Thelus Military Cemetery

Thelus Military Cemetery
Thelus Military Cemetery
Thelus Military Cemetery

The village, which stands on the Vimy Ridge, was captured by the Canadian Corps on the 9th April 1917, and it remained in British hands until the end of the War. The oldest part of Thelus Military Cemetery is a large grave, originally called "CB 8" * and now forming Plot II, which was made after the capture of the Ridge. The remaining Plots were made by fighting units from June 1917 to September 1918, except for Plot IV and part of Plot V, which were brought in from the battlefields of Vimy and Thelus after the Armistice.

There are now nearly 300, 1914-18 war casualties commemorated in this site. Of these, over 30 are unidentified. The cemetery covers an area of 1,459 square metres and the access path an additional area of 357 square metres. It is enclosed by a red brick wall.

There are 116 Canadians buried here from the Battle of Vimy Ridge.

Directions

Thelus is a village in the Department of the Pas-de-Calais, west of the N17 Arras-Lens main road and 6.5 kilometres north of Arras. Thelus Military Cemetery is approximately 300 metres west of the N17, located in the open country, about 50 metres north of Thelus village.

*The numerous groups of graves made about this time by the Canadian Corps Burial Officer were, as a rule, not named, but serially lettered and numbered.

Cemeteries

Date modified:

Cimetière militaire de Thélus

Cimetière militaire de Thélus
Cimetière militaire de Thélus
Cimetière militaire de Thélus

Le village, qui se trouve sur la crête de Vimy, a été pris par le Corps canadien le 9 avril 1917 et il est resté sous le contrôle britannique jusqu'à la fin de la guerre. La plus vieille section du cimetière militaire de Thélus est une grande tombe, initialement appelé CB8 et * qui forme maintenant le lot II, qui avait été aménagée après la prise de la crête. Les autres lots ont été aménagés par les unités de combat, de juin 1917 à septembre 1918, à l'exception du lot IV et d'une partie du lot V qui renferment des sépultures qui y ont été transférées des champs de bataille de Vimy et de Thélus après l'Armistice.

Aujourd'hui, la mémoire de près de 300 victimes de la guerre de 1914-1918 est perpétuée dans ce lieu. De celles-ci, plus de 30 sont non identifiées. Le cimetière recouvre une superficie de 1 459 mètres carrés et son sentier d'accès recouvre 357 mètres carrés. Il est entouré d'un mur en briques rouges.

Dans ce cimetière reposent 116 Canadiens victimes de la bataille de la crête de Vimy.

Indications routières

Thélus est un village du département de Pas-de-Calais situé à l'ouest de la route principale qui mène d'Arras à Lens (N17) et à 6,5 kilomètres au nord d'Arras. Le cimetière militaire de Thélus se trouve à environ 300 mètres à l'ouest de la route N17, en pleine campagne, à peu près à 50 mètres du village de Thélus.

* En général, les nombreux regroupements de tombes qui y ont été érigées à l'époque par l'officier d'inhumation du Corps canadien ne portent pas de nom, mais une série de lettres et de nombres.

Cimetières

Date de modification :