Design and Construction

The ground on which the Vimy Monument sits, as well as the surrounding 100 hectares of land, were given to Canada by France in 1922 in gratitude for sacrifices made by Canada in the First World War and for the victory achieved by Canadian troops in capturing Vimy Ridge in April 1917 1. This monument was built by the people of Canada as a tribute to their countrymen who fought in the Great War and, particularly, to the more than 66,000 men who gave their lives 2.

Walter Allward

The monument was designed by Canadian architect and sculptor, the late Walter Seymour Allward. His design was selected from 160 others submitted by Canadians who participated in a competition held in the early 1920s. Work began on the monument in 1925 and eleven years later, on July 26, 1936 it was unveiled by King Edward VIII. It cost approximately $1.5 million, including site preparation and the building of roads. The story of its construction is an interesting one.

Built into the side of the hill at the highest point of the Ridge, the monument rests on a bed of about 15,000 tonnes of concrete, reinforced with hundreds of tonnes of steel. The excavation had to be done with great care as the ground was littered with live bombs and shells. Many of these were unearthed as digging proceeded. The deepest part of the foundation is under the monument's eastward facing front walls, where it goes down 13 metres.

Statue of Peace

The base and twin pylons contain almost 6,000 tonnes of a special type of extremely durable limestone brought to the site from Yugoslavia (present day Croatia). The 20 sculptured figures which grace the monument were actually carved where they now stand from huge blocks of this stone. The carvers used half-size plaster models produced by Walter Allward and an instrument called a pantograph to reproduce the huge figures to the proper scale. Finishing touches were then added by a master carver.

All this work was carried out inside temporary studios built around each figure, including those at the top of the pylons. The pylons tower 27 metres above the base of the monument. Because of the height of the Ridge, the topmost figure - that of peace - is approximately 110 metres above the Douai Plain to the east.

Walter Allward once said that his inspiration for the monument came to him in a dream. The two pylons represent Canada and France - two nations beset by war and united to fight for a common goal - peace and freedom for the Allied nations. To some, the pylons may seem like twin sentinels, silently guarding a peaceful world. Or they may be seen as a gateway to a better world where peace prevails.

Female Mourner

Male Mourner

There is a wealth of symbolism in its sculptures which help the viewer in contemplating the structure as a whole. One theme is that of the strength of the ideals shared by Canada, France, and Britain which gives its true strength to the bulwark of defence represented by the massive base of the monument. Another is the sorrow of a young nation at the sacrifice of so much of her youth. Yet a third is a prayer for peace. Some of the sculptures are mourners. As you approach the monument, you will have passed by two such figures reclining on either side of the steps - a woman on the left, a man on the right.

Weeping Woman

Statue of Justice

As you walk to the front of the monument, you will see one of its central figures - a woman, cloaked and hooded, facing eastward toward the new day. Her eyes are cast down and her chin is resting on her hand. Below her is a tomb, draped in laurel branches and bearing a helmet. This saddened figure represents Canada - a young nation mourning her fallen sons. This figure was carved from a single, 30-tonne block of stone - the largest piece in the monument.

Turning from this figure to look up at the pylons, you will see at the highest points, Justice and Peace. Arranged below them are other figures representing Truth, Knowledge, Gallantry and Sympathy. Around these figures are shields of Canada, Britain and France. On the outside of the pylons is the Cross. In the centre, at the base, the Spirit of Sacrifice throws the torch to his comrades.

Beside the steps leading down on each side of the front walls are two groups of carved figures. These are the Defenders. Facing the Memorial, at the bottom of the stairs on your left, is the Breaking of the Sword and, on your right, Sympathy for the Helpless. Above each group are cannons, silent now and draped in laurel and olive branches - symbols of Victory and Peace.

Cannons

Names on Monument

On the outside of the monument's enclosing walls you will find the names of 11,285 Canadians who were killed in France and whose final resting places are unknown. The First World War battle honours of the regiments that fought at Vimy Ridge and dedicatory inscriptions are carved on the face of the pylons.

As you stand on the monument's wide stone terrace and look out over the broad fields and rolling hills of France, you can see other places where Canadians fought and died. More than 7,000 are buried in 30 war cemeteries within a 16-kilometre radius of this spot.

The First World War was referred to as "the war to end all wars". Sadly, during the half century that this monument has been standing, many wars have ravaged our world. Today, the memorial serves to remind us of the high price of war. It should also inspire us to work toward that lasting peace for which those commemorated here gave their lives.

Date modified:

Conception et construction

La terre sur laquelle est érigé le Monument commémoratif du Canada à Vimy ainsi que les 100 hectares qui l'entourent ont été donnés au Canada par la France en 1922, en reconnaissance des sacrifices consentis par le Canada lors de la Première Guerre mondiale et pour la victoire remportée par les troupes canadiennes lors de la bataille pour la capture de la crête de Vimy en avril 1917 1. Ce monument a été érigé par les Canadiens en hommage à leurs compatriotes qui ont combattu lors de la Grande Guerre et en particulier, à ceux parmi eux, soit plus de 66 000, qui y ont donné leur vie. 2.

Walter Allward

C'est feu Walter Allward, un architecte et sculpteur canadien, qui a conçu le monument. Son projet a été choisi parmi les 160 soumis par des Canadiens lors d'un concours tenu au début des années vingt. Le monument, dont l'érection a débuté en 1925, a été dévoilé onze ans plus tard, le 26 juillet 1936, par le roi Édouard VIII. Il a coûté environ 1,5 million de dollars, ce coût englobant la préparation du site et la construction des routes d'accès. L'histoire de sa construction est intéressante.

Construit sur le flanc de la colline au point le plus élevé de la crête, le monument repose sur un lit d'environ 15 000 tonnes de béton, renforcé de centaines de tonnes d'acier. L'excavation a exigé une très grande attention, le sol étant jonché de bombes et d'obus non explosés. Plusieurs furent déterrés au moment du creusage. La partie la plus profonde de la fondation, qui descend à 13 mètres, se trouve sous les murs de la façade, qui font face à l'est.

Statue de la Paix

La base et les pylônes jumeaux contiennent presque 6 000 tonnes d'une pierre calcaire spéciale extrêmement durable transportée sur les lieux à partir de la Yougoslavie (la Croatie actuelle). Les 20 personnages qui ornent le monument ont été sculptés sur place à même d'énormes blocs de cette pierre. Les sculpteurs se sont servis de modèles de plâtre demi-grandeur produits par Walter Allward et d'un instrument appelé pantographe pour reproduire les énormes personnages à l'échelle voulue. Un maître sculpteur a par la suite mis la dernière main à l'oeuvre.

Tout ce travail a été exécuté à l'intérieur d'ateliers temporaires construits autour de chacun des personnages, y compris ceux qui sont au sommet des pylônes. Ces pylônes s'élèvent à 27 mètres au-dessus de la base du monument. Étant donné la hauteur de la crête, le personnage le plus élevé - celui de la Paix - est à environ 110 mètres au-dessus de la plaine de Douai, à l'est.

Walter Allward a déjà dit que son inspiration pour le monument lui était venue d'un rêve. Les deux pylônes représentent le Canada et la France - deux pays assaillis par la guerre et unis dans le combat pour un but commun - la paix et la liberté pour les pays alliés. Pour certains, les pylônes représentent des sentinelles jumelles, veillant silencieusement sur un monde paisible. On peut aussi les voir comme une porte vers un monde meilleur où règne la paix.

Femme en deuil

Homme en deuil

Une grande richesse symbolique des sculptures s'offre à la personne qui contemple la structure dans son ensemble. L'un des thèmes est celui de la force des idéaux partagés par le Canada, la France et la Grande-Bretagne qui donnent au rempart de défense, représenté par la base massive du monument, sa véritable solidarité. Un autre est la tristesse d'un jeune pays devant le sacrifice de tant de ses jeunes. La prière pour la paix en constitue un troisième. Certaines des sculptures dépeignent l'affliction. Aux abords du monument, deux de ces personnages sont allongés sur chaque côté des marches - une femme à gauche, un homme à droite.

Femme en pleurs

Statue de la Justice

En quittant ce personnage des yeux pour regarder vers le sommet des pylônes, on aperçoit les statues de la Justice et de la Paix. En-dessous, d'autres personnages assemblés représentent la Vérité, la Connaissance, la Vaillance et la Compassion. Les blasons du Canada, de la Grande-Bretagne et de la France entourent ces personnages. Des croix ornent la face extérieure des pylônes. Au centre, à la base, l'Esprit du sacrifice transmet le flambeau à ses camarades.

Au bas des marches, de chaque côté du mur de façade, se dressent deux groupes de personnages sculptés, les Défenseurs. Face au monument, à gauche, un premier groupe représente la Rupture de l'épée et, à droite, un deuxième représente la Compassion pour les faibles. Au-dessus de chaque groupe se trouve un canon, maintenant muet et drapé dans des branches de laurier et d'olivier, symboles de la Victoire et de la Paix.

Sur les murs ceinturant le monument sont gravés les noms des 11 285 Canadiens tués en France et qui n'ont pas de sépulture connue. Les inscriptions au drapeau pour la Première Guerre mondiale des régiments qui ont combattu à la crête de Vimy et des inscriptions dédicatoires sont gravées sur la face extérieure des pylônes.

Canons

Noms inscrits sur le monument

De la grande terrasse de pierre du monument qui surplombe les vastes champs et les collines ondulantes de France, on aperçoit d'autres endroits où les Canadiens ont combattu, souvent jusqu'à la mort. Plus de 7 000 d'entre eux sont inhumés dans quelque 30 cimetières de guerre situés dans un rayon de 16 kilomètres de cet endroit.

On disait de la Première Guerre mondiale qu'elle était « la guerre qui mettrait fin à toutes les guerres ». Hélas, au cours du demi-siècle qui s'est écoulé depuis que l'érection de ce monument est terminée, beaucoup d'autres guerres ont dévasté notre monde. Aujourd'hui, le monument nous rappelle le prix élevé de la guerre. Il devrait aussi nous inciter à oeuvrer en faveur de cette paix durable pour laquelle ceux dont on honore ici la mémoire ont donné leur vie.

Date de modification :