Articles for Veterans and families



Veterans: Life After the Forces Exhibit

“In order to better understand Veterans and the reality they face after release, it’s critical to know who they are, where they come from and what they’ve been through,” says Marie France L’Ecuyer.

The Captain Nichola Goddard Day of Peace for Students

“Every year, kids who didn’t know each other in the morning are hugging goodbye at the end of the day. It gives me goosebumps,” says Susan Casey, Principal of East St. Margaret's Elementary School in Indian Harbour, Nova Scotia.

Figuring out life after service

Marion Turmine discusses her work as operations coordinator at the Veterans Transition Network.

Women Veterans profiled: Marie-Claude Gagnon

Former Leading Seaman Marie-Claude Gagnon served in the Naval Reserve for seven years before releasing in 2005.

Women Veterans profiled: Corporal (Retired) Alexandra Shaw

Corporal (Retired) Alexandra Shaw is really happy with where she has ended up. She works as a policy advisor at Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island. But it certainly is not where she expected to be a decade ago.

Chris Batchilder: Senior Business Analyst, My VAC Account

Growing up, I never imagined I would serve in the military. Some 30 years later, I’m not only a Veteran of the Canadian Armed Forces, but also an employee of Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC). Funny how life goes.

Catherine Johnston: Field Nursing Services Officer

I’ve worked at our North Bay office since 2016. My job is to make sure Veterans receive the health care and nursing resources they need.

Cleaning Veterans’ graves without damaging the stone

As a masonry and restoration expert, Lee Labas of Labas Construction had the task of cleaning the headstones of 4,000 fallen Canadian soldiers and Veterans in Edmonton. The delicate job involved removing decades of algae and moss from the granite surfaces.

Five milestones for Canadian women in military service

Generations of women have served in the Canadian military. Some were the first to clear a barrier, blazing a trail for others to follow. Here are five notable milestones for Canadian women in military service.

Remembrance within reach: five war memorials to visit in Canada

Over the years, many communities across Canada have built their own memorials to honour and remember the service and sacrifice of Canadians at war.

Hometown Service Part III: Oshawa

War at home and abroad has shaped the face of Canada. Cities grew and changed under the influence of far-off global conflicts. Oshawa—today a city of 170,000 nestled above Lake Ontario—is one example.

Hometown Service: Part II—Montreal

Canada’s wartime efforts have not only helped protect peace and freedom at home and abroad, but also shaped our nation economically and historically.

Hometown service: Part 1—Halifax

In this multi-part series, we examine how life and work changed for three cities in Canada. First up: Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Forgotten Fights: Battle of Medak Pocket

Sometimes peace can only be protected by fighting. The Battle of Medak Pocket was one of those times.

From the CAF to bookshelves

Four books written by women Veterans.

They too served: Five places overseas where RCMP members deployed

Canadian Armed Forces personnel have taken part in many combat and peacekeeping operations overseas since the end of the Second World War. Most Canadians are aware of this fact. What may be less well known is the role Canadian police officers play in overseas deployments.

Women to women: Advice on transition

Transition to life after service can be a complex process. Researchers like Dr. Maya Eichler believe that many Veterans often experience transition as “a culture shock.” Women Veterans encounter a unique set of challenges because they are more likely to medically release.

What single parents need to know during and after transition

Dr. Alla Skomorovksy is a defence scientist at the Department of National Defence who conducts research on military families and well-being. Her recent work highlights the strain some single parents feel while serving or during transition.

Project '44 recreates the Battle of Normandy online

Project '44: The Road to Liberation is an interactive online map of Normandy that begins with the big picture of the battle and dives right down to the experiences of individual units, and even soldiers.

Get the most out of your transition interview

Leaving military service can be a big change. As a Veteran getting ready to transition, you may face difficult questions about your post-service life, including “Where will I find work?,” “Do I qualify for benefits and services?,” and “What community supports are available to me?”

Giant floor maps recreate the First World War in the classroom

With support from Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC)’s Commemorative Partnership Program, an Ottawa based production company has teamed up with the Royal Canadian Geographical Society (RCGS) to distribute giant floor maps of the First World War as an educational tool—and a way to connect to the experiences of Canadian soldiers.

Don't retire—get hired

Putting education, training and experience to work in finding a post-service job.

Women experience mental health differently than men

Are you transitioning to life after service?

Corey Shelson

Entrepreneur Spotlight: Corey Shelson

Business-owner Corey Shelson relies regularly on the skills he gained during his military service.

Mike George

Entrepreneur Spotlight: Mike George

Meet Veteran Mike George, owner of Aurelius Food Co.

Mark Gasparotto

Entrepreneur Spotlight: Mark Gasparotto

Meet Veteran Mark Gasparotto, owner of The Gasparotto Group Corporation.

Nick Hebert

Preserving Canadian military gravesites

A retired Technician with the Royal Canadian Electrical and Mechanical Engineers Corps in the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF), Nick Hébert now works with Commemoration Division’s Cemetery Maintenance team at Veterans Affairs Canada.

A family’s transition to life after service

Transition is an ongoing process with its own particular challenges. This life change not only affects the person who has served, but also other members of the family. Statistics show that 28 percent of partners and 17 percent of children of Veterans find this period of change to be tough.

3 soldiers in dress uniform standing together for a picture

A releasing Veteran goes back to school

Freshly released as a supply technician from the Canadian Armed Forces earlier this year, Bambi is now a full-time student at the University of Ottawa, with support from Veterans Affairs Canada.

CAF soldiers exiting a C-17 on the tarmac

Who are you when you leave the Canadian Armed Forces?

Serving in the Canadian Armed Forces is unlike any other job. When you enlist you gain an instant family—hundreds of sisters and brothers working together as a unit. This experience has undoubtedly changed your life.

Retired Col. Mark Gasparotto presenting at a seminar

The sooner, the better: when to start thinking about life after service

Mark Gasparotto spent 20 years in the Canadian Armed Forces before he released from service. By the time he turned in the last of his kit and signed all the necessarypaperwork, he had been thinking about his transition for a decade.

Entrepreneurs shaking hands

Veteran entrepreneurs build on their military experiences

Meaningful employment is a critical part of your well-being: it ensures financial stability and offers purpose in life outside the CAF. Finding a second career is therefore an important step in your transition.

Father holding child in arms while walking in a field of tall grass

Your new mission

We all adjust differently to major life changes. For you and your family, the transition to post-service life means big changes, and sometimes challenges. It is a unique experience.

Portrait of Natacha Dupuis

Natacha's Story

Every injured Veteran follows their own road to recovery. For Natacha Dupuis, hers led back to a childhood love of athletics and, eventually, an opportunity to once again represent Canada internationally—this time, under far different circumstances.

Portrait of John O'Neill

John's Story

John O’Neill’s service record is a roadmap of places where Canadian service men and women have made a real difference over the past two decades. Bosnia in 1998. Kosovo in 1999. Ethiopia and Eritrea in 2000. Afghanistan in 2007 and again in 2010.

temp-article-image

Building your next career

For many Veterans, leaving the military does not mean retirement. In fact, the majority of Veterans extend their working lives beyond military service. Depending on when you release, you may have years ahead in a post-service career.

temp-article-image

One Veteran speaks about leaving the Forces

An outspoken Veterans’ advocate, Shawn shares his insight on Veteran identity and the challenges and rewards of transition to life after service.

temp-article-image

What do I need to include in my application for a disability benefit?

A complete application for a disability benefit will have all the information needed to determine that you have a diagnosed medical condition related to your service.

temp-article-image

How we review a disability benefit claim

Learn more about how your disability claim is reviewed by the department and particularly, by the adjudicator – a trained decision-maker for disability claims.

Date modified:

Articles pour les vétérans et leur famille



Jour de la paix du capitaine Nichola Goddard pour les élèves

« Chaque année, des enfants qui ne se connaissaient pas le matin se donnent des étreintes à la fin de la journée. J’en ai des frissons », explique Susan Casey, directrice de l’école primaire East St. Margaret’s à Indian Harbour, en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Trouver sa voie après le service

Marion Turmine discute de son travail de coordonnatrice des opérations au Réseau de transition des vétérans.

Profil de femmes vétérans : Marie-Claude Gagnon

L’ancien matelot de 1re classe Marie-Claude Gagnon a servi dans la Réserve navale pendant sept ans avant d’être libérée en 2005.

Profils de femmes vétérans : caporal (à la retraite) Alexandra Shaw

Le caporal (à la retraite) Alexandra Shaw est vraiment heureuse de son travail actuel. Elle est conseillère en politiques à Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC), à Charlottetown, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Mais ce n’est certainement pas ce à quoi elle s’attendait il y a 10 ans.

Chris Batchilder, analyste opérationnel principal, Mon dossier ACC

Plus jeune, je n’aurais jamais imaginé servir dans l’armée. Quelque 30 ans plus tard, je suis non seulement un vétéran des Forces armées canadiennes, mais aussi un employé d’Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC). La vie nous réserve toujours des surprises.

Nettoyer les tombes des vétérans sans endommager la pierre

Je travaille à notre bureau de North Bay depuis 2016. Mon travail vise à m’assurer que les vétérans reçoivent les services médicaux et infirmiers dont ils ont besoin.

Nettoyer les tombes des vétérans sans endommager la pierre

En tant qu’expert en maçonnerie et en restauration, Lee Labas, de Labas Construction, a eu la tâche de nettoyer, à Edmonton, les pierres tombales de 4 000 soldats tombés au combat et vétérans canadiens. Le travail délicat consistait à enlever des décennies d’algues et de mousses qui poussaient sur les surfaces de granit.

Cinq premières pour les femmes canadiennes servant dans l’armée

Des générations de femmes ont servi dans les Forces armées canadiennes. Certaines d’entre elles ont été les premières à franchir un obstacle ou à ouvrir la voie pour les autres. Voici cinq premières dignes de mention pour les femmes canadiennes servant dans l’armée.

Pour perpétuer le souvenir près de chez nous : cinq monuments commémoratifs de guerre à visiter au Canada

Au fil des ans, de nombreuses collectivités canadiennes ont érigé leur propre monument pour rendre hommage au service et aux sacrifices des Canadiens ayant participé aux efforts de guerre.

Villes à l’appui des Forces canadiennes, troisième partie : Oshawa

La guerre au pays comme à l’étranger a façonné le visage du Canada. Les villes ont enregistré une croissance notable et se sont transformées sous l’influence des forces des conflits mondiaux qui se déroulaient au long. Oshawa, une petite municipalité qui compte aujourd’hui 170 000 âmes sise au nord du lac Ontario, en offre un bon exemple.

Villes à l’appui des Forces canadiennes, deuxième partie : Montréal

Les efforts en temps de guerre du Canada n’ont pas seulement contribué à protéger la paix et la liberté au pays et à l’étranger, mais ont également façonné notre nation sous l’angle économique et historique.

Villes à l’appui des Forces canadiennes, première partie : Halifax

Dans cette série, nous examinons comment la vie et le travail ont changé dans trois villes du Canada. La première sur la liste : Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Les combats oubliés : la bataille de l’enclave de Medak

Parfois, on ne peut maintenir la paix qu’en se battant. La bataille de l’enclave de Medak en est la preuve.

Des FAC à la librairie

Quatre livres écrits par des femmes vétérans.

Eux aussi ont servi : cinq endroits à l’étranger où des membres de la GRC ont été déployés

Depuis la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les membres des Forces armées canadiennes ont pris part à de nombreuses opérations de combat et de maintien de la paix à l’étranger. La plupart des Canadiens le savent. Ce qui est peut-être moins bien connu, c’est le rôle que les policiers canadiens ont joué dans les déploiements à l’étranger.

Entre femmes : conseils sur la transition

La transition vers la vie après le service peut se révéler un processus complexe. Des chercheurs comme Maya Eichler, Ph. D., sont d’avis que pour de nombreux vétérans, la transition est souvent vécue comme un « choc culturel ». Les femmes vétérans doivent relever un ensemble unique de défis, compte tenu du fait qu’elles sont plus susceptibles que les hommes d’être libérées pour raison médicale.

Ce que les parents célibataires ont besoin de connaître pendant et après la transition

Alla Skomorovsky, Ph. D., est une scientifique de la défense au ministère de la Défense nationale qui mène une recherche sur les familles des militaires et le bien-être. Ses récents travaux mettent en évidence la pression que peuvent ressentir certains parents célibataires lorsqu’ils sont en service ou au cours de leur transition.

Le Projet 1944 recrée la bataille de Normandie en ligne

Projet 1944 : La route de la libération est une carte interactive en ligne de la Normandie qui commence par une vue d'ensemble de la bataille et qui plonge ensuite au cœur des expériences des différentes unités, et même des soldats.

Tirez le maximum de votre entrevue de transition

Quitter l’armée peut représenter un grand changement. En tant que vétéran vous préparant à la transition, vous pouvez vous poser des questions sur votre vie après le service, telles que « où vais-je trouver un travail? », « suis-je admissible à des avantages et services? », « à quels soutiens communautaires ai-je accès? »

Des cartes-tapis géantes recréent la Première Guerre mondiale dans la salle de classe

Grâce à l’appui du Programme de partenariat pour la commémoration d’Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC), une société de production d’Ottawa s’est associée à la Société géographique royale du Canada (SGRC) pour distribuer des cartes-tapis géantes de la Première Guerre mondiale comme outil éducatif qui fait le lien avec les expériences des soldats canadiens.

Avant la retraite, l'embauche

Servez-vous de vos études, de votre formation et de votre expérience pour trouver un emploi après avoir quitté l’armée.

Les femmes et les hommes vivent la santé mentale de manière différente

Êtes-vous en train de passer du service militaire à la vie après le service?

Soudeur travaillant

Trouver une nouvelle carrière en tant que vétéran

Il peut être difficile de trouver une nouvelle carrière nous convient.

Corey Shelson

Plein feux sur les entrepreneurs : Corey Shelson

Propriétaire d’entreprise, Corey Shelson puise régulièrement dans les compétences acquises au cours de son service militaire.

Mike George

Plein feux sur les entrepreneurs : Mike George

Rencontrez le vétéran Mike George, propriétaire de l’entreprise Aurelius Food Co.

Mark Gasparotto

Plein feux sur les entrepreneurs : Mark Gasparotto

Faites la connaissance du vétéran Mark Gasparotto, propriétaire de la Gasparotto Group Corporation.

Nick Hebert

Préserver les cimetières militaires canadiens

Nicolas Hébert, technicien retraité du Corps du génie électrique et mécanique royal canadien des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC), fait maintenant partie de l’équipe de l’entretien des cimetières de la Direction générale de la commémoration d’Anciens Combattants Canada.

La transition d’une famille vers la vie après le service

La transition représente un processus continu qui pose ses propres défis. Ce changement de vie a non seulement des répercussions sur les personnes qui ont servi, mais aussi sur les autres membres de leur famille. Les statistiques révèlent que 28 p. 100 des conjoints et 17 p. 100 des enfants des vétérans trouvent cette période de changements difficile.

3 soldiers in dress uniform standing together for a picture

Un vétéran libéré retourne aux études

Libérée de ses fonctions de technicienne en approvisionnement auprès des Forces armées canadiennes un peu plus tôt cette année, Bambi est maintenant étudiante à temps plein à l'Université d'Ottawa, et ce, grâce au soutien d'Anciens Combattants Canada.

CAF soldiers exiting a C-17 on the tarmac

Qui êtes-vous quand vous quittez les Forces armées canadiennes?

Le service militaire dans les Forces armées canadiennes ne ressemble à aucun autre emploi. Dès votre enrôlement, vous faites votre entrée dans une grande famille composée de centaines de sœurs et de frères travaillant ensemble, comme une unité. Il ne fait aucun doute que cette expérience a transformé votre vie.

Retired Col. Mark Gasparotto presenting at a seminar

Le plus tôt sera le mieux : quand commencer à réfléchir à la vie après le service

Le colonel (retraité) Mark Gasparotto a fait carrière au sein des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) pendant vingt ans avant d’être libéré. Au moment de la remise de son fourbi et de la signature de tous les documents nécessaires, il réfléchissait à sa transition vers la vie civile depuis dix ans.

Entrepreneurs shaking hands

Des vétérans entrepreneurs mettent à profit leurs expériences militaires

Le fait d’occuper un emploi intéressant est un élément central de votre bien-être. En effet, cet emploi vous offre une stabilité financière et donne un but à votre vie à l’extérieur des FAC. Le choix d’une deuxième carrière est donc une étape importante de votre processus de transition.

Father holding child in arms while walking in a field of tall grass

Votre nouvelle mission

Nous nous adaptons tous de manière différente aux changements de vie importants. Pour vous et votre famille, le passage à la vie postérieure au service militaire représente de grands changements, et pose parfois des défis. C'est une expérience unique.

Portrait of Natacha Dupuis

L'histoire de Natacha

Chaque vétéran blessé suit sa propre voie de rétablissement. Pour Natacha Dupuis, ce fut un retour vers sa passion d'enfance, l'athlétisme, et, pour finir, l'occasion de représenter encore une fois le Canada sur la scène internationale – cette fois-ci, dans des circonstances très différentes.

Portrait of John O'Neill

L’histoire de John

Les états de service de John O’Neill sont une carte des endroits où les militaires canadiens ont fait une réelle différence au cours des deux dernières décennies. La Bosnie en 1998. Le Kosovo en 1999. L’Éthiopie et l’Érythrée en l’an 2000. L’Afghanistan en 2007 et encore une fois en 2010.

temp-article-image

Bâtir votre prochaine carrière

Comment mettre à profit votre carrière militaire pour obtenir un emploi gratifiant? Érigez votre nouvelle carrière en vous appuyant sur les compétences que vous avez acquises en tant que militaire.

temp-article-image

Un vétéran parle du processus de départ des FAC

Fervent défenseur des vétérans, Shawn donne son point de vue sur l'identité des vétérans, sur les difficultés inhérentes à la transition vers la vie civile après le service militaire ainsi que sur les aspects positifs de cette transition.

temp-article-image

Que dois-je inclure dans ma demande de prestations d’invalidité?

Une demande de prestations d’invalidité montrera que vous avez une affection médicale diagnostiquée (ou une invalidité) et qu’elle est liée à votre service.

temp-article-image

Comment nous examinons une demande de prestations d’invalidité

Apprenez-en plus sur la façon dont votre demande de prestations d’invalidité est révisée par le Ministère et, en particulier, par l’arbitre – un décideur qualifié à l’égard des demandes de prestations d’invalidité.

Date de modification :