Ethelbert 'Curley' Christian

After suffering injuries in the Battle of Vimy Ridge that left him a quadruple amputee, Christian Curley helped establish a program for disabled veterans which is still offered today.

Toronto, Ontario


First World War
Curley Christian

Biography

Ethelbert 'Curley' Christian was born in the United States. He eventually settled in Canada where he enlisted in the Canadian Army in 1915 during the First World War.

April 9, 1917, Christian was serving with the 78th Canadian Infantry Battalion (the Winnipeg Grenadiers) during the Battle of Vimy Ridge when heavy artillery fire buried him in a trench. All four limbs were crushed by debris and the wounded soldier was trapped for two days. Found barely alive, Christian cheated death again when two of his stretcher bearers were killed by enemy fire while carrying him from the battlefield.

Christian survived but unfortunately gangrene set in and both arms and both legs had to be amputated. His positive demeanor remained, however, and after returning to Canada he married a volunteer aide who worked at the Toronto hospital where he was recuperating.

Christian received artificial limbs and lived a long and active life until his death in 1954. In fact, he was one of the more than 8,000 veterans who returned to France when the new Canadian National Vimy Memorial was dedicated by King Edward VIII in July 1936.

* The Mural of Honour is permanently displayed at the Military Museums in Calgary.


Where they participated

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Ethelbert 'Curley' Christian

Amputé des quatre membres après avoir subi des blessures dans la bataille de la crête de Vimy, Christian Curley a contribué à l'établissement d'un programme pour les vétérans handicapés qui est encore offert aujourd'hui.

Toronto, Ontario


Première Guerre mondiale
Karen Hermiston

Table des matières


  1. Biographie
  2. Lieu de participation

Biographie

Ethelbert 'Curley' Christian est né aux États-Unis. Il a déménagé au Canada où il s'est ensuite enrôlé dans l'Armée canadienne en 1915 lors de la Première Guerre mondiale.

Le 9 avril 1917, M. Christian servait au sein du 78e Bataillon canadien d'infanterie (Winnipeg Grenadiers) pendant la bataille de la crête de Vimy, lorsqu'une explosion d'artillerie lourde l'a enseveli dans une tranchée. Ses bras et ses jambes ont été écrasés par les débris et le soldat blessé est demeuré coincé pendant deux jours. Retrouvé à peine en vie, Curley Christian a échappé à la mort une fois de plus lorsque deux de ses brancardiers ont été tués par des tirs ennemis lors de son transport hors du champ de bataille.

Heureusement, le soldat Christian a survécu mais la gangrène est apparue. Ses deux bras et ses deux jambes ont dû être amputés. Malgré tout, il a gardé une attitude positive et à son retour au Canada, il a épousé une bénévole qui travaillait à l'hôpital de Toronto où il se rétablissait.

Curley Christian a reçu des prothèses et a vécu activement jusqu'à son décès en 1954. Il a été un des 8 000 anciens combattants qui sont retournés en France lorsque le nouveau Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy a été inauguré par le roi Édouard VIII en juillet 1936.

* La Mural of Honour est exposée de manière permanente au The Military Museums (disponible en anglais seulement) à Calgary.


Lieu de participation

Date de modification :