Oostende Naval Memorial

Oostende Naval Memorial inscription

On the afternoon of February 14, 1945, disaster struck the Canadian 29th Motor Torpedo Boat flotilla during the Second World War. In advance of a patrol that night, many of the sailors were asleep on their boats docked in Ostend, Belgium (spelled ‘Oostende' in the local Flemish language). Spilled fuel that had ended up floating on the surface of the harbour suddenly ignited and, before an alarm could even be raised, a raging fire quickly spread amongst the closely-moored vessels. Fuel and ammunition supplies exploded as boat after boat caught fire. Many of the men were trapped on board and had no escape as even the water was aflame. By the time it was over, the 29th flotilla had lost 26 Canadian sailors and five of eight of its vessels were destroyed. An estimated 35 British sailors and seven Royal Navy vessels had also been lost.

Motor torpedo boats (MTBs) were small warships about 22 metres long and six metres wide. Equipped with powerful engines, torpedoes, light naval guns and machine guns, the Canadian MTBs operated chiefly at night in the English Channel as fast attack boats that disrupted enemy shipping off the coast of occupied Europe, and defended Allied shipping from the German's own fast attack boats and midget submarines. The MTBs also played an important role on D-Day when they helped protect the huge Allied fleet from German warships.

The MTB crews had an extremely dangerous job – their boats were small, the seas of the English Channel were rough and German guns and mines were never far away. To commemorate the disaster of February 14, 1945, the Oostende Naval Memorial to the Canadian 29th Motor Torpedo Boat Flotilla was erected on land donated by the city of Oostende near where the fire occurred. Made in Nova Scotia and funded by Royal Canadian Navy Associations, the 2.4 metre-high granite monument bears a picture of a motor torpedo boat and the names of the Canadians who lost their lives. Two granite benches face opposite sides of the block monument which was dedicated on May 8, 2003. A memorial service is held each year on February 14 – the anniversary of the disaster.

The front of the monument has the following inscription:

CANADA REMEMBERS THE 29TH MTB FLOTILLA

FEBRUARY 14, 1945

ON THIS DATE AN ACCIDENTAL FIRE AND EXPLOSIONS DECIMATED THE 29TH CANADIAN MOTOR TORPEDO BOAT FLOTILLA WHILE DOCKED IN OOSTENDE, BELGIUM HARBOUR. 26 SAILORS OF THE R.C.N.V.R. WERE KILLED AND 5 BOATS DESTROYED.

IN HONOUR OF

MTBs Nos 459, 461, 462, 465, 466

WE CARE AND REMEMBER
R.C.N.A.

THEY SERVED WITH VALOUR

The back of the monument reads:

"THEY DIED FOR THE FREEDOM OF BELGIUM AND MANKIND."

IN MEMORY OF THE R.C.N.V.R. OFFICERS AND MEN OF THE 29TH CANADIAN MOTOR TORPEDO BOAT FLOTILLA WHOSE NAMES ARE ENTERED HERE.

A FEW LIE IN MARKED GRAVES, THE MAJORITY KNOWN UNTO GOD. ALL ARE HONOURED HERE, IN THE HARBOUR OF OOSTENDE, WHERE THEY PAID THE SUPREME SACRIFICE.

WE PROUDLY SALUTE THE MEMORY OF SHIPMATES OF THE ROYAL NAVY, 35 WERE KILLED WITH THE LOSS OF 7 BOATS IN THIS DISASTER.

WE REMEMBER LS JOSEPH VASEY R.N. KILLED WHILE SERVING IN MTB 465 OF THE 29TH FLOTILLA.

ERECTED BY THE ROYAL CANADIAN NAVAL ASSOCIATION, THE CANADIAN COASTAL FORCES VETERANS ASSOCIATION, SYMPATHETIC FRIENDS, AND THE MAYOR, COUNCIL AND CITIZENS OF THE CITY OF OOSTENDE.

MAY 8, 2003

Directions

Oostende Naval Memorial

The Oostende Naval Monument to the Canadian 29th Motor Torpedo Boat Flotilla is located in the port city of Oostende in western Belgium, close to the French border. The monument is found on the Montgomery Dock, just a few hundred metres northwest of the Oostende train station.

Date modified:

Le Monument commémoratif de la Marine à Oostende

Inscription sur le Monument commémoratif de la Marine à Oostende

Le 14 février 1945, en après-midi, la catastrophe frappe la 29e Flottille canadienne de vedettes lance-torpilles (MTB) pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. À l'avance d'une patrouille qui devait avoir lieu le soir même, nombre des marins dormaient à bord de leur navire amarré à Oostende, en Belgique (épelé « Oostende » dans la langue flamande locale). Du carburant déversé qui flottait à la surface de l'eau du port s'enflamme soudainement et, avant que l'alarme ne soit sonnée, un violent incendie fait rage et se répand rapidement aux navires amarrés côte à côte. Les réserves de carburant et de munitions explosent à mesure que les navires prennent tour à tour en feu. Nombre des marins sont enfermés à bord et n'ont aucune voie de sortie puisque même l'eau est en feu. Quand tout est fini, la 29e Flottille a perdu 26 marins canadiens, et cinq de ses huit navires ont été détruits. On estime que 35 marins britanniques y ont perdu la vie, et sept navires de la Royal Navy ont également été détruits.

Les vedettes lance-torpilles (MTB) étaient de petits navires de combats d'environ 22 mètres de long et de six mètres de largeur. Munies de moteurs puissants, de torpilles, de canons navals de faible calibre et de mitrailleuses, les MTB étaient actives dans la Manche, surtout la nuit, comme navires d'attaque rapide pour désorganiser le transport des marchandises ennemies le long de la côte de l'Europe occupée, et défendaient le transport des marchandises alliées contre l'attaque par les navires d'attaque rapide et les sous-marins de poche de l'Allemagne. Les MTB ont également joué un rôle important au jour J lorsqu'elles ont aidé à protéger l'énorme flotte alliée contre les navires de guerre allemands.

L'équipage des MTB avait un travail extrêmement dangereux : les navettes étaient petites, les eaux de la Manche étaient agitées, et les canons et les mines des Allemands n'étaient jamais bien loin. En commémoration de la catastrophe du 14 février 1945, le monument dédié à la 29e Flottille canadienne de vedettes lance-torpilles a été érigé sur un terrain situé près du lieu de l'incendie et donné par la ville d'Oostende. Taillé en Nouvelle-Écosse et financé par des filiales de l'association royale canadienne de la marine, le monument de granite de 2,4 m de hauteur porte la photo d'une vedette lance-torpilles et le nom des Canadiens qui ont perdu leur vie lors de la catastrophe. Deux bancs de granite font face aux côtés opposés du monument, qui a été inauguré le 8 mai 2003. Un service commémoratif est organisé chaque année le 14 février, l'anniversaire de la catastrophe.

Le devant du monument porte l'inscription suivante : (traduction libre)

LE CANADA SE SOUVIENT DE LA 29e FLOTTILLE DE MTB

LE 14 FÉVRIER 1945

1945 À CETTE DATE, UN INCENDIE ET DES EXPLOSIONS ACCIDENTELS ONT DÉCIMÉ LA 29e FLOTTILLE CANADIENNE DE NAVETTES LANCE-TORPILLES AMARRÉE À OOSTENDE, UN PORT BELGE. 26 MARINS DE LA RVMRC ONT ÉTÉ TUÉS ET 5 NAVIRES DÉTRUITS.

EN L'HONNEUR DE

MTB Nos 459, 461, 462, 465, 466

NOUS NOUS SOUVENONS L'ASSOCIATION ROYALE CANADIENNE DE LA MARINE

ILS ONT SERVI AVEC BRAVOURE

L'arrière du monument porte l'inscription suivante : (traduction libre)

« ILS SONT DÉCÉDÉS POUR LA LIBERTÉ DE LA BELGIQUE ET POUR L'HUMANITÉ. »

À LA MÉMOIRE DES OFFICIERS DE LA RVMRC ET DES HOMMES DE LA 29e FLOTTILLE CANADIENNE DE NAVETTES LANCE-TORPILLES DONT LES NOMS SONT ICI INSCRITS.

CERTAINS REPOSENT DANS DES TOMBES MARQUÉES, LA MAJORITÉ EN DES LIEUX CONNUS DE DIEU. ILS SONT TOUS HONORÉS ICI, DANS LE PORT DE OOSTENDE, LÀ OÙ ILS ONT FAIT LE SACRIFICE ULTIME.

NOUS SALUONS FIÈREMENT LA MÉMOIRE DES CAMARADES DE BORD DE LA ROYAL NAVY, 35 ONT ÉTÉ TUÉS ET SEPT NAVIRES ONT ÉTÉ DÉTRUITS DANS LA CATASTROPHE.

NOUS NOUS SOUVENONS DU MAT 1 JOSEPH VASEY R.N. TUÉ EN SERVICE SUR LE MTB 465 DE LA 29e FLOTTILLE.

ÉRIGÉ PAR L'ASSOCIATION ROYALE CANADIENNE DE LA MARINE, L'ASSOCIATION CANADIENNE DES ANCIENS COMBATTANTS DES FORCES CÔTIÈRES, DES AMIS SYMPATHIQUES ET LE MAIRE, LE CONSEIL MUNICIPAL ET LES CITOYENS DE LA VILLE DE OOSTENDE.

LE 8 MAI 2003

Indications routières

Le Monument commémoratif de la Marine à Oostende

Le monument commémoratif de la marine à Ostende dédié à la 29e Flottille canadienne de vedettes lance-torpilles est situé au port de la ville de Ostende dans l'Ouest de la Belgique, près de la frontière française. Le monument se trouve sur le quai Montgomery, à quelques mètres en direction nord-ouest de la gare de Ostende.

Date de modification :