Language selection

Benefit of Doubt

Issuing Authority: Director General, Policy and Research
Effective Date: September 27, 2019
Document ID: 1584

Care has been taken to ensure these policies accurately reflect the acts and regulations. Should any inconsistencies be found, the acts and regulations will prevail.

Purpose

The purpose of this policy is to provide direction to the adjudicator on the appropriate application of the benefit of doubt provisions under the Pension Act and the Veterans Well-being Act (VWA).

Policy

General

  1. The function of an adjudicator is to perform an active inquiry into the basis of a claim for a disability benefit or other benefit pursuant to the Pension Act and Veterans Well-being Act (“the Acts”). This involves reviewing all evidence relating to the claim to determine its relevance and credibility, weighing the evidence and providing a fair and impartial written decision which includes reasons explaining how the decision was reached.
  2. When carrying out their decision-making responsibilities, adjudicators must also adhere to the principles set out in the Acts. This includes drawing all reasonable and favourable inferences that can be drawn with respect to the applicant’s case, as well as resolving any doubt as to whether a case (claim) has been established in favour of the applicant.

All the circumstances of the case and all the evidence

  1. The adjudicator is to draw every reasonable inference that can be made in favour of an applicant and to do so by taking into consideration all of the circumstances of the case, as well as any evidence provided in support of an applicant’s claim.
  2. For purposes of this policy, “all the circumstances of the case” refers to any pertinent factors, events or conditions which affect an applicant’s particular case or situation and which should be taken into consideration when reaching conclusions concerning the applicant’s claim.
  3. Evidence is any form of proof that is offered to substantiate a claim and/or to establish the existence or non-existence of any fact in dispute. Evidence may be documentary (written), parol (oral) or demonstrative (physical).
  4. Only documentary and demonstrative evidence are taken into consideration during the first level of adjudication of a disability benefit. They may be described as follows:
    1. Documentary evidence. This type of evidence includes completed disability benefit application forms; military service records; medical/hospital reports; written opinions provided by “experts” such as medical specialists; published information such as books or articles contained in peer-reviewed journals; affidavits or statutory declarations made by an individual (such as the benefit applicant) who swears under oath, as to the truth of the information contained therein; as well as other forms of written correspondence including letters, unsworn statements or government reports; and
    2. Demonstrative evidence.  This includes X-rays; photographs; drawings; maps; graphs; objects; or any other form of physical evidence that is submitted by either the applicant or which is obtained and/or used by the adjudicator to help prove or disprove a factual assertion being made by the applicant.
  5. If an adjudicator uses any information (especially information that is not favourable to the applicant) which was not presented by the applicant or which is not contained in the applicant’s Veterans Affairs file or service documents, this must be disclosed to the applicant.

Relevant Evidence

  1. Relevant evidence is evidence that relates to the central issue or issues to be resolved. Identifying relevant evidence requires logic and a review of all of the evidence.
  2. The following questions may assist in identifying whether or not evidence is relevant for purposes of disability benefit claims:
    1. Does the evidence assist in substantiating (or refuting) a specific fact that the applicant is trying to establish?
    2. Does the evidence assist in establishing (or refuting) the main claim that the applicant is making?
  3. If there is any doubt about the relevance of any particular piece of evidence, the general approach is to accept it for consideration.
  4. The following is an example of the approach that would be taken to assessing the relevance of submitted evidence:
    1. Mr. X, a Korean War Veteran, submits an application for pension for hearing loss which he claims was brought on as a result of loud gun noises that he was subjected to while serving in Korea. Mr. X’s military service records provide documentation that establishes his military service. His service medical records also contain an enlistment medical report that states “Notes no ear trouble or deafness on enlistment. Hearing CV R & L 20. Eardrums intact,” as well as a medical report dated July 15, 1953, that pertains to a shrapnel wound that the Veteran received to his face on that same date.
    2. As additional information in support of his claim, Mr. X provides an audiogram report dated January 27, 2001; an audiogram report dated October 14, 2006; as well as a letter from an audiologist dated November 1, 2006, that states: “Pure tone air and bone conduction testing reveals a mild-to-moderate high frequency sensorineural hearing loss, worse in the right ear. Mr. X reports a longstanding hearing loss, worse in the right ear. He does have a history of loud gun noise exposure while serving in Korea. He denies any tinnitus or middle ear history."
    3. A determination will have to be made by the adjudicator as to whether the medical report pertaining to the facial wound is relevant to the hearing loss issue. It could be, especially if it indicates that the shrapnel injured an organ or body part that plays a role in the hearing function. But if this medical report provides sufficient information to enable the adjudicator to determine that the shrapnel wound injury is not relevant in any way to the hearing loss claim, the report should not be relied upon as a basis for granting the applicant entitlement to a disability pension for his hearing loss, if that is the decision reached with respect to the matter.

Drawing Reasonable Inferences

  1. Drawing reasonable inferences is about reaching favourable conclusions in circumstances where the applicant has not actually provided evidence that directly substantiates his/her fact (or the claim that he/she is making), but has provided such sufficient other reliable evidence that the fact that the applicant wanted to establish can be “inferred” or “deducted” as a logical consequence of the evidence provided.
  2. Inferences must be drawn from the relevant information that is before the adjudicator, as well as from the overall circumstances of the case.
  3. The following is an example of how reasonable inference might be used:
    1. A Veteran of World War II is claiming a pension for osteoarthritis of his right knee due to an injury that he claims occurred as a result of falling off a Bren Gun carrier while under fire in France in 1944. In support of his claim, he provides the following.
      1. documentation to establish his military service during that time period;
      2. an army medical report that indicates that his right knee was normal at the time of enlistment;
      3. a military medical report dated August 10, 1944, which states, in part: "... [Veteran’s] right leg swollen today. Having difficulty walking due to pain, swelling. Says he fell from a Bren Gun yesterday while under heavy fire near Falaise and hurt his knee...";
      4. a recent X-ray report from a radiologist which states that the applicant has severe osteoarthritis of the right knee;
      5. statements from the veteran’s wife of over 50 years and his two adult children which affirm that the Veteran has been complaining about pain in his right knee on a continuous basis for many years and that he has always related the pain back to an alleged wartime injury; and
      6. a letter from an orthopaedic specialist stating that the Veteran does suffer from osteoarthritis of the right knee and that his condition could have been caused by trauma and/or the aging process.
    2. In this situation, the applicant has provided sufficient, reliable information to establish that he injured his right knee while he was engaged in military service and that he now suffers from a diagnosed disability known as osteoarthritis of the right knee. Although he has not provided evidence that clearly links the cause of his osteoarthritis to his wartime injury, he has, nevertheless, provided information to indicate that his current condition could have, at least in part, been caused by a traumatic injury to the knee.
    3. Since there is no available evidence to indicate that the Veteran applicant suffered any post-war traumatic injuries to his knee, in this instance, based on all of the evidence provided and all of the circumstances of the case, an inference can be drawn in favour of the applicant that his osteoarthritic condition is related to the knee injury received as a result of falling from the Bren Gun carrier.
  4. Whether the inference(s) originally drawn will be displaced by the contradictory evidence is a matter that can only be determined by the “credibility” and “weight” attached to the contradictory evidence.
  5. The drawing of “reasonable inferences” will often be necessary in those situations where the claimant has established that certain documentation that would substantiate the claim has been lost or destroyed, or was not created due to war time conditions - e.g. during periods of detention as a prisoner of war.
  6. It is important that the adjudicator distinguishes between drawing favourable inferences and reaching unfounded conclusions that are based purely on the absence of evidence that contradicts the claim being made. It is inappropriate to make presumptions in the absence of evidence that the claimant could be reasonably expected to produce.
  7. Favourable inferences should be drawn in those situations where the applicant has fulfilled the requirement of providing such sufficient other reliable evidence that the most reasonable conclusion that can be reached by the adjudicator is that which the applicant is trying to establish.

Credible and Uncontradicted Evidence

  1. The Acts compel the adjudicator to accept evidence that, in addition to being relevant, is both credible and uncontradicted. In effect, the adjudicator must assess the persuasiveness of all of the relevant evidence that is being considered in the determination of the claim.
  2. Credible evidence refers to evidence that is believable. Evidence is not believable where other proven facts do not support the accuracy of the evidence, or where a reasonable person would conclude that the information provided by that evidence is impossible or untrue.
  3. Some factors that an adjudicator might take into consideration when assessing the credibility of evidence, include:
    1. Overall accuracy of the evidence;
    2. Its consistency with other reliable evidence;
    3. The date of the evidence;
    4. Qualifications/expertise of the author of the evidence;
    5. Whether the author of the evidence has an interest in the outcome of the claim (goes to “weight");
    6. Whether the information provided in the evidence can be tested objectively against other facts known to be true;
    7. Whether the information contained in the evidence makes sense;
    8. In applicable situations, whether the documentary evidence fits with the physical evidence;
    9. Whether the time-lines add up; and
    10. Any prior inconsistent statements.
  4. It is the evidence that must be credible. The credibility of the person submitting the evidence is not an issue. Even a generally non-credible person can produce or submit evidence that is credible.
  5. “Uncontradicted evidence” means that there is no other evidence refuting the evidence presented. For example, there may be claims submitted where the only evidence is the applicant’s statement and a current medical diagnosis for the claimed disability.
  6. The fact that there is no other evidence found in the service documents or nothing reported post-discharge to support or contradict the claim that the applicant is making does not mean that a pension (or benefit) must automatically be awarded to the applicant. Uncontradicted evidence must also be reviewed to see if it is relevant and credible in the circumstances. If the uncontradicted evidence is found to be credible but of no relevance to the issue being resolved, it should not be taken into consideration. If it is found to be relevant but not credible, it has minimal or no weight. Reasons for this lack of credibility must be given in the decision.
  7. Uncontradicted medical opinions received as part of a disability pension claim must be reviewed for their credibility. A medical opinion, expressed in his/her field by a recognized specialist who has treated or examined the applicant, should be accepted unless it is obviously or admittedly based only on the history provided by the applicant, or is entirely speculative. On the other hand, individual opinion expressed by even a well qualified specialist is not generally accepted if it is contrary to the medical consensus of the recognized specialists in that field. Some additional factors that may be kept in mind when determining the credibility and, thus admissibility, of medical opinions are:
    1. Whether the medical report provides an accurate and complete “anamnesis” (i.e. a medical or psychiatric patient history);
    2. Whether the opinion is based on medical history or the patient’s account of past events;
    3. Whether the opinions contained therein conflict with the Entitlement Eligibility Guidelines, the Medical Guidelines (for those conditions where no Entitlement Eligibility Guidelines exist), or the Table of Disabilities;
    4. Whether the medical evidence is about the applicant or a 3rd party; and
    5. Whether it is a diagnostic medical opinion or only a report detailing the applicant’s current treatment regime.

Sexual Trauma

  1. This section of the policy clarifies Veterans Affairs Canada’s approach to adjudicating applications for disability benefits that involve claims of Sexual Trauma. Sexual Trauma includes incidents of sexual assault and/or sexual harassment. While additional elements will be needed to establish entitlement (e.g., the relationship to service), VAC will accept that an incident(s) of Sexual Trauma occurred as described in an applicant’s credible statement, provided that it is not contradicted by other evidence. For further clarity:
    1. The occurrence of an incident(s) of Sexual Trauma may be established solely on the basis of an applicant’s credible statement;
    2. The credibility of an applicant’s statement will not be adversely impacted by the applicant’s decision not to report the incident(s) of Sexual Trauma prior to applying for disability benefits; and
    3. An applicant will not be required to provide corroborating evidence to substantiate that the Sexual Trauma occurred as described in the applicant’s statement, provided that it is not contradicted by other available evidence (for example, information contained in the applicant’s service records).
  2. For additional information on adjudicating applications for disability benefits that involve claims of Sexual Trauma, see the Compensation Principle Policy and the Insurance Principle Policy.

Resolving Doubt in Favour of an Applicant

  1. The requirement to “resolve doubt in favour of an applicant” is to be applied throughout the decision-making process in the assessment or “weighing” of the evidence. This requirement is particularly important in those situations where the facts of a case are closely balanced and the adjudicator is having difficulty in deciding whether entitlement should be granted. It should never be used as a substitute for lack of evidence.
  2. In general, the “weight” of an individual piece of evidence refers to the importance that is to be attached to it. When an adjudicator “weighs” evidence, he/she considers its relevance, its reliability (credibility) and the strength of the inferences that it gives rise to.
  3. If - after weighing all of the evidence that is relevant and credible (including questionable and/or uncontradicted evidence) and having drawn all reasonable and favourable inferences that can be drawn from that evidence - the adjudicator is left with a clear “yes” or “no” answer as to whether the applicant’s case has been established, a decision must be rendered in accordance with the facts as determined.
  4. In those situations where the applicant has not clearly established his/her case but has provided sufficient credible evidence in support of the claim to create at least a reasonable doubt in the mind of the adjudicator as to the applicant’s entitlement to the claim, that doubt must be resolved in favour of the applicant.

References

Pension Act, subsection 5(3)

Veterans Well-being Act, section 43

Entitlement Eligibility Guidelines

Medical Guidelines

Table of Disabilities

Disability Benefits in Respect of Wartime and Special Duty Service – The Insurance Principle

Disability Benefits in Respect of Peacetime Military Service - The Compensation Principle

Date modified:

Bénéfice du doute

Autorité compétente : Directeur général, Politiques et recherche
Date d’entrée en vigueur : 27 septembre 2019
Numéro du document : 1584

Nous avons pris soin de nous assurer que les politiques reflètent avec exactitude les lois et les règlements en question. S’il y a divergence ou contradiction, ces lois et règlements ont préséance.

Objectif

L’objectif de cette politique est de fournir des directives aux arbitres concernant l’application des dispositions sur le bénéfice du doute prévues dans la Loi sur les pensions et la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans (LBV).

Politique

Généralités

  1. La fonction d’un arbitre est de mener une enquête active sur le fondement d’une demande de prestations d’invalidité ou d’un autre avantage en vertu de la Loi sur les pensions ou de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans (« les lois »). Cette enquête consiste notamment à examiner toutes les preuves relatives à la demande afin d’en déterminer la pertinence et la vraisemblance, à apprécier les preuves et à rendre une décision écrite équitable et impartiale expliquant les motifs ayant servi de fondement à la décision.
  2. Conformément aux responsabilités qui se rattachent au processus décisionnel, les arbitres doivent respecter les principes énoncés dans les lois. Lorsqu’ils prennent une décision, ils doivent tirer des conclusions raisonnables en faveur du demandeur, et trancher en faveur du demandeur toute incertitude.

Tenir compte des circonstances en l’espèce et des éléments de preuve

  1. L’arbitre doit tirer des conclusions raisonnables en faveur du demandeur en tenant compte des circonstances en l’espèce et des éléments de preuve fournis à l’appui de la demande.
  2. L’expression « toutes les circonstances portées à sa connaissance » peut être interprétée comme englobant tous les facteurs, événements ou situations pertinents qui influent sur le cas ou la situation du demandeur en particulier et qui devraient être pris en considération dans le cadre des conclusions concernant la demande.
  3. Par « preuve », on entend toute forme de renseignement fourni à l’appui du bien-fondé d’une demande ou pour prouver l’existence ou la non-existence d’un fait en litige. Les preuves existent dans différents formats. Elles peuvent être documentaires (écrites), orales ou démonstratives (matérielles).
  4. Seules les preuves documentaires et matérielles sont prises en considération au premier palier de décision d’une demande de prestation d’invalidité. Suivent les descriptions des divers types :
    1. Preuve documentaire – par exemple : les demandes de prestations d’invalidité remplies; les documents de service, les rapports médicaux et d’hôpital; les avis écrits fournis par des «  experts  » tels que des médecins spécialistes; l’information publiée dans des livres ou des articles que l’on trouve dans des revues ayant fait l’objet d’un examen par les pairs; les affidavits ou les déclarations solennelles faites par une personne [comme le demandeur d’une prestation] qui jure, sous serment, de la véracité de l’information contenue aux présentes; autres formes de correspondance écrite, ce qui comprend des lettres, des déclarations non assermentées ou des rapports gouvernementaux.
    2. Preuve matérielle – Par exemple : radiographies, photographies, dessins, cartes, graphiques, objets ou toute autre forme de preuve physique présentée par le demandeur ou obtenue ou utilisée par l’arbitre pour aider à prouver ou à réfuter une déclaration factuelle faite par le demandeur.
  5. Si l’arbitre utilise de l’information (particulièrement de l’information défavorable au demandeur) qui n’a pas été présentée par le demandeur ou qui ne figure pas dans le dossier d’Anciens Combattants ou dans les documents de service du demandeur, on doit informer le demandeur du recours à cette information.

Preuve pertinente

  1. La preuve pertinente est une preuve qui se rapporte au problème ou aux problèmes principaux à résoudre. Pour savoir si une preuve est pertinente, il faut faire appel à la logique et examiner tous les éléments de preuve fournis.
  2. Pour faciliter la détermination des preuves pertinentes dans les demandes de prestations d’invalidité, l’arbitre peut poser les questions suivantes:
    1. Cette preuve aide-t-elle à justifier (ou à réfuter) un fait précis que le demandeur tente d’établir?
    2. Cette preuve aide-t-elle à établir (ou à réfuter) la principale demande faite par le demandeur?
  3. En cas de doute sur la pertinence de tout élément particulier de preuve, l’approche générale consiste à accepter (admettre) la preuve pour examen.
  4. Afin d’illustrer le concept de « pertinence », prenons comme exemple le cas suivant :
    1. M. X, un ancien combattant de la guerre de Corée, présente une demande de pension pour une hypoacousie qui, selon lui, est attribuable aux bruits intenses des canons auxquels il a été exposé pendant son service en Corée. Les dossiers du service militaire de M. X contiennent de la documentation qui établit son service militaire. Les dossiers médicaux relatifs au service du demandeur contiennent également un rapport médical à l’enrôlement qui indique « Aucun trouble auditif ni surdité au moment de l’enrôlement. Seuil d’audition D et G 20. Tympans intacts » et un rapport médical daté du 15 juillet 1953 se rapportant à la blessure par éclats d’obus subie au visage de l’ancien combattant à cette même date.
    2. À titre d’information additionnelle pour appuyer sa demande, M. X présente un rapport d’audiogramme daté du 27 janvier 2001, un autre daté du 14 octobre 2006 et la lettre d’un audiologiste daté du 1er novembre 2006, qui indique ceci : « Les tests de conduction aérienne et osseuse d’audiométrie tonale révèlent une hypoacousie neurosensorielle à haute fréquence légère à modérée, pire dans l’oreille droite. M. X fait état d’une hypoacousie de longue date, pire dans l’oreille droite. Il a des antécédents d’exposition à des bruits intenses de canons pendant son service en Corée. Il nie tout antécédent d’acouphène ou de problème à l’oreille moyenne. »
    3. L’arbitre devra déterminer si le rapport médical concernant la blessure au visage est pertinent pour le problème d’hypoacousie. Il pourrait l’être, particulièrement s’il indique que les éclats d’obus ont endommagé un organe ou une partie du corps qui joue un rôle dans la fonction auditive. Mais si ce rapport médical donne suffisamment d’information pour permettre à l’arbitre de déterminer que la blessure par éclats d’obus n’est pas du tout pertinente pour la demande relative à l’hypoacousie, le rapport ne doit pas servir de fondement à la détermination du droit à pension d’invalidité du demandeur pour l’hypoacousie, si c’est là la décision prise dans le cas à l’étude.

Tirer des conclusions raisonnables

  1. Tirer des conclusions raisonnables signifie tirer des conclusions favorables dans les circonstances où le demandeur n’a pas réellement donné de preuves justifiant directement les faits (ou la demande qu’il fait), mais a donné suffisamment d’autres preuves fiables pour qu’on puisse « déduire » le fait qu’il voulait établir comme conséquence logique des preuves présentées.
  2. Les conclusions doivent être tirées des preuves pertinentes présentées à l’arbitre, ainsi que des circonstances du cas.
  3. L’exemple qui suit illustre comment tirer des conclusions raisonnables dans une situation donnée :
    1. Un ancien combattant de la Seconde Guerre mondiale demande une pension pour une arthrose du genou droit attribuable à une blessure qu’il a subie, prétend-il, en tombant d’un porte-mitrailleuse Bren en plein combat en France, en 1944. Pour appuyer sa demande, il inclut les éléments suivants :
      1. Documentation établissant son service militaire pendant cette période.
      2. Rapport médical de l’armée indiquant que son genou droit était normal au moment de l’enrôlement.
      3. Rapport médical militaire daté du 10 août 1944 indiquant, en partie, ceci : « ... jambe droite [de l’ancien combattant] enflée aujourd’hui. A de la difficulté à marcher en raison de la douleur, de l’enflure. Dit qu’il est tombé d’un porte-mitrailleuse Bren hier pendant des combats intenses près de Falaise et qu’il s’est blessé le genou... ».
      4. Rapport de radiographie récent d’un radiologue indiquant que le demandeur présente une grave arthrose du genou droit.
      5. Déclarations de la conjointe de plus de 50 ans et des deux enfants adultes de l’ancien combattant selon lesquelles l’ancien combattant se plaint constamment depuis des années de la douleur dans son genou droit et qu’il a toujours relié cette douleur à une prétendue blessure subie en temps de guerre.
      6. Lettre d’un orthopédiste indiquant que l’ancien combattant souffre d’arthrose au genou droit, laquelle peut être attribuable à un traumatisme ou au processus de vieillissement.
    2. Dans cette situation, le demandeur a donné suffisamment de renseignements fiables pour établir qu’il s’est blessé au genou droit pendant son service militaire et qu’il souffre maintenant d’une invalidité diagnostiquée appelée arthrose du genou droit. Bien qu’il n’ait pas fourni de preuve établissant clairement un lien entre la cause de l’arthrose et la blessure subie en temps de guerre, le demandeur a toutefois donné de l’information indiquant que son affection actuelle peut être attribuable, du moins en partie, à une blessure traumatique subie au genou.
    3. Comme aucune preuve n’indique que le demandeur a subi des blessures traumatiques au genou après la guerre, on peut, dans ce cas et à la lumière de toutes les preuves produites et de toutes les circonstances en l’espèce, tirer une conclusion favorable au demandeur selon laquelle l’arthrose découle d’une blessure au genou subie après une chute d’un porte-mitrailleuse Bren.
  4. Seuls la « crédibilité » et le « poids de la preuve » rattachés aux preuves contradictoires peuvent déterminer si les conclusions initialement tirées seront supplantées par les preuves contradictoires.
  5. Le fait de tirer des « conclusions raisonnables » sera souvent nécessaire dans les situations où le demandeur a établi que certains documents qui justifieraient la demande ont été perdus, détruits ou non créés en temps de guerre, p. ex. pendant des périodes de captivité comme prisonnier de guerre.
  6. Il importe que l’arbitre fasse la distinction entre le fait de tirer des conclusions favorables et le fait de tirer des conclusions non fondées simplement en raison de l’absence de preuves contredisant la demande présentée. En d’autres mots, il est inacceptable de faire des présomptions en l’absence des preuves que le demandeur serait raisonnablement susceptible de produire.
  7. Les conclusions favorables doivent être tirées dans les situations où le demandeur a satisfait à l’exigence de produire suffisamment d’autres preuves fiables pour que la conclusion la plus raisonnable que l’arbitre puisse tirer corresponde à celle que le demandeur tente d’établir.

Preuve crédible et non contredite

  1. La loi exige que l’arbitre accepte les preuves qui, en plus d’être pertinentes, sont crédibles et non contredites. En effet, l’arbitre doit tenir compte du caractère convaincant de toutes les preuves pertinentes examinées dans la détermination de la demande.
  2. Le mot « crédible » signifie littéralement « croyable ». La preuve n’est pas crédible lorsque d’autres faits déjà prouvés n’appuient pas l’exactitude de la preuve ou lorsqu’une personne raisonnable faisant preuve de bon sens peut conclure que l’information fournie par la preuve est impossible ou fausse.
  3. Voici certains des facteurs dont peut tenir compte l’arbitre pour évaluer la crédibilité de la preuve :
    1. exactitude générale de la preuve;
    2. cohérence de la preuve par rapport à d’autres preuves fiables;
    3. date de la preuve;
    4. compétences/expertise de l’auteur de la preuve;
    5. intérêt ou non de l’auteur de la preuve à l’égard du résultat de la demande (relié au « poids »);
    6. possibilité ou non de comparer objectivement l’information fournie dans la preuve avec d’autres faits prouvés véridiques;
    7. vraisemblance ou non de l’information contenue dans la preuve;
    8. dans certaines situations, correspondance ou non de la preuve documentaire avec la preuve matérielle;
    9. logique ou non des événements chronologiques;
    10. déclarations incohérentes faites antérieurement.
  4. C’est la preuve qui doit être crédible. La crédibilité de la personne présentant la preuve n’est pas un facteur dont il faut tenir compte. Même une personne généralement non crédible peut produire ou présenter une preuve crédible.
  5. Lorsqu’un demandeur présente une « preuve non contredite », aucune autre preuve ne réfute cette preuve. Par exemple, dans le cas de certaines demandes présentées, la seule preuve est la déclaration du demandeur et un diagnostic médical courant justifiant l’invalidité faisant l’objet de la demande.
  6. Le fait qu’il n’y ait aucune autre preuve dans les documents de service ou aucun élément signalé après la libération pour soutenir ou contredire la demande présentée ne signifie pas qu’une prestation doit être automatiquement accordée au demandeur. Il faut également examiner la preuve non contredite pour déterminer si elle est pertinente et crédible dans les circonstances. Si la preuve non contredite s’avère crédible mais non pertinente pour la résolution du problème, elle ne doit pas être prise en compte. Si la preuve s’avère pertinente mais non crédible, elle a un poids minimal ou nul. Le décideur doit expliquer pourquoi il y a absence de crédibilité.
  7. Les avis médicaux non contredits qui accompagnent une demande de prestation d’invalidité doivent être examinés pour en déterminer la vraisemblance. Il faut accorder un poids considérable à tout avis médical qu’un spécialiste reconnu ayant traité ou examiné le demandeur exprime dans son domaine de compétence, à moins que cet avis ne soit de toute évidence ou sans conteste fondé uniquement sur les antécédents fournis par le demandeur, ou ne soit entièrement conjectural. Par contre, un avis exprimé même par un spécialiste compétent n’est pas généralement accepté s’il est contraire au consensus médical des spécialistes reconnus du domaine. Voici certains facteurs additionnels dont il faut se rappeler pour déterminer la crédibilité et donc l’admissibilité des avis médicaux :
    1. si le rapport médical donne une anamnèse exacte et complète (c.-à-d. antécédents médicaux ou psychiatriques du patient);
    2. si l’avis est fondé sur des antécédents médicaux ou sur le compte rendu d’événements antérieurs du patient;
    3. si les avis contenus dans les présentes s’opposent aux Lignes directrices sur l’admissibilité au droit à pension, aux Directives médicales (dans le cas des affections pour lesquelles il n’y a aucune ligne directrice sur l’admissibilité au droit à pension) ou à la Table des invalidités;
    4. si la preuve médicale concerne le demandeur ou un tiers;
    5. s’il s’agit d’un avis médical diagnostique ou seulement d’un rapport détaillant le traitement actuel du demandeur.

Traumatisme sexuel

  1. Cette section de la politique clarifie l’approche adoptée par Anciens Combattants Canada dans le règlement des demandes de prestations d’invalidité qui comportent des allégations de traumatisme sexuel. Les traumatismes sexuels comprennent les incidents d’agression sexuelle et/ou de harcèlement sexuel. Bien que des éléments supplémentaires soient nécessaires pour établir l’admissibilité (p. ex. le lien avec le service), ACC acceptera qu’un ou des incidents de traumatisme sexuel se soient produits tel que décrit dans la déclaration crédible du demandeur, à condition que cela ne soit pas contredit par d’autres preuves. Pour plus de clarté :
    1. La survenance d’un ou de plusieurs incidents de traumatisme sexuel peut être établie uniquement sur la base de la déclaration crédible du demandeur;
    2. La crédibilité de la déclaration d’un demandeur ne sera pas touchée négativement par la décision du demandeur de ne pas signaler l’incident ou les incidents de traumatisme sexuel avant de demander des prestations d’invalidité;
    3. Le demandeur ne sera pas tenu de fournir des preuves confirmant que le traumatisme sexuel s’est produit tel que décrit dans sa déclaration, à condition que la déclaration ne soit pas contredite par d’autres preuves disponibles (par exemple, des renseignements contenus dans les documents sur le service militaire du demandeur).
  2. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le règlement des demandes relatives aux traumatismes sexuels, voir la politique sur le principe d’indemnisation et la politique sur le principe d’assurance.

Trancher toute incertitude en faveur du demandeur

  1. L’exigence de « trancher toute incertitude en faveur du demandeur » s’applique tout au long du processus décisionnel quand on évalue le « poids » de la preuve. Cette exigence devient particulièrement importante dans les situations où les faits d’un cas sont étroitement équilibrés et où l’arbitre a de la difficulté à décider si le droit à pension doit être accordé. Cette exigence ne doit jamais être utilisée comme substitut à un manque de preuves.
  2. En général, le « poids » d’un élément de preuve renvoie à l’importance qu’on lui donne. Lorsqu’un arbitre « pèse » la preuve, il examine sa pertinence, sa fiabilité (crédibilité) et la force des conclusions auxquelles elle donne lieu.
  3. Si, après avoir pesé toutes les preuves pertinentes et crédibles (dont les preuves douteuses ou non contredites) et avoir tiré toutes les conclusions raisonnables et favorables permises par la preuve, l’arbitre peut indiquer clairement par oui ou non si le cas du demandeur a été établi, une décision doit donc être prise à la lumière des faits établis.
  4. Dans les situations où le demandeur n’a pas établi clairement son cas, mais a produit suffisamment de preuves crédibles pour justifier la demande et créer au moins un doute raisonnable dans l’esprit de l’arbitre quant à son droit à la pension, ce doute doit être résolu en faveur du demandeur.

Références

Loi sur les pensions, paragraphe 5(3)

Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans, article 43

Lignes directrices sur l'admissibilité au droit à pension

Directives Médicales

Table des invalidités

Prestations d’invalidité versées à l’égard du service en temps de guerre et du service spécial – Principe d’assurance

Prestations d’invalidité versées à l’égard du service en temps de paix – Principe d’indemnisation

Date de modification :