Memorial Cross

Information

Memorial Ribbon

The Memorial Cross (more often referred to as the Silver Cross) was first instituted by Order-in-Council 2374, dated December 1, 1919. It was awarded to mothers and widows (next of kin) of Canadian soldiers who died on active duty or whose death was consequently attributed to such duty.

The crosses were sent automatically to mothers and wives who qualified, and could be worn by the recipients anytime, even though they were not themselves veterans. The cross was engraved with the name, rank and service number of the son or husband.

Recent changes now allow Canadian Forces members to designate up to three Memorial Cross recipients. This is specific to the Memorial Cross EIIR. For more information on these changes see below or visit the Department of National Defence Web site.

What is the Memorial Cross?

The Memorial Cross is an award that has been granted since 1919 to the loved ones of Canadian armed forces personnel who died in service or whose death was attributed to their service. It is granted by the Government of Canada and is frequently referred to as the Silver Cross. In the past it has only been given to mothers and widows.

The Memorial Cross, the gift of Canada, was issued as a memento of personal loss and sacrifice on the part of widows and mothers of Canadian sailors, soldiers and airmen who died for their country during the war.

Memorial Cross GRI

Memorial Cross GVIR

Memorial Cross EIIR

The Memorial Cross is in the form of a cross pattee, in silver, suspended by a bar brooch, although prior to 1945 it was suspended from a light purple ribbon 11 mm wide. At the end of the upright is a crown and at the foot and the end of either arm, a maple leaf. In the centre, within a wreath of laurel, is the royal cypher of the reigning monarch: GRI for King George the Fifth, GVIR for King George the Sixth, or EIIR for Elizabeth the Second. The reverse of the Cross is engraved with the name and service number of the individual commemorated.

Additional information is available from the Honours and Awards Section, Veterans Affairs Canada, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0P4.

What is Veterans Affairs Canada's role in administering the Memorial Cross?

Veterans Affairs Canada can issue and, when required, replace to eligible next of kin (widow, eldest living child, eldest living brother or sister of the Veteran) a Memorial Cross for any Veteran whose death was related to military service in wartime or a Special Duty Area up to the period of October 7, 2001. As of October 7, if the death is ruled to be related to authorized military service, up to three Memorial Crosses may be issued to family members or loved ones as designated by the member or by his or her estate.

What do the changes to the Memorial Cross regulations mean for Veterans?

The changes will affect Veterans of the Korean War and Veterans with Special Duty Area service from 1950 to October 6, 2001 who were living as of December 12, 2008. Veterans Affairs Canada will contact the executor of the estate to determine the recipients of the Memorial Cross.

Any Veteran who is released from service on or after October 7, 2001, regardless of their service, may designate up to three Memorial Cross recipients in the event they die of their service-related injury or illness. Former members who completed a form while serving in the Canadian Forces must complete a new form for Veterans Affairs Canada.

Why were the changes made and why the cut-off date of October 7, 2001?

The criteria was updated to reflect the evolution of Canadian society and the nature of modern military service. The previous criteria for the Memorial Cross limited eligibility to deaths for service in special duty areas and recipients to mothers and widows only. This is not in keeping with modern needs.

The criteria was updated at the request of the Minister of National Defence to retroactively include all deaths, either Special Duty Area service or regular service, that occurred since October 2001, a time when the Chief of Defence Staff issued preliminary orders to Canadian Forces units to participate in the international campaign against terrorism. This was to ensure all service-related deaths which occurred since were duly recognized and treated equitably.

Memorial Ribbon

Memorial Ribbon

The Memorial Ribbon was created as a symbol of personal loss and sacrifice. Up to five Memorial Ribbons can be issued to the close loved ones of a deceased Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) member who are not already in receipt of a Memorial Cross.

Memorial Ribbons may be issued on behalf of any CAF member whose death is a result of duty-related injury or illness sustained on or after October 1, 1947. This is the first date inscribed in the In the Service of Canada Book of Remembrance which is dedicated to those who made the ultimate sacrifice while serving in the military.

Where can I receive more information on the Memorial Ribbon?

For more information on the Memorial Ribbon or to access the application form, please visit the Directorate of Honours and Recognition Website.

Date modified:

Croix du souvenir

Renseignements

Ruban commémoratif

La Croix du souvenir, mieux connue sous le nom de Croix d’argent, a été initialement approuvée le 1er décembre 1919 par le décret 2374. Elle était décernée aux mères et aux veuves (plus proche parent) des soldats et marins canadiens morts au champ d’honneur ou dont la mort était imputable au service dans les forces actives.

Les croix ont été envoyées d’office à toutes les mères et épouses qui y avaient droit. Elles peuvent être portées par les récipiendaires même si celles-ci ne sont pas des anciens combattants. Le nom et le matricule du fils ou du mari sont gravés sur la croix.

Des modifications récentes permettent aux membres des Forces canadiennes de désigner jusqu’à trois personnes pour recevoir la Croix du souvenir. On parle ici de la Croix du souvenir d’Elizabeth II. Pour en savoir davantage, lisez ce qui suit ou consultez le site Web du Ministère de la Défense nationale.

Qu’est-ce que la Croix du souvenir?

La Croix du souvenir est une décoration qui est décernée depuis 1919 aux êtres chers des membres des forces armées canadiennes morts en service ou dont le décès est attribuable à leur service. Cette décoration est décernée par le gouvernement du Canada.

La Croix du souvenir, qui est souvent désignée sous le nom de Croix d’argent, n’était décernée autrefois qu’aux mères et aux veuves.

Croix du souvenir GRI

Croix du souvenir GVIR

Croix du souvenir EIIR

La Croix du souvenir a la forme d’une croix pattée, en argent, et elle est maintenue par une attache; avant 1945, elle était suspendue à un ruban pourpre clair de 11 mm de largeur. Une couronne orne l’extrémité supérieure de la croix et une feuille d’érable est ciselée à l’extrémité des autres branches. Au centre de la croix, le monogramme royal du monarque en titre est entouré d’une couronne de laurier : les initiales GRI pour le roi George V, GVIR pour le roi George VI ou EIIR pour la reine Elizabeth II. Le nom et le numéro matricule de la personne commémorée sont gravés sur le revers de la croix.

Pour obtenir plus d’information, il suffit de vous adresser à la Section des décorations et citations, Anciens Combattants Canada, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0P4.

Quel rôle joue Anciens Combattants Canada dans la remise de la Croix du souvenir?

Anciens Combattants Canada peut émettre et, au besoin, remplacer une Croix du souvenir décernée à un ancien militaire dont le décès est attribuable au service militaire en temps de guerre ou qui a servi dans une zone de service spécial jusqu’au 7 octobre 2001 à un plus proche parent (veuve, enfant le plus âgé vivant, frère ou sœur du vétéran le plus âgé vivant). Depuis cette date, s’il a été établi que le décès est attribuable à tout service militaire autorisé, jusqu’à trois Croix du souvenir peuvent être décernées aux membres de la famille ou aux êtres chers désignés par le membre ou par sa succession.

Qu’est-ce que les changements apportés aux règlements déterminant la remise de la Croix du souvenir signifient pour les anciens combattants?

Ces changements touchent les anciens combattants de la guerre de Corée et les vétérans qui ont servi dans une zone de service spécial entre 1950 et le 6 octobre 2001, et qui étaient encore en vie le 12 décembre 2008. Anciens Combattants Canada communiquera avec l’exécuteur testamentaire ou le liquidateur de succession afin de déterminer à qui sera remise la Croix du souvenir.

Tout vétéran libéré des Forces canadiennes le 7 octobre 2001 ou après cette date, quels que soient ses états de service, peut désigner jusqu’à trois récipiendaires de la Croix du souvenir dans l’éventualité où son décès est attribuable à une blessure ou à une affection découlant du service. Les anciens membres des Forces canadiennes qui ont rempli un formulaire pendant leur service doivent en remplir un nouveau pour Anciens Combattants Canada.

Pourquoi ces changements ont-ils été apportés et pourquoi a-t-on choisi la date limite du 7 octobre 2001?

Les critères ont été modifiés afin de tenir compte de l’évolution de la société canadienne et de la nature du service militaire moderne. Les critères antérieurs qui limitaient l’admissibilité à la Croix du souvenir aux militaires morts en service qui ont servi dans une zone de service spécial et qui en prévoyaient la remise aux mères et aux veuves seulement ne tenaient pas compte des besoins modernes.

Ces critères ont été modifiés à la demande du ministre de la Défense nationale afin d’inclure rétroactivement tous les militaires qui ont servi dans une zone de service spécial ou dans les forces régulières décédés après octobre 2001, soit au moment où le Chef d’état-major de la Défense a émis des ordres préliminaires aux unités des Forces canadiennes afin qu’ils participent à la campagne internationale de lutte contre le terrorisme. Cette modification visait à s’assurer que tous les militaires morts en service soient reconnus comme il se doit et traités équitablement.

Ruban commémoratif

Ruban commémoratif

Le ruban commémoratif symbolise la perte et le sacrifice personnels. On peut remettre jusqu’à cinq rubans aux proches d’un membre des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) qui est décédé sans avoir jamais reçu la Croix du Souvenir.

On peut remettre des rubans commémoratifs au nom d’un membre des FAC décédé des suites d’une blessure ou d’une maladie liée directement au service militaire et subie le ou après le 1er octobre 1947, soit la première date inscrite dans le Livre du Souvenir - Au service du Canada dédié à ceux et celles qui ont consenti le sacrifice ultime en exerçant leurs fonctions militaires.

Où puis-je obtenir plus d’information sur le ruban commémoratif?

Pour en apprendre davantage sur le ruban commémoratif ou obtenir un formulaire de demande, consultez la page des Distinctions honorifiques et reconnaissance.

Date de modification :