Language selection

Veterans Affairs Canada Ministerial Advisory Groups

Notice of Opportunity

Are you interested in issues relating to Veterans and their families in the areas of policy, service delivery, mental health, care and support, families, transition and commemoration? The Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence is looking for individuals to join his advisory groups and provide advice on these topics.

We are looking for Veterans, Canadians and stakeholders from all regions of the country with diverse knowledge, expertise and experience who want to make a contribution by sharing perspectives and advice on issues relevant to Veterans and their families.

New members will be appointed by the Minister to each of the following advisory groups:

  • Policy Advisory Group: Provides advice on priority issues associated with policy aspects of existing programs and services, as well as new initiatives and emerging priorities.
  • Service Excellence and Transition Advisory Group: Provides advice on priority issues associated with transition from military to civilian life, the service delivery aspects of programs, as well as the services and benefits currently in place that support the health and well-being of Veterans and their families.
  • Mental Health Advisory Group: Provides advice on priority issues related to mental health among Veterans, notably, operational stress injuries (OSI), post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and suicide prevention.
  • Care and Support Advisory Group: Provides advice on priority issues related to the special health needs and continuity of care for Veterans of all ages.
  • Advisory Group on Families: Provides advice on priority issues related to Veterans' families and support systems.
  • Commemoration Advisory Group: Provides advice on priority issues related to the delivery of departmental commemoration activities, commemoration of recent conflicts and education.

Official languages and diversity

Diversity and inclusion are core public service values and are among VAC's key priorities. To foster greater equality, diversity and inclusion, the selection of candidates may prioritize groups that are currently underrepresented. This includes candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: Black and racialized people, gender diverse people, Indigenous peoples, LGBTQ2 people, persons with disabilities and women.

Compensation and tenure

Advisory group members do not receive a salary but will be reimbursed for reasonable and pre-approved expenses related to the work of the advisory groups in accordance with Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Event and Conference Expenditures

Members will serve at the discretion of the Minister and during the tenure of the Minister. Members must be available for meetings to be held approximately four times per year (quarterly) both in person and/or virtual.

Who can apply

Any Canadian, or permanent resident 18 years old and over (as of January 1, 2021), is eligible to apply. Applications from a broad cross-section of people with expertise, leadership, lived-experience and/or interest in Veteran issues will be considered, including:

  • Veterans;
  • Representatives of Veteran organizations, including RCMP Veterans organizations;
  • Non-profit, public and private sector leaders;
  • Academics and educators;
  • Family members and/or caregivers of Veterans; and
  • Youth.

What we are looking for

The following experience factors will be considered during the selection process:

  • Experience as a member of the Canadian Armed Forces or RCMP;
  • Experience in dealing with the Canadian Armed Forces military culture;
  • Experience as a family member of a Veteran or Canadian Armed Forces member;
  • Experience working with Veterans, including RCMP Veterans or current involvement with the Veteran community;
  • Experience working with other Veteran-centric community or volunteer organizations.

In addition to the above, experience in one or more of the following areas will be considered as an asset:

  • General policy making;
  • Delivery of services related to the mandate of the Department in areas such as, but not limited to: mental health; seniors care; health care; rehabilitation; housing and homelessness; transition from military to civilian life; and, military families;
  • Research related to Veterans and/or military families;
  • Communications;
  • Education;
  • Military history.

How to submit your application

Please submit the following via email to engagement@veterans.gc.ca:

  • A completed application form;
  • An up-to-date resume; and
  • A cover letter highlighting your relevant experience (two pages maximum, approximately 1000 words).

If you have any difficulties filling out the application form, please contact us at engagement@veterans.gc.ca

Please note:

Review of applications will begin on 22 July 2021.

Code of Conduct and privacy provisions

To allow for a frank and open discussion and to promote a culture of mutual trust, respect, professionalism, integrity and accountability, members will be required to sign a Terms of Reference that will include a Code of Conduct. Non-compliance with the Code of Conduct may result in dismissal from the advisory group.

Members will have their name posted to the Veterans Affairs Canada website.

Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) takes your privacy seriously. Your personal information is collected in order to identify and select qualified candidates for Ministerial Appointments and is managed based on the Privacy Act. Information will only be shared with Departmental and Ministerial Officials involved in the selection process for the purpose of selecting qualified candidates.

The Privacy Act provides you with a right of access to your personal information, and to request changes to that personal information if it contains errors. If you are unhappy with how we handle your personal information, you can file a complaint with the Privacy Commissioner of Canada at 30 Victoria Street, Gatineau, Quebec, K1A 1H3. Additional information about how VAC handles your personal information can be found in the Standard Personal Information Bank, Members of Boards, Committees and Councils (VAC PSU 919) noted in the Information about Programs and Information Holdings publication on VAC's website.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Places à combler – Groupes consultatifs ministériels d’Anciens Combattants Canada

Avis de possibilité

Les questions touchant les vétérans et leur famille dans les domaines des politiques, de la prestation de services, de la santé mentale, des soins et du soutien, des familles, de la transition et de la commémoration vous intéressent? Le ministre des Anciens Combattants et ministre associé de la Défense nationale est à la recherche de personnes qui souhaitent se joindre à un de ses groupes consultatifs et formuler des conseils relativement à ces questions.

Nous sommes à la recherche de vétérans, de Canadiens et d’intervenants de partout au pays qui possèdent une expertise, une expérience et des connaissances diverses et qui souhaitent apporter leur contribution en faisant part de leurs points de vue et en formulant des conseils relativement à des questions touchant les vétérans et leur famille.

De nouveaux membres seront nommés par le ministre dans chacun des groupes consultatifs suivants :

  • Groupe consultatif sur les politiques : formule des conseils sur des questions prioritaires liées aux aspects stratégiques de programmes et de services existants ainsi que de nouvelles initiatives et priorités.
  • Groupe consultatif sur l’excellence en matière de service et la transition : formule des conseils sur des questions prioritaires liées à la transition de la vie militaire à la vie civile, aux aspects de la prestation de services concernant les programmes, ainsi qu’aux services et aux avantages actuellement offerts qui soutiennent la santé et le bien être des vétérans et de leur famille.
  • Groupe consultatif sur la santé mentale : formule des conseils sur des questions prioritaires liées à la santé mentale des vétérans, notamment les traumatismes liés au stress opérationnel (TSO), l’état de stress post-traumatique (ESPT) et la prévention du suicide.
  • Groupe consultatif sur les soins et le soutien : formule des conseils sur des questions prioritaires liées aux besoins particuliers en matière de santé et à la continuité des soins pour les vétérans de tous âges.
  • Groupe consultatif sur les familles : formule des conseils sur des questions prioritaires liées aux familles des vétérans et aux systèmes de soutien.
  • Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration : formule des conseils sur des questions prioritaires liées à la prestation des activités de commémoration ministérielles, à la commémoration de conflits récents et à l’éducation.

Langues officielles et diversité

La diversité et l’inclusion sont des valeurs fondamentales de la fonction publique et figurent parmi les principales priorités d’ACC. Afin d’accroître l’égalité, la diversité et l’inclusion, lors de la sélection des candidats, la priorité pourrait être accordée aux groupes actuellement sous représentés, c’est à dire aux candidats qui appartiennent à un ou à plusieurs des groupes suivants : personnes noires et racisées, personnes d’identités de genre diverses, Autochtones, personnes LGBTQ2, personnes handicapées et femmes.

Rémunération et mandat

Les membres des groupes consultatifs ne toucheront pas de rémunération, mais les dépenses raisonnables liées à leur travail au sein d’un groupe et approuvées au préalable leur seront remboursées suivant la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil, de conférences et d’événements.

Les membres exerceront leurs fonctions à la discrétion du ministre, pendant la durée du mandat de celui ci. Ils doivent être disponibles pour assister à environ quatre réunions par année (chaque trimestre), lesquelles se tiendront en personne et/ou de façon virtuelle.

Admissibilité

Tous les Canadiens ou résidents permanents âgés de 18 ans ou plus (en date du 1er janvier 2021) peuvent poser leur candidature. Nous recherchons des candidats de différents horizons possédant de l’expertise, du leadership, de l’expérience vécue et/ou un intérêt relativement aux questions touchant les vétérans, notamment :

  • Des vétérans;
  • Des représentants d’organismes intervenants auprès des vétérans, y inclus les organismes des vétérans de la GRC;
  • Des dirigeants d’organismes sans but lucratif ou d’organisation des secteurs public ou privé;
  • Des représentants du milieu universitaire ou d’un corps enseignant;
  • Des membres de la famille de vétérans et/ou dispensateurs de soins aux vétérans; et
  • Des jeunes.

Ce que nous recherchons

Les qualifications suivantes, relatives à l’expérience, seront prises en compte lors du processus de sélection :

  • Expérience à titre de membre des Forces armées canadiennes ou de la GRC;
  • Expérience en lien avec la culture militaire des Forces armées canadiennes;
  • Expérience à titre de membre de la famille d’un vétéran ou d’un membre des Forces armées canadiennes;
  • Expérience de travail en collaboration avec des vétérans, y inclus les vétérans de la GRC ou rôle actif au sein de la communauté des vétérans;
  • Expérience de travail en collaboration avec d’autres organismes communautaires ou bénévoles axés sur les vétérans.

En plus de ce qui précède, l’expérience dans un ou plusieurs des domaines suivants sera considérée comme un atout :

  • Élaboration de politiques générales;
  • Prestation de services liés au mandat du Ministère dans des domaines comme la santé mentale, les soins aux aînés, les soins de santé, la réadaptation, le logement et l’itinérance, la transition de la vie militaire à la vie civile et les familles militaires;
  • Recherche en lien avec les vétérans et/ou les familles militaires;
  • Communications;
  • Enseignement;
  • Histoire militaire.

Pour poser votre candidature

Veuillez faire parvenir les documents qui suivent par courriel à engagement@veterans.gc.ca :

  • Un formulaire de candidature rempli;
  • Un curriculum vitae à jour;
  • Une lettre de présentation décrivant votre expérience pertinente (maximum deux pages, environ 1 000 mots).

Si vous éprouvez des difficultés à remplir le formulaire, veuillez nous contacter à engagement@veterans.gc.ca

Remarque :

L’examen des demandes débutera le 22 juillet 2021.

Dispositions relatives au Code de conduite et à la protection des renseignements personnels

Afin de permettre la tenue de discussions franches et ouvertes et de promouvoir une culture de confiance mutuelle, de respect, de professionnalisme, d’intégrité et de responsabilité, les membres devront signer un mandat comprenant un Code de conduite. Les membres qui ne respectent pas le code pourraient être exclus du groupe consultatif.

Le nom de membres sera affiché sur le site Web d’Anciens Combattants Canada.

Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC) prend très au sérieux la protection de vos renseignements personnels. Ces derniers sont recueillis afin d’identifier et de sélectionner des candidats qualifiés pour des nominations ministérielles et sont gérés conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Les renseignements ne seront communiqués qu’aux fonctionnaires du Ministère et du Cabinet du ministre participant au processus de sélection dans le but de sélectionner des candidats qualifiés.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels vous donne le droit d’accéder à vos renseignements personnels et de demander qu’ils soient modifiés s’ils contiennent des erreurs. Si vous n’êtes pas satisfait de la façon dont nous traitons vos renseignements personnels, vous pouvez déposer une plainte auprès du commissaire à la protection de la vie privée du Canada au 30, rue Victoria, Gatineau (Québec), K1A 1H3. Vous trouverez d’autres renseignements sur la façon dont ACC traite vos renseignements personnels dans le fichier de renseignements personnels ordinaires « Membres de conseils d’administration, de comités et de conseils » (POU 919 d’ACC), dans la page « Renseignements sur les programmes et les fonds de renseignements », sur le site Web d’ACC.

Date de modification :