10 Quick Facts on... The Korean War

  1. The Korean War began on June 25, 1950, when the military forces of North Korea crossed the 38th parallel into South Korea. Sixteen members of the United Nations, including Canada, would contribute combat forces under United States command to defend South Korea.
  2. Canadians saw action in the Battle of Kapyong on April 24 and 25, 1951. Despite fierce enemy attacks, they maintained their position. Ten Canadians were killed and 23 were wounded in the battle.
  3. Hill 355, known as “Little Gibraltar,” was the scene of bitter fighting in late October 1952. Under intense enemy bombardment and assault, the Canadian soldiers there held their ground.
  4. Over the course of the war, the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) No. 426 Squadron carried 13,000 personnel and 3 million kilograms of freight and mail between North America and Korea. Twenty-two RCAF pilots also served with US Air Force squadrons in Korea, including Flying Officer Omer Levesque, who became the first Commonwealth pilot to shoot down a MiG-15 enemy fighter in the war.
  5. More than 5,000 Canadian women were recruited for military service during the Korean War, including 60 Nursing Sisters who served in Korea and Japan. When the ceasefire came into effect in 1953, the Nursing Sisters treated the released Canadian prisoners of war.
  6. On October 2, 1952, HMCS Iroquois was exchanging fire with an enemy gun battery on shore when the ship took a direct hit. Three Canadian sailors died and ten were wounded in the explosion.
  7. On November 21, 1950, 17 soldiers of the 2nd Regiment, Royal Canadian Horse Artillery, died in a train crash in British Columbia while on their way to the war in Korea.
  8. For its courageous stand at Kapyong, the 2nd Battalion of Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry received the United States Presidential Unit Citation. Other awards for valour received by Canadians during the Korean War include: 9 Distinguished Service Orders, 33 Military Crosses, 5 Distinguished Flying Crosses, 8 Distinguished Conduct Medals and 53 Military Medals.
  9. More than 26,000 Canadians served in the Korean War and approximately 7,000 continued to serve in the theatre from the Armistice to August 1957. In total, 516 Canadians died in what is the third deadliest conflict in Canadian history.
  10. The active fighting in the Korean War ended on July 27, 1953, with the signing of the Armistice at Panmunjom.
Date modified:

Dix faits en bref sur ... la guerre de Corée

  1. La guerre de Corée éclata le 25 juin 1950, lorsque les forces militaires de la Corée du Nord traversèrent le 38e parallèle pour envahir la Corée du Sud. Seize états membres des Nations Unies, dont le Canada, mirent à contribution des troupes de combat placées sous le commandement des États-Unis pour défendre la Corée du Sud.
  2. Les troupes canadiennes combattirent à Kapyong les 24 et 25 avril 1951. Elles maintinrent leur position malgré les violentes attaques de l’ennemi. Au total, 10 soldats canadiens perdirent la vie et 23 autres furent blessés pendant cette bataille.
  3. La cote 355, connue sous le nom de « petit Gibraltar », fut le théâtre d’âpres luttes à la fin d’octobre 1952. Les soldats canadiens tinrent tête à l’ennemi en dépit de bombardements et d’assauts nourris.
  4. Pendant une période de quatre ans, le 426e Escadron de l’Aviation royale canadienne transporta 13 000 militaires et 3 millions de kilogrammes de marchandises et de courrier entre l’Amérique du Nord et le théâtre des opérations coréen. Au total, 22 pilotes de l’Aviation royale canadienne servirent aux côtés des escadrons de l’aviation américaine en Corée. Le Lieutenant d’aviation Omer Lévesque, détaché à l’aviation américaine, fut le premier pilote du Commonwealth à descendre un chasseur MiG-15 ennemi pendant la guerre de Corée.
  5. Plus de 5 000 Canadiennes furent recrutées pour le service militaire pendant la guerre de Corée. De ce nombre, 60 infirmières militaires servirent en Corée et au Japon. Lorsque le cessez-le-feu fut décrété en 1953, elles soignèrent les prisonniers de guerre canadiens nouvellement libérés.
  6. Le 2 octobre 1952, lors d’un échange de feux avec une batterie de tir à terre, le NCSM Iroquois fut atteint par un tir direct. L’explosion fit trois morts et dix blessés.
  7. Le 21 novembre 1950, 17 soldats du 2e Régiment de la Royal Canadian Horse Artillery moururent dans un accident ferroviaire en Colombie-Britannique alors qu’ils s’apprêtaient à partir au front en Corée.
  8. Pour sa bravoure à Kapyong, le 2e Bataillon du Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry reçut la décoration United States Presidential Unit Citation. De nombreux autres prix de bravoure furent décernés à des Canadiens pendant la guerre de Corée : 9 reçurent l’Ordre du service distingué; 33 la Croix militaire; 5 la Croix du service distingué dans l’Aviation; 8 la Médaille de conduite distinguée; et 53 la Médaille militaire.
  9. Plus de 26 000 Canadiens combattirent au front pendant la guerre de Corée, et environ 7 000 d’entre eux continuèrent de servir dans ce théâtre entre le cessez-le-feu et août 1957. En tout, 516 Canadiens périrent au cours de cette guerre, qui occupe le troisième rang des conflits les plus meurtriers de l’histoire canadienne.
  10. Les combats actifs cessèrent le 27 juillet 1953, date de la signature de l’armistice à Panmunjom.
Date de modification :