Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Balkans

1991 – present

Order of events

1991

Violence erupts as communist government of Yugoslavia collapses

September 1991

Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) peacekeepers join European Community Monitoring Mission in the Balkans

Early 1992

United Nations Protection Force begin operations in the Balkans

15-16 September 1993

CAF members see heavy action in the Medak Pocket of Croatia

December 1995

North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) launches its Implementation Force in Bosnia-Herzegovina

December 1996

NATO launches its Stabilization Force peace support efforts in Bosnia-Herzegovina

1999

Canadian pilots fly combat missions over Kosovo. Kosovo Force begins its mission there

2004

Last large CAF contingent leaves the Balkans but Canadian peacekeepers remain

Classroom materials

Classroom materials main page

Lesson plan: 12-18

Humanitarian aid tree

Canadians served in European Community, United Nations and North Atlantic Treaty Organization missions in Croatia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro and Macedonia. These new countries arose from the ashes of the former country of Yugoslavia. As of 1991, tens of thousands of Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) members joined these missions in the Balkans region of southeast Europe. They worked to restore peace and security to the people there.


A war-torn land

(June 1991 – July 1992)

After the breakup of Yugoslavia, the international community began peace support missions in the war-torn Balkans. Canada played a major role.

Yugoslavia

The nation of Yugoslavia emerged after the First World War which collapsed the Austro-Hungarian Empire. Some of the Slavic states in the Balkan Peninsula merged to form the new country of Yugoslavia. Its diverse population had various ethnic and religious groups with a long history of tense relationships. Yugoslavia faced hardships during the Second World War and battled occupation for years. After the Axis forces were finally forced out, Yugoslavia was reborn as a communist state.

Weakening of communism

In the 1980s, Yugoslavia's communist rule began to weaken. President-for-Life Josip Broz (better known as Tito) died in 1980. This was a serious blow to the country's unity. As economic conditions worsened, the strength of communism around the world weakened. Meanwhile, old rivalries between the different peoples of Yugoslavia were growing.

An elderly Serbian refugee couple search for a few personal effects in their destroyed home. Photo: Department of National Defence

Breakup of Yugoslavia

Yugoslavia's central government lost its ability to keep the country together. The states that made up Yugoslavia pushed to become their own countries. Tensions between ethnic and religious groups began to escalate. Slovenia and Croatia declared their independence in June 1991. Civil war soon spread across the Balkans.

The world responds

The outbreak of fighting brought an international reaction. Slovenia and military forces in the rest of Yugoslavia fought a brief war in the summer of 1991. To help enforce a ceasefire, the European Community Monitoring Mission was set up. CAF officers joined this multinational peace support effort in September 1991.

The United Nations Protection Force

Fighting erupted in Croatia and Bosnia-Herzegovina. In early 1992, the United Nations Protection Force (UNPROFOR) formed. It protected the civilians within three special “UN Protected Areas” in Croatia and kept other military forces out. By the time the original mandate of UNPROFOR came to an end in 1995, its mission had extended into the wider region. Peacekeepers from dozens of countries, including Canada, served in this effort.

Standing atop the Camp Normandy main entrance in Tomislavgrad, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Private Anthony Gruppuso of the Toronto Scottish Regiment takes the sunset watch. Photo: Department of National Defence

Canada's role

Canada played an important role in UNPROFOR efforts. Canadian soldiers went to the Balkans as a peacekeeping force. But they soon found out that there was often very little “peace” to “keep”. Many CAF members came under fire. This included intense action at the Medak Pocket in Croatia. Canadian troops saw their heaviest fighting since the Korean War during their time there.

Intense duties in Sarajevo

In the spring of 1992, fighting escalated in Bosnia-Herzegovina. UNPROFOR moved troops into that area. Their goal was to help the civilians trapped by the fighting and deliver humanitarian aid. A major part of the operation was to open the airport in Sarajevo so supplies could be flown in. In July 1992, as Canadian peacekeepers protected the airport and escorted relief convoys, they often came under fire.

Canada's Major-General Lewis MacKenzie commanded the United Nations (UN) forces in the Sarajevo Sector. He often made international news as he did his best to let the world know the harsh reality there. In the end, our peacekeeping efforts helped keep the vital flow of outside help coming in.

Sarajevo. A Canadian Armored Personnel Carrier drives through the well known "Sniper Alley." Photo: Department of National Defence

Further UNPROFOR contributions

Thousands of Canadian Armed Forces members would take part in UNPROFOR efforts. Almost every Canadian infantry battalion and armoured regiment spent time in the Balkans. CAF members played many other important roles during their time with the UNPROFOR. Our service members supplied military engineering, mine clearance, logistical support, electronic warfare and air control capabilities. Canadian warships patrolled the Adriatic Sea to help the UN block arms shipments to the region. Canadian aircraft enforced the UN's no-fly zones and prevented the warring sides from buying weapons.

Through it all, Canadian peacekeepers helped the local people a lot in a variety of ways. For example, they protected humanitarian aid convoys and hospital patients. They also volunteered time and money to donate school supplies and fix damaged buildings.


The Medak Pocket

(15 – 16 September 1993)

Tasked with protecting civilians in Croatia, Canadian Armed Forces came under heavy fire.

Croatian offensive

In September 1993, Croatian and Serbian forces fought in the Lika region of southern Croatia. On September 9, Croatian troops attacked near the town of Medak and pushed the Serbian line back. This created the so-called “Medak Pocket,” Croatian-held territory populated by Serbian people.

Negotiating a ceasefire

Political and public pressure forced the Croatian forces to agree to a ceasefire with the Serbs. The terms of the agreement required both forces to return to their original positions and leave the Medak Pocket on September 15. It fell to UN peace support troops to enforce the fragile agreement.

UN Duty in Bosnia. Photo: Department of National Defence

Canadian soldiers in the middle

The 2nd Battalion, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry were the best UN troops available for this mission. Supported by two companies of French soldiers, they were to enter the Medak Pocket and make sure both sides left. They were also to help refugees return to their homes in the area.

On September 15, as the Canadian and French troops advanced, Croatian forces began firing on them. The UN troops dug in and created a defensive line. Croatian artillery, rifle and machine gun fire poured in. The Canadians returned fire to defend themselves from the attack. They drove the Croatian forces back over the next 15 hours. It was the heaviest action that Canadian troops had experienced since the Korean War.

A standoff with the world watching

The Canadian commander Lieutenant-Colonel James Calvin negotiated with the Croatian forces. They agreed to withdraw at noon on September 16. But when the UN troops tried to enter the Medak Pocket, they still faced a Croatian roadblock and minefield.

Evidence suggested our troops were being kept out so the Croatians could complete ethnic cleansing there. So Lieutenant-Colonel Calvin held a news conference with international reporters at the scene. He said the Croatian forces were not holding up their end of the ceasefire agreement and hiding their attacks on Serbian civilians. The Croatian forces finally backed down and allowed the UN troops to pass.

Members of PPCLI keep watch for any dangerous movement in the area. Photo: Department of National Defence

The aftermath in the Medak Pocket

The UN forces could finally enter the Medak Pocket. They discovered evidence of horrible violence against the local people. Many Serbian villagers were dead—victims of what looked to be ethnic cleansing by Croatian troops. The Canadians recorded in detail what they found in the villages. Their records were part of later war crimes investigations. Four Canadian soldiers were wounded during the fighting at the Medak Pocket. But the UN forces had persevered. They forced the Croatians to cut short their ethnic cleansing and prevented more civilian deaths.

A special commendation

In 2002, Governor General Adrienne Clarkson recognized Canadians who fought in the Medak Pocket. She awarded the Commander-in-Chief Unit Commendation to the 2nd Battalion, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry. This award goes to any unit or sub-unit “that has performed an extraordinary deed or activity of a rare high standard in extremely hazardous circumstances.”


NATO efforts in the Balkans

March 1999 – April 2004

Canadian Armed Forces warplanes took part in NATO air strikes in Kosovo. They saw some of their heaviest action since the Korean War.

North Atlantic Treaty Organization takes over

The original mandate for UNPROFOR ended in the spring of 1995. Three different multinational forces took over its roles in the Balkans. Two were in Macedonia and Croatia. A restructured UNPROFOR continued in Bosnia and Herzegovina. By December, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) had taken over most of the peace support duties in the region. CAF members continued to serve in the Balkans, but now it would be as part of a new NATO mission.

A CH-146 Griffon Helicopter from 408 Tactical Helicopter Squadron, CFB Edmonton, flies a mission carrying the Quick Reaction Force past the ruins of an old castle near Velika Kladusa, Bosnia and Herzegovina. Photo: Department of National Defence

NATO Implementation Force

The Dayton Peace Accord of December 1995 laid out the terms to end the fighting in Bosnia and Herzegovina. A multinational peace Implementation Force patrolled the ceasefire lines and other borders. It helped keep citizens safe, assist local police forces and monitor elections. The Implementation Force also helped refugees return and rebuild the economy.

More than 1,000 CAF members served with the Implementation Force in many roles. This included a headquarters group, a reconnaissance squadron, a mechanized infantry company, an engineer squadron, and command and support elements.

NATO Stabilization Force

The Stabilization Force was the next phase of NATO peace support efforts in Bosnia-Herzegovina. Formed in December 1996, it saw multinational peace support troops patrol the country. It helped establish lasting peace in the war-torn land. Its goal was to help set up a democratic nation that would sustain the peace process without help from multinational peace support forces. Some 1,200 CAF members would serve with the Stabilization Force.

Canadian Armed Forces diver in Zgon, Bosnia and Herzegovina. Photo: Department of National Defence

Unrest in Kosovo

In 1998, the Serbian military and the local Albanians began fighting in Kosovo. Despite attempts by NATO to enforce peace, the violence continued. The Serbian military repeatedly attacked civilian Albanian residents in Kosovo. NATO threatened military action against the Serbians if a lasting ceasefire was not signed. When negotiations failed, NATO forces began an air campaign.

Operation Allied Force

Operation Allied Force was the code name given to the NATO bombing campaign in Kosovo. Its goal was to drive the Serbian military out of Kosovo. In March 1999, Canada committed six CF-18 jets—a number that grew to 18 by the end of the mission. Canadian warplanes made up 10% of the missions flown in Kosovo. This was the first time Canadian pilots flew combat missions since the Korean War.

Operation Harmony, Sarajevo. Private Pierre Lévesque at the airport in Sarajevo. Photo: Department of National Defence

Ceasefire

The NATO bombing campaign did a lot of damage and took a toll on the Serbian forces in Kosovo. With its plans to end the bombing, NATO deployed ground forces to Kosovo and nearby Macedonia. In June, Serbian forces accepted a ceasefire agreement and NATO's Kosovo Force rolled in.

Canada's role in the Kosovo Force

Canada initially dedicated roughly 800 peace support troops to the Kosovo Force, and soon added 500. Canadians helped maintain the fragile peace, protected civilians and provided reconnaissance support. The CAF deployed an armoured reconnaissance squadron, a tactical helicopter squadron, a field engineer squadron, an infantry battle group, and command and logistical supports elements.

They led patrols and monitored activities. Our soldiers also carried out many humanitarian aid projects in Kosovo. They rebuilt damaged schools and medical facilities. They installed small bridges and put up playgrounds for local children.

In December 1999, the first Canadians to serve in the Kosovo Force rotated out. By June 2000, most of the Canadian military personnel had left.

Corporals Rob Serjeant (left) and Rob Majore (right) clear debris from the road near Kiseljak, Bosnia and Herzegovina. Sergeant Pat Gear in the background supervises some work of the Drott excavator. Photo: Department of National Defence

On the road to peace

By December 2003, the situation in Bosnia had improved. NATO reduced the size of the Kosovo Force and the Canadian contingent dropped to about 650 people by April 2004. The European Union Force led the multinational peace support troops in late 2004. As the mission evolved into this new form, the number of CAF members in the country reduced to less than 85.

A Liaison and Observation Team led Canada's role with the European Union Force. These troops kept in close contact with local authorities, police departments, community leaders and army units. They helped develop a peaceful society, collect illegal weapons and prevent smuggling. As a lasting peace took root, the CAF withdrew its last troops from Bosnia and Herzegovina in 2007.

A handful of CAF members are still serving in the Balkans today. The region has recovered since the devastating civil wars that swept through the former country of Yugoslavia in the early 1990s. Almost 40,000 Canadian peacekeepers served there over the years. They played a major role in helping achieve this hard-won security and stability.

Canadian Armed Forces military policemen preparing for patrols in Zgon, Bosnia-Herzegovina. (Photo: Master Corporal Bernie Tessier. Department of National Defence ZN2004-003-003)

Sacrifice

Canadians can be proud of our country's reputation around the world as a force for peace, but this comes at a price. About 130 Canadians have died in the course of international peace support operations. In the Balkans, 23 of our service members died and many more were injured.

The wounds of peacekeeping are not always caused by hostile fire, land mines or accidents. Sometimes the scars of service are psychological. Canada's military efforts in the Balkans were particularly difficult for our soldiers. The war crimes and atrocities committed against the civilian population there were horrific. Witnessing such human brutality often has a deep impact on those who see it.


Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Balkans

1991 – présent

Chronologie des événements

1991

La violence éclate alors que le gouvernement communiste de la Yougoslavie s'effondre.

Septembre 1991

Des Casques bleus des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) se joignent à la Mission de surveillance de la Communauté européenne dans les Balkans.

Début 1992

La Force de protection des Nations Unies commence ses opérations dans les Balkans.

15-16 septembre 1993

Les membres des FAC sont témoins d'une action intense dans la poche de Medak en Croatie.

Décembre 1995

L'Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord (OTAN) lance sa Force de mise en œuvre en Bosnie-Herzégovine.

1999

Des pilotes canadiens mènent des missions de combat au-dessus du Kosovo. La Force pour le Kosovo y commence sa mission.

2004

Le dernier grand contingent des FAC quitte les Balkans, mais les Casques bleus canadiens demeurent sur place.

Ressources d'apprentissage

Page principale des ressources d'apprentissage

Plan de leçon : 12 à 18 ans

Arbre de l'aide humanitaire

Les Canadiens ont participé à des missions de la Communauté européenne, des Nations Unies et de l'Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord en Croatie, en Bosnie-Herzégovine, en Serbie, au Monténégro et en Macédoine. Ces nouveaux pays sont nés des cendres de l'ex-Yougoslavie. En 1991, des dizaines de milliers de membres des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) se sont joints à ces missions dans la région des Balkans du sud-est de l'Europe. Ils ont œuvré pour rétablir la paix et la sécurité de la population.


Un pays déchiré par la guerre

De juin 1991 à juillet 1992

Après l'éclatement de la Yougoslavie, la communauté internationale entreprend des missions de soutien de la paix dans les Balkans déchirés par la guerre. Le Canada joue un rôle majeur.

Yougoslavie

La Yougoslavie est née après la Première Guerre mondiale, qui a entraîné l'effondrement de l'Empire austro-hongrois. Certains États slaves de la péninsule balkanique ont fusionné pour former le nouveau pays de Yougoslavie. Sa population diversifiée avait divers groupes ethniques et religieux ayant une longue histoire de relations tendues. La Yougoslavie a connu des difficultés pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale et a lutté contre l'occupation pendant des années. Après que les forces de l'Axe eurent finalement été chassées, la Yougoslavie a repris vie en tant qu'État communiste.

Affaiblissement du communisme

Dans les années 1980, le régime communiste yougoslave a commencé à s'affaiblir. Le président à vie Josip Broz (mieux connu sous le nom de Tito) est décédé en 1980. Cela a porté un dur coup à l'unité du pays. À mesure que les conditions économiques se sont détériorées, la force du communisme dans le monde s'est affaiblie. Pendant ce temps, les vieilles rivalités entre les différents peuples de Yougoslavie prenaient de l'ampleur.

Un couple de vieillards serbes réfugiés cherche des effets personnels dans leur maison détruite. Photo : Ministère de la Défense nationale

Éclatement de la Yougoslavie

Le gouvernement central de la Yougoslavie a perdu sa capacité de maintenir l'unité du pays. Les États qui composaient la Yougoslavie ont exercé des pressions pour devenir leurs propres pays. Les tensions entre les groupes ethniques et religieux ont commencé à s'intensifier. La Slovénie et la Croatie ont déclaré leur indépendance en juin 1991. La guerre civile s'est rapidement propagée dans les Balkans.

Le monde réagit

Le déclenchement des combats a provoqué une réaction internationale. La Slovénie et les forces militaires du reste de la Yougoslavie ont mené une brève guerre pendant l'été 1991. Pour aider à faire respecter un cessez-le-feu, la Mission de surveillance de la Communauté européenne a été mise sur pied. Les officiers des FAC se sont joints à cet effort multinational de soutien de la paix en septembre 1991.

La Force de protection des Nations Unies

Des combats ont éclaté en Croatie et en Bosnie-Herzégovine. Au début de 1992, la Force de protection des Nations Unies (FORPRONU) a été créée. Elle a protégé les civils dans trois « aires protégées » spéciales de l'ONU en Croatie et a empêché l'entrée d'autres forces militaires. Lorsque le mandat initial de la FORPRONU a pris fin en 1995, sa mission s'était étendue à l'ensemble de la région. Des Casques bleus de douzaines de pays, dont le Canada, ont participé à cet effort.

Juché au sommet de l'entrée principale du Camp Normandy à Tomislavgrad (Bosnie-Herzégovine), le Soldat Anthony Gruppuso, du Toronto Scottish Regiment, monte la garde au coucher du soleil. Photo : Ministère de la Défense nationale

Le rôle du Canada

Le Canada a joué un rôle important dans les efforts de la FORPRONU. Des soldats canadiens se sont rendus dans les Balkans en tant que force de maintien de la paix. Mais ils ont vite découvert qu'il y avait souvent très peu de « paix » à « maintenir ». De nombreux membres des FAC ont essuyé des tirs. Cela comprenait une action intense dans la poche de Medak en Croatie. Les troupes canadiennes y ont vécu leurs plus rudes combats depuis la guerre de Corée.

Des missions intenses à Sarajevo

Au printemps 1992, les combats se sont intensifiés en Bosnie-Herzégovine. La FORPRONU a envoyé des troupes dans cette région. Leur but était d'aider les civils pris au piège par les combats et de fournir de l'aide humanitaire. Une grande partie de l'opération consistait à ouvrir l'aéroport de Sarajevo pour que les fournitures puissent y être acheminées par avion. En juillet 1992, alors que les Casques bleus canadiens protégeaient l'aéroport et escortaient les convois de secours, ils ont souvent essuyé des tirs.

Le major-général canadien Lewis MacKenzie a commandé les forces des Nations Unies dans le secteur de Sarajevo. Il a souvent fait les manchettes internationales en faisant de son mieux pour faire connaître au monde la dure réalité. En fin de compte, nos efforts de maintien de la paix ont contribué à maintenir le flux vital de l'aide extérieure.

Sarajevo. Un transport de troupes blindé canadien traverse la fameuse « Sniper Alley » (allée des tireurs embusqués). Photo : Ministère de la Défense nationale

Autres contributions de la FORPRONU

Des milliers de membres des Forces armées canadiennes ont participé aux efforts de la FORPRONU. Presque tous les bataillons d'infanterie et régiments blindés canadiens ont passé du temps dans les Balkans. Les membres des FAC ont joué de nombreux autres rôles importants pendant leur séjour au sein de la FORPRONU. Nos militaires ont fourni des services de génie militaire, de déminage, de soutien logistique, de guerre électronique et de contrôle aérien. Des navires de guerre canadiens ont patrouillé dans la mer Adriatique pour aider l'ONU à bloquer les livraisons d'armes dans la région. Les avions canadiens ont fait respecter les zones d'interdiction des vols de l'ONU et empêché les belligérants d'acheter des armes.

Pendant tout ce temps, les Casques bleus canadiens ont beaucoup aidé la population locale de diverses façons. Par exemple, ils ont protégé les convois d'aide humanitaire et les patients hospitalisés. Ils ont aussi donné bénévolement du temps et de l'argent pour transmettre des fournitures scolaires et réparer des bâtiments endommagés.


La poche de Medak

15 et 16 septembre 1993

Chargées de protéger les civils en Croatie, les Forces armées canadiennes sont la cible de tirs nourris.

Offensive croate

En septembre 1993, les forces croates et serbes ont combattu dans la région de Lika, dans le Sud de la Croatie. Le 9 septembre, des troupes croates ont attaqué près de la ville de Medak et repoussé la ligne serbe. Cela a créé ce qu'on appelle la « poche de Medak », un territoire sous contrôle croate peuplé de Serbes.

Négociation d'un cessez-le-feu

Les pressions politiques et publiques ont forcé les forces croates à accepter un cessez-le-feu avec les Serbes. Selon les termes de l'accord, les deux forces devaient retourner à leurs positions d'origine et quitter la poche de Medak le 15 septembre. C'est aux troupes de soutien de la paix de l'ONU qu'il incombait de faire respecter cet accord fragile.

Mission des Nations Unies en Bosnie. Photo : Ministère de la Défense nationale

Les soldats canadiens au milieu

Le 2e Bataillon, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry, était la meilleure troupe de l'ONU disponible pour cette mission. Soutenu par deux compagnies de soldats français, il devait entrer dans la poche de Medak et s'assurer que les deux parties en sortent. Il devait également aider les réfugiés à retourner chez eux.

Le 15 septembre, alors que les troupes canadiennes et françaises avançaient, les forces croates ont commencé à tirer sur elles. Les troupes de l'ONU ont creusé et créé une ligne défensive. Des tirs d'artillerie, de fusil et de mitrailleuse croates ont été lancés. Les Canadiens ont riposté pour se défendre de l'attaque. Ils ont repoussé les forces croates pendant les 15 heures qui ont suivi. Il s'agissait de l'action la plus lourde que les troupes canadiennes avaient subie depuis la guerre de Corée.

Une impasse sous les yeux du monde entier

Le commandant canadien, le lieutenant-colonel James Calvin, a négocié avec les forces croates. Celles-ci ont accepté de se retirer à midi le 16 septembre. Mais lorsque les troupes de l'ONU ont essayé d'entrer dans la poche de Medak, elles se sont quand même heurtées à un barrage routier et à un champ de mines croates.

Des preuves ont montré que nos troupes étaient tenues à l'écart pour que les Croates puissent achever le nettoyage ethnique. Le lieutenant-colonel Calvin a donc tenu une conférence de presse avec des journalistes internationaux sur les lieux. Il a déclaré que les forces croates ne respectaient pas leur part de l'accord de cessez-le-feu et cachaient leurs attaques contre les civils serbes. Les forces croates ont finalement reculé et ont laissé passer les troupes de l'ONU.

Des membres du PPCLI montent la garde dans l'éventualité de mouvements dangereux dans la zone. Photo : Ministère de la Défense nationale

Les conséquences dans la poche de Medak

Les forces de l'ONU ont pu enfin entrer dans la poche de Medak. Elles ont découvert des preuves d'une violence horrible contre la population locale. De nombreux villageois serbes ont été victimes de ce qui semblait être un nettoyage ethnique par les troupes croates. Les Canadiens ont consigné en détail ce qu'ils ont trouvé dans les villages. Leurs dossiers ont fait l'objet d'enquêtes ultérieures sur les crimes de guerre. Quatre soldats canadiens ont été blessés pendant les combats dans la poche de Medak. Mais les forces de l'ONU avaient persévéré. Elles ont obligé les Croates à mettre fin à leur nettoyage ethnique et ont empêché la mort d'un plus grand nombre de civils.

Une mention spéciale

En 2002, la gouverneure générale Adrienne Clarkson a rendu hommage aux Canadiens qui ont combattu dans la poche de Medak. Elle a décerné la Mention élogieuse du commandant en chef à l'intention des unités au Groupement tactique du 2e Bataillon, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry. Ce prix est attribué à toute unité ou sous-unité « en reconnaissance d'un acte ou d'un exploit extraordinaire accompli dans des circonstances extrêmement dangereuses ».


Les efforts de l’OTAN dans les Balkans

De mars 1999 à avril 2004

Des avions de combat des Forces armées canadiennes participent à des frappes aériennes de l’OTAN au Kosovo. Ils y voient certains des combats les plus acharnés depuis la guerre de Corée.

L’Organisation du Traité de l’Atlantique Nord prend la relève

Le mandat initial de la FORPRONU a pris fin au printemps de 1995. Trois forces multinationales différentes ont pris le relais dans les Balkans. Deux étaient en Macédoine et en Croatie. Une FORPRONU restructurée a poursuivi ses activités en Bosnie-Herzégovine. En décembre, l’Organisation du Traité de l’Atlantique Nord (OTAN) avait pris en charge la plupart des fonctions de soutien de la paix dans la région. Les membres des FAC ont continué de servir dans les Balkans, mais dès lors dans le cadre d’une nouvelle mission de l’OTAN.

Un hélicoptère CH146 Griffon du 408e Escadron d'hélicoptères tactiques de la BFC Edmonton survole les ruines d'un ancien château, près de Velika Kladusa (Bosnie-Herzégovine), avec la force d'intervention rapide à son bord. Photo : Ministère de la Défense nationale

Force de mise en œuvre de l’OTAN

L’Accord de paix de Dayton de décembre 1995 a fixé les conditions pour mettre fin aux combats en Bosnie-Herzégovine. Une force multinationale de mise en œuvre de la paix a patrouillé les lignes de cessez-le-feu et les autres frontières. Elle a contribué à assurer la sécurité des citoyens, à aider les forces policières locales et à surveiller les élections. La Force de mise en œuvre a également aidé les réfugiés à retourner chez eux et à rebâtir l’économie.

Plus de 1 000 membres des FAC ont servi au sein de la Force de mise en œuvre dans de nombreux rôles. Cela comprenait un groupe du quartier général, un escadron de reconnaissance, une compagnie d’infanterie mécanisée, un escadron du génie et des éléments de commandement et de soutien.

Force de stabilisation de l’OTAN

La Force de stabilisation a été la phase suivante des efforts de soutien de la paix de l’OTAN en Bosnie Herzégovine. Formée en décembre 1996, elle a vu des troupes multinationales de soutien de la paix patrouiller dans le pays. Elle a contribué à l’établissement d’une paix durable dans ce pays déchiré par la guerre. Son objectif était de participer à la création d’un pays démocratique qui soutiendrait le processus de paix sans l’aide des forces multinationales de soutien de la paix. Quelque 1 200 membres des FAC allaient servir au sein de la Force de stabilisation.

Plongeur des Forces canadiennes à Zgon (Bosnie-Herzégovine). Photo : Ministère de la Défense nationale

Les troubles au Kosovo

En 1998, l’armée serbe et les Albanais locaux ont commencé à se battre au Kosovo. Malgré les tentatives de l’OTAN de faire respecter la paix, la violence s’est poursuivie. L’armée serbe a attaqué à plusieurs reprises des civils albanais au Kosovo. L’OTAN a menacé d’engager une action militaire contre les Serbes si un cessez-le-feu durable n’était pas signé. Lorsque les négociations ont échoué, les forces de l’OTAN ont lancé une campagne aérienne.

Opération Force alliée

L’opération Force alliée était le nom de code donné à la campagne de bombardement de l’OTAN au Kosovo. Son objectif était de chasser l’armée serbe du Kosovo. En mars 1999, le Canada a engagé six chasseurs CF-18, un nombre qui est passé à 18 à la fin de la mission. Les avions de combat canadiens représentaient 10 p. 100 des missions effectuées au Kosovo. C’était la première fois que des pilotes canadiens effectuaient des missions de combat depuis la guerre de Corée.

Opération Harmony, Sarajevo. Le Soldat Pierre Lévesque à l'aéroport de Sarajevo. Photo : Ministère de la Défense nationale

Cessez-le-feu

La campagne de bombardement de l’OTAN a fait beaucoup de dégâts et a fait des ravages parmi les forces serbes au Kosovo. Dans ses plans pour mettre fin aux bombardements, l’OTAN a déployé des forces terrestres au Kosovo et en Macédoine. En juin, les forces serbes ont accepté un accord de cessez le feu et la Force pour le Kosovo de l’OTAN est entrée en fonction.

Le rôle du Canada au sein de la Force pour le Kosovo

Dans un premier temps, le Canada a affecté environ 800 soldats de soutien de la paix à la Force pour le Kosovo, mais il en a rapidement ajouté 500. Les Canadiens ont aidé à maintenir la paix fragile, ont protégé les civils et ont fourni un soutien en matière de reconnaissance. Les FAC ont déployé un escadron de reconnaissance blindé, un escadron tactique d’hélicoptères, un escadron du génie, un groupement tactique d’infanterie et des éléments de commandement et de soutien logistique.

Ils ont mené des patrouilles et surveillé les activités. Nos soldats ont également réalisé de nombreux projets d’aide humanitaire au Kosovo. Ils ont reconstruit des écoles et des installations médicales endommagées. Ils ont installé de petits ponts et aménagé des aires de jeux pour les enfants de la région.

En décembre 1999, les premiers Canadiens à servir au sein de la Force pour le Kosovo ont été remplacés. En juin 2000, la plupart des militaires canadiens étaient partis.

Les Caporaux Rob Serjeant (à gauche) et Rob Majore nettoient des débris sur une route près de Kiseljak (Bosnie-Herzégovine). Le Sergent Pat Gear, au fond, supervise le travail de l'excavatrice Drott. Photo : Ministère de la Défense nationale

Sur le chemin de la paix

En décembre 2003, la situation en Bosnie s’était améliorée. L’OTAN a réduit la taille de la Force pour le Kosovo et le contingent canadien est tombé à environ 650 personnes en avril 2004. La Force de l’Union européenne a dirigé les troupes multinationales de soutien de la paix à la fin de 2004. Au fur et à mesure que la mission a évolué vers cette nouvelle forme, le nombre de membres des FAC dans le pays a baissé à moins de 85.

Une équipe de liaison et d’observation a dirigé le rôle du Canada au sein de la Force de l’Union européenne. Ces troupes sont restées en contact étroit avec les autorités locales, les services de police, les dirigeants communautaires et les unités de l’armée. Elles ont contribué au développement d’une société pacifique, à la collecte d’armes illégales et à la prévention de la contrebande. Alors qu’une paix durable prenait racine, les FAC ont retiré leurs dernières troupes de Bosnie-Herzégovine en 2007.

Une poignée de membres des FAC sont encore en service dans les Balkans aujourd’hui. La région s’est redressée après les guerres civiles dévastatrices qui ont ravagé l’ex-Yougoslavie au début des années 1990. Près de 40 000 Casques bleus canadiens y ont servi au fil des ans. Ils ont joué un rôle majeur dans la réalisation de cette sécurité et de cette stabilité durement gagnées.

Policiers militaires des Forces armées canadiennes se préparant pour des patrouilles à Zgon en Bosnie-Herzégovine. (Photo : Caporal-chef Bernie Tessier. Ministère de la Défense nationale ZN2004-003-003)

Sacrifices

Les Canadiens peuvent être fiers de la réputation de notre pays dans le monde en tant que force de paix, mais cela a un prix. Environ 130 Canadiens sont morts au cours d’opérations internationales de soutien de la paix. Dans les Balkans, 23 de nos militaires ont perdu la vie et beaucoup d’autres ont été blessés.

Les blessures des gardiens de la paix ne sont pas toujours causées par des tirs hostiles, des mines terrestres ou des accidents. Parfois, les cicatrices du service sont psychologiques. Les efforts militaires du Canada dans les Balkans ont été particulièrement difficiles pour nos soldats. Les crimes de guerre et les atrocités commis contre la population civile ont été horribles. Le fait d’être témoin de brutalité de cette ampleur contre des êtres humains a de profondes répercussions.



Chronologie des événements

1991

La violence éclate alors que le gouvernement communiste de la Yougoslavie s'effondre.

Septembre 1991

Des Casques bleus des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) se joignent à la Mission de surveillance de la Communauté européenne dans les Balkans.

Début 1992

La Force de protection des Nations Unies commence ses opérations dans les Balkans.

15-16 septembre 1993

Les membres des FAC sont témoins d'une action intense dans la poche de Medak en Croatie.

Décembre 1995

L'Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord (OTAN) lance sa Force de mise en œuvre en Bosnie-Herzégovine.

1999

Des pilotes canadiens mènent des missions de combat au-dessus du Kosovo. La Force pour le Kosovo y commence sa mission.

2004

Le dernier grand contingent des FAC quitte les Balkans, mais les Casques bleus canadiens demeurent sur place.

Feuillet historique

Balkans

Ouvrir PDF
Date de modification :