Edwin Erwin Phillips

Edwin Erwin Phillips was part of an ill-fated mission to bring aid to Poland after the end of the Second World War

Montréal, Quebec

Share:

Second World War

Service

Edwin Erwin Phillips was born in Montréal and worked as a printer's apprentice before volunteering for service with the Royal Canadian Air Force in 1942 during the Second World War. Only 21 years old when he enlisted, he would go on to work as a mechanic with the No. 168 Heavy Transport Squadron and rise to the rank of sergeant. As part of his duties, Phillips would sometimes accompany transatlantic cargo flights.

Polish relief

The eastern European country of Poland had suffered greatly during the Second World War and there was a serious shortage of medical supplies. The Canadian Red Cross donated tons of penicillin in response to the humanitarian crisis there after the end of the war and the military agreed to transport it overseas from Canada.

Death

On November 4, 1945, the Flying Fortress aircraft carrying the vitally needed medicine to Warsaw, Poland, crashed into a hilltop near Halle, Germany, and burst into flames. Phillips and the four other crew members on board were killed in the accident. The fallen Canadian airmen are buried at Munster Heath Cemetery in Germany and are commemorated on the Canada's Air Force Poland Humanitarian Plaque.


Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche

Edwin Erwin Phillips

Edwin Erwin Phillips faisait partie d'une malheureuse mission visant à aider la Pologne après la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Montréal, Québec


Seconde Guerre mondiale

Service

Edwin Erwin Phillips est né à Montréal et il a travaillé comme apprenti imprimeur avant de se porter volontaire dans l'Aviation royale du Canada en 1942 lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Âgé de 21 ans au moment de son enrôlement, il a travaillé comme mécanicien avec le 168e Escadron spécial des transporteurs lourds où il a été promu au grade de sergent. Dans le cadre de ses fonctions, Edwin Phillips devait parfois accompagner le transport de marchandises par vols transatlantiques.

Aide en Pologne

La Pologne, un pays d'Europe de l'Est, avait beaucoup souffert durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale et il y avait pénurie de fournitures médicales. Pour répondre à la crise humanitaire dans ce pays à la fin de la guerre, la Société canadienne de la Croix Rouge a fait don d'une grande quantité de pénicilline. L'armée a accepté de transporter cette cargaison outre mer à partir du Canada.

Décès

Le 4 novembre 1945, l'avion cargo « Flying Fortress » transportant les médicaments indispensables vers Warsaw en Pologne s'est écrasé au sommet d'une colline en Allemagne et s'est enflammé. Edwin Phillips et les quatre autres membres de l'équipage sont morts dans l'accident. Ces militaires canadiens sont enterrés au cimetière Munster Heath en Allemagne, et leurs noms sont inscrits sur la plaque pour activités humanitaires de l’Aviation canadienne en Pologne.


Date de modification :