Language selection

Recipients of the 2021 Veteran Family Well-Being Fund

Meet the organizations that received funding from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund in 2021:

  1. Aftermath Association Corporation
    The Aftermath Association is a registered Canadian charity based in Orleans, ON. The Association will use funding from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund to support “Camp Aftermath - Roto 3,” the first-ever female-only rotation. Camp participants will learn long term management skills for Operational Stress Injuries and PTSD though volunteerism and the development of positive habits.
  2. RESPECT Campaign
    Across Canada, organizations and individuals are committed to helping and providing services and support to military and RCMP veterans dealing with challenges resulting from their service to the nation and the community. With funding from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund, Respect Forum will promote collaboration through networking and knowledge sharing to improve mental health services and reduce homelessness for men and women in uniformed service.
  3. Canadian Alliance to End Homelessness
    The Calgary-based Canadian Alliance to End Homelessness will use funding from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund for its “Built for Zero Canada Project.” This project will expand the Built for Zero in ten communities bringing an end to Veteran homelessness. Built for Zero Canada is currently working with 33 communities in five provinces and one territory.
  4. Canadian Women’s Wellness Initiative
    The Canadian Women’s Wellness Initiative, based in Seabright, NS, will use funding from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund to promote Well-Being. It will offer stress reduction training in the form of the Transcendental Meditation over the next two years. The Canadian Women's Wellness Initiative is working to help all Veterans develop an effective way to manage stress.
  5. Challenge Factory
    With funding from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund (VFWF), the Toronto-based Challenge Factory will develop a series of hiring modules to assist Veterans in finding employment. It will use the Canadian Guide to Hiring Veterans, a VFWF-funded publication that helps small and medium-sized enterprises hire and retain Veterans. The Challenge Factory will evaluate the impact of the Guide and its companion hiring modules and produce findings and recommendations that can inform all transition and job development programs offered to Veterans and employers through VAC, CAF, and other third parties.
  6. Dalhousie University
    Dalhousie University is partnering with the Dallaire Institute for Children, Peace and Security on a project to bring an end to the use of child soldiers. With funding from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund, this research project will be the first of its kind to explore the connections between PTSD and the recruitment and use of children as soldiers. This unique collaboration will offer opportunities to apply this research to multiple fields, including health, security sector reform and child protection. This research will improve our collective understanding of the impact of witnessing child soldiers on military personnel's mental health.
  7. Fondation québécoise des vétérans
    The Foundation Quebecoise des Vétérans is located in Montreal, Que. It funds therapeutic, social and commemorative programs for Veterans. The Foundation plans to extend this support to Veterans’ support programs in Abitibi, Saguenay, Estrie, Ottawa and Quebec City.
  8. Fredericton Homeless Shelters Inc.
    Fredericton Homeless Shelters will use funding from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund to support its “From Crisis to Home” project. They will identify Veterans who are experiencing homelessness in Fredericton and surrounding areas, and provide them with temporary housing and case management services. This includes supports for mental health, addiction, wellness, housing, and furniture.
  9. Helmets to Hardhats Canada
    Helmets to Hardhats Canada, based in Ottawa, ON will use funding from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund to assist Veterans with obtaining careers in the construction and maintenance industries through apprenticeship programs and direct hires with registered employers.
  10. Homes for Heroes Foundation
    Homes to Heroes Foundation, based in Calgary, AB will use funding from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund to hire a national coordinator. The coordinator will oversee the Foundation’s “Operation National Expansion” (ONE) plan to build Veterans’ Villages in Kingston, ON, Winnipeg, Man, Edmonton, AB, and Surrey, BC.
  11. Ksalsuti Wellness Resources
    Ksalsuti Wellness Resources is a Mi’qmaq non-profit organization located in Oromocto, NB. It will partner with the Gagetown Military Family Resource Centre and use funding from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund to develop new programs for Veterans and their families. The “Turtle Island” sessions will support the social and emotional Well-Being of children and their caregivers, while honouring the heritage and culture of their ancestors.
  12. Lawson Health Research Institute
    With funding from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund, the Lawson Health Research Institute in London, ON, will study the roles of personality and resiliency in Veteran mental health. This project will survey approximately 500 treatment-seeking and non-treatment-seeking CAF Veterans. The Institute will share findings with healthcare professionals and policymakers, and use social media and the news media to promote the project.
  13. McMaster University
    McMaster University, located in Hamilton, ON, has developed an intervention strategy for Veterans who have PTSD after experiencing sexual misconduct during service. The Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund will support a study for the “Sensory Motor Arousal Regulation Intervention” (SMART) strategy. This will be offered throughout the network of Operation Stress Injury Clinics using a virtual platform.
  14. Old Brewery Mission
    The Old Brewery Mission is a non-profit organization based in Montréal. Its mandate is to provide various forms of support to combat homelessness. The funding that this organization receives from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund will go towards implementing the “Les Sentinelles dans la communauté” [sentinels in the community] program. The program will develop services to promote self-advocacy and economic self-sufficiency for struggling veterans, reduce homelessness and encourage social reintegration.
  15. Mood Disorders Society of Canada
    Building on the success of its “Chatting to Wellness” (CTW), the Mood Disorders Society of Canada will offer a similar program for Veterans. Funding from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund will allow trained volunteers to answer a dedicated phone line with calls from Veterans and their families. This gives them the opportunity to form a connection to speak freely and be heard. Participants may be selected to receive peer support training.
  16. Saskatchewan First National Veterans Association
    The Saskatchewan First National Veterans Association (SFNVA) will use funding from Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund to create teams of First Nation researchers. These researchers will investigate much needed life-sustaining and gender specific services for all First Nations male and female veteran soldiers, peacekeepers, and volunteers.
  17. Team Rubicon Canada
    Team Rubicon Canada is a community-based organization that unites the skills and experiences of volunteering Veterans to rapidly deploy emergency response teams. The funding they receive from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund will support the delivery of Team Rubicon's “Veteran Pandemic Recovery” project. The program will increase and sustain Team Rubicon's readiness and organizational capacity to effectively respond to disasters within Canada.
  18. The Pepper Pod
    The Pepper Pod is a new retreat for women Veterans located in the Gatineau Hills. Funding from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund will support Transition Lifeshops where women can support each other, network and share skills. This includes women Veterans, soon-to-be Veterans and female spouses.
  19. The Royal Canadian Legion Branch 110
    Located in Trenton, ON, the Royal Canadian Legion Branch #110 will compile a resource book for Veterans. The Veteran Resource Guide will provide useful information for those releasing from the military. This includes information on where to find a doctor, counselling and mental health connections, social outlets and places where Veterans gather. This guide is made possible through funding from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund.
  20. True Patriot Love Foundation
    True Patriot Love Foundation, a national charity based in Toronto, ON, will use funding from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund to create a “Military Creative Arts” framework. Through discussions with partners, there is a growing recognition that creative arts can play an integral role in Veteran rehabilitation and recovery.
  21. University of British Columbia
    “Purpose After Service through Sport” (PASS) is a research project designed and offered though the University of British Columbia. The transition to civilian life can bring challenges for veterans and PASS provides opportunities that foster social connectivity and Well-Being. The program involves participants playing ball hockey, followed by the opportunity to access other support services such as counseling and, career transition information. Using funding from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund, the University plans to expand PASS research across the country.
  22. Vets Canada
    Veteran Emergency Transition Services Canada is a federally registered non-profit charity that works within Canadian communities to identify homeless Veterans, provide them with emergency support, and quickly re-establish the bond that exists between soldiers. Veteran Emergency Transition Services Canada will use the funding received from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund to offer the Guitars for Vets program.
  23. Wounded Warriors
    Wounded Warriors Canada, established in 2006, is the country's leading, independent Veterans’ charity focusing on mental health. Wounded Warriors Canada will implement the “Surviving Spouses” program using funding from the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund. This five-day program provides the opportunity for survivors to explore their traumatic loss and to make meaning of their life without their spouse. This program helps participants recognize the function of emotions and offers evidence-based opportunities to understand and process grief.
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Récipiendaires de financement 2021

Rencontrez les organisations qui ont reçu du financement grâce au Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille en 2021 :

  1. Aftermath Association Corporation
    Aftermath Association est un organisme de bienfaisance canadien enregistré qui est établi à Orléans (Ontario). L’association utilisera le financement provenant du Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille pour soutenir le « Camp Aftermath - Roto 3 », qui accueillera le tout premier groupe composé uniquement de femmes. Les participants y acquerront des compétences en gestion à long terme pour les traumatismes liés au stress opérationnel et l’ESPT au moyen d’activités de bénévolat et de développement d’habitudes positives.
  2. Campagne de Respect
    Partout au Canada, des organismes et des particuliers sont engagés à aider et à fournir des services et du soutien aux vétérans de l’armée et de la GRC qui doivent relever des défis découlant de leur service à la nation et à la communauté. Grâce à ce financement du Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille, le Forum de Respect fera la promotion de la collaboration par le réseautage et le partage de connaissances afin d’améliorer les services de santé mentale et de réduire l’itinérance chez les hommes et les femmes portant l’uniforme.
  3. Alliance canadienne pour mettre fin à l’itinérance
    L’Alliance canadienne pour mettre fin à l’itinérance est un organisme situé à Calgary qui utilisera le financement provenant du Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille pour son projet « Built for Zero Canada ». Ce projet pourra ainsi être déployé dans dix collectivités dans le but de mettre fin à l’itinérance chez les vétérans. Built for Zero Canada a déjà été mis en œuvre au sein de 33 collectivités dans cinq provinces et un territoire.
  4. L’organisme Initiative pour le bien être des femmes canadiennes
    L’Initiative pour le bien-être des femmes canadiennes est un organisme situé à Seabright (Nouvelle Écosse). Il utilisera le financement provenant du Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille pour promouvoir le bien-être en offrant une formation sur la réduction du stress sous forme de programme de méditation transcendantale au cours des deux prochaines années. L’Initiative pour le bien être des femmes canadiennes vise à aider tous les vétérans à développer une façon efficace de gérer le stress.
  5. Challenge Factory
    Grâce au financement du Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille (FBVF), l’organisme Challenge Factory, établi à Toronto, mettra au point une série de modules sur l’embauche pour aider les vétérans à trouver un emploi. Il utilisera le Guide canadien pour l’embauche des vétérans, une publication financée par le FBVF qui aide les petites et moyennes entreprises à recruter et à maintenir en poste des vétérans. L’organisme Challenge Factory évaluera l’incidence du Guide et des modules sur l’embauche et publiera des résultats et des recommandations qui serviront à enrichir tous les programmes de développement de l’emploi et de transition qui sont offerts aux vétérans et aux employeurs par l’intermédiaire d’ACC, des FAC et d’autres tiers.
  6. Université Dalhousie
    L’Université Dalhousie s’associe au Centre d’excellence Dallaire pour la paix et la sécurité dans le cadre d’un projet visant à mettre fin à l’utilisation d’enfants-soldats. Grâce au financement provenant du Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille, ce projet de recherche sera le premier du genre à explorer les liens entre l’ESPT et le recrutement et l’utilisation d’enfants-soldats. Cette collaboration unique offrira des possibilités d’appliquer cette recherche dans de multiples domaines, y compris la santé, la réforme du secteur de la sécurité et la protection des enfants. Cette recherche contribuera à améliorer notre compréhension collective de l’expérience vécue par les militaires qui ont dû faire face à des enfants-soldats et les répercussions sur leur santé mentale.
  7. Fondation québécoise des vétérans
    La Fondation québécoise des vétérans est située à Montréal (Québec). Elle finance des programmes thérapeutiques, sociaux et commémoratifs pour les vétérans. La Fondation envisage d'étendre son soutien à des programmes qui viennent en appui aux vétérans en Abitibi, au Saguenay, en Estrie, à Ottawa et à Québec.
  8. Fredericton Homeless Shelters Inc.
    L’organisme Fredericton Homeless Shelters utilisera le financement provenant du Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille afin d’appuyer son projet « From Crisis to Home ». Ce projet permettra d'identifier les vétérans en situation d’itinérance à Fredericton et dans les régions avoisinantes, et de leur fournir un logement temporaire et des services de gestion de cas. Les services offerts comprennent des mesures de soutien pour la santé mentale, les dépendances, le logement et l’ameublement.
  9. Du régiment aux bâtiments
    L’initiative Du régiment aux bâtiments, établie à Ottawa (Ontario), utilisera le financement provenant du Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille afin d’aider des vétérans à faire carrière dans les secteurs de la construction et de l’entretien au moyen de programmes d’apprentissage et d’embauches effectuées directement par des employeurs inscrits.
  10. Homes for Heroes Foundation
    Homes to Heroes Foundation est un organisme établi à Calgary (Alberta) qui utilisera le financement provenant du Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille afin d’embaucher un coordonnateur national. Cette personne supervisera le plan d’expansion nationale visant à construire des villages de vétérans à Kingston (Ontario), à Winnipeg (Manitoba), à Edmonton (Alberta) et à Surrey (Colombie-Britannique).
  11. Ksalsuti Wellness Resources
    Ksalsuti Wellness Resources est un organisme sans but lucratif mi’qmaq établi à Oromocto (Nouveau Brunswick). L’organisme s’associera au Centre de ressources pour les familles des militaires Gagetown et utilisera le financement provenant du Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille afin d’élaborer de nouveaux programmes à l’intention des vétérans et de leur famille. Les séances « Turtle Island » favoriseront le bien-être social et émotionnel des enfants et de leurs personnes à charge, tout en honorant l’héritage et la culture de leurs ancêtres.
  12. Lawson Health Research Institute
    Grâce au financement provenant du Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille, le Lawson Health Research Institute, établi à London (Ontario), étudiera les rôles que jouent la personnalité et la résilience en ce qui a trait à la santé mentale des vétérans. Ce projet se penchera sur 500 vétérans des FAC qui sont à la recherche d’un traitement ou qui ne cherchent pas de traitement. Les résultats du projet seront partagés avec les professionnels de la santé et les responsables de l’élaboration des politiques, et la promotion du projet se fera dans les médias sociaux et par les médias d’information.
  13. McMaster University
    L’Université McMaster, située à Hamilton (Ontario), a mis au point une stratégie d’intervention à l’intention des vétérans qui sont aux prises avec un ESPT après avoir été exposés à des inconduites sexuelles pendant leur service. Le Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille appuiera la réalisation d’une étude sur la stratégie d’intervention pour la régulation de la stimulation sensori-motrice (Sensory Motor Arousal Regulation Intervention). Cette stratégie sera offerte dans l’ensemble du Réseau de cliniques de traitement des traumatismes liés au stress opérationnel au moyen d’une plateforme virtuelle.
  14. Mission Old Brewery
    La Mission Old Brewery est un organisme à but non lucratif établi à Montréal. Il a pour mandat d'offrir diverses formes de soutien à la lutte contre l'itinérance. Le financement que cet organisme reçoit au titre du Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille servira à mettre en place le programme « Les Sentinelles dans la communauté » vise à mettre en œuvre des mesures et des services afin de favoriser l’autonomie économique et sociale des vétérans en difficulté, de briser la chronicité de l’itinérance et d’encourager la réinsertion sociale.
  15. Société pour les troubles de l’humeur du Canada
    En misant sur le succès de son initiative « Chatting to Wellness », la Société pour les troubles de l’humeur du Canada offrira un programme similaire pour les vétérans. Le financement provenant du Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille servira à former des bénévoles pour répondre aux appels des vétérans et de leur famille. Ce service téléphonique spécial permettra aux vétérans et à leur famille de parler librement et d’être entendus. Les participants peuvent être choisis pour recevoir une formation en soutien par les pairs.
  16. Saskatchewan First National Veterans Association
    La Saskatchewan First Nations Veterans Association (SFNVA) utilisera le financement provenant du Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille pour créer des équipes de chercheurs des Premières Nations. Ces chercheurs se pencheront sur les services essentiels au maintien de la vie et adaptés en fonction du sexe qui sont tant attendus pour tous les hommes et les femmes qui sont des vétérans, des gardiens de la paix et des bénévoles des Premières Nations.
  17. L'équipe Rubicon Canada
    L'équipe Rubicon Canada est un organisme communautaire qui réunit les compétences et les expériences de vétérans bénévoles afin de déployer rapidement des équipes d'intervention d'urgence. Le financement provenant du Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille appuiera la réalisation du projet de « rétablissement de la pandémie pour les vétérans » de l’équipe Rubicon. Le programme permettra d'accroître et de maintenir la capacité de préparation et la capacité organisationnelle de l'équipe Rubicon pour intervenir efficacement en cas de catastrophes au Canada et à l'étranger.
  18. The Pepper Pod
    The Pepper Pod est un nouveau centre de ressourcement pour les femmes vétérans situé dans les collines de Gatineau. Le financement provenant du Fonds pour le bien être des vétérans et de leur famille servira à appuyer la tenue d’ateliers de transition où les femmes peuvent s’entraider, réseauter et mettre en commun des compétences. Le centre s’adresse aux femmes vétérans ou en voie de le devenir et aux conjointes.
  19. La filiale 110 de la Légion royale canadienne
    Située à Trenton (Ontario), la filiale 110 de la Légion royale canadienne publiera un livre de ressources à l’intention des vétérans. Ce guide fournira des renseignements utiles à ceux et celles qui sont libérés des forces militaires, notamment où s’adresser pour consulter un médecin, obtenir du counseling, avoir accès à des services de santé mentale, et trouver des activités sociales et des lieux où les vétérans se réunissent. Ce guide est produit au moyen du financement provenant du Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille.
  20. La fondation La Patrie gravée sur le cœur
    La Fondation La Patrie gravée sur le cœur est une organisation caritative nationale située à Toronto (Ontario). Elle utilisera le financement provenant du Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille pour créer un cadre pour les arts créatifs militaires. À la lumière de discussions avec des partenaires, on reconnaît de plus en plus que les arts créatifs peuvent faire partie intégrante de la réadaptation et du rétablissement des vétérans.
  21. University of British Columbia
    Le projet de recherche « Purpose After Service through Sport (PASS) » a été conçu et est offert par l’intermédiaire de l’Université de la Colombie Britannique. La transition de la vie militaire à la vie civile peut comporter des défis pour les vétérans, et le projet PASS offre des possibilités qui favorisent les liens sociaux et le bien être. Les participants jouent au hockey balle et peuvent ensuite avoir accès à d’autres services de soutien comme du counseling et des renseignements sur la transition de carrière. Grâce au financement provenant du Fonds pour le bien être des vétérans et de leur famille, l’Université souhaite étendre le projet PASS à l’échelle du pays.
  22. Vets Canada
    Veterans Emergency Transition Services Canada est un organisme sans but lucratif enregistré à l'échelle fédérale qui travaille dans les collectivités canadiennes pour identifier les vétérans sans abri, leur offrir une aide d'urgence, et rétablir rapidement le lien qui existe entre les militaires. Veterans Emergency Transition Services Canada utilisera le financement provenant du Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille pour offrir le programme « Guitares pour les vétérans ».
  23. Wounded Warriors
    Établi en 2006, Wounded Warriors Canada est le plus important organisme de bienfaisance indépendant pour les vétérans axé sur la santé mentale au pays. Grâce au financement provenant du Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille, Wounded Warriors Canada mettra en œuvre le programme « Surviving Spouses ». Ce programme offert sur cinq jours donne l’occasion aux survivants d’explorer la perte traumatique qu’ils ont subie et de donner un sens à leur vie sans leur conjoint(e). Il aide les participants à reconnaître la fonction des émotions et offre des possibilités, appuyées par des données probantes, de comprendre et de vivre leur deuil.
Date de modification :