Language selection

Female and Male Veterans in Canada

Females comprise 14% of the estimated 670,000 Veterans in Canada. Using data from the Life After Service Studies, Veterans who released from 1998 forward (approximately 11% of the total Veteran population) were examined by sex and more than 40 indicators of well-being.

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

Service Characteristics

Female Veterans were more likely to:

  • have served in the Air Force;
  • have served for 10-19 years;
  • be medically released; and
  • be in administrative, medical, and overall serve in more transferable military occupations.

Male Veterans were more likely to serve:

  • in the Army; and
  • in combat arms, engineering and technical, and overall serve in non-transferable military occupations.

These differences may be a result of historical regulations regarding women's military service and/or individual characteristics, such as education and skills prior to military service.

Purpose

Female Veterans were less likely to report work as their main activity in the past year. Female Regular Force Veterans were more likely to report their main activity as being disabled, attending school, caregiving or to be working part-time. This is similar to the general Canadian population, where women are less likely to engage in the labour-market and more likely to assume caregiving roles, report being disabled, and be working part-time.

Finances

Female Veterans were more likely to experience low income at least once post-release. Female Regular Force Veterans experience substantial reductions in income post-release. Female Reserve Force Veterans have significantly less income growth than their male counterparts. These differences are a result of lower labour-market engagement and smaller military pensions (related to fewer years of service and lower salaries while serving).

Health

Female Veterans were more likely to:

  • have activity limitations;
  • need help due to an activity limitation;
  • and to see their family doctor in the past year.

Male Veterans were more likely to:

  • report heavy drinking.

Conclusion

Male and female Veterans are similar in many characteristics. However, female Veterans differed from males in some indicators of health, purpose, and finances and across each of the service components. Further research is needed to understand the differences observed.

Info Brief Reference (Female & Male Veterans in Canada):

MacLean MB, Clow B, Ralling A, Sweet J, Poirier A, Buss J and Pound T. Veterans in Canada Released Since 1998: A Sex-disaggregated Profile. Veterans Affairs Canada, Research Technical Report, September 24, 2018.

MacLean MB, Keough J, Poirier A, McKinnon K and Sweet J. (2018). Labour-Market Outcomes of Veterans. Journal of Military, Veteran and Family Health, 2018 In press.

For full reports, contact: vac.research-recherche.acc@canada.ca

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Les hommes et les femmes vétérans au Canada

Les femmes constituent 14% de la population de vétérans estimée à 670 000 au Canada. Dans le cadre des études sur la vie après le service militaire, les vétérans qui ont été libérés en 1998 ou après (environ 11% de la population des vétérans) ont été examinés en fonction du sexe et de plus de 40 indicateurs du bien-être.

Cette publication est disponible dans d’autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

Caractéristiques

Les femmes vétérans sont plus susceptibles :

  • d’avoir servi dans l’Aviation;
  • d’avoir servi pendant 10 à 19 ans;
  • d’être libérées pour des raisons médicales;
  • de servir dans un poste administratif ou médical et, dans l’ensemble, d’occuper des fonctions militaires plus facilement transférables.

Les hommes vétérans étaient plus susceptibles d’avoir servi :

  • dans l’armée;
  • dans les armes de combat, le génie et les services techniques et dans l’ensemble dans des fonctions militaires non transférables.

Ces différences pourraient découler de règlements historiques relatifs au service militaire des femmes ou des caractéristiques personnelles comme la scolarité et les compétences avant le service militaire.

But

Les femmes vétérans étaient moins susceptibles de déclarer que le travail était leur principale activité au cours de l’année écoulée. Sur le plan de la principale activité, les femmes vétérans de la Force régulière étaient plus susceptibles de déclarer être touchées par une invalidité, faire des études, être un aidant ou travailler à temps partiel. Ces données ressemblent à celles de la population canadienne générale où les femmes sont moins susceptibles de participer au marché du travail et plus susceptibles de jouer un rôle d’aidant, de déclarer être touchées par une invalidité ou de travailler à temps partiel.

Finances

Les femmes vétérans sont plus susceptibles de toucher un revenu faible au moins une fois après la libération. Le revenu des femmes vétérans de la Force régulière diminue de façon considérable après la libération. L’augmentation du revenu des femmes vétérans de la Réserve est considérablement moindre que celle de leurs homologues masculins. Ces différences découlent d’une participation moindre au marché du travail et de pensions militaires moins élevées (liées à un nombre d’années de service plus faible et à une solde plus faible au cours du service).

Santé

Les femmes vétérans étaient plus susceptibles:

  • d’être touchées par des limitations d’activité;
  • d’avoir besoin d’aide en raison d’une limitation d’activité;
  • d’avoir vu leur médecin au cours de l’année écoulée.

Les hommes vétérans étaient plus susceptibles:

  • de déclarer boire beaucoup.

Conclusion

Les hommes et les femmes vétérans ont de nombreuses caractéristiques en commun. Les femmes vétérans diffèrent cependant des hommes pour certains indicateurs de la santé, du but et des finances et pour chacune des composantes du service. D’autres études devront être menées pour comprendre les différences observées.

Références pour l’exposé d’information (Femmes vétérans au Canada)

MacLean MB, Clow B, Ralling A, Sweet J, Poirier A, Buss J and Pound T. Veterans in Canada Released Since 1998: A Sex-disaggregated Profile. Veterans Affairs Canada, Research Technical Report, le 4 septembre 2018. (ébauche, en anglais seulement).

MacLean MB, Keough J, Poirier A, McKinnon K and Sweet J. (2018). Labour-Market Outcomes of Veterans. Journal of Military, Veteran and Family Health, 2018. Sous presse (en anglais seulement).

Pour obtenir les rapports complets, communiquer avec: vac.research-recherche.acc@canada.ca.

Date de modification :