Language selection

Puys — The Royal Regiment of Canada and the Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment)

Landing on the Blue Beach at Puys, the Royal Regiment of Canada, led by Lieutenant-Colonel D.E. Catto, planned to begin the battle in the darkness of the night. Their landing delayed, the Regiment arrived on shore as the sun was rising. Without the element of surprise, their enemy was strategically placed, heavily armed and waiting. Heavy casualties were suffered immediately.

Few members managed to advance beyond the heavily-wired 10-foot high seawall at the head of the beach. Those who did (including Lieutenant-Colonel Catto) were unable to return. Most, including three platoons of reinforcements from the Black Watch of Canada, were pinned down by unrelenting machine-gun and mortar fire and could not evacuate.

Of the 554 members of the Royal Regiment of Canada who embarked on the raid, 227 died in or as a result of the raid—more deaths than any other unit involved. In addition, 136 were wounded and 264 became prisoners of war (POWs). Only 65 made it back to England. Only 44 of the Black Watch’s 111 troops returned. Four died in or as a result of the raid, eight were wounded and 63 taken prisoner.

The plaque on The Royal Regiment of Canada Monument, in Puys, reads:

You who are alive on this beach, remember that these men died far from home so that others, here and elsewhere, might freely enjoy life in God’s mercy.

Date modified:

Puys : Le Royal Regiment of Canada et le Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment)

Lors du débarquement sur la Blue Beach à Puys, les membres du Royal Regiment of Canada, sous les ordres du Lieutenant-colonel D. E. Catto, prévoient engager la bataille dans l'obscurité de la nuit. Cependant, le débarquement est retardé et le régiment arrive à la plage au lever du soleil. L'élément de surprise qu'espéraient les forces alliées est disparu et l'ennemi occupe une position stratégique. Lourdement armé, il attend les forces alliées, qui subissent sans tarder de lourdes pertes.

Très peu d'hommes réussissent à franchir le fort réseau de barbelés sur la digue d'une hauteur d'environ trois mètres à la tête de la plage. Ceux qui réussissent (dont le Lcol Catto) ne reviendront pas. Les soldats, y compris trois pelotons de renfort du Black Watch, sont, pour la plupart, immobilisés sur la plage par le feu des mortiers et des mitrailleuses et incapables de se replier.

Des 554 membres du Royal Regiment of Canada mobilisés pour le raid, 227 meurent au cours ou en raison du raid. Il s'agit en fait de l'unité qui compte le plus grand nombre de morts parmi toutes celles qui ont pris part au raid. De plus, 136 militaires sont blessés et 264 faits prisonniers de guerre. Seulement 65 d'entre eux retourneront en Angleterre. Des 111 membres du Black Watch, seulement 44 retourneront à leur base d'attache. Quatre sont morts au cours ou en raison du raid, huit sont blessés et 63 faits prisonniers.

L'inscription gravée sur la plaque du Monument du Royal Regiment of Canada de Puys se lit comme suit :

Vous qui êtes en vie aujourd'hui, souvenez-vous que ces hommes sont morts loin de leur pays pour que d'autres, d'ici et d'ailleurs, puissent vivre pleinement et connaître la liberté dans la grâce de Dieu.

Date de modification :