Canada Memorial in Green Park

Canada Memorial in Green Park 1

Note: Please be advised that the water feature may not be fully functional at all times due to maintenance of the Memorial.

Designed by Canadian sculptor Pierre Granche and unveiled by Her Majesty The Queen in 1994, the Canada Memorial pays tribute to the nearly one million Canadian and Newfoundland men and women who served in the United Kingdom during the First and Second World Wars. In particular, it honours the more than 100,000 brave Canadians and Newfoundlanders who paid the ultimate sacrifice for peace and freedom.

The monument is located across from Buckingham Palace in Green Park, one of the Royal Parks of London, England. It is made of red granite from the Canadian Shield with inset bronze maple leaves arranged in a windswept pattern. The polished granite is set at an incline and a shimmer of water flowing over it creates the impression of maple leaves floating down a stream.

The monument is divided into two sections representing Canadian and British participation in the two World Wars. At the centre is a narrow walkway. At the east end of the walkway is a circular bronze casting which reads:

In two world wars one million Canadians came to Britain and joined the fight for freedom. From danger shared, our friendship prospers.

Also contained in the bronze casting is a compass rose that orients the sculpture toward Halifax, Nova Scotia, the port from which most Canadians left for active service. In the hollow area between the bronze casting and the monument is a set of stairs so that passers-by can sit and reflect.

The Artist

Canada Memorial in Green Park 2
Canada Memorial in Green Park 3

In the summer of 1992 the Canada Memorial Foundation invited Canadian artists to participate in a competition to design a memorial to the memory of Canadian participation in the two World Wars. The design of Québec artist, Pierre Granche, was chosen out of a total of 33 entries. The late Mr. Granche was well known as a sculptor for integrating his works with architecture and the environment. What is interesting about Pierre Granche's work is the discreet quality of its form, its harmony with the setting in London's Green Park, and its evocative power.

Directions

Green Park is located in Westminster, very close to Buckingham Palace and the Queen Victoria Memorial. It is on the North West side of the Palace, more specifically the Canada Gate which is along Constitution Hill. The Canada Memorial is approximately 50 metres past the Canada Gate, inside the Park.

If you visit London by Underground (TUBE):

Piccadilly, Jubilee and Victoria lines all stop at Green Park TUBE Station which is located at the North end of Green Park. At that stop you can walk across the park to the Memorial, which is at the south end of the Park (near Canada Gate and Buckingham Palace).

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial du Canada à Green Park

Remarque

Anciens Combattants Canada a complété la mise à niveau du système d’eau au Mémorial du Canada à Green Park. Cette mise à niveau s’inscrit dans notre engagement continu d’assurer l’intégrité et l’entretien des 14 monuments commémoratifs de la Première Guerre mondiale et de la Seconde Guerre mondiale du Canada en Europe. Après la mise à l’essai du système, nous activerons la fonction d’eau pour la saison au début de juin.

Mémorial du Canada à Green Park 1

Conçu par le sculpteur canadien Pierre Granche et inauguré par Sa Majesté la Reine en 1994, ce mémorial rend hommage à près d'un million de Canadiens et de Terre-Neuviens, hommes et femmes, qui ont servi au Royaume-Uni durant les Première et Seconde Guerres mondiales. Il honore notamment la mémoire des 100 000 braves Canadiens et Terre-Neuviens qui ont consenti le sacrifice ultime pour la paix et la liberté.

Le monument est situé en face du palais de Buckingham, à Green Park, l'un des parcs royaux de Londres en Angleterre. Il est fait de granit rouge provenant du Bouclier canadien et est orné de feuilles d'érable en bronze qui semblent balayées par les vents en raison de leur motif. Le monument de granit poli est incliné et le miroitement de l'eau qui s'écoule donne l'impression que les feuilles d'érable flottent sur un ruisseau.

Le monument comprend deux sections qui représentent la participation du Canada et celle de la Grande-Bretagne dans les deux guerres mondiales. Au centre du monument se trouve un sentier étroit. Du côté est de ce sentier, au centre d'un moulage de bronze circulaire, on peut lire :

Au cours des deux guerres mondiales, un million de Canadiens sont venus en Grande-Bretagne, se joindre à la bataille pour la liberté humaine. Face au danger commun, notre amitié augmente.

Au centre de ce moulage en bronze se trouve également une rose des vents qui oriente la sculpture vers Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, le port à partir duquel la plupart des Canadiens ont quitté leur pays pour le service actif dans les Forces. Dans l'espace creux entre les deux moulages en bronze et le monument, il y a des escaliers où les passants peuvent s'asseoir pour réfléchir.

L'artiste

Mémorial du Canada à Green Park 2
Mémorial du Canada à Green Park 3

Au cours de l'été 1992, la Canada Memorial Foundation invitait des artistes canadiens à participer à un concours dans le but d'édifier un monument à la mémoire de la participation canadienne aux deux guerres mondiales. Feu Pierre Granche a été choisi parmi 33 concurrents pour sa conception graphique. Ce qui est intéressant dans le travail de Pierre Granche, c'est la qualité discrète de sa forme, son harmonie avec le décor du parc Green Park, à Londres, et son pouvoir évocateur.

Indications routières

Le Green Park se trouve à Westminster, tout près du palais de Buckingham et du Mémorial dédié à la reine Victoria. Il se trouve du côté nord-ouest du palais de Buckingham, plus particulièrement près de la Canada Gate, le long de Constitution Hill. Le Mémorial du Canada se trouve à environ 50 mè tres au-delà de la Canada Gate, à l'intérieur du parc.

Si vous visitez Londres en prenant le métro (TUBE) :

Les lignes Piccadilly, Jubilee et Victoria mènent toutes à la station de métro Green Park qui se trouve du côté nord de Green Park. En descendant à l'arrêt, vous pouvez traverser le parc à pied pour vous rendre jusqu'au Mémorial qui se trouve du côté sud du parc (près de la Canada Gate et du palais de Buckingham).

Date de modification :