Language selection

A Well-Being Construct for Veterans’ Policy, Programming and Research

Executive Summary

Citation: Thompson JM, MacLean MB, Roach MB, Banman M, Mabior J, Pedlar D. Charlottetown PE: Research Directorate, Veterans Affairs Canada. A Well-Being Construct for Veterans’ Policy, Programming and Research. Research Directorate Technical Report. 07 September 2016.

In legislation, the mandate of Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) extends to the administration of such acts and orders in council relating to “(i) the care, treatment or re-establishment in civil life of any person who served in the Canadian Forces … and (ii) the care of the dependants or survivors of any person referred to in subparagraph (i)…”Footnote 1. VAC’s Plans and Priorities report identifies “well-being” as one of the Department’s re-establishment strategic outcomes but a clear description of the concept is lacking. Lack of a commonly accepted definition of well-being has hampered progress in developing and measuring outcomes of VAC policies and programs.

This paper describes the Veterans’ well-being construct that emerged at VAC over the past decade in a consensus-seeking, multidisciplinary process informed by reviews of published literature, expert consultations and evidence from the Life After Service Studies (LASS). The objective of this paper is to describe the well-being construct and place it within a conceptual framework with utility in (1) the development and evaluation of policy, programming and service delivery and (2) research in Veterans’ issues. The goal is to support the well-being of Canadian Veterans and their families in life after service.

Method

VAC conducted internal multidisciplinary consultations and additional literature reviews during 2015-16 to clarify a well-being construct. The work was informed by the 2013 Veterans’ Well-Being Conceptual Framework, the Life After Service Studies findings, literature reviews conducted for the Road to Civilian Life research program, participation in an expert panel on military-civilian transition (MCT) in Los Angeles in March 2016, and published MCT theory.

Well-Being

A variety of well-being constructs have evolved in various disciplines, including psychology, sociology and economics. Some are subjective, where people are asked how they are doing (e.g. psychological well-being), others are objective, based on observing how people are doing (e.g. income). Composite types combine both.

The type favoured for VAC’s business is a composite well-being construct measured subjectively and objectively across seven key areas of life: employment and meaningful activity, finances, health, life skills and preparedness, social integration, housing and physical environment and cultural and social environment.

This report describes a theory of well-being which says that well-being is the result of a process in which a person is influenced by determinants in each of the domains of well-being. Determinants can enhance or worsen well-being so that well-being fluctuates across the life course in response to prior and current determinant influences. Identification of factors that influence well-being suggests interventions, policies and programs which can promote the effect of positive influences and mitigate the effects of negative influences. A persons’ well-being at a point in time is assessed by combining subjective and objective indicators for each of the domains that both describe well-being (descriptors) and assess factors influencing well-being (determinants). Some indicators can be used as outcome measures to assess the effectiveness of interventions, policies and programs.

Conceptual Framework for Planning Policy and Programs

The well-being construct described in this paper is then used as a core concept in a conceptual framework designed specifically for the problem of designing policy and programs to support Veterans’ well-being during MCT and the remaining Veteran life course. The three core concepts in the construct are (1) well-being as described in this report, (2) life course from cradle to grave, and (3) the roles of Veterans and their families on the one hand, and the public and private sector on the other hand.

Good well-being is proposed as an ultimate strategic objective for Veterans’ policy and programming and as a measure of successful transition. For example, an overall strategic objective for policy, programs and services could be “that Veterans experience good well-being”. Strategic objectives are suggested for each well-being domain.

Identification of determinants that influence well-being at various stages of life suggests interventions, policies, programs and services that might be required to enhance well-being.

Well-being indicators can be used to segment the population across a range of need hierarchy, ranging from good well-being (most), to potentially precarious (some), to being in crisis (fewest).

An adaptation of the conceptual framework is described for focusing on planning well-being supports in the particularly intense peri-release period of military-civilian transition, that MCT segment just before and after release.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Le bien-être : principe fondamental des politiques, des programmes et de la recherche touchant les vétérans

Sommaire

Citation: Thompson JM, MacLean MB, Roach MB, Banman M, Mabior J, Pedlar D. Charlottetown PE: Research Directorate, Veterans Affairs Canada. A Well-Being Construct for Veterans’ Policy, Programming and Research. Research Directorate Technical Report. 07 September 2016.

Le mandat d’Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC), prévu par la loi, s’étend à l’exécution de lois et de décrets en conseil liés « (i) aux soins, au traitement ou à la réinsertion dans la vie civile de personnes ayant servi soit dans les Forces canadiennes […] » et « (ii) aux soins de leurs survivants ou des personnes à leur charge […] »Footnote 1. Dans ses rapports sur les plans et les priorités, ACC définit le « bien être » comme l’un des résultats stratégiques du Ministère sur le plan de la réinsertion, mais il n’y a aucune définition claire du concept, et l’absence d’une définition communément acceptée de « bien être » a nuit à l’élaboration de politiques et de programmes ainsi qu’à la mesure des résultats de ces derniers.

Le présent document expose le concept de bien être des vétérans qui a vu le jour à ACC au cours des dix dernières années, le fruit d’un processus multidisciplinaire d’établissement de consensus éclairé par des examens de la littérature sur le sujet, par des consultations d’experts en la matière et par les données probantes tirées des Études sur la vie après le service. L’objectif du présent document est d’arrêter un concept de bien être et de l’intégrer à un cadre conceptuel permettant 1) d’élaborer et d’évaluer des politiques, des programmes et des mécanismes de prestation de service et 2) de faire des recherches sur les enjeux liés aux vétérans. Le but est de favoriser le bien être des vétérans canadiens et de leur famille après le service militaire.

Méthodologie

Au cours de l’exercice 2015 2016, ACC a mené des consultations multidisciplinaires internes et a effectué des examens additionnels de la littérature afin de clarifier le concept de bien être. Les travaux ont été guidés par le Cadre conceptuel du bien-être des vétérans de 2013, les constatations découlant des Études sur la vie après le service, un examen de la littérature effectué dans le cadre du programme de recherche Le chemin vers la vie civile, la participation à un groupe d’experts sur la transition de la vie militaire à la vie civile (TMC) à Los Angeles en mars 2016, ainsi qu’une théorie publiée sur la TMC.

Bien être

Un éventail de concepts du bien être a vu le jour au sein de diverses disciplines, notamment la psychologie, la sociologie et l’économie. Certains sont subjectifs (on demande aux gens comment ils vont – p. ex. le bien être psychologique), alors que d’autres sont objectifs (on observe comment les gens vont – p. ex. le revenu). D’autres encore font appel aux deux types.

Le type de concept privilégié pour ACC est celui d’un concept de bien être mesuré subjectivement et objectivement dans sept aspects clés de la vie : l’emploi et les activités importantes, les finances, la santé, la préparation et les aptitudes à la vie quotidienne, l’intégration sociale, le logement et l’environnement physique et l’environnement culturel et social.

Le présent rapport avance une théorie du bien être partant du principe que le bien être est le résultat d’un processus dans le cadre duquel une personne est influencée par des facteurs déterminants dans chacun des domaines du bien être. Les facteurs déterminants peuvent améliorer le bien être ou y nuire, de sorte que le bien être fluctue au cours d’une vie en réponse aux influences antérieures et actuelles sur les facteurs déterminants. La détermination des facteurs qui influencent le bien être laisse entendre que des interventions, des politiques et des programmes peuvent favoriser l’effet des influences positives et atténuer les effets des influences négatives. Le bien être d’une personne à un moment donné est évalué en combinant des indicateurs subjectifs et objectifs de chacun des domaines qui décrivent le bien être (descripteurs) et permettent d’évaluer les facteurs qui ont une influence sur le bien être (facteurs déterminants). Certains indicateurs peuvent être utilisés comme résultats d’évaluation pour déterminer l’efficacité des interventions, des politiques et des programmes.

Cadre conceptuel pour la planification des politiques et des programmes

Le concept de bien être décrit dans le présent document est ensuite utilisé comme principe fondamental d’un cadre conceptuel conçu expressément pour le problème lié à l’élaboration de politiques et de programmes visant à soutenir le bien-être des vétérans durant la TMC ainsi que pour le reste de leurs jours. Les trois principes fondamentaux du concept sont 1) le bien être tel qu’il est décrit dans le présent document, 2) le cours d’une vie du début à la fin, 3) les rôles des vétérans et de leur famille d’une part, et ceux du secteur public et du secteur privé d’autre part.

Le bien être positif est proposé comme objectif stratégique ultime des politiques et des programmes visant les vétérans et comme mesure d’une transition réussie. Par exemple, un objectif stratégique global en matière de politiques, de programmes et de services pourrait être que « les vétérans éprouvent un sentiment de bien être positif ». Par ailleurs, il est proposé que chaque domaine du bien être soit assorti d’objectifs stratégiques.

Le recensement des facteurs déterminants qui influencent le bien être à différents stades de la vie laisse croire qu’il faudra peut être élaborer des interventions, des politiques, des programmes et des services pour améliorer le bien être.

Les indicateurs du bien être peuvent être utilisés pour diviser la population selon une hiérarchie des besoins à trois niveaux : « bien être positif » (la plupart des personnes), « situation potentiellement précaire » (quelques personnes) et « situation de crise » (peu de personnes).

Une adaptation du cadre conceptuel est décrite aux fins de la planification des mesures de soutien du bien être au cours de la période péri-libération de la TMC, c’est à dire la période débutant pendant le service, en préparation de la libération, jusqu’à la période d’adaptation à la vie civile après la libération.

Date de modification :