Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Payment of Medical Fees

Issuing Authority: Director General, Policy and Research
Effective Date: April 1, 2019
Document ID: 1477

Care has been taken to ensure these policies accurately reflect the acts and regulations. Should any inconsistencies be found, the acts and regulations will prevail.

Purpose

The purpose of this policy is to provide guidance on the payment of medical fees and the payment of travel and living expenses when Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) requires a person to undergo a medical examination or assessment.

Policy

Disability Pension, Disability Award, Pain and Suffering Compensation, and Critical Injury Benefit

  1. Individuals who apply for a disability benefit may be required to undergo a medical examination by a qualified medical practitioner and/or testing by other qualified health care professionals to establish current medical diagnoses and to provide up-to-date clinical information on their health status.
  2. Individuals who undergo reassessment of a medical condition for which they hold a Disability Pension, Disability Award, Critical Injury Benefit, Pain and Suffering Compensation or Additional Pain and Suffering Compensation are required to be medically examined by a qualified medical practitioner and/or tested by other qualified health care professionals to obtain necessary up-to-date medical information for assessment purposes.
  3. For the purposes of disability benefit applications and reassessments, VAC Medical Questionnaire forms, which have been developed on the basis of body systems, may be used for the collection and reporting of required information.
  4. Costs incurred for examination or testing and costs related to travel and living expenses will be reimbursed by the Department as follows:
    1. Costs incurred for medical examinations and testing for Disability Pension, Disability Award, Critical Injury Benefit, Pain and Suffering Compensation and Additional Pain and Suffering Compensation applications and reassessments will be reimbursed based on this policy.
    2. For Disability Pension claims, travel costs and living expenses will be paid in accordance with the Health-related Travel policy.
    3. For Disability Award claims, Critical Injury Benefit claims, Pain and Suffering Compensation and or Additional pain and Suffering Compensation, travel costs and living expenses will be paid in accordance with sections 66 and 67 of the Veterans Well-being Regulations.
  5. Survivors and other dependents who apply for a Disability Pension, Disability Award, Critical Injury Benefit, Pain and Suffering Compensation, Additonal Pain and Suffering Compensation or request a reassessment after the death of an individual may be required to submit medical reports. Costs incurred for such reports will be reimbursed in accordance with this policy.
  6. Costs incurred for the medical examination or testing for a disability pension application or reassessment and resultant costs related to travel and living expenses for serving Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) members are the responsibility of the RCMP.

Providers

  1. See the Establishing the Existence of a Disability policy for more information on qualified medical practitioners and other qualified health care professionals.

Payment of Fees

  1. When a medical examination and/or testing is requested by VAC, both the specific testing and/or the examination requirements in addition to the reporting expectations will be clearly articulated to the qualified medical practitioner or other qualified health professional providing the report. This is to prevent billing of unnecessary services.
  2. Pursuant to the provisions outlined in this policy, VAC will reimburse an applicant or provider at a reasonable rate in accordance with the provincially recommended fee for uninsured third party requests for each completed VAC medical questionnaire form in support of a disability benefit application or reassessment.
  3. Medical examinations other than VAC medical questionnaires which have been provided in support of a disability benefit application, reassessment or rehabilitation program applications will be reimbursed at a reasonable rate in accordance with the provincially recommended fee for uninsured third party requests.
  4. Costs incurred for any testing which is a provincially insured service, i.e. pulmonary function studies, x-rays, and audiograms, will be reimbursed in accordance with the provincial rate for the insured service.
  5. In exceptional cases where a specialist report has been requested, a reasonable fee may be considered based on the content of the report and in accordance with the recommended provincial fee guide.
  6. Medical fees associated with examination and/or testing which has not been requested by the Department or which is in excess of the services which VAC has requested will not be reimbursed as billed. VAC will reimburse medical fees in accordance with this policy and any charge above this rate will be the responsibility of the applicant and/or client.
  7. Medical exams in support of applications for disability benefits on behalf of an incapacitated child will be reimbursed at a reasonable rate in accordance with the provincially recommended fee for uninsured third party requests.
  8. The Department does not generally require an Independent Medical Examiner’s Report or a Medical-Legal Report to support entitlement and assessment adjudication at the first level. If, however, reports of this nature are ever required to support a first level or a departmental review application, the report will be requested from the qualified medical practitioners and/or the other health care professional. The associated medical fee will be reimbursed in accordance with the recommended provincial fee guide. If VAC has not made the request for such reports, any associated billing will not be reimbursed.

References

Pension Act, section 90; subsections 89(1)

Veterans Well-being Act, sections 73, 74 and 75

Veterans Well-being Regulations, sections 66 and 67

Health-related Travel

Establishing the Existence of a Disability

Pain and Suffering Compensation

Additional Pain and Suffering Compensation

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Paiement d’honoraires médicaux

Autorité compétente : Directeur général, Politiques et recherche
Date d’entrée en vigueur : 1 avril 2019
Numéro du document : 1477

Nous avons pris soin de nous assurer que les politiques reflètent avec exactitude les lois et les règlements en question. S’il y a divergence ou contradiction, ces lois et règlements ont préséance.

Objectif

Cette politique a pour but de fournir des directives sur le paiement des honoraires médicaux et des frais de déplacement et de séjour dans les cas où Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC) demande à une personne de subir une évaluation ou un examen médical.

Politique

Pensions d’invalidité, indemnité d’invalidité, indemnité pour douleur et souffrance et indemnité pour blessure grave

  1. Toute personne qui fait une demande de prestation d’invalidité peut avoir à subir un examen médical auprès d’un médecin qualifié ou à passer des tests auprès d’un autre professionnel de la santé qualifié afin d’obtenir des diagnostics à jour et de fournir des renseignements cliniques à jour sur son état de santé.
  2. Toute personne dont une affection lui donnant droit à des prestations d’invalidité fait l’objet d’une réévaluation doit subir un examen auprès d’un médecin qualifié et/ou passer des tests auprès d’un autre professionnel de la santé qualifié afin d’obtenir les renseignements médicaux les plus récents aux fins d’évaluation.
  3. Dans le cas des demandes de prestations d’invalidité et des réévaluations, les questionnaires médicaux établis par ACC, en fonction des systèmes corporels, peuvent être utilisés pour recueillir les renseignements voulus et faire rapport des résultats de l’examen.
  4. Les frais encourus pour les examens ou les tests et les frais de déplacement et de séjour connexes seront remboursés par le Ministère de la façon suivante :
    1. Les frais encourus pour les examens médicaux et les tests liés aux demandes de prestations d’invalidité et aux réévaluations seront remboursés conformément à la présente politique.
    2. Dans le cas des demandes de pension d’invalidité, les frais de déplacement et de séjour seront payés conformément à la politique intitulée «Déplacements à des fins médicales» .
    3. Dans le cas des demandes d’indemnité d’invalidité, d'indemnité pour blessure grave, d'indemnité pour douleur et souffrance et d'indemnité supplémentaire pour douleur et souffrance, les frais de déplacement et de séjour seront payés conformément aux articles 66 et 67 du Règlement sur le bien-être des vétérans.
  5. Les survivants et autres personnes à charge qui, après le décès d’une personne, font une demande de prestations d’invalidité ou une demande de réévaluation devront peut-être soumettre des rapports médicaux. Les frais encourus pour ces rapports seront remboursés conformément à la présente politique.
  6. La responsabilité des frais d’examens médicaux ou des tests liés à une demande de pension d’invalidité ou à une réévaluation ainsi que des frais de déplacement et de séjour connexes, pour les membres de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) encore en service, incombe à la GRC.

Fournisseurs

  1. Voir la politique intitulée « Détermination d’une invalidité » pour obtenir plus d’information sur les médecins qualifiés et les autres professionnels de la santé qualifiés.

Paiement des honoraires

  1. Lorsqu’un examen médical ou des tests médicaux sont requis par ACC, celui-ci précisera bien clairement au médecin qualifié ou au professionnel de la santé qualifié le genre de test ou d'examen médical dont il a besoin, ainsi que le genre de renseignements à inclure dans le rapport, pour ainsi éviter d'être facturé pour des services non nécessaires.
  2. Conformément aux dispositions prévues dans la présente politique, ACC remboursera le demandeur ou le fournisseur suivant un taux raisonnable, conformément au barème provincial recommandé concernant les demandes non assurées faites par une tierce partie, pour chaque questionnaire médical d'ACC dûment rempli à l’appui d’une demande de prestation d’invalidité ou d’une demande de réévaluation.
  3. Les honoraires associés aux examens médicaux, autres que les évaluations effectuées à l’aide des questionnaires médicaux d’ACC, subis aux fins d’une demande de prestation d’invalidité ou d’une demande de réévaluation ou aux fins du programme de réadaptation, seront remboursés à un taux raisonnable conformément au barème provincial recommandé concernant les demandes non assurées faites par une tierce partie.
  4. Les frais associés à un examen assuré dans le cadre d’un régime d’assurance provincial (études des fonctions pulmonaires, radiographies et audiogrammes) seront remboursés selon le barème établi par la province pour le service assuré.
  5. Dans des circonstances exceptionnelles où un rapport de spécialiste est demandé, des honoraires raisonnables peuvent être payés en fonction du contenu du rapport et en conformité avec le guide des honoraires provinciaux recommandés.
  6. Les honoraires médicaux associés à un examen médical ou à des tests qui n’ont pas été expressément demandés par le Ministère ou qui dépassent les services demandés ne seront pas remboursés même s’ils ont été facturés au client. ACC remboursera les honoraires médicaux au taux prévu dans la présente politique et tous les honoraires facturés au-delà de ce taux seront à la charge du demandeur ou du client.
  7. Les examens médicaux à l'appui des demandes de prestations d’invalidité faites au nom d'un enfant invalide seront remboursés à un taux raisonnable, conformément au barème provincial recommandé concernant les demandes non assurées faites par une tierce partie.
  8. Il est rare que le Ministère ait besoin d'un rapport de médecin examinateur indépendant ou d'un rapport médico-légal pour appuyer ses décisions relatives à l’admissibilité et à l’évaluation au premier niveau. Par contre, si jamais ACC avait besoin de ce genre de rapport pour appuyer une décision relative à une demande de premier niveau ou à une demande de révision ministérielle, il exigerait que celui-ci soit préparé par un médecin ou un autre professionnel de la santé qualifié, et il rembourserait les honoraires médicaux encourus en conformité avec le guide des honoraires provinciaux recommandés. Si ACC ne demande pas ce genre de rapport, aucun des frais encourus ne sera remboursé.

Références

Loi sur les pensions, article 90; paragraphe 89(1)

Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans, articles 73, 74 et 75

Règlement sur le bien-être des vétérans, articles 66 et 67

Déplacements à des fins médicales

Détermination d’une invalidité

Politique Indemnité pour douleur et souffrance

Indemnité supplémentaire pour douleur et souffrance

Date de modification :