Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Agent Orange ex Gratia Payment

About the Agent Orange ex Gratia Payment

The Government of Canada, through the Minister of Veterans Affairs, announced on September 12, 2007, a one-time, tax-free ex gratia payment of $20,000 related to the testing of unregistered U.S. military herbicides, including Agent Orange, at Canadian Forces Base (CFB) Gagetown in New Brunswick during the summers of 1966 and 1967. Through an Order in Council, Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) has been assigned the authority to administer the ex gratia payments. Initiated in September 2007, eligible individuals will have until April 1, 2009 to submit a claim for an ex gratia payment.

To qualify for the ex gratia payment, individuals must have an illness associated with exposure to contaminants in Agent Orange, as determined by the U.S. National Academy of Sciences' Institute of Medicine (IOM), and must have worked at, trained at, been posted to, or lived within five kilometres of CFB Gagetown, when Agent Orange was tested in 1966 and 1967.

About the Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA)

The scope of this Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) is limited to the particulars of the Agent Orange ex gratia payment, through the Order in Council. It focuses on the collection, use and disclosure of clients and care givers personal information. To apply for the ex gratia payment, individuals are required to submit personal information, which may include personal identification data, medical information and proof of residency documentation.

The PIA review, conducted by Information Management Services Division (IMSD), identified two (2) risks regarding privacy requirements. One (1) specific risk was associated with the administration of the ex gratia payment, while the other was identified as a pre-existing risk which falls outside the immediate scope of this initiative. IMSD has identified and deemed the two privacy issues to be low risk. The following mitigation measures have been brought forward to resolve these low risk concerns:

Collection of Non Personal Information

  • As per the Order in Council, the Government of Canada requires valid proof of residency as an eligibility criterion for the ex gratia payment. A variety of documentation is anticipated to be submitted to substantiate this residency requirement, and with this submission, it is possible that documentation will include both required residential information and other non-essential personal information. Such records include, Church records, vehicle registration, water or utility records, land registry records, Census data and income tax returns. Therefore, for the purpose of obtaining a valid proof of residency, the collection of non-essential personal information is inevitable. Every effort will be made to mitigate this risk by protecting the case files from unauthorized access and ensuring original documentation is returned to clients and non essential information is removed from the copies.
  • The case files will be maintained in a secure area and will not be accessible by employees who do not have a "need-to-know."
  • It is anticipated that the hard copy file will be managed in accordance with the Case File Multi-Institutional Disposition Authority (MIDA) No. 2005/006.

Retention and Disposition of Personal Information

  • The lack of capacity to fully manage electronic client records has been identified as the second low risk. Although this previously identified risk at VAC falls outside the immediate scope of the Agent Orange ex gratia payment, it currently remains unresolved.
  • Veterans Affairs uses a work flow application that manages the Department's electronic records. This system does not have the functionality to perform retention and disposition. Research is currently underway to identify a solution aimed at updating VAC's electronic records systems to include the functionality to perform retention and disposition. Once a solution is identified and resource estimates are developed, a proposal will be presented to senior management.

Mitigation strategies for the privacy related issues are appropriate and in accordance with program management procedures.

Date modified:

Paiement à titre gracieux lié à l'agent Orange

À propos du paiement à titre gracieux lié à l'agent Orange

Le 12 septembre 2007, l'honorable Greg Thompson, ministre des Anciens Combattants, a annoncé que le gouvernement du Canada verserait à titre gracieux aux personnes admissibles un paiement unique, libre d'impôt, de 20 000 $ en rapport aux essais d'herbicides militaires américains non homologués, dont l'agent Orange, menés à la base des Forces canadiennes (BFC) de Gagetown au Nouveau-Brunswick à l'été de 1966 et de 1967. Par décret, Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC) a reçu l'autorisation d'administrer les paiements à titre gracieux. L'initiative est en vigueur depuis septembre 2007, et les personnes admissibles ont jusqu'au 1er avril 2009 pour faire la demande d'un paiement à titre gracieux.

Pour être admissible au paiement annoncé, la personne doit avoir un problème de santé lié à l'exposition aux contaminants de l'agent Orange, telle que déterminée par l'Institute of Medicine de la US National Academy of Sciences, et avoir travaillé, avoir été stationnée, en poste ou en entraînement, à la base de Gagetown ou avoir habité dans un rayon de cinq kilomètres de la base lors des essais de l'agent Orange en 1966 et 1967.

À propos de l'Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP)

La portée de l'Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP) est limitée, par décret, aux conditions du paiement à titre gracieux lié à l'agent Orange. L'Évaluation touche la collecte, l'utilisation et la divulgation des renseignements personnels des clients et des dispensateurs de soins. Pour faire la demande de paiement à titre gracieux, les personnes concernées doivent fournir leurs renseignements personnels, notamment des données d'identification personnelle, de l'information médicale et les documents donnant preuve de résidence.

L'Évaluation, menée par la Direction générale des services de gestion de l'information (DGSGI), a permis de cerner deux (2) risques touchant les exigences relatives à la protection des renseignements personnels. Un des risques précis est associé à l'administration du paiement à titre gracieux, tandis qu'un deuxième a été déterminé comme étant préexistant, et n'est donc pas de la portée de la présente initiative. La DGSGI a jugé que le risque associé aux deux problèmes est faible. Les mesures d'atténuation suivantes ont donc été proposées pour traiter les deux risques faibles à l'étude :

Collecte des renseignements non personnels

  • Conformément au décret, le gouvernement du Canada exige une preuve de résidence comme condition d'admissibilité au paiement à titre gracieux. Divers documents seront probablement présentés comme preuve de résidence, et il est possible que les documents fournis contiennent les renseignements requis ainsi que des renseignements personnels non essentiels. On peut entre autres mentionner les registres d'état civil, le permis de conduire, l'immatriculation du véhicule, les factures de services publiques, les registres des terres, les données du recensement et les déclarations du revenu. Par conséquent et afin d'obtenir preuve valide de résidence, la collecte des renseignements personnels non essentiels est inévitable. Tous les efforts seront faits pour atténuer le risque en protégeant les dossiers d'un accès non autorisé et faire en sorte que les documents originaux sont retournés aux clients et que l'information non essentielle soit supprimée des copies.
  • Les dossiers seront conservés dans un endroit sécurisé, et les employés qui ne doivent pas « être au fait » n'y auront pas accès.
  • Il est prévu que les dossiers imprimés seront gérés conformément aux Autorisations pluri-institutionnelles de disposer de documents (APDD) no 2005/006.

Conservation et élimination des renseignements personnels

  • Le deuxième risque faible déterminé concerne le manque de capacité nécessaire pour gérer pleinement les dossiers électroniques des clients. Bien que ce risque défini antérieurement à ACC dépasse la portée immédiate du paiement à titre gracieux lié à l'agent Orange, il n'est toujours pas réglé.
  • Anciens Combattants se sert d'un logiciel de déroulement du travail qui gère les dossiers électroniques du Ministère. Le logiciel en question n'a pas la capacité d'effectuer la conservation et l'élimination de l'information. Une étude est en cours actuellement pour déterminer une solution visant à mettre à jour les systèmes de dossiers électroniques afin d'y incorporer les fonctions de conservation et d'élimination. Lorsqu'une solution aura été trouvée et que le besoin en ressources aura été estimé, une proposition sera présentée à la haute direction.

Les stratégies d'atténuation concernant les questions liées à la protection des renseignements personnels sont appropriées et conformes aux procédures en matière de gestion du programme.

Date de modification :