Civilians

Archived Content

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

There is more to the war effort than military service! Too often forgotten, perhaps because their stories pale in comparison with the horrors on the battlefield, civilians are just as crucial to the war effort as those in military service.

Imagine just for a second a war without food, without boots, without clothing, without weapons, without ammunitions . . . it would simply be impossible. Granted, it's a beautiful thought -- life without war would obviously be ideal. Unfortunately, life without conflict is highly unlikely, human nature being what it is.

We have no wish to make judgements about the validity, necessity or futility of war. However, when war is imposed upon us, physically or morally, a sense of duty develops: it is time to do what needs to be done.

Canadian civilians, both men and women, did what they needed to do, performing admirably throughout the Second World War. Many believe that without the colossal and frantic wartime production by these 3,140,876 men and women, the Allied forces would never have been able to defeat the enemy.

Underestimated sense of duty

The strength of the French Canadian war effort has traditionally been largely misunderstood and underestimated (see the Military section of this Web site). However, when we consider the work done by civilians in factories, on the farm or elsewhere, it becomes perfectly clear that Canada's Francophones, both men and women, rose to the challenge of serving the war effort.

For example, Quebec, one of the main suppliers of arms to the Allied forces, alone provided up to one third of the country's civilian workforce, earning it the name of Canada's Arsenal!

Quebec had the country's two tank factories, five main shipyards, two of the four largest gun manufacturing plants, practically all the plants producing small calibre ammunition, ten plants manufacturing shells, the only plant producing air bombs, almost half the explosives and chemical factories, and three out of eight aircraft plants.

The armament plants were literally industrial cities. The largest, Defence Industries Limited's Cherrier plant, located in Saint-Paul-L'Ermite (today known as Le Gardeur, just outside of Montréal), alone had 450 buildings spread over 15 square kilometres!

The war, and the workforce needed as a result of it, gave rise to many societal changes. One of the most important and far-reaching was the changing role of women!

The Changing Role of Women

Did you know that Winston Churchill, Prime Minister of the United Kingdom during the Second World War, played a role in triggering the wave of feminism that swept over Canada?

Churchill, in need of ever increasing numbers of service men to defend Europe from the German threat, asked William Lyon Mackenzie King, then Prime Minister of Canada, if our country could provide more men for the front. When Mackenzie King told him that all the men were already either at war or in the factories, Churchill exclaimed, "What about your women?!"

And that's when things started to roll.

In addition to creating the Department of Munitions and Supply in 1940, which employed thousands of women, the government instituted a policy of "selective national service." Its official purpose was to mobilize and control the country's workforce. Its actual purpose was to recruit women between the ages of 20 and 24 to work in factories, and in "essential civilian jobs" such as those in agriculture, communications and food processing.

Canadian women therefore played a vital role during the Second World War.

While the men were away fighting at the front, women worked in every sector of the economy and every field of national service. They were most numerous in the manufacturing and clerical occupations.

They worked as cooks, waitresses and dieticians; shipyard welders and architects; clerks and typists; munitions workers and Red Cross nurses; lumberjacks, ranchers and economists; entertainers, journalists and code-breakers; aircraft assemblers, truck drivers and aeronautical engineers.

Some also did work unpaid volunteer work: sheltering refugees; preparing parcels and letters for prisoners of war and soldiers at the front; making bandages and bedclothes for hospital patients; salvaging re-usable materials; and caring for their families on their own despite shortages!

It is difficult to pinpoint figures on the number of women working on the home front since the historical record on this matter is contradictory. However, it is reasonable to say that, by the end of the war in 1945, about 750,000 women were working in the war industry in Canada, 760,000 in farming, and 400,000 more in essential civilian jobs.

Despite opposition from some men who feared women would be less productive, women quickly proved to be more reliable, dedicated and careful workers than their male counterparts.

Unfortunately, the majority of these women, who had been independently and gainfully employed during the war, had to give up their jobs when the men returned. It was a difficult transition.

For many women, the social pressure to devote their lives to creating a perfect home and the perfect family-the 1950s' postwar ideal-was unbearable.

Although we had to wait for the second half of the 1960s (1966) to see female employment reach levels comparable to that of 1945, the war effort by women had a lasting effect on Canada's social development. It eventually led to their gradual integration in professions and trades that used to be exclusively male.

In effect, the Second World War obliterated an inescapable reality of pre-1939 Canadian society-the popular belief that women were and should remain "second class citizens"*.

*N.B.: Some passages in this text were taken almost word for word from Lisa Banister's book, Equal to the Challenge. This anthology of women's experiences is an excellent supplement to the vignettes about women on this Web site. As it is impossible to provide a complete picture of the civilian war effort in Canada, we hope you will make use of the suggested bibliography and hyperlinks listed below.

Complementary Information:

Many of the photos used in this project were provided by Library and Archives Canada (LAC). Explore their photo collection.

Bibliography

  1. Banister, Lisa. Equal to the Challenge: an Anthology of Women’s Experiences During World War II. Ottawa : National Nefense, 2001.
  2. Bruce, Jean. Back the attack! : Canadian women during the Second World War, at home and abroad. Toronto : Macmillan of Canada, 1985.
Date modified:

Les civils

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

La Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Il n'y a pas que les militaires qui participent à l'effort de guerre ! Trop souvent oubliés, sans doute parce que leurs récits et les problèmes auxquels ils ont faits face pâlissent parfois à la lueur des affres des guerriers, les civils sont aussi essentiels à la victoire que le personnel militaire.

Imaginez un instant une guerre sans nourriture, sans bottes, sans vêtements, sans couvertures, sans armes, sans munitions… c'est tout simplement impossible. Un beau rêve soit, puisque une vie sans guerre est sans doute le plus souhaitable des scénarios, mais, malheureusement, peut-être un peu utopique, étant donné la nature humaine…

Sans porter jugement sur la validité, la nécessité ou la futilité de la guerre, quand elle nous est imposée, soit physiquement ou moralement, il est temps de faire ce qu'il doit.

Et les civils canadiens, hommes et femmes, ont excellés à cela lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Plusieurs croient d'ailleurs que sans cette production titanesque poussée à un rythme effréné par 3 140 876 hommes et femmes, les forces alliées n'auraient jamais pu vaincre l'ennemi.

Un sens du devoir sous-estimé

Bien qu'il y eut à cette époque au Canada anglais un sentiment pour le moins défavorable et erroné face à la robustesse de l'effort de guerre des Canadiens français (voir la section Militaires de ce site Web), quand on considère le travail des civils, qu'ils aient été en usine, à la ferme ou ailleurs, il devient incontestable que les francophones du Canada, qu'ils soient hommes ou femmes, ont été à la hauteur du défi..

À titre d'exemple, le Québec, un des principaux fournisseurs d'armes alliées, a fourni à lui seul un tiers de la force de travail civile du pays, ce qui lui valut le nom d'arsenal du Canada !

C'est là que se trouvent les deux usines de chars d'assaut du pays, les cinq principaux chantiers navals, deux des quatre plus importantes usines de canons, pratiquement toutes les manufactures de munitions de petit calibre, dix manufactures d'obus, la seule usine de bombes aériennes, à peu près la moitié de toutes les fabriques d'explosifs et de produits chimiques, et trois des huit avionneries.

Les usines d'armement sont de véritables villes industrielles. La plus grande, l'usine Cherrier des Defense Industries Limited, situé à Saint-Paul-L'Ermite (aujourd'hui Le Gardeur près de Montréal), comptait à elle seule 450 bâtiments distribués sur 15 kilomètres carrés !

Mais au-delà du fait français, la guerre et la nécessité en main d'œuvre qu'elle engendrait a donné naissance à plusieurs changements sociaux dont un des plus important fut sans doute l'épanouissement de la cause féminine !

Le rôle des femmes change

Saviez-vous que, d'une certaine façon, Winston Churchill, premier ministre de l'Angleterre lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, a déclenché une vague de féminisme au Canada ?

Churchill, qui avait besoin de plus en plus de combattants pour défendre l'Europe de la menace allemande a demandé à William Lyon Mackenzie King, alors premier ministre du Canada, si notre pays ne pouvait pas fournir plus d'hommes pour le front. Quand Mackenzie lui répondit que tous les hommes étaient déjà soit au combat ou dans les usines, Churchill s'écria : What about your women !? Que faites-vous de vos femmes ?

C'est alors que l'engrenage s'est mis à tourner.

En plus du ministère des Munitions et des Approvisionnements, existant déjà depuis 1940, le gouvernement instaure en mars 1942 le service national sélectif dont le but officiel est de mobiliser et de contrôler la main d'œuvre au pays. Mais son but véritable était de recruter des femmes de 20 à 24 ans d'âge pour le travail en usine ou pour les tâches qu'on appelait emplois civils essentiels, c'est-à-dire l'agriculture, les communications et la transformation des aliments.

Les Canadiennes ont donc joué un rôle capital pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Alors que les hommes se battaient au front, elles ont travaillé dans tous les secteurs de l'économie et tous les domaines du service national, mais c'est dans le secteur manufacturier et celui des emplois de bureau qu'elles étaient les plus nombreuses.

Elles ont travaillé comme cuisinières, serveuses et diététiciennes; comme soudeuses de chantiers navals et comme architectes; comme commises et dactylos, comme ouvrières de munitions et infirmières de la Croix Rouge; comme bûcheronnes, éleveuses et économistes; comme artistes de spectacles, journalistes et décrypteuses; comme monteuses d'avions, conductrices de camions et ingénieurs d'aéronautique.

Certaines d'entre elles ont même choisi de remplir des fonctions sans rémunération comme abriter des réfugiés, préparer des colis et des lettres pour les prisonniers de guerre ou les soldats au front, fabriquer des bandages et de la literie pour les hospitalisés, récupérer des matériaux réutilisables, participer à la promotion et l'achat des bonds de la victoire et, bien sûr, par-dessus tout, s'occuper de leur famille seule et ce malgré les pénuries !

Il est difficile de trouver des chiffres exacts sur la participation des femmes au front intérieur puisque bien des documents historiques se contredisent à ce sujet. Cependant, il est raisonnable d'avancer qu'à la fin de la guerre en 1945, environ 750 000 femmes travaillaient dans l'industrie de guerre du Canada, 760 000 dans les exploitations agricoles du pays et quelques 400 000 autres dans des emplois civils essentiels.

Et, malgré l'opposition de certains hommes, qui craignaient qu'elles soient moins productives qu'eux, elles se sont rapidement avérées plus constantes, plus appliquées et plus minutieuses dans leur travail.

Malheureusement, la majorité de ces femmes, qui avaient été des travailleuses prospères et indépendantes pendant la guerre, durent céder leurs postes au retour des militaires. La transition fut difficile.

Les pressions sociales exercées pour qu'elles vivent une vie assujettie à la création du foyer parfait et de la famille parfaite (idéal d'après guerre des années cinquante) se sont avérées insupportables pour nombre d'entre elles.

Bien que nous ayons eu à attendre la deuxième moitié des années soixante (1966) pour que le taux d'embauche des femmes atteigne à nouveau un niveau comparable à celui de 1945, l'effort de guerre des femmes a eu un effet durable sur le développement social du Canada, c'est-à-dire leur intégration progressive à des professions et des métiers jusque là réservés aux hommes.

En fait, la Seconde Guerre mondiale a éradiqué une réalité de la société canadienne d'avant 1939 : l'idée bien enracinée que les femmes étaient et devaient demeurer des « citoyennes de deuxième ordre »*.

*Notez bien : Certains passages de ce texte sont repris presque mot pour mot d'un livre de Lisa Banister intitulé À la hauteur du défi. Cette compilation d'expériences de guerre féminines est un excellent supplément aux vignettes des femmes de cette page Web. De plus, comme nous ne pouvions faire le tour complet de l'effort de guerre civil au Canada, nous espérons que vous ferez bon usage de la bibliographie et des hyperliens suggérés ci-bas.

Information complémentaire :

Plusieurs des photos utilisées dans le cadre de ce projet proviennent gracieusement de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC). Explorez vous-même leur banque de photos.

Bibliographie

  • Banister, Lisa. À la hauteur du défi : un recueil d'expériences vécues par les femmes au cours de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Ottawa : Défense nationale, 2001.
  • Bruce, Jean. Back the attack! : Canadian women during the Second World War, at home and abroad. Toronto : Macmillan of Canada, 1985. Ou en français sur CD ROM
  • Bruce, Jean. Jusqu'au bout : les Canadiennes et la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Hull, Québec : Musée canadien des civilisations, 1995.
Date de modification :