Bretteville-l'Orgueilleuse
Putôt-en-Bessin

Putôt-en-Bessin Monument (Present Day)

These two towns were part of the objectives of the 7th Canadian Infantry Brigade on June 7. Setting out around daylight, the Canadians met only light resistance from the unprepared Germans. At about noon, The Regina Rifle Regiment had advanced to Bretteville-l'Orgueilleuse, while The Royal Winnipeg Rifles reached Putôt-en-Bessin.

The following day, the Germans launched bloody counter-attacks and succeeded in driving the Winnipeg regiment outside of Putôt. The brigade countered at 8:30 pm with the 1st Battalion, Canadian Scottish Regiment, a squadron of tanks from the 6th Armoured Regiment (the 1st Hussars), the 12th and 13th Field Regiments of the Royal Canadian Artillery (RCA) and part of The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa (MG). By 9:30 the objective had again been achieved.

In total, the Winnipegs lost 256 men on June 8, 105 of them killed (some murdered after their capture); while the 1st Battalion, Canadian Scottish Regiment lost 125, 45 of them fatal.

At about the same time the Canadians were countering in Putôt-en-Bessin, the Germans attacked the Regina Rifles at Bretteville-l'Orgueilleuse. One tank of the 12th SS Panzer Regiment reached battalion headquarters in Bretteville before being knocked out. Fighting continued throughout the night but the Reginas, with help from the RCA, held their positions. The Germans pulled back the morning of June 9.

Directions

Bretteville-l'Orgueilleuse (Present Day)

This cemetery lies on the west side of the main road from Caen to Falaise (route N158) about 14 kilometres south of Caen and just north of the village in Cintheaux. The village of Bretteville lies 3 kilometres south-west of the cemetery.

Date modified:

Bretteville-l'Orgueilleuse/Putôt-en-Bessin

Monument de Putôt-en-Bessin (Aujourd'hui)

Ces deux villes faisaient partie des objectifs de la 7e Brigade d'infanterie canadienne le 7 juin. Quand ils donnèrent l'offensive au lever du jour, les Canadiens ne firent face qu'à une faible résistance des Allemands pris par surprise. Vers midi, le Regina Rifle Regiment avait avancé sur Bretteville-l'Orgueilleuse, tandis que le Royal Winnipeg Rifles avait atteint Putôt-en-Bessin.

Le lendemain, les Allemands lancèrent de sanglantes contre-attaques et réussirent à faire reculer le régiment de Winnipeg jusqu'en dehors des limites de Putôt. La brigade répliqua à 20 h 30, épaulée par le 1er Bataillon, Canadian Scottish Regiment, un escadron de chars du 6e régiment blindé (1st Hussars), les 12e et 13e régiments de campagne de l'Artillerie royale canadienne et une partie du Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa (M.G.) (bataillon de mitrailleuses). Une heure plus tard, soit à 21 h 30, les Canadiens avaient repris leur objectif.

En tout, la brigade d'infanterie de Winnipeg perdit 256 hommes le 8 juin; 105 furent tués et certains furent même exécutés après avoir été faits prisonniers. Le 1er Bataillon ( Canadian Scottish Regiment) déplora 125 pertes dont 45 morts.

À peu près au moment où les Canadiens contre-attaquaient à Putôt-en-Bessin, les Allemands portaient l'assaut contre le Regina Rifles à Bretteville-l'Orgueilleuse. Un char de la 12e Division blindée allemande (Panzer SS) réussit même à se rendre au quartier général du bataillon à Bretteville avant d'être mis hors d'état de nuire. Les combats se poursuivirent toute la nuit, mais le Regina Rifles, soutenus par le CARC, réussirent à tenir leurs positions. Les Allemands se replièrent au matin du 9 juin.

Indications routières

Bretteville-l'Orgueilleuse (Au'jourd'hui)

Le cimetière se trouve du côté ouest de la route principale entre Caen et Falaise (route N158), à environ 14 km au sud de Caen et juste au nord du village de Cintheaux. Le village de Bretteville est à 3 km au sud-ouest du cimetière.

Date de modification :