Language selection

Life After Service Survey 2016

Fast facts on...

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

Life After Service Survey 2016

The Life After Service Studies (LASS) program of research is designed to further understand the transition experiences of Canadian Veterans as they move from military to civilian life. LASS partners are Veterans Affairs Canada, the Department of National Defence /Canadian Armed Forces and Statistics Canada. The findings inform programs and services designed to support the well being of Canadian Veterans and their families. LASS 2016 expands on the earlier studies from 2010 and 2013. In 2016, 2755 Regular Force Veterans (released between 1998 and 2015 at post-entry rank) participated in a Statistics Canada telephone survey. Some initial findings are outlined below. Additional analysis will be covered in subsequent reports.

1) Adjustment to Civilian Life
Over half of Regular Force Veterans (52%) reported an easy adjustment to civilian life. However, 32% had difficulty. Factors associated with difficult adjustment included low rank at release, less than 10 years of service, unemployment and chronic health conditions.
2) Employment
In 2016, 65% of Regular Force Veterans were working. Their unemployment rate was similar to that of comparable Canadians (both about 8%). Of those who were working, 81% were satisfied with their job.
3) Low Income
At 4%, Veterans were much less likely than comparable Canadians (14%) to report low income (based on Statistics Canada’s Low Income Measure threshold). Most (69%) were satisfied with their finances.
4) Chronic Conditions More Common
Conditions like arthritis, back problems, depression, obesity, hearing problems and activity limitations were more preva-lent among Veterans than comparable Canadians. Veterans also reported chronic pain at much higher rates (41% vs 22%).
5) Effect of Release on Families
When asked about the effect their release had on the family, most Veterans reported that the transition was easy for their children (60%) and their partner (57%). However, a difficult adjustment was reported for 17% of children and 28% of partners.
6) Snapshot of Characteristics
Mean Age = 48
Male/Female = 88% / 12%
Married/Common Law = 77%
Mean Years since Release = 8.6
Served <10 years = 31%
Served 20+ years = 54%
Had deployed = 74%
Satisfied with Life = 84%

Info Brief Reference (Life After Service Survey 2016):

VanTil L, Sweet J, Thompson JM, Poirier A, McKinnon K, Sudom K, Dursun S, Pedlar D. Well-Being of Canadian Regular Force Veterans, Findings from the LASS 2016 Survey. Charlottetown PE: Research Directorate, Veterans Affairs Canada. Research Directorate Technical Report. June 2017.

For full report, contact: VAC.research-recherche.ACC@vac-acc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Sondage sur la vie après le service militaire 2016

Faits en Bref Concernant...

Sondage sur la vie après le service militaire 2016
Version PDF

Sondage sur la vie après le service militaire 2016

Le programme de recherche Études sur la vie après le service militaire (EVASM) vise à nous aider à mieux comprendre l’expérience en matière de transition des vétérans au Canada lorsqu’ils passent de la vie militaire à la vie civile. Les partenaires du programme des EVASM sont Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC), le minis-tère de la Défense nationale/les Forces armées canadiennes et Statistique Canada. Les constatations des études servent à établir les programmes et les services destinés à favoriser le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille. Les EVASM de 2016 s’appuient sur les études antérieures réalisées en 2010 et 2013. En 2016, 2 755 vétérans de la Force régulière (libérés entre 1998 et 2015 et au grade postérieur d’entrée) ont pris part à un sondage téléphonique de Statistique Canada. Les constatations initiales sont présentées ci-dessous. Une analyse supplémentaire sera traitée dans des rapports subséquents.

1) Adaptation à la vie civile
Plus de la moitié des vétérans de la Force régulière (52 %) ont dit s’être adaptés facilement à la vie civile. Toutefois, 32 % ont dit avoir éprouvé de la difficulté à s’adapter. Les facteurs liés à la difficulté d’adaptation incluaient un rang inférieur à la libération, moins de dix années de service, le chômage et des problèmes de santé chroniques.
2) Emploi
En 2016, 65 % des vétérans de la Force régulière occupaient un emploi. Leur taux de chômage était semblable à celui de Canadiens dont la situation est comparable (soit d’environ 8 % pour ces deux groupes). Parmi ceux qui occupaient un emploi, 81 % étaient satisfaits de leur emploi.
3) Faible revenu
Les vétérans (4 %) étaient beaucoup moins susceptibles que les Canadiens dont la situa-tion est comparable (14 %) de faire état d’un faible revenu (selon la mesure du seuil de faible revenu de Statistique Ca-nada). La plupart (69 %) étaient satisfaits de leurs finances.
4) Conditions chroniques plus fréquentes
Les troubles comme l’arthrite, les problèmes de dos, la dépression, l’obésité, les problèmes d’audition et les limitations d’activités étaient plus prévalents chez les vétérans que chez les Canadiens dont la situation est comparable. Les vétérans ont aussi fait état de douleur chronique à des taux beaucoup plus élevés (41 % comparativement à 22 %).
5) Effet de la libération sur les familles
Lorsqu’on leur a demandé quels effets leur libération avait sur leur famille, la plupart des vété-rans ont dit que la transition a été facile pour leurs enfants (60 %) et leur conjoint (57 %). Toutefois, l’ajustement a été dif-ficile pour 17 % des enfants et 28 % des conjoints.
6) Instantané des caractéristiques
Âge moyen = 48
Homme/Femme= 88 % / 12 %
Marié/Conjoint de fait= 77 %
Nombre moyen d’années depuis la libération= 8.6
<10 années de service= 31 %
20 années de service et plus= 54 %
Déploiement= 74 %
Satisfait de sa vie= 84 %

Référence pour l’Exposé d’Information : Sondage sur la vis après le service militaire 2016

VanTil L, Sweet J, Thompson JM, Poirier A, McKinnon K, Sudom K, Dursun S, Pedlar D. Well-Being of Canadian Regular Force Veterans, Findings from the LASS 2016 Survey. Charlottetown PE: Research Directorate, Veterans Affairs Canada. Research Directorate Technical Report. June 2017.

Pour se procurer les rapports dans leur version complète : VAC.research-recherche.ACC@vac-acc.gc.ca

Date de modification :