Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Rwanda

1993 – 1996

Order of events

October 1990 - August 1993

Renewed civil warfare in Rwanda displaces hundreds of thousands of people

4 August 1993

Rwandan government and Rwandan Patriotic Front sign the Arusha Peace Agreement

5 October 1993

United Nations (UN) creates the United Nationals Assistance Mission for Rwanda. Canada's Major-General Roméo Dallaire is its commander

6 April 1994

Rwandan President Juvénal Habyarimana is assassinated

7 April 1994

Rwandan military members and extremist Tutsi and Hutu groups begin a genocide. They kill more than 800,000 Tutsis and moderate Hutus over the next 100 days

May 1994

UN launches renewed peacekeeping effort, called the United Nations Assistance Mission for Rwanda II (UNAMIR II). Its mission is to try to protect civilians and provide humanitarian aid

July 1994

Worst of genocide ends. New government established in Rwanda, though violence persists

Late July 1994

First large contingent of Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) members deployed to Rwanda for UNAMIR II

August 1994

Canada's Major-General Guy Tousignant assumes UNAMIR II command

15 February 1996

Last UNAMIR II Canadian peacekeepers leave Rwanda

Classroom materials

Classroom materials main page

Lesson plan: 12-18

Humanitarian aid tree

Canada played an important role in United Nations (UN) peacekeeping missions in the African nation of Rwanda from 1993 to 1996. Juvénal Habyarimana, the Hutu president of Rwanda, was assassinated on 6 April 1994. Hutu extremists retaliated with a nightmare of violence. Over the next 100 days, more than 800,000 Tutsis and moderate Hutus died. This was one of the worst genocides of the 20th century. UN peacekeepers were unable to stop the worst of the violence. Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) members tried to restore order. They delivered needed humanitarian aid and other help. Hundreds of CAF members returned from Rwanda affected by the horrors they had seen.


Background to the conflict

(Pre-1993)

Violence between Rwanda's governing Hutus and the Rwandan Patriotic Front headed toward a full-scale civil war.

Rwanda

Rwanda is a small, densely-populated rural nation in central Africa. It covers about 26,000 square kilometres, about half the size of Nova Scotia, Canada. In the early 1990s, Rwanda’s population was approximately eight million people.

Hutus and Tutsis

The Hutu and Tutsi tribes form the majority of the country’s population. The minority Tutsis dominated Rwanda's economy and politics for centuries. In 1960, the Hutus rose up and forced hundreds of thousands of Tutsis to flee the country. Rwanda became independent in 1961 but the unrest continued. Some of the Tutsis who had fled the country formed rebel groups and tried to make an armed comeback in Rwanda. This led to decades of ethnic violence and tensions.

Rwandan Patriotic Front

In the late 1980s, the Rwandan Patriotic Front was formed. Its members were Tutsis and moderate Hutus who fled the country. They soon began attacks on Rwanda to challenge its Hutu government. These new rounds of violence displaced hundreds of thousands more Rwandans. The situation headed toward a full-scale civil war.


Attempts to find peace

(June 1993 – April 1994)

The Rwandan government and the Rwandan Patriotic Front signed the Arusha Peace Agreement.

On 22 June 1993, the United Nations Observer Mission Uganda-Rwanda was formed. Its goal was to ensure no outside military aid reached Rwanda to prevent further violence. Canada’s Major-General Roméo Dallaire was its Chief Military Observer. The CAF codenamed Canada’s involvement in this mission Operation LANCE.

Arusha Accords

On 4 August 1993, the Rwandan government and the Rwandan Patriotic Front signed the Arusha Peace Agreement. The purpose was to create a transitional government and national assembly. Tensions continued to build although both parties signed the agreement.

United Nations Assistance Mission for Rwanda

On 5 October 1993, the UN formed the United Nations Assistance Mission for Rwanda (UNAMIR). Its purpose was to help enforce the Arusha Peace Agreement. The CAF continued Operation LANCE and soon named Major-General Dallaire as its commander. Even with this new UN mission in place, the bad situation in Rwanda was about to turn into a nightmare.


Genocide

(1994 – July 1994)

President Habyarimana’s assassination led Rwanda into 100 days of horrific violence. More than 800,000 Rwandans died.

Presidential assassination and retaliation

On 6 April 1994, a plane carrying the Hutu president of Rwanda, Juvénal Habyarimana, and the president of Burundi, Cyprien Ntaryamira, was shot down. This assassination led to an explosion of violence. Rwandan military members and extremist Tutsi and Hutu groups began to kill Tutsis and moderate Hutus. During the next 100 days, an estimated 800,000 Rwandans died.

Rwandan Patriotic Front strikes back

The Rwandan Patriotic Front, led by future Rwandan president, Paul Kagame, launched a major offensive on April 8. Its goal was to end the genocide and rescue its troops in parts of Rwanda. These efforts took time, however, and the widespread killing continued for three months.

A compromised mandate

The duties of Canadian and other UN peacekeepers in Rwanda were extremely challenging. At first, Canada had only two senior officers—Major-General Dallaire and his principal aid Major Brent Beardsley. Once the genocide began, more CAF members became involved.

The limitations they had to work under made the situation even harder. The UN troops’ rules of engagement for UNAMIR were very restricted. Peacekeepers were only allowed to attempt the peaceful resolutions of disputes. This meant soldiers could only fire their weapons in self-defence. As a result, UN forces could not prevent the worst of the horrific violence as the genocide raged around them.

Operation SCOTCH

On April 9, the CAF launched Operation SCOTCH. Its initial mission was to use transport planes to evacuate Canadian, Belgian and other foreigners trapped in Rwanda. They also flew orphans to safety and delivered humanitarian aid to the country.

Canada’s Airlift Control Element personnel supported other UNAMIR operations, as well. Canada began evacuating many foreign peacekeepers when the UN decided the situation in Rwanda was too chaotic to remain. The air mission was extended as UNAMIR continued to need its services. CAF planes defied the dangerous fighting. They brought in needed food, fuel, water and humanitarian supplies. This ongoing link to the outside world was a key symbol of hope in a country that had descended into chaos. By the time Operation SCOTCH wrapped up in October 1994, around 350 CAF members had taken part in it.

The world watches the horror

Media reports from Rwanda in April 1994 allowed the world to see the horrific situation. Television images showed the thousands of dead and countless refugees fleeing the country. The limits of what the UNAMIR peacekeepers could do were frustrating. The UN decision to withdraw many peacekeepers also reduced how they could help. Meanwhile, UN efforts to negotiate an end to the violence failed.

The genocide ends

On 23 May 1994, the Rwandan Patriotic Front took control of the presidential palace in Kigali. By July, the worst of the killing finally came to an end. A ceasefire began and the Rwandan Patriotic Front established a new government in Rwanda. The situation in the country remained uneasy, as violence continued. The deaths of hundreds of thousands of its citizens and the suffering of many refugees left Rwanda in great need of help.


Canada and the world responds

(July 1994 – March 1996)

The United Nations Assistance Mission for Rwanda II is created to stop massacres, protect civilians and provide humanitarian aid.

Humanitarian efforts

The UN struggled to stop the genocide. So, it changed its operations in Rwanda in May 1994. The United Nations Security Council created an expanded mission, commonly known as the United Nations Assistance Mission for Rwanda II (UNAMIR II). Its aim was to stop the massacres, protect civilians and provide humanitarian aid. Major-General Dallaire would command UNAMIR II’s 5,500 multinational troops.

More Canadian peacekeepers arrive

Several hundred more CAF members began deploying to Kigali in mid-July 1994. Their duties would vary. The first to come had to set up a barracks and help reestablish the UN mission headquarters there. The main task of the initial Canadian UNAMIR II contingent was to create a reliable communication system in the war-torn country. It would not be easy for our peacekeepers.

A perilous mission

The Canadians were some of the first peacekeepers to arrive for UNAMIR II. Some other country’s troops would not arrive until much later. Our soldiers’ duties often meant they had to deploy in small groups to isolated areas. They saw the horrific after-effects of the genocide, with countless bodies everywhere. The strict rules of engagement still limited the Canadian soldiers from getting involved when they saw new violence. Sometimes they would also encounter armed gangs and have to diffuse the standoff.

Helping in many ways

A later Canadian contingent came to offer logistical support to the UN force. These troops provided vital vehicle transport, maintenance and supply capabilities. Through it all, Canadians tried to help the local people. Our soldiers often shared their rations with hungry children. They got humanitarian aid like food and medicine to the suffering Rwandan people. They risked their lives to transport people from danger zones to safer places. They also took on more personal support projects, such as helping set up local orphanages and visiting the small children living there.

Operation PASSAGE

The CAF also launched Operation PASSAGE in the summer of 1994 to provide medical services to refugees returning to Rwanda. In August, the Canadians built a field hospital with doctors, nurses, medics and other support personnel. The Canadians often picked up people in need at roadside collection points and took them to the field hospital for treatment.

Canadian military engineers worked on local water supplies to improve the health of Rwandans. They also helped clear landmines and unexploded bombs. Our peacekeepers taught local people about these dangerous weapons still scattered across the country.

A change in command

In August 1994, Canada’s Major-General Guy Tousignant became the new UNAMIR II Force Commander. He built on Major-General Dallaire's great example of leadership in difficult circumstances. Major-General Dallaire returned to Canada.

Canadians return home

Canadian peacekeepers rotated in and out of Rwanda as the UN mission continued and its needs evolved. In early 1995, CAF members began returning home. By February 1996, the last Canadian peacekeepers who had been supporting UNAMIR II finally left.


Sacrifice

When people think of peacekeeping, they may not realize, in some circumstances, how little “peace” there often is to “keep”. The risk of harm is very real. About 130 CAF members have died in the course of international peacekeeping efforts. One soldier lost his life in Rwanda. The effects of serving in these missions can be psychological as well as physical. Seeing the widespread death and suffering in Rwanda took a great toll on a number of our Veterans. Some of our peacekeepers who served there went on to suffer from post-traumatic stress disorder.


Legacy

Post-1996

Canadian Armed Forces members leave Rwanda. Despite Canadians’ efforts being restricted during the genocide, they saved many Rwandans.

Controversy surrounded the mission and hundreds of thousands of people died. But the UN efforts in Rwanda made a difference. Even though Canadians’ efforts were restricted during the genocide, they rescued many Rwandans. Canadian peacekeepers assisted countless Rwandans in the aftermath of the killing. They provided help through communications, logistical, medical and mine clearing efforts.

In the words of Major-General Dallaire, these CAF contributions to the people of Rwanda were “...nothing less than a godsend.” Our country recognized the great efforts of the Canadian generals who commanded the UN peacekeeping missions in Rwanda. Major-General Dallaire and Major General Tousignant both earned the Meritorious Service Cross for their leadership in the face of some of the worst conditions imaginable.


Rwanda today

Rwanda still continues to recover from its violent past. The country has seen much economic growth, and today it is much more peaceful. Rwanda has two public holidays to mark the 1994 mass killings, and denial of the genocide is a criminal offence.

The Rwandan crisis helped spur the creation of the International Criminal Court. It investigates claims of genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes—like those that the world saw so clearly in Rwanda in the 1990s.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Rwanda

1993 – 1996

Chronologie des événements

D'octobre 1990 à août 1993

La reprise de la guerre civile au Rwanda déplace des centaines de milliers de personnes

4 août 1993

Le gouvernement rwandais et le Front patriotique rwandais signent l'Accord de paix d'Arusha

5 octobre 1993

Les Nations Unies (ONU) créent la Mission des Nations Unies pour l'assistance au Rwanda. Le major-général canadien Roméo Dallaire en est le commandant

6 avril 1994

Le président rwandais Juvénal Habyarimana est assassiné

7 avril 1994

Des militaires rwandais et des groupes extrémistes tutsis et hutus commencent un génocide. Ils tuent plus de 800 000 Tutsis et Hutus modérés au cours des 100 jours suivants

Mai 1994

L'ONU lance un nouvel effort de maintien de la paix, appelé Mission des Nations Unies pour l'assistance au Rwanda II (MINUAR II). Son but est d'essayer de protéger les civils et de fournir une aide humanitaire

Juillet 1994

Le pire des génocides prend fin. Un nouveau gouvernement est établi au Rwanda, bien que la violence persiste

Fin juillet 1994

Le premier contingent important de membres des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) est déployé au Rwanda pour la MINUAR II

Août 1994

Le major-général canadien Guy Tousignant prend le commandement de la MINUAR II

15 février 1996

Les derniers Casques bleus canadiens de la MINUAR II quittent le Rwanda

Ressources d'apprentissage

Page principale des ressources d'apprentissage

Plan de leçon : 12 à 18 ans

Arbre de l'aide humanitaire

De 1993 à 1996, le Canada a joué un rôle important dans les missions de maintien de la paix des Nations Unies (ONU) au Rwanda. Juvénal Habyarimana, président hutu du Rwanda, a été assassiné le 6 avril 1994. Les extrémistes hutus ont riposté par une explosion de violence. Au cours des 100 jours suivants, plus de 800 000 Tutsis et Hutus modérés sont morts. Cela a été l'un des pires génocides du 20e siècle. Les soldats de la paix de l'ONU n'ont pas été en mesure d'arrêter le pire de la violence. Les membres des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) ont tenté de rétablir l'ordre. Ils ont fourni l'aide humanitaire et d'autres formes d'aide qui étaient nécessaires. Des centaines de membres des FAC sont rentrés du Rwanda affectés par les horreurs qu'ils avaient vues.


Background

(Pre-1993)

La violence entre les Hutus au pouvoir au Rwanda et le Front patriotique rwandais se dirige vers une guerre civile de grande ampleur.

Rwanda

Le Rwanda est un petit pays rural d’Afrique centrale densément peuplé. Il a une superficie d’environ 26 000 kilomètres carrés, soit environ la moitié de la superficie de la Nouvelle-Écosse, au Canada. Au début des années 1990, le Rwanda comptait environ huit millions d’habitants.

Hutus et Tutsis

Les tribus hutus et tutsis forment la majorité de la population du pays. Même s’ils étaient minoritaires, les Tutsis ont dominé l’économie et la politique du Rwanda pendant des siècles. En 1960, les Hutus se sont révoltés et ont obligé des centaines de milliers de Tutsis à s’enfuir du pays. Le Rwanda a acquis son indépendance en 1961, mais la crise s’est poursuivie. Certains des Tutsis qui avaient fui le pays ont formé des groupes de rebelles et essayé de faire un retour armé au Rwanda, ce qui a mené à des décennies de violences et de tensions ethniques.

Front patriotique rwandais

À la fin des années 1980, le Front patriotique rwandais a été formé. Ses membres étaient des Tutsis et des Hutus modérés qui s’étaient enfuis du pays. Ils ont rapidement commencé à attaquer le Rwanda pour contester son gouvernement hutu. Ces nouvelles vagues de violence ont déplacé des centaines de milliers de Rwandais de plus. La situation allait mener à une guerre civile de grande envergure.


Tentatives pour trouver la paix

(June 1993 - April 1994)

Le gouvernement rwandais et le Front patriotique rwandais signent les Accords de paix d’Arusha.

Le 22 juin 1993, la Mission d’observation des Nations Unies Ouganda-Rwanda a été créée. Son objectif était de faire en sorte qu’aucune aide militaire extérieure ne parvienne au Rwanda pour empêcher toute violence supplémentaire. Le major-général canadien Roméo Dallaire en était l’observateur militaire en chef. Les FAC ont donné le nom de code « opération LANCE » à la participation du Canada à cette mission.

Accords d’Arusha

Le 4 août 1993, le gouvernement rwandais et le Front patriotique rwandais ont signé l’Accord de paix d’Arusha. L’objectif était de créer un gouvernement de transition et une assemblée nationale. Les tensions ont continué de s’accroître, bien que les deux parties aient signé l’accord.

Mission des Nations Unies pour l’assistance au Rwanda

Le 5 octobre 1993, l’ONU a créé la Mission des Nations Unies pour l’assistance au Rwanda (MINUAR). Son but était d’aider à faire respecter l’Accord de paix d’Arusha. Les FAC ont poursuivi l’opération LANCE et nommé peu après le major-général Dallaire comme commandant. Même avec cette nouvelle mission de l’ONU en place, la mauvaise situation au Rwanda était sur le point de se transformer en cauchemar.


Genocide

(1994 - July 1994)

L’assassinat du président Habyarimana plonge le Rwanda dans 100 jours de violence horrible. Plus de 800 000 Rwandais meurent.

Assassinat du président et représailles

Le 6 avril 1994, un avion transportant le président hutu du Rwanda, Juvénal Habyarimana, et le président du Burundi, Cyprien Ntaryamira, a été abattu. Cet assassinat a mené à une explosion de violence. Des militaires rwandais et des groupes extrémistes tutsis et hutus ont commencé à tuer des Tutsis et des Hutus modérés. Au cours des 100 jours suivants, environ 800 000 Rwandais sont morts.

Riposte du Front patriotique rwandais

Le Front patriotique rwandais, dirigé par le futur président rwandais, Paul Kagame, a lancé une offensive majeure le 8 avril. Son objectif était de mettre fin au génocide et de sauver ses troupes dans certaines parties du Rwanda. Ces efforts ont toutefois pris du temps, et le massacre généralisé s’est poursuivi pendant trois mois.

Mandat compromis

Les tâches des Casques bleus canadiens et d’autres Casques bleus de l’ONU au Rwanda étaient extrêmement difficiles. Au début, le Canada ne comptait que deux officiers supérieurs, le major-général Dallaire et son principal adjoint, le major Brent Beardsley. Une fois le génocide commencé, d’autres membres des FAC se sont impliqués.

Les limites dans lesquelles ils devaient travailler rendaient la situation encore plus difficile. Les règles d’engagement des troupes de l’ONU pour la MINUAR étaient très strictes. Les Casques bleus n’avaient le droit de tenter de régler les différends que pacifiquement. Cela signifiait que les soldats ne pouvaient utiliser leurs armes qu’en cas de légitime défense. En conséquence, les forces de l’ONU ne pouvaient pas empêcher les pires atrocités alors que le génocide faisait rage autour d’elles.

Opération SCOTCH

Le 9 avril, les FAC ont lancé l’opération SCOTCH. Son mandat initial était d’utiliser des avions de transport pour évacuer les Canadiens, les Belges et les autres étrangers coincés au Rwanda. Le personnel a également transporté des orphelins par avion pour les mettre à l’abri et fourni une aide humanitaire au pays.

Le personnel de l’Élément de contrôle du transport aérien du Canada a aussi appuyé d’autres opérations de la MINUAR. Le Canada a commencé à évacuer de nombreux Casques bleus étrangers lorsque l’ONU a décidé que la situation au Rwanda était trop chaotique pour rester au pays. La mission aérienne a été prolongée, car la MINUAR a continué d’avoir besoin de ses services. Les avions des FAC ont bravé les combats dangereux. Ils ont apporté de la nourriture, du carburant, de l’eau et du matériel humanitaire dont les personnes avaient besoin. Ce lien continu avec le monde extérieur était un symbole clé d’espoir dans un pays qui avait sombré dans le chaos. Lorsque l’opération SCOTCH a pris fin en octobre 1994, environ 350 membres des FAC y avaient participé.

Le monde regarde l’horreur

En avril 1994, les reportages des médias du Rwanda ont permis au monde entier de voir l’horreur de la situation. Les images télévisées ont montré les milliers de morts et les innombrables réfugiés fuyant le pays. Les limites de ce que les soldats de la paix de la MINUAR pouvaient faire étaient frustrantes. La décision de l’ONU de retirer de nombreux gardiens de la paix a également réduit la façon dont ils pouvaient aider. Entre-temps, les efforts de l’ONU pour négocier la fin de la violence ont échoué.

Fin du génocide

Le 23 mai 1994, le Front patriotique rwandais a pris le contrôle du palais présidentiel à Kigali. En juillet, le pire des massacres a finalement pris fin. Un cessez-le-feu a commencé et le Front patriotique rwandais a établi un nouveau gouvernement au Rwanda. La situation dans le pays est restée précaire, la violence se poursuivant. La mort de centaines de milliers de ses citoyens et la souffrance de nombreux réfugiés a laissé le Rwanda dans un grand besoin d’aide.


Canada and the world responds

(July 1994 - March 1996)

La Mission des Nations Unies pour l’assistance au Rwanda II est créée pour mettre fin aux massacres, protéger les civils et fournir une aide humanitaire.

Efforts humanitaires

L’ONU s’est heurtée à bien des obstacles pour mettre fin au génocide. Elle a donc changé ses opérations au Rwanda en mai 1994. Le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a créé une mission élargie, communément appelée Mission des Nations Unies pour l’assistance au Rwanda II (MINUAR II). Son objectif était d’arrêter les massacres, de protéger les civils et de fournir une aide humanitaire. Le major-général Dallaire commanderait les 5 500 soldats des troupes multinationales de la MINUAR II.

Arrivée d’autres Casques bleus canadiens

Plusieurs centaines d’autres membres des FAC ont commencé à être envoyés en déploiement à Kigali à la mi-juillet 1994. Leurs fonctions étaient variées; les premiers qui sont arrivés ont dû installer une caserne et aider à rétablir le quartier général de la mission de l’ONU sur place. La tâche principale du contingent canadien initial de la MINUAR II était de créer un système de communication fiable dans ce pays déchiré par la guerre. Ce n’était pas facile pour nos soldats de la paix.

Mission périlleuse

Les Canadiens ont été parmi les premiers Casques bleus à arriver pour la MINUAR II. Les troupes d’un autre pays n’arriveraient que beaucoup plus tard. Les tâches de nos soldats obligeaient souvent ces derniers à être déployés en petits groupes dans des régions isolées. Ils ont vu les horribles séquelles du génocide qui avait laissé d’innombrables corps partout. Les règles d’engagement strictes limitaient encore les soldats canadiens; ils ne pouvaient pas s’impliquer lorsqu’ils voyaient de nouvelles violences. Parfois, ils rencontraient aussi des gangs armés et devaient désamorcer l’impasse.

Aider de nombreuses façons

Plus tard, un contingent canadien est venu offrir un soutien logistique aux forces onusiennes. Ces troupes ont fourni des capacités vitales de transport, d’entretien et de ravitaillement. Pendant tout ce temps, les Canadiens ont essayé d’aider la population locale. Nos soldats ont souvent partagé leurs rations avec des enfants affamés. Ils ont distribué de l’aide humanitaire comme de la nourriture et des médicaments au peuple rwandais qui souffrait. Ils ont risqué leur vie pour transporter des personnes des zones dangereuses vers des lieux plus sûrs. Ils ont également pris en charge des projets de soutien plus personnels, tels que l’aide à la création d’orphelinats locaux et la visite des jeunes enfants qui y vivaient.

Opération PASSAGE

Les FAC ont également lancé l’opération PASSAGE à l’été 1994 pour fournir des services médicaux aux réfugiés qui retournaient au Rwanda. En août, les Canadiens ont construit un hôpital de campagne avec des médecins, des infirmières, des étudiants en médecine et d’autres membres du personnel de soutien. Les Canadiens allaient souvent chercher les personnes dans le besoin aux points de rassemblement sur le bord de la route et les emmenaient à l’hôpital de campagne pour qu’elles y soient traitées.

Les ingénieurs militaires canadiens ont travaillé sur l’approvisionnement local en eau pour améliorer la santé des Rwandais. Ils ont également participé au déminage et à l’enlèvement des bombes non explosées. Nos soldats de la paix ont sensibilisé la population locale à ces armes dangereuses qui sont encore dispersées dans tout le pays.

Changement de commandement

En août 1994, le major-général Guy Tousignant du Canada est devenu le nouveau commandant de la Force de la MINUAR II. Ses efforts s’inscrivent dans la foulée du grand leadership dont a fait preuve le major-général Dallaire dans des circonstances difficiles. Le major-général Dallaire est revenu au Canada.

Retour au pays des Canadiens

Les Casques bleus canadiens se sont relayés au Rwanda au cours du déroulement de la mission et de l’évolution de ses besoins. Au début de 1995, les membres des FAC ont commencé à rentrer chez eux. En février 1996, les derniers Casques bleus canadiens qui appuyaient la MINUAR II sont finalement partis.


Sacrifices

Quand les gens pensent au maintien de la paix, ils ne se rendent peut-être pas compte qu’il y a des circonstances dans lesquelles il y a si peu de « paix » à « maintenir ». Le risque de blessure est très réel. Environ 130 membres des FAC sont morts au cours des opérations internationales de maintien de la paix. Un soldat a perdu la vie au Rwanda. Les effets du service dans ces missions peuvent être aussi bien sur le plan psychologique que physique. Un certain nombre de nos vétérans ont payé un lourd tribut en voyant la mort et les souffrances généralisées qui ont frappé le Rwanda. Certains de nos soldats de la paix qui ont servi là-bas se trouvent en état de stress post-traumatique.


Héritage

Post-1996

Des membres des Forces armées canadiennes quittent le Rwanda. Même si les efforts des Canadiens se voient imposer des restrictions, les Canadiens sauvent de nombreux Rwandais.

La mission a provoqué la controverse et des centaines de milliers de personnes sont mortes. Mais les efforts de l’ONU au Rwanda ont compté. Même si les efforts des Canadiens ont été limités pendant le génocide, ils ont sauvé de nombreux Rwandais. Les Casques bleus canadiens ont aidé d’innombrables Rwandais à la suite de massacres. Ils ont fourni de l’aide dans les domaines des communications, de la logistique, des soins médicaux et du déminage.

Selon le major-général Dallaire, ces contributions des FAC au peuple rwandais n’étaient « rien de moins qu’une bénédiction ». Notre pays a reconnu les grands efforts des généraux canadiens qui ont commandé les missions de maintien de la paix des Nations Unies au Rwanda. Le major-général Dallaire et le major-général Tousignant ont tous deux reçu la Croix du service méritoire pour leur leadership face à certaines des pires conditions imaginables.


Le Rwanda aujourd’hui

Le Rwanda continue de se remettre de son passé violent. Le pays a connu une forte croissance économique et, aujourd’hui, il est beaucoup plus pacifique. Le Rwanda a deux jours fériés pour souligner les massacres de 1994, et le déni du génocide est une infraction pénale.

La crise rwandaise a contribué à la création de la Cour pénale internationale. Elle enquête sur les allégations de génocide, de crimes contre l’humanité et de crimes de guerre, comme ceux que le monde a vus si clairement au Rwanda dans les années 1990.

Date de modification :