The Canadian Contribution

The Korean War

Russ Moses, a Delaware from the Six Nations Reserve, served on HMCS Iroquois during the Korean War. Here he is shown aboard the Prestonian in June 1953. After the war he served with the RCAF, and in the 1960s, hosted the CBC radio program Our Native Land. Moses is the nephew of James Moses, a lieutenant who went missing in action in the Great War. His wife, Helen, is the daughter of Edith Anderson Monture, another First World War Indigenous Veteran. (Russell Moses)

Today we are Canadians, in service to flag, country and Queen under the blue of the sky and the whiteness of fresh water together in the United Nations banner.84

The Response

The Korean War began on June 25, 1950, when thousands of North Korean infantrymen, supported by tanks and aircraft, crossed the 38th Parallel and invaded South Korea. The United Nations (U.N.) Security Council voted to defend the southern republic, and the Canadian Government, headed by Prime Minister Louis St-Laurent, decided to commit a military force. In the end, fewer Canadians would serve in this war than in the two World Wars. However, Canada's contribution to the U.N. forces would be surpassed only by the United States and Great Britain. More than 26,000 Canadians participated during the war, and additional troops assumed peacekeeping roles after the Korea Armistice Agreement was signed.

The first Canadians to serve in the region were naval personnel. Three RCN destroyers sailed in July 1950, followed one month later by a RCAF transport squadron. Coincidentally, two of the RCN ships—HMCS Cayuga and HMCS Sioux—bore the names of First Nations peoples. Later in the war, they were followed by the Nootka, the Iroquois, the Huron and the Haida, plus two other ships. These names were testimony to the respect Indigenous people had earned within the Canadian military establishment, and continued a tradition that had begun in the Second World War. For example, in 1943, five Mi' kmaw from Nova Scotia were honorary guests of Halifax Shipyards Ltd. for the launching of the tribal class destroyer, HMCS Micmac.

Lawrence Martin of Nipigon, Ontario served in both the Second World War and the Korean War. During the Second, he went overseas in 1943 and became a gunner. Here, Cpl. Martin stands over a bunker and trench in Korea (Lawrence Martin).

While this first group of Canadians was assuming military duties, the government was organizing the recruitment of the Canadian Army Special Force (CASF) for Korean service. A brigade group, the CASF was to be raised by voluntary enlistment and trained as part of the regular army.

Late in 1950, agents of the Indian Affairs Branch,85 in keeping with past practice, were asked to keep track of the number of First Nations members who enlisted in the CASF. By March 1951, 73 names had been recorded. A final figure of participants was not reported, however, it is likely that several hundred Indigenous men served on the battlefields and also at sea in an area that had been known, in more peaceful times, as the Land of the Morning Calm.86

Date modified:

La contribution canadienne

La guerre de Corée

Russ Moses, un Delaware de la réserve des Six-Nations, a servi à bord de l'Iroquois au cours de la guerre de Corée. On le voit ici à bord du Prestonian en juin 1953. Après la guerre il a servi dans l'ARC, et au cours des années soixante, il a animé le programme de radio Our Native Land à la CBC. Moses est le neveu de James Moses, le lieutenant porté disparu au cours de la Grande Guerre. Son épouse, Helen, est la fille d'Edith Anderson Monture, une ancienne combattante autochtone de la Première Guerre mondiale.(Russell Moses)

Aujourd'hui, nous sommes Canadiens, au service du drapeau, du pays et de la Reine, et nous sommes unis sous la bannière des Nations Unies, dont le bleu symbolise le ciel et le blanc, l'eau fraîche.84

La réponse

La guerre de Corée a commencé le 25 juin 1950 lorsque des milliers de fantassins de la Corée du Nord, appuyés par des chars d'assaut et des avions, traversèrent le 38e parallèle pour envahir la Corée du Sud. Le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies (ONU) vota pour défendre la république du sud et le gouvernement du Canada, dirigé par le premier ministre Louis St-Laurent, décida d'y engager une force militaire. Il y eut toutefois moins de Canadiens qui servirent dans cette guerre qu'au cours des deux guerres mondiales. La contribution du Canada aux forces des Nations Unies ne sera néanmoins surpassée que par celle des États-Unis et de la Grande-Bretagne. Plus de 26 000 Canadiens participèrent à cette guerre, et des troupes supplémentaires assumèrent des rôles de maintien de la paix après la signature de l'entente d'armistice en Corée.

Les premiers Canadiens qui servirent dans la région furent du personnel de la marine. Trois destroyers de la MRC partirent en juillet 1950, et furent suivis, un mois plus tard, par une escadrille de transport de l'ARC. Incidemment, deux des navires de la MRC portaient des noms de bandes, le Cayuga et le Sioux. Plus tard au cours de la guerre, ils furent suivis du Nootka, de l'Iroquois, du Huron, du Haïda et de deux autres navires. Le fait que l'on eut donné ces noms aux navires témoignait du respect que les Autochtones s'étaient acquis au sein de l'élite militaire du Canada, et maintenait une tradition établie au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Par exemple, en 1943, cinq Micmacs de la Nouvelle-Écosse furent les invités d'honneur de l'Halifax Shipyards Ltd. pour le lancement de la frégate de classe tribale, la Micmac.

Lawrence Martin de Nipigon, en Ontario, a servi au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et de la guerre de Corée. Pendant la Seconde Guerre, il alla outre-mer en 1943 et devint artilleur. Ici le caporal Martin se tient sur une casemate et une tranchée en Corée. (Lawrence Martin)

Alors que ce premier groupe de Canadiens était en poste, le gouvernement procédait au recrutement de la Force spéciale de l'Armée canadienne (FSAC) en vue du service en Corée. La FSAC était une brigade qui enrôlait des volontaires qui étaient formés suivant des normes fixées par l'armée régulière.

Vers la fin de l'année 1950, conformément à des pratiques antérieures, on demanda aux agents de la Direction des affaires indiennes85 de tenir des relevés du nombre de membres des Premières Nations qui s'enrôlaient dans la FSAC. En mars 1951, 73 noms avaient été enregistrés. Il n'existe aucun chiffre quant au nombre total de participants. On peut toutefois supposer qu'il y eut plusieurs centaines d'Autochtones qui ont servi sur des champs de bataille et en mer dans une région qui, en des temps plus paisibles, était connue sous le nom de Pays du matin calme.86

Date de modification :