Reimbursement Policy for Cannabis for Medical Purposes

Issuing Authority: Director General, Policy and Research
Effective Date: August 21, 2019
Document ID: 2461

Care has been taken to ensure these policies accurately reflect the acts and regulations. Should any inconsistencies be found, the acts and regulations will prevail.

Purpose

  1. This policy provides direction on the reimbursement of cannabis for medical purposes.

General

  1. Access to the use of cannabis for medical purposes has been mandated by Canada’s courts. Health Canada’s Cannabis Regulations specify the conditions for authorization and legal possession. Cannabis is not an approved therapeutic product in Canada.
  2. There have been limited trials which seem to support the use of cannabis in limited circumstances as an option after standard interventions are contraindicated or have been tried and have been unsuccessful and/or have yielded unacceptable adverse effects. Veterans Affairs Canada has heard from Veterans and their advocates that they believe cannabis helps them with their health problems. This information must be balanced with scientific evidence, sound clinical practice, and with the primary concern of the Department - the health and general well-being of Veterans and their families.
  3. Recognizing that the use of cannabis for medical purposes continues to be an emerging practice, Veterans Affairs Canada will continue to monitor developments in research, and medical practice and experience, and adjust the policy provisions as may be required.

Authority

  1. Subject to the provisions of this policy, reimbursement may be authorized for eligible Veterans and other qualified individuals in accordance with section 4 of the Veterans Health Care Regulations.

Eligibility

  1. Veterans entitled to a Veterans Affairs Canada Disability Pension, Disability Award, or Pain and Suffering Compensation are eligible for the cost of treatment for their disability benefits entitled condition (see Treatment for a Disability Benefits Entitled Condition Policy). Certain Veterans may also be eligible for the cost of treatment for non-pensioned/awarded conditions to the extent the treatment is not available from the province/territory in which they reside (see Eligibility for Health Care Programs – Eligible Client Groups).

Policy

  1. Veterans Affairs Canada may reimburse an eligible Veteran for the purchase of cannabis for medical purposes, when the health care practitioner’s (defined in Health Canada’s Cannabis Regulations as a medical practitioner or a nurse practitioner) authorization is in accordance with Health Canada’s Cannabis Regulations. The medical document completed by the health care practitioner indicates the amount of grams per day of dried cannabis.
  2. The maximum daily Veterans Affairs Canada reimbursement limit is 3 grams per day of dried cannabis or the equivalent in fresh cannabis or cannabis oil.
  3. Requests for reimbursement for more than 3 grams of dried cannabis (or the equivalent in fresh cannabis or cannabis oil) will require additional supporting information for consideration as set out in Annex A.
  4. Veterans Affairs Canada will reimburse the Veteran based on a maximum rate per gram of cannabis, when authorized in its dried form or the equivalent in fresh cannabis or cannabis oil.
  5. Veterans Affairs Canada only reimburses the purchase of cannabis for medical purposes when the product is purchased from a federal licensed seller (with the exception of seeds and plants). Canada has established a regulated system of federal licensed sellers that ensures sellers are meeting standards for quality and safety. This standardization is an essential consideration when determining whether to reimburse Veterans for cannabis for medical purposes. The health and well-being of Veterans is best ensured through accessing cannabis produced by the federal licensed sellers authorized in accordance with Health Canada’s Cannabis Regulations.
  6. Veterans Affairs Canada, requires the following documents to confirm the Veteran meets the requirements of Health Canada’s Cannabis Regulations for the purposes of determining entitlement for reimbursement:
    1. copy of the medical document completed by the health care practitioner; and
    2. copy of the completed and confirmed registration document issued by a federal licensed seller.
  7. Veterans Affairs Canada will only accept authorization from one health care practitioner at a time. More than one authorization may be considered, but the authorizations must be from the same health care practitioner.
  8. Eligible forms of cannabis include all forms that are authorized by Schedule 4 of Health Canada’s Cannabis Act for sale by federal licensed sellers (with the exception of seeds and plants).
  9. Veterans Affairs Canada does not reimburse the purchase of cannabis for medical purposes when the Veteran purchases cannabis outside Canada. The legislative regime established by Health Canada for access to cannabis for medical purposes includes regulatory requirements for the safe production and distribution of cannabis, and for legal possession. Recognizing the complexity and variety of approaches internationally, the Department is not able to adequately ensure the same level of regulatory oversight for the safe production, authorization, distribution, and legalization of cannabis for medical purposes. The health and well-being of Canada’s Veterans is paramount, and the varied approaches to cannabis for medical purposes is of concern.
  10. No fee is paid to the health care practitioner for the completion of the medical document since VAC considers it to be covered in insured service fees. However, if the Department requires the health practitioner to complete additional documentation, an administrative fee may be paid.
  11. Veterans Affairs Canada may deny approval of reimbursement when federal licensed sellers are determined to be operating outside of the requirements of Health Canada’s Cannabis Act or Cannabis Regulations, the requirements of this policy, and/or any approved provider criteria established by the Department and agreed to by the federal licensed seller.
  12. Reimbursement for the purchase of a vaporizer may be authorized for eligible Veterans up to the established frequency and dollar limit. The purchase must be pre-authorized, and prescribed by a health care practitioner. Veterans Affairs Canada may consider other “equipment” when the device is medically beneficial, subject to the provisions of the Medical Supplies policy.

Annex A

Exceptional Approval of More than 3 Grams

  1. Reimbursement may be authorized for more than 3 grams of dried cannabis or equivalent when confirmation is received from the treating physician that the Veteran is palliative. In end of life situations, documentation is not required from a medical specialist.
  2. Palliative care is defined in the Palliative Care policy. The policy also includes additional considerations for Veterans requiring end of life care.
  3. When authorization of cannabis for medical purposes is for Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS), validation of the diagnosis from the attending physician will be required.
  4. In all cases, other than the circumstances as noted above, requests for reimbursement of more than 3 grams of dried cannabis or equivalent must be accompanied by additional documentation from a medical specialist. The required documentation from the medical specialist must clearly state:
    1. the medical rationale for the use of CMP for the Veteran’s condition(s);
    2. the specific quantity over 3 grams per day being recommended;
    3. a list of contraindications that were considered and confirmed absent; and
    4. a list of alternative treatments that were tried and why ineffective or contraindicated.
  5. When authorization of cannabis for medical purposes is for chronic pain, additional documentation will be required from a medical specialist in the area of the treatment of chronic pain.
  6. When authorization of cannabis for medical purposes is for a psychiatric condition(s), additional documentation will be required from a psychiatrist.
  7. When both chronic pain and a psychiatric condition are present, additional documentation will be required from either a medical specialist in the treatment of chronic pain or a psychiatrist.
  8. For any other health conditions, additional documentation will be required from a medical specialist with expertise in the diagnosed condition, including but not limited to chemotherapy-induced nausea and vomiting, wasting syndrome, or loss of appetite in AIDS and cancer patients.

References

Cannabis Act

Cannabis Regulations

Veterans Health Care Regulations

Health Care Programs - Eligible Client Groups

Treatment for a Disability Benefits Entitled Condition

Palliative Care

Cannabis for medical purposes

Consumer Information - Cannabis (Marihuana, marijuana)

Information for Health Care Professionals: Cannabis (marihuana, marijuana) 

Date modified:

Politique de Remboursement du Cannabis à des Fins Médicales

Autorité compétente : Directeur général, Politique et recherche
Date d’entrée en vigueur : 21 août 2019
Numéro du document : 2461

Nous avons pris soin de nous assurer que les politiques reflètent avec exactitude les lois et les règlements en question. S’il y a divergence ou contradiction, ces lois et règlements ont préséance.

Objet

  1. La présente politique offre une orientation sur le remboursement du cannabis à des fins médicales.

Généralités

  1. L’accès au cannabis à des fins médicales a été prescrit par les tribunaux canadiens. Le Règlement sur le cannabis de Santé Canada énonce clairement les conditions concernant l’autorisation et la possession légale. Le cannabis n’est pas un produit thérapeutique approuvé au Canada.
  2. Quelques essais limités semblent appuyer, dans certains cas précis, l’utilisation du cannabis comme option lorsque les interventions standard s’avèrent contre-indiquées et inefficaces ou lorsqu’elles donnent lieu à des effets indésirables inacceptables. Les vétérans et ceux qui défendent leurs droits ont souligné à Anciens Combattants Canada qu’ils pensent que le cannabis les aide à gérer leurs problèmes de santé. Ces renseignements doivent être appuyés par des preuves scientifiques et une bonne pratique clinique, en veillant à ce que le Ministère se concentre principalement sur la santé et le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille. 
  3. Puisqu’il reconnaît que l’utilisation du cannabis à des fins médicales est une tendance qui se poursuit, Anciens Combattants Canada continuera à surveiller l’évolution dans la recherche, la pratique et l’expérience en médecine, ainsi qu’à rajuster les dispositions de la politique, suivant les besoins. 

Autorité

  1. Sous réserve des dispositions de la présente politique, il est possible d’autoriser le remboursement pour les vétérans admissibles, conformément à l’article 4 du Règlement sur les soins de santé pour anciens combattants.

Admissibilité

  1. Les vétérans qui ont droit à une pension d’invalidité, à une indemnité d’invalidité ou à une indemnité pour souffrances et douleurs d’Anciens Combattants Canada sont admissibles à un remboursement des frais de traitement liés à leur affection ouvrant droit des prestations d’invalidité (voir Traitement d’une affection ouvrant droit à des prestations d’invalidité). Certains vétérans peuvent également avoir droit au remboursement des frais de traitement liés à une affection n’ouvrant pas droit à des prestations d’invalidité si le traitement n’est pas offert par la province ou le territoire où ils habitent (voir Admissibilité aux programmes de soins de santé - Groupes de clients admissibles).

Politique

  1. Anciens Combattants Canada peut rembourser les coûts engagés par un vétéran admissible pour l’achat de cannabis à des fins médicales lorsqu’il reçoit une autorisation d’un praticien de la santé (défini dans le Règlement sur le cannabis de Santé Canada comme étant un médecin ou un infirmier praticien) conformément au Règlement sur l’accès au cannabis à des fins médicales de Santé Canada. Le document d’autorisation rempli par le praticien de la santé indique la quantité de grammes de marihuana séchée prescrite par jour.
  2. La limite de remboursement quotidienne maximale fixée par Anciens Combattants Canada est de trois grammes de cannabis séché par jour, la limite équivalente pour le cannabis frais ou l’huile de cannabis.
  3. Pour le remboursement d’une quantité supérieure à trois grammes de cannabis séché (ou la limite équivalente pour le cannabis frais ou l’huile de cannabis), la demande de remboursement devra contenir les renseignements supplémentaires établis à l’annexe A.
  4. Anciens Combattants Canada remboursera le vétéran selon un taux maximum par gramme de cannabis si le cannabis est séché ou pour l’équivalent en cannabis frais ou en huile de cannabis.
  5. Anciens Combattants Canada rembourse seulement l’achat du cannabis á des fins médicales lorsque le produit est acheté d’un vendeur détenant un permis fédéral (les graines et les plantes ne sont pas incluses dans le programme de remboursement). Le Canada a établi un réseau réglementé de vendeurs détenant un permis fédéral pour veiller à ce que les vendeurs respectent les normes de qualité et de sécurité. Cette normalisation est un facteur essentiel pour déterminer si un vétéran est admissible au remboursement du cannabis à des fins médicales. La santé et le bien-être des vétérans sont mieux assurés par l’accès à du cannabis produit par des vendeurs détenant un permis fédéral en vertu du Règlement sur le cannabis de Santé Canada.
  6. Anciens Combattants Canada a besoin des documents suivants pour confirmer que le vétéran satisfait aux exigences décrites dans le Règlement sur le cannabis de Santé Canada afin de déterminer s’il est admissible à un remboursement :
    1. une copie du document médical rempli par le praticien de la santé;
    2. une copie du document d’inscription rempli et confirmé, émis par un vendeur détenant un permis fédéral.
  7. Anciens Combattants Canada acceptera seulement l’autorisation d’un praticien de la santé à la fois. Plus d’une autorisation peut être prise en considération, mais les documents d’autorisation doivent être préparés par le même praticien de la santé.
  8. Les formes de cannabis admissibles comprennent toutes les formes (sauf les graines et les plantes) qui sont autorisées par l’annexe 4 du Règlement sur le cannabis de Santé Canada pour leur vente par les vendeurs détenant un permis fédéral.
  9. 15. Anciens Combattants Canada ne rembourse pas l’achat de cannabis à des fins médicales si le vétéran achète le cannabis à l’extérieur du Canada. Le régime législatif établi par Santé Canada pour l’accès au cannabis à des fins médicales comprend les exigences réglementaires pour la production et la distribution sécuritaires du cannabis, ainsi que pour la possession légale. Étant donné la complexité et la variété des approches à l’échelle internationale, le Ministère ne peut pas assurer adéquatement le même niveau de surveillance réglementaire pour la production sécuritaire, l’autorisation, la distribution et la légalisation du cannabis à des fins médicales. La santé et le bien-être des vétérans du Canada sont d’une importance primordiale et les diverses approches visant le cannabis à des fins médicales sont préoccupantes.
  10. Aucun coût n’est remboursé au professionnel de la santé pour remplir le document médical, car Anciens Combattants Canada considère que ces coûts sont couverts dans les frais du service assuré. Cependant, si le Ministère demande au praticien de la santé de remplir d’autres documents, des frais administratifs peuvent être payés.
  11. Anciens Combattants Canada peut refuser l’autorisation de remboursement s’il est déterminé qu’un vendeur détenant un permis fédéral ne respecte pas les exigences établies dans la Loi sur le cannabis de Santé Canada ou le Règlement sur le cannabis, les exigences de la présente politique, ou tout autre critère concernant les fournisseurs approuvés, tels qu’ils sont établis par le Ministère et convenus par le vendeur détenant un permis fédéral.
  12. Le remboursement de l’achat d’un vaporisateur peut être autorisé pour les vétérans admissibles jusqu’à hauteur de la limite établie en fréquence et en dollars. L’achat doit faire l’objet d’une autorisation préalable par un professionnel de la sant&eacute. Anciens Combattants Canada peut considérer un autre appareil lorsque ce dernier est bénéfique médicalement, en fonction des dispositions énoncées dans la politique sur les fournitures médicales.

Annexe A

Approbation exceptionnelle de plus de trois grammes

  1. Un remboursement de plus de trois grammes de marihuana séchée ou d’une quantité équivalente sous d’autres formes peut être autorisé lorsque le Ministère reçoit une confirmation du médecin traitant indiquant que le vétéran reçoit des soins palliatifs. Dans les situations de fin de vie, il n’est pas nécessaire de fournir les documents d’un spécialiste.
  2. Les soins palliatifs sont définis dans la Politique relative aux soins palliatifs. La Politique contient également d’autres facteurs à considérer pour les vétérans qui ont besoin de soins de fin de vie.
  3. Lorsque l'autorisation du cannabis à des fins médicales est pour la Sclérose latérale amyotrophique (SLA), une attestation du diagnostic par le médecin traitant sera nécessaire.
  4. Dans tous les cas autres que les situations indiquées ci-dessus, les demandes de remboursement pour plus de trois grammes de cannabis séché ou l’équivalent sous d’autres formes, doivent être accompagnées de documents supplémentaires d’un spécialiste médical. Les renseignements suivants doivent être clairement indiqués dans les documents fournis par le spécialiste médical :
    1. la justification médicale pour l’utilisation du cannabis à des fins médicales pour l’affection ou les affections du vétéran;
    2. la dose recommandée précise supérieure à 3 grammes par jour;
    3. une liste de contre-indications qui ont été examinées et dont l’absence a été confirmée;
    4. une liste d’autres traitements suivis et pourquoi ils étaient inefficaces ou contre-indiqués.
  5. Lorsque l’autorisation du cannabis à des fins médicales est pour une douleur chronique, des documents supplémentaires devront être fournis par un spécialiste médical dans le domaine du traitement de la douleur chronique.
  6. Lorsque l’autorisation du cannabis à des fins médicales vise une ou plusieurs affections psychiatriques, des documents supplémentaires devront être fournis par un psychiatre.
  7. Lorsque les deux conditions sont présentes : des douleurs chroniques et une affection psychiatrique, des documents supplémentaires devront être fournis soit par un spécialiste médical dans le domaine du traitement de la douleur chronique ou par un psychiatre.
  8. Pour tout autre problème de santé, des documents supplémentaires seront exigés d’un médecin spécialiste possédant une expertise dans le trouble diagnostiqué, y compris, sans toutefois s’y limiter, les nausées et les vomissements provoqués par la chimiothérapie, le syndrome cachectique ou la perte d’appétit chez les patients atteints du SIDA et du cancer.

Références

Loi sur le cannabis

Règlement sur le cannabis

Règlement sur les soins de santé pour anciens combattants

Programmes de soins de santé — Groupes de clients admissibles

Traitement d’une affection ouvrant droit à des prestations d’invalidité

Soins palliatifs

Cannabis à des fins médicales

Renseignements pour le consommateur - Cannabis (marihuana, marijuana)

Renseignements à l’intention des professionnels de la santé sur le cannabis : Le cannabis (marijuana, marihuana) et les cannabinoïdes

Date de modification :