Distinguished Flying Cross (DFC)

Distinguished Flying Cross.  A cross flory, 2.125 inches wide, with the horizontal and base bars terminated with bumps, the upper bar with a rose.

Distinguished Flying Cross (DFC)

Contributors

Context

This award was established on 03 June 1918.

Eligibility and Criteria

The cross is awarded to officers and Warrant Officers for an act or acts of valour, courage or devotion to duty performed whilst flying in active operations against the enemy.

Description

A cross flory, 2.125 inches wide, with the horizontal and base bars terminated with bumps, the upper bar with a rose. For mounting, the straight bar has two sprigs of laurel at the bottom which form a slot for a king ring to attach it to the small ring at the top of the medal.

On the obverse, airplane propellers are superimposed upon the vertical arms of the cross. Within a central winged roundel which is encircled by a wreath of laurels and surmounted by an Imperial Crown, appear the letters RAF. The wings of the roundel fall upon the horizontal arms of the cross.

On the reverse, in the central circle the Royal Cypher (GV, GVI, EIIR) appears above the date. The year of issue is engraved on the lower arm.

The ribbon is 1.25 inches wide, and consists of alternating violet and white stripes (0.125 wide) leaning to the left at 45 degrees from the vertical. The violet colour is to appear in the bottom left and upper right corners when viewed on the wearer's chest. Until 1919, the stripes were horizontal.

Bars

A straight silver bar is awarded for a further act or acts of valour, courage or devotion to duty whilst flying in active operations against the enemy. The slip-on bar has an eagle in the centre. The year of the award is engraved on the reverse.

Historical Notes

* Not included in Canadian totals.

Date modified:

Croix du Service distingué dans l'Aviation (D.F.C.)

Croix du Service distingué dans l'Aviation.  Une croix fleurie de 2,125 pouce de largeur, aux branches de la traverse et de la base se terminant par des bombes et à la branche supérieure se terminant par une rose.

Croix du Service distingué dans l'Aviation (D.F.C.)

Collaborateurs

Contexte

La D.F.C. a été créée le 3 juin 1918.

Admissibilité et critère

La Croix est décernée aux officiers et adjudants pour un ou des actes de vaillance, de courage ou de dévouement accomplis en vol, au cours d'opérations actives contre l'ennemi.

Description

Une croix fleurie de 2,125 po de largeur, aux branches de la traverse et de la base se terminant par des bombes et à la branche supérieure se terminant par une rose. Pour montage, la barrette droite porte du côté inférieur deux feuilles de laurier séparées par une fente dans laquelle on insère un anneau que l'on fixe au petit anneau du haut de la croix.

Sur l’avers, les branches verticales de la croix sont chargées de pales d'hélice d'avion, avec un besant central ailé encerclé d'une couronne de laurier, sommé de la couronne impériale et portant les lettres RAF. Les ailes du besant sont déployées sur la traverse de la croix.

Sur le revers, le chiffre royal (GV, GVI, EIIR) apparaît dans le cercle central au-dessus de l'année. L'année où la croix a été décernée est gravée sur la branche inférieure de la croix.

Le ruban, de 1,25 po de largeur, est composé de bandes obliques alternées violet et blanc, disposées de haut en bas à partir de la gauche, à un angle de 45 °. Quand la décoration est portée sur la poitrine, une bande violette doit figurer aux coins inférieur gauche et supérieur droit du ruban. Jusqu'en 1919, les bandes étaient horizontales.

Barrette(s)

Une barrette droite en argent est décernée pour un ou des actes de vaillance, de courage ou de dévouement subséquents accomplis en vol au cours d'opérations actives contre l'ennemi. La barrette se glisse sur le ruban et est chargée en son centre d'un aigle. L'année où elle a été décernée est gravée au revers.

Notes Historiques

* Non inclus dans les totaux canadiens.

Date de modification :