrée de l'abbaye, a été érigée une grande plaque de marbre dédiant le monastère à ces vaillants soldats morts.

Douze autres plaques plus modestes rappellent les principaux combats des troupes canadiennes : Passchendaele, Festubert, Côte 70, Amiens, Cambrai, Valenciennes, Arras, Vimy, Courcelette, Somme, Mont Saint-Éloi, Ypres.

Dans le monastère, à l’entrée de l'église abbatiale, une autre plaque de marbre porte l’inscription :

« À la glorieuse mémoire des soldats canadiens, français et alliés tombés au champ d'honneur. Accordez-leur, Seigneur, le repos éternel ! »

Elle fixe au cœur même de cette maison de la prière, la grande pensée qui résume l’œuvre entreprise, et fait de l'abbaye un ex-voto vivant du Canada Catholique à ses enfants glorieusement tombés.

Depuis 1930, la Ligue du Souvenir et de la Prière s'est rapidement développée. Le Cardinal Rouleau avait alors accepté d'en être le chef spirituel.

Prenant à cœur leur rôle d'intercesseurs, les moines du Mont-des-Cats réalisent à la lettre l'objet de la Ligue : la prière pour les morts canadiens et alliés de la guerre. Dans le grand silence des cimetières, ils font monter le chant de la liturgie. Chaque soir, ils chantent spécialement aux intentions de la Ligue, le « Salve Regina »

Dans un document confié aux religieux de l'Abbaye, Son Éminence le Cardinal Villeneuve et, avec lui, évêques et notables, ont ratifié, le 14 juin 1933, au nom des catholiques canadiens, l’œuvre accomplie par les fondateurs et ont rappelé la grandeur de l'entreprise, son caractère de pieuse et perpétuelle reconnaissance.

Par la suite, trente-cinq évêques du Canada ont donné leur adhésion à la Ligue dont font partie des milliers de Canadiens.

« Le Mémorial du Mont-des-Cats, c’est l’Eglise militante au secours de l’Eglise souffrante. C’est la prière de ceux qui croient et qui espèrent en la résurrection. Nous sommes de ceux-là. De loin, nous devons monter la garde avec la veilleuse du Saint-Sacrement, la petite lampe du sanctuaire. Voilà tout ce que nous réclament nos puissants intercesseurs, les Trappistes du Mont-des-Cats. »
Extrait du Journal Le Bien Public – 3 déc. 1936
Date de modification :