Language selection

From the CAF to bookshelves

Four books written by women Veterans.

Share this article on:

The Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) was one of the first military forces to allow women to work in all trades. Still, women experience service differently. The following books written by women Veterans show what life is like for some women in the CAF.

Girls Need Not Apply: Field Notes from the Forces

Author: Captain (Retired) Kelly S. Thompson

Raised in a military family, Kelly S. Thompson enlisted in the CAF at the age of 18. Her goal? To become a logistics officer like her father and grandfather. Success did not come easy during her eight years of service. In her poignant memoir she chronicles the triumphs and the trauma she endured as a woman in a male-dominated world.


How I Won the War for the Allies: One Sassy Canadian Soldier’s Story

Author: Doris Gregory

In her memoir, Doris Gregory paints a different picture of the Second World War than we know. She details the complexities of combat from her point of view as a Canadian Women's Army Corp member. Doris also writes about challenging gender norms and her daring adventures, all with a sense of humour, honesty and downright sass.


Out Standing in the Field: A Memoir by Canada's First Infantry Female Officer

Author: Major (Retired) Sandra Perron

Sandra Perron's story as Canada's first woman infantry officer is gripping and unapologetic. In her revealing memoir, she opens up about her battle to be an equal to men on and off the field. “There wasn't enough camouflage in the world to hide me in a battalion full of men," she writes. Sandra also explores the topic of harassment and its long-term implications.


The Stone Frigate: The Royal Military College's First Female Cadet Speaks Out

Author: Captain (Retired) Kate Armstrong

Kate Armstrong's book offers insight into life at the Royal Military College in the 1980s. She shares her conflicting feelings about being the first female cadet and her desire to be "one of the boys." Kate's story is one of navigating identity, power and sexism, to which many servicewomen and Veterans can still relate.

Date published: 2020-02-06


Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Des FAC à la librairie

Quatre livres écrits par des femmes vétérans.

Partager cet article sur :

Les Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) ont été l'une des premières forces militaires à permettre aux femmes d'exercer tous les métiers. Pourtant, les femmes vivent le service différemment. Les livres suivants, écrits par des femmes vétérans, illustrent ce qu'est la vie de certaines femmes au sein des FAC.

Girls Need Not Apply: Field Notes from the Forces

Auteure : Capitaine (à la retraite) Kelly S. Thompson

Élevée dans une famille militaire, Kelly S. Thompson s'est enrôlée dans les FAC à l'âge de 18 ans. Son but? Devenir un officier de la logistique comme son père et son grand-père. Le succès ne lui est pas venu facilement au cours de ses huit années de service. Dans ses mémoires très touchants, elle relate les triomphes et les traumatismes qu'elle a subis en tant que femme dans un monde dominé par les hommes.


How I Won the War for the Allies: One Sassy Canadian Soldier's Story

Auteure : Doris Gregory

Dans ses mémoires, Doris Gregory nous brosse un tableau différent de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, exposant en détail les complexités du combat de son point de vue en tant que membre du Service féminin de l'Armée canadienne. Doris nous parle aussi dans son livre des normes difficiles liées au genre et de ses aventures audacieuses, le tout avec humour, honnêteté et impertinence.


Out Standing in the Field: A Memoir by Canada's First Infantry Female Officer

Auteure : Major (à la retraite) Sandra Perron

L'histoire de Sandra Perron en tant que première femme officier d'infanterie du Canada est captivante et franche. Dans ses mémoires révélateurs, elle nous parle de son combat pour être l'égale des hommes sur le terrain et dans la vie. « Aucun camouflage au monde n'aura suffi à me cacher dans un bataillon rempli d'hommes », écrit elle. Sandra aborde également la question du harcèlement et de ses répercussions à long terme.


The Stone Frigate: The Royal Military College's First Female Cadet Speaks Out

Auteure : Capitaine (à la retraite) Kate Armstrong

Le livre de Kate Armstrong donne un aperçu de ce qu'était la vie au Collège militaire royal dans les années 1980. Elle partage ses sentiments mitigés sur le fait d'être la première cadette et son désir d'être « l'un des gars ». L'histoire de Kate en est une d'identité, de pouvoir et de sexisme, à laquelle beaucoup de femmes militaires et de femmes vétérans peuvent s'identifier.

Date de publication : 2020-02-06


Date de modification :