Language selection

Bulletin Board

Important notice

Visitor centres are open!

Visitors may now access the monuments, trails and visitor centres at the Canadian National Vimy Memorial and at the Beaumont-Hamel Newfoundland Memorial. Please respect social distancing recommendations and safety guidelines during your visit.

New: In accordance with new guidelines issued by the French government, all visitors must present their “Pass Sanitaire” or COVID certificate to access the visitor centres.

Access to the monuments and other sections of the sites remain possible without the pass. If you are visiting from Canada, you can obtain a temporary health pass from the Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs.

There are no guided tours for the time being. In the meantime, we invite you to download self-guided tour maps or take a virtual tour of our sites. Your patience is appreciated. We will update this page as more information becomes available.

Veterans Affairs Canada is not responsible for the content of external links shared. These are shared for information that may be of benefit to visitors.

Events

  • Are you planning a commemorative event at a Canadian or Newfoundland memorial site in Europe? Share details on our calendar of events!
  • If you would like to organize an event or activity at one of our nine Canadian or five Newfoundland First World War memorials, please contact us at vac.vimy.acc@canada.ca

Site Restrictions


Visitor Services

Maintenance work is scheduled to begin at the following memorials and sites. Visitors will be able to view the memorials during this period, however access to some areas may be restricted to ensure the safety of workers and visitors. This work is an important part of Veterans Affairs Canada’s continuing commitment to preserve and protect important Canadian cultural resources.

  • Bourlon Wood Canadian Memorial, France – Restoration and maintenance. Ongoing.
  • Hill 62 (Sanctuary Wood) Canadian Memorial, Belgium – Restoration and maintenance. Ongoing
  • Passchendaele Canadian Memorial, Belgium – Maintenance. June 8-12, 2020.

Interpretive Services

Canadian National Vimy Memorial

  • Tunnel and trench tours take place every 30 minutes from opening until 30 minutes before the site closes. Please consult our Frequently Asked Questionsfor information on hours of operation and details on how to book your tour when you arrive at the site.
  • Visitors who wish to visit the Grange tunnel at the Canadian National Vimy Memorial should expect uneven terrain, enclosed spaces and a descent of up to 10 metres. Children under the age of 12 must be accompanied by an adult (one adult for every two children) to take part in the tunnel tour.

Upcoming Events

Visit our calendar of events to view or share information on upcoming activities.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Tableau d'affichage

Avis important

Le centre d'accueil est rouvert!

Les visiteurs peuvent maintenant accéder aux monuments, aux sentiers et au centre d'accueil au Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy. Veuillez respecter les recommandations relatives à l'éloignement social et les consignes de sécurité pendant votre visite.

Nouveau : Conformément aux directives émises par le gouvernement français, les visiteurs au centre d’accueil et d’éducation de Vimy doivent présenter leur pass sanitaire afin d’accéder au centre. L’accès au monument et aux autres sections du site demeure possible sans pass. Si vous êtes un visiteur du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir un pass sanitaire temporaire du Ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères.

Au Mémorial terre neuvien à Beaumont-Hamel, le centre d'accueil demeure fermé. Les visiteurs peuvent accéder aux monuments et aux sentiers pendant les heures normales d'ouverture.

Il n'y a aucune visite guidée pour l'instant. En attendant, nous vous invitons à télécharger les cartes d'interprétation autonome ou à faire une visite virtuelle de nos sites. Merci de votre patience. Nous mettrons à jour cette page dès que nous obtiendrons de plus amples renseignements.

Anciens Combattants Canada n’est pas responsable du contenu des liens externes partagés. Ces derniers sont partagés à titre d’information pouvant être bénéfique aux visiteurs.

Événements

  • Prévoyez-vous une activité commémorative à l’un de nos sites commémoratifs canadiens ou terre‑neuviens en Europe? Inscrivez les détails sur notre Calendrier des activités!
  • Si vous aimeriez organiser une activité à l’un de nos neufs mémoriaux canadiens ou à l’un de nos cinq mémoriaux terre-neuviens de la Première Guerre mondiale, veuillez communiquer avec nous par courriel à vac.vimy.acc@canada.ca.

Restrictions d’accès au site

Un travail d’entretien est planifié pour les sites et mémoriaux suivants. Les visiteurs pourront tout de même visiter les monuments pendant cette période, mais l’accès à certaines zones pourrait être restreint afin d’assurer la sécurité des visiteurs et des travailleurs. Ce travail est un élément important de l’engagement continu d’Anciens Combattants Canada à préserver et à protéger les ressources culturelles canadiennes importantes.

  • Mémorial canadien à Bois de Bourlon, France – Restauration et entretien. En cours.
  • Mémorial canadien à la colline 62 (Bois du Sanctuaire), Belgique – Restauration et entretien. En cours.
  • Mémorial canadien à Passchendaele, Belgique. Entretien. 8-12 juin, 2020.

Services aux visiteurs

Services d'interprétation

Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy

  • Les visites des tunnels et des tranchées sont offertes toutes les 30 minutes dès l’ouverture  jusqu’à 30 minutes avant la fermeture du site. Veuillez visiter notre Foire aux questions pour obtenir de l’information sur les heures d’ouverture et des détails sur la réservation d’une visite à votre arrivée au site.
  • Les personnes qui désirent visiter le tunnel de la Grange au Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy doivent s’attendre à marcher en terrain accidenté, à traverser des espaces clos et à descendre parfois jusqu’à 10 mètres. Tout enfant de moins de 12 ans doit être accompagné d’un adulte (un adulte pour deux enfants) afin de pouvoir effectuer la visite du tunnel.

Activités à venir

Consultez notre calendrier d'activités pour voir ou communiquer de l'information sur les activités à venir.

Date de modification :