The Canadian Corps and the Battle of the Somme

Introduction

Canadian soldiers testing a machine gun

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

The First World War was fought from 1914 to 1918 and was the most destructive conflict that had ever been seen up to that time. The Battle of the Somme was one of the war's most significant campaigns and Canadian soldiers from coast to coast would see heavy action in the fighting there in the summer and fall of 1916.

The Western Front

After the outbreak of the First World War in August 1914, the combat in Western Europe soon turned into a stalemate of trench fighting along a front line stretching almost 1,000 kilometres across parts of Belgium and France. On one side of this “Western Front” were the forces of France and Britain (along with allies such as Canada) and on the other were the Germans. From their opposing trenches they faced one another across a bleak “No Man's Land” of barbed wire and shell craters.

These strong defensive positions were well-protected by machine guns, snipers and artillery which made a decisive breakthrough of the enemy lines very difficult. Military leaders struggled with devising effective tactics to deal with the realities of this new kind of warfare. Nevertheless, plans were made to break the deadlock and the British and French marshalled their resources for the “Big Push” that would finally shatter the German defensive lines. This bold offensive was planned for the summer of 1916 in the Somme River valley of northern France.

The opening of the battle

The Battle of the Somme began with a massive attack by hundreds of thousands of British and French troops on the morning of July 1, 1916. It would be a disastrous start for the Allies as their forces were pounded by heavy enemy fire when they climbed out of their trenches and advanced across No Man's Land. Tragically, more than 57,000 British Commonwealth troops would be killed, wounded, taken prisoner or go missing—the highest single day losses in the British Army's long history. This shocking total included more than 700 soldiers of the Newfoundland Regiment (who were not fighting as part of the Canadian Corps as Newfoundland did not become part of Canada until decades later in 1949).

The Battle of the Somme was not a one-day affair, however, and the offensive would continue for more than four and a half months. While the Allies did have some battlefield successes later in July, a major breakthrough never materialized and the bloody fighting dragged on.

Canadians on the Somme

Painting of soldiers in battle at Courcelette

For most of the summer of 1916, the Canadian Corps had been manning a section of the Western Front in Belgium. In late August, however, they began to shift to the Somme front near the French village of Courcelette. The Canadians immediately encountered some stiff action there and suffered some 2,600 casualties before the major new offensive they had been tasked with had even gotten underway.

On September 15, our soldiers took part in a large-scale attack that was launched at dawn and pushed forward on a 2,000-metre wide front. Making use of a newly developed tactic called the creeping barrage, the Canadians advanced behind a carefully aimed wave of Allied artillery fire that moved ahead on a set schedule. This heavy bombardment forced the enemy defenders to stay under cover for protection and prevented them from cutting down the advancing troops with their rifle and machine gun fire. For this tactic to work, though, the soldiers had to stay perilously close to the heavy shellfire and many were wounded by the Allies' own artillery explosions.

The Courcelette battlefield also saw another Allied innovation—the first use of the tank in warfare. They were primitive, few in number and mechanically unreliable, but the tanks' shock value alone was enough to throw the enemy into confusion. The attack went well and by 8:00 a.m., the shattered German defensive position known as the Sugar Factory was taken. The Canadians then pushed ahead to Courcelette itself which was captured later that day. The Germans did not relent, however, and launched numerous counter-attacks which our soldiers repulsed as they consolidated their newly won positions. As was often the pattern during attacks on the Western Front, however, the enemy soon brought up major reinforcements, the defences solidified and any further gains became incredibly hard.

The fighting would not yet come to an end on the Somme, though. In the weeks that followed, soldiers of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd Canadian Divisions would be repeatedly flung against a series of German entrenchments. The final Canadian objective was a defensive line that had been dubbed Regina Trench, but it repeatedly defied capture.

The 4th Canadian Division arrived on the Somme in mid-October to take over from their exhausted fellow Canadians who had been fighting there. They faced a battlefield that had turned to mud and a determined German defence that continued to take a murderous toll on Allied attacks. Despite these great challenges, the Canadians finally captured the shattered remains of Regina Trench on November 11. A week later, in the final attack of the Battle of the Somme, the Canadians took Desire Trench. There were no further advances as the winter weather came and the offensive staggered to a halt. The ‘Big Push' had resulted in the Allied lines being moved forward only some ten kilometres.

Sacrifice

The scale of the fighting and the shocking toll it took still makes the Battle of the Somme synonymous with the horrors of the First World War for many people. The losses were truly appalling—the Allies suffered more than 650,000 casualties, including some 200,000 who had lost their lives. The Germans, who had also suffered greatly in the fighting, dubbed the Battle of the Somme “das Blutbad” (the blood bath).

Sadly, Canadian losses would contribute to this grim toll. More than 24,000 of our soldiers were killed, wounded or went missing on the Somme. The fallen from this battle were among the more than 66,000 Canadians and Newfoundlanders who lost their lives in the First World War.

Legacy

Canadian soldiers returning from trenches

The Battle of the Somme was in many ways a watershed event in the First World War. The great courage and accomplishments of Canadian soldiers there helped confirm their growing reputation as first-rate front line troops who could capture enemy positions in the face of heavy fire. Indeed, the hard lessons on battlefield tactics that the Canadian Corps learned on the Somme would prove to be very valuable in their future actions.

After the Somme, the Canadians were transferred to the sector of the Western Front near Vimy Ridge. Beginning in the spring of 1917, our soldiers would put together an unbroken string of battlefield successes that culminated in them playing a leading role in the Allied offensives in the last hundred days of the war which would finally end the conflict in November 1918.

Canada Remembers Program

The Canada Remembers Program of Veterans Affairs Canada encourages all Canadians to learn about the sacrifices and achievements made by those who have served—and continue to serve—during times of war and peace. As well, it invites Canadians to become involved in remembrance activities that will help preserve their legacy for future generations.

Date modified:

Le Corps canadien et la bataille de la Somme

Introduction

Des soldats canadiens essaient une mitrailleuse

Cette publication est disponible dans d'autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

Jamais le monde n'avait vu de conflit aussi dévastateur que la Première Guerre mondiale, qui s'est déroulée de 1914 à 1918. La bataille de la Somme, qui en fut l'une des campagnes les plus importantes, vit des soldats canadiens d'un océan à l'autre prendre part à de féroces combats dans cette région à l'été et à l'automne 1916.

Le front occidental

Après le déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale en août 1914, les combats en Europe occidentale s'embourbèrent rapidement dans une guerre de tranchées, le long d'une ligne de front qui s'étendait sur près de 1 000 kilomètres en Belgique et en France. D'un côté de ce « front occidental » se trouvaient les forces françaises et britanniques (avec leurs alliés, notamment le Canada) et de l'autre, les Allemands. De leurs tranchées opposées, les ennemis se faisaient face, séparés par un No Man's Land, lugubre terrain neutre, où dominaient barbelés et trous d'obus.

Ces solides positions défensives bénéficiaient d'une protection renforcée faite de mitrailleuses, de tireurs embusqués et d'artillerie, qui rendaient difficile une percée décisive des lignes ennemies. Les chefs militaires peinaient à concevoir des tactiques efficaces pour affronter les réalités de ce nouveau genre de guerre. Finalement, ils préparèrent des plans pour sortir de l'impasse. Les Britanniques et les Français rassemblèrent leurs troupes pour la « grande poussée » (le Big Push) qui devait briser les lignes de défense allemandes. Cette offensive audacieuse était prévue pour l'été 1916 dans la vallée de la Somme, dans le nord de la France.

Début de la bataille

La bataille de la Somme commença par une attaque massive livrée par des centaines de milliers de soldats britanniques et français le matin du 1er juillet 1916. Le début de l'offensive fut un désastre pour les Alliés, dont les forces furent la cible d'un feu nourri lorsqu'elles sortirent de leurs tranchées pour s'avancer dans le terrain neutre. Les pertes tragiques (morts, blessés, prisonniers ou portés disparus) s'élevaient à plus de 57 000 dans les rangs du Commonwealth britannique, soit le plus lourd bilan en un seul jour dans la longue histoire de l'armée britannique. Parmi ce nombre accablant se trouvaient plus de 700 soldats du Newfoundland Regiment (qui ne combattait pas avec le Corps canadien, Terre-Neuve n'ayant intégré la Confédération canadienne que quelques décennies plus tard, en 1949).

La bataille de la Somme ne fut pas l'affaire d'un seul jour et l'offensive se poursuivit pendant plus de quatre mois et demi. Bien que les Alliés eussent remporté quelques succès sur le champ de bataille en juillet, ils ne parvinrent jamais à percer les lignes ennemies, et les combats sanglants s'éternisèrent.

Les Canadiens dans la Somme

Peinture de soldats lors de la bataille de Courcelette

Le Corps canadien passa le plus clair de l'été 1916 dans une partie du front occidental située en Belgique. Vers la fin du mois d'août, les soldats se dirigèrent vers le front de la Somme, près du village français de Courcelette. Les Canadiens se retrouvèrent immédiatement dans le feu de l'action et déplorèrent près de 2 600 victimes avant même le début de la nouvelle grande offensive qu'ils avaient pour mission de mener.

Le 15 septembre, nos soldats participèrent à une attaque de grande envergure, qui fut lancée à l'aube et qui fit progresser la ligne sur un front large de 2 000 mètres. Au moyen d'une nouvelle tactique appelée barrage roulant, l'infanterie canadienne avança derrière un rideau de feu formé par une salve d'artillerie, qui se déplaçait selon un chronométrage précis. Ce bombardement intense força les soldats ennemis à rester à l'abri, les empêchant d'abattre de leurs fusils et leurs mitrailleuses les troupes qui avançaient. Pour que cette tactique fonctionne, les soldats alliés devaient cependant rester à une distance dangereusement rapprochée des tirs d'obus. Par conséquent, plusieurs furent blessés par les explosions de leur propre artillerie.

La bataille de Courcelette fut aussi le théâtre d'une autre innovation alliée : la première utilisation du char blindé dans une guerre. Ces chars étaient primitifs, peu nombreux et mécaniquement problématiques, mais l'effet de surprise suffit à impressionner l'ennemi et jeter le trouble dans ses rangs. L'attaque réussit. À 8 h, la position allemande ciblée, connue sous le nom de la « sucrerie », fut capturée. Les Canadiens poursuivirent leur avancée jusqu'au village de Courcelette, qui fut pris le lendemain. Les Allemands ne cédèrent pas pour autant et lancèrent plusieurs contre-attaques que nos soldats repoussèrent en consolidant les nouvelles positions conquises. Comme ce fut souvent le cas dans les attaques sur le front occidental, l'ennemi reçut des renforts importants, ses défenses furent solidifiées et il devint très ardu de remporter d'autres victoires.

Néanmoins, les combats ne prirent pas fin dans la Somme. Au cours des semaines suivantes, les soldats des 1re, 2e et 3e Divisions canadiennes lancèrent des opérations contre une série de tranchées allemandes. L'objectif ultime des Canadiens était la ligne de défense dite tranchée Regina, que l'ennemi parvint à tenir malgré les charges répétées.

Les soldats de la 4e Division canadienne arrivèrent dans la Somme à la mi-octobre pour remplacer leurs compatriotes exténués. Ils durent affronter un champ de bataille transformé en mer de boue et une défense allemande déterminée, qui poursuivait son action meurtrière sur les attaques alliées. Malgré ces terribles difficultés, les Canadiens prirent finalement les ruines de la tranchée Regina le 11 novembre. Une semaine plus tard, au cours de la dernière attaque de la bataille de la Somme, les Canadiens s'emparèrent de la tranchée Desire. Les troupes ne gagnèrent plus de terrain ensuite, car l'hiver s'était installé, immobilisant l'offensive. La « grande poussée » avait permis aux Alliés d'avancer seulement d'une dizaine de kilomètres.

Sacrifices

Par l'échelle des combats et son funeste bilan, la bataille de la Somme reste pour plusieurs synonyme des horreurs de la Première Guerre mondiale. Les pertes furent immenses : les victimes des Alliés étaient en effet estimées à plus de 650 000 soldats, dont 200 000 ont perdu la vie. Les Allemands, qui ont aussi atrocement souffert des combats, ont surnommé la bataille de la Somme « das Blutbad » (le bain de sang).

Malheureusement, de nombreux Canadiens faisaient partie de ces lourdes pertes. Plus de 24 000 de nos soldats furent tués, blessés ou portés disparus dans la bataille de la Somme. Les hommes tombés dans cette campagne furent parmi les 66 000 Canadiens et Terre-Neuviens morts pendant la Première Guerre mondiale.

Héritage

Des soldats canadiens reviennent des tranchées

La bataille de la Somme fut de maintes façons un moment marquant de la Première Guerre mondiale. Le courage et les actions exemplaires des soldats canadiens contribuèrent à leur réputation grandissante de troupes de choc de premier plan, capables de capturer des positions ennemies sous un feu nourri. De fait, les leçons douloureuses tirées par le Corps canadien dans la Somme se révélèrent de précieux atouts dans de futures actions.

Après la Somme, les Canadiens furent transférés dans un autre secteur du front occidental, près de la crête de Vimy. Au printemps 1917 et dans les mois suivants, les attaques de nos soldats remportèrent de grands succès. Les Canadiens en vinrent à jouer un rôle déterminant dans les offensives alliées des cent derniers jours de guerre, qui mettront fin au conflit en novembre 1918.

Programme Le Canada se souvient

Le programme Le Canada se souvient, d'Anciens Combattants Canada incite tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à se renseigner sur les sacrifices et les réalisations de tous ceux et celles qui ont servi et qui continuent de servir leur pays en temps de guerre et en temps de paix. Il invite aussi les citoyens à prendre part aux activités commémoratives qui aident à préserver l'héritage qu'ils nous ont légué et à le transmettre aux générations à venir.

Date de modification :