Peacekeeper Park

Peacekeeper Park in Calgary, Alberta, features a bronze statue and a Wall of Honour that commemorate Canadian peacekeeping missions and pay tribute to those who have lost their lives.

Calgary, Alberta

Share:

Cyprus Gulf war Balkans Rwanda

Visitor Information

3031 Dallaire Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta

The Peacekeeper Park is open 24 hours a day.


Database Information

Municipality/Province: Calgary, AB

Memorial number: 48002-068

Type: Bronze Statue and Wall of Honour

Address: Garrison Green

Location: North Glenmore

GPS coordinates: Lat: 51.003 Long: -114.12698

View Canadian Military Memorials Database

"Izzy" dolls

The statue depicts a Canadian peacekeeper giving an "Izzy" doll to a child. The "Izzy" doll is named after Mark Isfeld, whose mother crocheted small dolls for him to give to local children while on patrols during his tour. Isfeld's name is on the wall of the park, as he was killed by a landmine in Croatia on June 21, 1994.

Photo: Courtesy of the Canada Lands Company

Mission wall

The park also features a Mission Wall which lists all the United Nations missions that Canadians have been involved in. At the time of its construction in 2004, it was believed that the Wall of Honour would have enough space to add names for 60 years. When it was time to include Canadian fatalities from the mission in Afghanistan, the wall was quickly populated and efforts were initiated to install a second wall to accommodate the growing list of soldiers to be commemorated.

A serene location

The 1.85 acre Peacekeeper Park is located in Garrison Green, the redeveloped Lincoln Park, which was formerly part of Canadian Forces Base Calgary and, during the Second World War, had been an airfield for the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. After the base closed in 1998, the Canada Lands Company (CLC) was tasked with redeveloping the land.

Peacekeepers memorialized

The streets in Garrison Green were initially named after the places where Canadian troops had served on peacekeeping missions and they were now to be renamed to reflect Lincoln Park's history as an airfield during the Second World War. As the land was redeveloped, a decision was made that the streets in Garrison Green would be named after Canadian peacekeepers. The Calgary chapter of the Canadian Association of Veterans in United Nations Peacekeeping proposed 16 names, of which 13 were chosen.

Inscription found on memorial

PEACEKEEPERS PARK
Since the end of the Second World War, Canada has developed a strong peacekeeping tradition. At its heart are the military personnel who served their nation in its endeavour to assist people affected by war. These individuals serve their country and the world community through their dedication to international peace and security. This park is a tribute to Canada's Peacekeepers.
Peacekeepers Park includes three elements - the Wall of Honour, the Mission Wall and the bronze sculpture. The Wall of Honour commemorates the Fallen Peacekeepers who made the ultimate sacrifice. Their loss holds true as a symbol of the Canadian will to make the world a better place for all. The second wall lists the Peacekeeping missions in which Canada has participated. The walls provide a testament to the sacrifices and perseverance required to ensure peace.
The bronze sculpture shows an armed Canadian soldier offering an 'Izzy' doll to a little girl. During many of their missions, Canada's Peacekeepers have been struck by the object poverty and suffering of those less fortunate, especially the children. This sculpture epitomizes the dual role of Canadian Peacekeepers in providing both professional military intervention and compassion.
The Peacekeepers
We Will Remember Them.
Presented to Canada's Peacekeepers and The City of Calgary by Canada Lands Company CLC Limited on Peackeepers Day, 9 August 2004.

Conflicts related to this memorial

Date modified:

Parc Peacekeeper

On trouve au parc Peacekeeper de Calgary, en Alberta, une statue de bronze et un mur de l’excellence qui commémorent les missions canadiennes de maintien de la paix et rendent hommage à ceux et celles qui y ont laissé leur vie.

Calgary, Alberta

Partager :

Chypre Guerre du Golfe Balkans Rwanda

Information pour les visiteurs

3031, avenue Dallaire Sud Ouest, Calgary, Alberta

La Parc Peacekeeper est ouvert 24 heures par jour.


Information de la base de données

Ville/Province : Calgary, AB

Numéro du monument : 48002-068

Type : Statue

Adresse : Garrison Green

Lieu : North Glenmore

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 51.003 Long: -114.12698

Consulter la base de données des monuments commémoratifs canadiens

Poupée « Izzy »

La statue représente un gardien de la paix canadien qui remet une poupée « Izzy » à un enfant. Cette poupée a été nommée en l’honneur de Mark Isfeld, dont la mère confectionnait au crochet de petites poupées pour qu’il puisse les remettre aux enfants croisés lors de ses patrouilles. Le nom de Mark Isfeld figure également au mur commémoratif du parc, car il a été tué par une mine en Croatie le 21 juin 1994.

Photo : Avec la permission de la Société immobilière du Canada

Mur des missions

Le parc renferme en outre un mur des missions où l’on énumère toutes les missions des Nations Unies auxquelles le Canada a pris part. Au moment de sa construction en 2004, on croyait que le mur de l’excellence offrait suffisamment de place pour que des noms puissent y être inscrits pendant 60 ans. Lorsqu’il a fallu y commémorer les pertes canadiennes lors de la mission en Afghanistan, le mur a été rapidement couvert de noms, et des efforts ont été entrepris afin d’en installer un second pour y accueillir le nombre croissant de soldats dont on voulait honorer la mémoire.

Lieu paisible

Le parc de 1,85 acres est situé dans Garrison Green, un espace issu du réaménagement du parc Lincoln, lequel faisait autrefois partie de la Base des Forces canadiennes Calgary, et a servi de terrain d’aviation pour le Programme d’entraînement aérien du Commonwealth britannique durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Lorsque la base a fermé ses portes en 1998, la Société immobilière du Canada a été chargée de réaménager le secteur.

Gardiens de la paix commémorés

Les rues de Garrison Green avaient été nommées au départ pour commémorer les endroits où les troupes canadiennes avaient participé à des missions de maintien de la paix et devaient alors être rebaptisées pour souligner le fait que le parc Lincoln avait servi de terrain d’aviation au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Compte tenu du réaménagement du secteur, les parties en question ont finalement convenu que les rues de Garrison Green seraient nommées en l’honneur de gardiens de la paix canadiens. La succursale de Calgary de l’Association canadienne des vétérans des forces de la paix pour les Nations Unies a alors proposé 16 noms, dont 13 ont été retenus.

Inscription sur le monument

PARC PEACEKEEPER
Depuis la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le Canada a instauré une forte tradition de maintien de la paix. Au cœur de cette tradition se trouvent les militaires qui servent le Canada dans ses efforts pour aider les personnes touchées par la guerre. Ces militaires servent leur pays et le monde entier grâce à leur dévouement au maintien de la paix et de la sécurité à l’échelle internationale. Ce parc commémore les gardiens de la paix du Canada.
Le parc Peacekeeper est composé de trois éléments : le mur d’honneur, le mur des missions et la statue de bronze. Le mur d’honneur commémore les gardiens de la paix tombés au combat qui ont fait le sacrifice ultime. Leur perte constitue un symbole puissant de la volonté du Canada de créer un monde meilleur pour tous. Le deuxième mur énumère les missions de maintien de la paix auxquelles le Canada a participé. Les murs témoignent de la persévérance et des sacrifices nécessaires pour protéger la paix.
La statue de bronze représente un soldat canadien armé offrant une poupée « Izzy » à une fillette. Au cours de nombre de leurs missions, les gardiens de la paix du Canada ont vu la pauvreté et la souffrance des plus démunis, des enfants surtout. Cette statue incarne le double rôle des gardiens de la paix canadiens d’offrir une intervention militaire et de faire preuve de compassion.
Les gardiens de la paix
Nous nous souviendrons d’eux.
Présenté aux gardiens de la paix du Canada et à la ville de Calgary par la Société immobilière du Canada CLC limitée pendant la Journée nationale des Gardiens de la paix (Casques bleus) le 9 août 2004.

Conflits liés à ce mémorial

Date de modification :