Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Sergeant Stephen Thomas

Stephen Thomas was born in Scarborough, Ontario. As a child, he had a passion for athletics and competition. Thomas joined the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) on his 18th birthday, and went on to serve two tours in Afghanistan. He was awarded the Medal of Bravery for his actions in Kandahar.

Scarborough, Ontario

Share:

Afghanistan
Sergeant Stephen Thomas

Joined

2000

Postings

  • Toronto, ON

Deployments

  • Afghanistan

Stephen Thomas attended Birchmount Collegiate in Scarborough where his interest in the CAF sparked following a wrestling match. “I had defeated my opponent, who was much larger, and after our match he told me ‘you can’t do what I do.’ Turns out he was part of the Army reserves at the time. So, I joined the Forces on a dare.”

Thomas found himself enlisting on the day of his 18th birthday in 2000. “I truly didn’t know what I was getting myself into, but it was right up my alley. I have always loved being outdoors, I enjoyed the team aspect and the physical challenges.” After completing basic training, Thomas was assigned to the 7th Toronto Regiment, Royal Canadian Artillery.

He reached the rank of Master Bombardier and completed his first tour of duty overseas in Afghanistan, as part of Roto 0 Task Force Kabul in 2003-04. While in Kabul, Thomas had the opportunity to participate in joint training exercises with the Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada (QOR).

“It’s not a one unit army. Everyone is for the same cause – the success of the mission.”

“This type of activity allows for information exchange, and a window into our two different worlds. It’s not a one unit army. Everyone is for the same cause – the success of the mission. So that’s one thing I really enjoyed, the training exercises between the different units,” says Thomas.

After spending time with members of the QOR, Thomas realized his skillset and attitudes may be better suited for this regiment. “Most of the Queen’s Own members grew up in the Greater Toronto Area and I had much more in common with them. I was very eager, always ready to get the job done… with the Artillery, there is a limit with how up, close and personal you can get to the action.”

Thomas officially joined the QOR in 2005, as a member of its parachute squadron. “There was a real sense of home. A fluid transition with no hiccups, and I was able to pick up right where I left off, just with a new team.”

Thomas was deployed for a second time in Afghanistan shortly after joining his new team. This time he was sent to Kandahar. He quickly noticed major differences between the two regions.

“When we got to Kandahar, it was like the Wild West. It wasn’t as civilized and developed as Kabul, and the landscape was sparse.”

The differences were not just geographical, but also in the style and level of threat. “While in Kabul, it was always about minefields and stick bombs, or indirect fire threats. In Kandahar, it was completely different. We were targeted through ambushes, improvised explosive devices… it was a threat in a different form.”

On 3 October 2006, Thomas’ life changed in an instant. “Intelligence had provided a heads up that someone was gunning for us in a form of a taxi cab. This was nothing new, we heard this every day.” Upon entering the city centre, a taxi cab exploded, and Thomas’ vehicle was swallowed by smoke.

Thomas and his driver took a moment to focus, knowing they had to make a move fast. “We were preparing for dead bodies. But I knew we had to get to the burning vehicle.” The burning vehicle in question was a CAF G-Wagon, which was travelling just in front of Thomas and his driver. After re-gaining his composure, the driver of the G-Wagon shared a vital piece of information with Thomas – there was critical information related to Operation Medusa in the burning vehicle.

Thomas retrieved five fire extinguishers, but only two worked. Upon limiting the flames enough that he could enter the burning vehicle, he retrieved the laptop – but once he got in there, he realized the vehicle was loaded with high explosives. Thomas proceeded to grab as many explosives as possible so the vehicle would not explode in an instant, and told those nearby to evacuate the area.

His helmet caught fire, and as flames began rolling inside the vehicle, Thomas knew it was time to retreat.

Nearly a minute later, the vehicle exploded. 

Thomas and his colleagues surveyed the area, helped locals who required medical assistance, and made it back to base. At the time, he thought he was just doing his job. “That’s the way I looked at it.”

“I had no idea of the significance.”

Thomas was in Nova Scotia on a course when he learned he would be awarded with the Medal of Bravery. “I had no idea of the significance…everyone was freaking out, in a positive manner.”

Upon returning home to Scarborough, Thomas was informed he was the first soldier in the Greater Toronto Area to win the Medal of Bravery in a combat role since the Korean War. “That’s when it really hit me.”

Thomas continues to serve with the CAF as a Sergeant. As part of his role, Thomas speaks with youth in schools across the Greater Toronto Area, sharing his story, and educating the younger generation on the Afghanistan conflict. “Some of the soldiers who have come through the Queen’s Own Rifles remember my presentations from years past. It’s pretty cool to see it come full circle.”

“A lot of people don’t realize the bubble we live in… we don’t have a whole world perspective.”

Looking back on his service overseas, Thomas points to how it has changed his views and values. He hopes that by sharing his story, Canadians will continue to appreciate the rights and freedoms we are accustomed to. “A lot of people don’t realize the bubble we live in… we don’t have a whole world perspective. We live, we work, we come back home. There’s no real idea of the suffering some parts of the world are going through.”

If you a Veteran, family member or caregiver in need of mental health support, the VAC Assistance Service is available to you 24/7, 365 days a year at no cost. Call "1-800-268-7708 to speak to a mental health professional right now.


Where they served


Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Sergent Stephen Thomas

Stephen Thomas est né à Scarborough, en Ontario. Quand il était enfant, il était passionné d’athlétisme et de compétition. Thomas s’est enrôlé dans les Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) lors de son 18e anniversaire, et a ensuite effectué deux missions en Afghanistan. Il a été décoré de la Médaille de la bravoure pour ses actes à Kandahar.

Partager cet article sur:
Sergeant Stephen Thomas

Stephen Thomas a étudié au Birchmount Collegiate de Scarborough où son intérêt pour les FAC s’est éveillé à la suite d’un match de lutte. « J’avais battu mon adversaire, qui était beaucoup plus grand. Après notre match, il m’a dit “tu ne peux pas faire ce que je fais”. Il s’est avéré qu’il faisait partie de la Réserve de l’Armée à l’époque. J’ai donc rejoint les Forces pour relever lele défi. »

Thomas s’est enrôlé le jour de son 18e anniversaire en 2000. « Je ne savais vraiment pas dans quoi je m’engageais, mais c’était tout à fait dans mes cordes. J’ai toujours aimé être en plein air. J’ai apprécié le travail d’équipe et les défis physiques. » Après avoir suivi l’entraînement de base, Thomas a été affecté au 7th Toronto Regiment de l’Artillerie royale canadienne.

Il a obtenu le grade de bombardier‑ chef et a effectué son premier service à l’étranger en Afghanistan au cours de la Roto  3 de la Force opérationnelle à Kaboul en 2003‑ 2004. Pendant son séjour à Kaboul, Thomas a eu l’occasion de participer à des exercices d’entraînement communs avec The Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada (QOR of C).

« Ce n’est pas une armée unitaire. Tout le monde défend la même cause – le succès de la mission. »

« Ce type d’activité permet l’échange d’informations ainsi qu’une fenêtre sur nos deux mondes différents. Ce n’est pas une armée unitaire. Tout le monde défend la même cause – le succès de la mission. C’est donc une chose que j’ai vraiment appréciée, les exercices d’entraînement entre les différentes unités », déclare Thomas.

Après avoir passé du temps avec des membres du QOR of C, Thomas s’est aperçu que ses compétences et ses attitudes pourraient être mieux adaptées à ce régiment. « La plupart des membres du Queen’s Own Rifles ont grandi dans la région du Grand Toronto et j’avais beaucoup plus en commun avec eux. J’étais très enthousiaste, toujours prêt à faire le travail… avec l’artillerie, il y a une limite à la façon dont on peut se rapprocher de l’action. »

Thomas a officiellement rejoint le QOR of C en 2005 en tant que membre de son escadron de parachutistes. « Il y avait un vrai sentiment d’appartenance. Une transition fluide, sans contretemps, et j’ai pu reprendre là où je m’étais arrêté, juste avec une nouvelle équipe. »

Thomas est parti en déploiement pour la deuxième fois en Afghanistan peu après avoir rejoint sa nouvelle équipe. Cette fois‑ ci, il a été envoyé à Kandahar. Il a rapidement constaté des différences majeures entre les deux régions.

« Quand nous sommes arrivés à Kandahar, c’était comme le Far West. Ce n’était pas aussi civilisé et développé que Kaboul et le paysage était clairsemé. »

Les différences n’étaient pas seulement géographiques, mais aussi dans le style et le niveau de la menace. « À Kaboul, il était toujours question de champs de mines, de bombes artisanales, ou de menaces indirectes d’incendie. À Kandahar, c’était complètement différent. Nous étions visés par des embuscades, des engins explosifs improvisés… c’était une menace sous une forme différente. »

Le 3 octobre 2006, la vie de Thomas a changé en un instant. « Les services de renseignement avaient fourni une information sur le fait que quelqu’un se préparait à nous attaquer au moyen d’un taxi. Ce n’était pas nouveau, nous entendions ce genre de menace tous les jours. » Lorsqu’ils sont entrés dans le centre‑ ville, un taxi a explosé et le véhicule de Thomas a été avalé par la fumée.

Thomas et son chauffeur ont pris un moment pour se concentrer, sachant qu’ils devaient agir rapidement. « Nous nous préparions à trouver des cadavres. Mais je savais aussi que nous devions tout d’abord atteindre le véhicule en feu. » Le véhicule en feu en question était un G‑ Wagon des FAC qui roulait juste devant Thomas et son chauffeur. Après avoir retrouvé son calme, le conducteur du G‑ Wagon a partagé une information vitale avec Thomas  – il y avait dans le véhicule en feu des renseignements essentiels concernant l’opération Medusa.

Thomas a récupéré cinq extincteurs, mais seulement deux ont fonctionné. En limitant suffisamment les flammes afin de pouvoir entrer dans le véhicule en feu, il a récupéré l’ordinateur portable. Mais une fois à l’intérieur, il a vite constaté que le véhicule était chargé d’explosifs puissants. Thomas s’est empressé de saisir le plus d’explosifs possible afin que le véhicule n’explose pas en un instant et il a dit à ceux qui se trouvaient à proximité d’évacuer la zone.

Son casque a pris feu, et lorsque les flammes ont commencé à rouler à l’intérieur du véhicule, Thomas a su qu’il était temps de battre en retraite.

Près d’une minute plus tard, le véhicule a explosé.

Thomas et ses collègues ont inspecté la région, aidé les habitants qui avaient besoin d’une assistance médicale et sont rentrés à la base. À l’époque, il pensait qu’il faisait simplement son travail. « C’est comme ça que je l’ai vu. »

« Je n’avais aucune idée de l’importance de la médaille. »

Thomas suivait un cours en Nouvelle‑Écosse lorsqu’il a appris qu’il allait recevoir la Médaille de la bravoure. « Je n’avais aucune idée de l’importance de la médaille… tout le monde était énervé, mais de manière positive. »

De retour à Scarborough, Thomas a été informé qu’il était le premier soldat de la région du Grand Toronto à recevoir la Médaille de la bravoure dans un rôle de combat depuis la guerre de Corée. « C’est là que ça m’a vraiment frappé. »

Thomas continue de servir dans les FAC en tant que sergent. Dans le cadre de ses fonctions, Thomas parle avec les jeunes dans les écoles de la région du Grand Toronto, partageant ainsi son histoire et éduquant la jeune génération sur le conflit en Afghanistan. « Certains des soldats qui sont passés par le Queen’s Own Rifles se souviennent de mes présentations des années passées. C’est assez cool de voir la boucle se refermer. »

« Beaucoup de gens ne se rendent pas compte de la bulle dans laquelle nous vivons… nous n’avons pas une vision globale du monde. »

En repensant à son service à l’étranger, Thomas souligne à quel point son expérience de mission a changé ses opinions et ses valeurs. Il espère qu’en partageant son histoire, les Canadiens continueront à apprécier les droits et les libertés auxquels ils sont habitués. « Beaucoup de gens ne se rendent pas compte de la bulle dans laquelle nous vivons… nous n’avons pas une vision globale du monde. Nous vivons, nous travaillons, nous rentrons à la maison. Il n’y a aucune idée réelle des souffrances que connaissent certaines parties du monde. »


Date de modification :