Prince of the Brigade

In the Devil's Brigade, Tommy Prince became an expert in reconnaissance. He once posed as a local farmer to repair a severed communications wire—in full view of enemy troops. Here he is shown (right) with a brother at Buckingham Palace, where he was awarded two gallantry medals. (C.J. Woods / Department of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA-142289)

As soon as I put on my uniform I felt a better man.

Tommy Prince 68

Thomas George Prince was one of 11 children born to Henry and Arabella Prince of the Brokenhead Band at Scanterbury, Manitoba. He was a descendant of Peguis, the Saulteaux Chief who led his band of 200 Ojibwa from the Sault Ste. Marie region to the Red River in the 1790s, and of Chief William Prince, who headed the Ojibwa-Manitoba team of Nile Voyageurs.

Prince enlisted in June 1940, at the age of 24, and began his wartime service as a sapper with the Royal Canadian Engineers. After two years with the RCE, he answered a call for paratrooper volunteers, and by late 1942, was training with the 1st Canadian Special Service Battalion.

Soon after Prince joined this select battalion, it merged with an elite American unit, forming a spearhead of 1,600 men who possessed an assortment of specialist skills. Officially called the 1st Special Service Force, it would become known to German soldiers as the Devil's Brigade. Originally, this force was intended to be a parachute unit that would land behind enemy lines and sabotage their installations. Instead, it became a versatile assault group with a reputation for specialized reconnaissance and raiding. Prince was well-suited to be a member.

On February 8, 1944, near Littoria, Italy, Reconnaissance Sergeant Prince was spying on the Germans. An abandoned farmhouse some 200 metres from the enemy served as his observation post, and 1,400 metres of telephone wire connected him to the force. He had a clear view of the enemy's artillery emplacements and promptly reported them.

In Italy, a patrol of the Devil's Brigade undergoes a last-minute briefing before setting out. (Lt. Nye / Department of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA-128986)

During what would become a 24-hour solo watch, Prince's communication line was severed by shelling. Unfazed, the sergeant donned civilian clothing, grabbed a hoe and, in full view of German soldiers, acted like a farmer weeding his crops. He slowly inched his way along the line till he found where it was damaged, then, pretending to tie his shoelaces, quickly rejoined the wires. His reporting continued and so did the damage to enemy artillery posts. In all, four German positions were destroyed, and Prince had earned the MM. As his citation explains, "Sergeant Prince's courage and utter disregard for personal safety were an inspiration to his fellows and a marked credit to his unit."

Six months later, the Devil's Brigade entered southern France. On September 1, Sergeant Prince and a private, scouting deep behind German lines near L'Escarène, located the gun sites and encampment area of an enemy reserve battalion. Prince walked 70 kilometres across the rugged, mountainous terrain to report the information and led the brigade to the encampment.69 He then joined in the battle.

Afterward, Prince was recommended for the Silver Star, an American army decoration for gallantry in action.70 His citation was glowing:

Prince (right) with his MM. The sergeant was also awarded the American Silver Star for discovering, and leading the brigade to, an enemy encampment area. (C.J. Woods / Department of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA-142287)

So accurate was the report rendered by the patrol that Sergeant Prince's regiment moved forward on 5 September 1944, occupied new heights and successfully wiped out the enemy bivouac [encampment] area. The keen sense of responsibility and devotion to duty displayed by Sergeant Prince is in keeping with the highest traditions of the military service and reflects great credit upon himself and the Armed Forces of the Allied Nations.

When the fighting in Southern France was over, Prince was summoned to Buckingham Palace, where King George VI decorated him with both the MM and, on behalf of the president of the United States, the Silver Star with ribbon. Tommy Prince was one of 59 Canadians who were awarded the Silver Star during the Second World War.71 Only three of this group also possessed the MM.

In December 1944, the Devil's Brigade was disbanded, and its members were scattered among other battalions. The war in Europe ended while Prince was back in England.

Date modified:

Prince de la Brigade

Tommy Prince devint un spécialiste de la reconnaissance au sein de la Brigade du diable. Une fois, il se déguisa en cultivateur afin de raccorder les fils du système de communications, et ce, sous le nez des troupes ennemies. Nous le voyons ici (à droite) avec son frère au palais de Buckingham, où il a reçu deux médailles pour bravoure. (C.J. Woods / Ministère de la Défense nationale / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / PA-142289)

Dès que j'ai revêtu l'uniforme, je me suis senti devenir un meilleur homme.

Tommy Prince 68

Thomas George Prince était l'un des 11 enfants de Henry et Arabella Prince, de la bande Brokenhead à Scanterbury, au Manitoba. Il était l'un des descendants de Peguis, le chef Saulteaux qui avait conduit sa bande de 200 Ojibwas de la région de Sault-Sainte-Marie à la rivière Rouge dans les années 1790, et du chef William Prince, qui avait dirigé l'équipe Ojibwa-Manitoba des Voyageurs du Nil.

Prince s'enrôla en juin 1940, à l'âge de 24 ans, et commença son service comme sapeur dans le Corps du génie royal canadien. Après deux années de service au sein de ce Corps, il répondit à un appel de volontaires parachutistes et, vers la fin de 1942, il s'entraînait avec le 1er Bataillon canadien de service spécial.

Peu après, ce bataillon sélect fut fusionné à une unité d'élite américaine pour former un bataillon d'avant-garde composé de 1 600 hommes possédant des compétences particulières. C'était, officiellement, la 1re Brigade de service spécial; pour les Allemands, ce serait, la « Brigade du diable ». Au début, cette brigade devait être composée de parachutistes qui sauteraient derrière les lignes ennemies pour saboter leurs installations. Elle devint plutôt un groupe d'assaut polyvalent et acquit une réputation en se spécialisant dans la reconnaissance et les raids. Prince était bien préparé pour en faire partie.

Le 8 février 1944, près de Littoria, en Italie, le sergent de reconnaissance Prince espionnait les Allemands. Une ferme abandonnée à 200 mètres de l'ennemi lui servait de poste d'observation, et 1 400 mètres de fil téléphonique lui permettaient de rester en communication avec la brigade. Il voyait très bien les emplacements de l'artillerie ennemie et en fit promptement rapport.

En Italie, une dernière séance d'information d'une patrouille de la Brigade du diable avant d'accomplir une mission. (Lt Nye / Ministère de la Défense nationale / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / PA-128986)

Au cours de ce qui serait une surveillance solo de 24 heures, les lignes de communication de Prince furent coupées par les bombardements. Le sergent ne s'en fit pas pour si peu et, enfilant des vêtements de ferme, il prit une fourche et, en pleine vue des soldats allemands, il se mit à sarcler son champ. Lentement, il avançait le long du fil jusqu'à ce qu'il arrive au point où celui-ci était endommagé. Il se penchait alors comme pour attacher ses lacets, et rapidement, raccordait le fil. Il continua ensuite à envoyer ses rapports et les dommages à l'ennemi continuèrent de s'accumuler. Au total, quatre positions allemandes furent détruites et Prince avait gagné la MM. Comme la citation l'explique : « Le courage du sergent Prince et sa totale indifférence envers sa sécurité furent une inspiration pour ses camarades et un grand avantage pour son unité ».

Six mois plus tard, la Brigade du diable entra dans le sud de la France. Le 1er septembre, pendant une tournée de reconnaissance loin derrière les lignes allemandes près de L'Escarène, le sergent Prince et un soldat repérèrent l'emplacement des canons et du camp d'un bataillon de réserve de l'ennemi. Prince marcha sur une distance de 70 kilomètres sur un terrain raboteux et montagneux, pour faire rapport de ces renseignements et conduire la brigade au campement.69 Ensuite, il prit part à la bataille.

Par la suite, Prince fut recommandé pour être décoré de la Silver Star, une décoration de l'armée américaine accordée pour bravoure au combat.70 La citation était très élogieuse :

Prince (à droite) arborant sa MM. La médaille américaine Silver Star lui a aussi été décernée pour avoir découvert un campement ennemi et y avoir conduit la brigade. (C.J. Woods / Ministère de la Défense nationale / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / PA-142287)

Le rapport de la patrouille fut si exact que le régiment du sergent Prince avança le 5 septembre 1944, occupa d'autres hauteurs et réussit à anéantir le camp ennemi. Le sens aigu des responsabilités et du devoir du sergent Prince, en plus d'être conforme aux plus hautes traditions du service militaire, l'honore ainsi que les Forces armées des nations alliées.

Lorsque les combats cessèrent dans le sud de la France, Prince fut mandaté au palais de Buckingham où le roi George VI le décora de la Médaille militaire et, au nom du président des États-Unis, de la Silver Star avec ruban. Tommy Prince fut l'un des 59 Canadiens à qui l'on décerna la Silver Star au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.71 Seuls trois membres de ce groupe reçurent aussi la MM.

En décembre 1944, la Brigade du diable fut abolie et ses membres furent dispersés parmi les autres bataillons. La guerre prit fin en Europe pendant que Prince se trouvait en Angleterre.

Date de modification :