How we review a disability benefit claim

A completed application for a disability benefit will show that you have a diagnosed medical condition (or disability) and that your condition is related to your service.

Share this article on:

Do we have everything?

A complete application for a disability benefit (form #PEN923AP) will have all the information needed to determine that you have a diagnosed medical condition related to your service. In this first step, we will review your:

  1. Disability benefit application (form #PEN923);
  2. Medical reports or CAF/RCMP health reports;
  3. Medical questionnaire(s);
  4. Your service health records; and if needed one or all of the following,
  5. Your profile (form #VAC1055) including your proof of identify, third-party consent, and direct deposit form (form #VAC441).

Learn more about how to complete an application for a disability benefit.

Who reviews the claim?

Once your application package is complete, it is assigned to an adjudicator.

Every application for a disability benefit is reviewed by an adjudicator – who are specially-trained to review and make decisions on claims for a disability benefit. The adjudicator must base their decision on the evidence they receive. To ensure they review your claim accurately and quickly, it is very important to provide only information that clearly shows that you have a diagnosed medical condition. Your service records will confirm if that diagnosed condition is related to your service.

How is my service covered?

If your service records show that you were serving in a Special Duty Area (SDA) or Special Duty Operation (SDO) when you became ill or were injured, any disability from that service is covered by the Insurance Principle, which provides 24-hour coverage.

If you were serving outside an SDA or SDO, you will be covered through the Compensation Principle, which provides coverage for an illness or injury that occurred while you were on duty.

Assessment tools used to review the claim

If the adjudicator determines that there is clear medical evidence of a chronic or permanent disability, they must then determine:

  1. Your entitlement – is the disability directly or partially-related to service?

    and
  2. Your assessment – what is the severity or extent of the disability and its impact on your quality of life?

To ensure that all decisions are fair and consistent, adjudicators always use the following tools to review your entitlement and assessment:

  • Entitlement Eligibility Guidelines - These policy statements are based on evidence from peer-reviewed medical research and literature both in Canada and abroad. They help to ensure the consistency, equity and quality of decisions made regarding the relationship between your service and your disability.
  • Table of Disabilities - The table is used by an adjudicator to assess the extent of a disability for the purposes of determining disability benefits. Specifically, to assess the level of an impairment and the impact that impairment has on your quality of life.
  • Medical questionnaires - The purpose of a questionnaire is to support your diagnosis and supplement the information found in the Table of Disabilities.

The decision letter

Once the adjudicator reaches a decision on your claim, you will receive a decision letter. The letter will let you know the decision and what evidence the adjudicator used to reach their decision. If they confirmed you have a service-related disability, the letter will also show your entitlement and your assessment.

If you receive an unfavourable decision, the letter will explain the reasons why your claim was not accepted. It will also provide the name and telephone number to call if you wish to discuss this decision further or to identify what evidence your claim requires to be approved. The letter will also explain your appeal rights if you believe the adjudicator has made an error in reviewing your application and supporting evidence.

Additional information

Learn more about how to provide all the components of a complete application for a disability benefit.

How long does it take to be approved for a disability benefit?

We are committed to providing a decision as quickly as possible. To make their decisions, adjudicators must use only the evidence they received. Once adjudicators have received all the information they require - complete and signed form(s), service records, medical reports and questionnaire(s) - they can usually make a decision within 15-41 weeks.

This timeframe will vary depending on several factors such as:

  • the complexity of your condition,
  • the complexity of the medical reports and questionnaires explaining that condition,
  • how long it takes to receive service health records from DND or Library and Archives Canada,
  • the level of detail (or lack of detail) in those service health records, and
  • any challenges in getting other needed evidence to support your claim.

The Wait time tool provides current average wait times for receiving a decision on certain applications.

Date modified:

Comment nous examinons une demande de prestations d’invalidité

Une demande de prestations d’invalidité montrera que vous avez une affection médicale diagnostiquée (ou une invalidité) et qu’elle est liée à votre service.

Partager cet article sur:

Avons-nous tout?

Une demande de prestations d’invalidité (formulaire #PEN923AP) dûment remplie contiendra tous les renseignements nécessaires pour déterminer si vous souffrez d’une affection médicale liée à votre service. Dans cette première étape, nous examinerons :

  1. Votre demande de prestations d’invalidité (formulaire #PEN923);
  2. Vos rapports médicaux ou les rapports sur l’état de santé des FAC ou de la GRC;
  3. Le ou les questionnaires médicaux;
  4. Vos dossiers médicaux relatifs au service et, au besoin, l’un ou l’autre ou tous les éléments suivants :
  5. Votre profil (formulaire #VAC 1055), y compris votre preuve d’identité, le consentement à communiquer avec une tierce partie (formulaire #VAC 928) et le formulaire de dépôt direct (formulaire #VAC 441).

Pour en savoir plus sur la façon de remplir une demande de prestations d’invalidité.

Qui examine la demande?

Une fois que votre dossier de demande est complet, il est assigné à un arbitre.

Chaque demande de prestations d’invalidité est examinée par un arbitre qui a suivi une formation spéciale pour examiner les demandes de prestations d’invalidité et rendre une décision à leur sujet. L’arbitre doit fonder sa décision sur la preuve qu’il reçoit. Pour vous assurer qu’il examine votre demande de prestations efficacement et rapidement, il est très important de ne fournir que des renseignements qui démontrent clairement que vous avez une affection médicale diagnostiquée. Vos dossiers relatifs au service confirmeront si l’affection diagnostiquée est liée à votre service.

Comment mon service est-il couvert?

Si vos dossiers relatifs au service indiquent que vous serviez dans une zone de service spécial (ZSS) ou dans le cadre d’une opération de service spécial (OSS) lorsque vous êtes tombé malade ou avez été blessé, toute invalidité découlant de ce service est couverte par le principe d’assurance, qui prévoit une protection 24 heures sur 24.

Si vous étiez en service à l’extérieur d’une ZSS ou d’une OSS, vous serez couvert en vertu du principe d’indemnisation, qui prévoit une protection pour une maladie ou une blessure survenue pendant que vous étiez en service.

Outils d’évaluation utilisés pour l’examen de la demande

Si l’arbitre détermine qu’il existe des preuves médicales évidentes d’une invalidité chronique ou permanente, il doit alors déterminer :

  1. Votre admissibilité – l’invalidité est-elle directement ou partiellement liée au service?

    et
  2. Votre évaluation – quelle est la gravité ou l’étendue de l’invalidité et son incidence sur votre qualité de vie?

Pour s’assurer que toutes les décisions sont justes et cohérentes, les arbitres utilisent toujours les outils suivants pour examiner votre admissibilité et votre évaluation :

  • Lignes directrices sur l’admissibilité au droit à pension - Ces énoncés de politique sont fondés sur des données probantes provenant de recherches et de publications médicales par des pairs au Canada et à l’étranger. Elles contribuent à assurer l’uniformité, l’équité et la qualité des décisions prises concernant le lien entre votre service et votre invalidité.
  • Table des invalidités - Cette table est utilisée par un arbitre afin d’évaluer l’étendue d’une invalidité pour déterminer l’admissibilité à des prestations d’invalidité. Plus précisément, pour évaluer le niveau d’une déficience et l’incidence de cette déficience sur votre qualité de vie.
  • Questionnaires médicaux - Le but d’un questionnaire est d’appuyer votre diagnostic et de compléter l’information contenue dans la Table des invalidités.

La lettre de décision

Lorsque l’arbitre aura pris une décision à l’égard de votre demande, vous recevrez une lettre de décision. La lettre vous informera de la décision et des preuves que l’arbitre a utilisées pour rendre sa décision. Si l’arbitre confirme que vous avez une invalidité liée au service, la lettre indiquera également votre admissibilité et votre évaluation.

Si vous recevez une décision défavorable, la lettre expliquera les raisons pour lesquelles votre demande n’a pas été acceptée. Vous y trouverez également le nom de la personne à joindre et le numéro de téléphone à composer si vous souhaitez discuter plus en détail de cette décision ou pour déterminer les preuves dont vous avez besoin pour que votre demande soit approuvée. La lettre expliquera également vos droits d’appel si vous croyez que l’arbitre a commis une erreur en examinant votre demande et les preuves à l’appui.

Information supplémentaire

Apprenez-en davantage sur la façon de remplir tous les éléments requis d'une demande de prestations d’invalidité.

Combien de temps faut-il pour obtenir des prestations d’invalidité?

Nous nous engageons à vous communiquer une décision le plus rapidement possible. Pour rendre leur décision, les arbitres ne doivent utiliser que les preuves qu’ils ont reçues. Lorsque les arbitres ont reçu toute l’information dont ils ont besoin - le ou les formulaires dûment remplis et signés, les dossiers relatifs au service, les rapports médicaux et les questionnaires - ils peuvent habituellement prendre une décision dans les 16 semaines.

Ce délai variera en fonction de plusieurs facteurs tels que :

  • la complexité de votre affection;
  • la complexité des rapports médicaux et des questionnaires expliquant cette affection;
  • le temps qu’il faut pour recevoir les dossiers médicaux relatifs au service du MDN ou de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada;
  • le niveau de détail (ou le manque de détail) de ces dossiers médicaux relatifs au service;
  • toute difficulté à obtenir d’autres preuves nécessaires à l’appui de votre demande.

L'outil Temps d’attente fournit les temps d’attente moyens actuels pour recevoir une décision concernant certaines demandes.

Date de modification :