Language selection

Disability Award Increase

Index

Q1: What is the new maximum amount of the tax-free Disability Award?

As of April 1, 2017, the new maximum tax-free Disability Award amount (98% to 100%) is $360,000 (up from the 2017 maximum of $314,723.89). All other Disability Award amounts (1% to 97%) have also been increased proportionally as a percentage of the maximum $360,000 amount.

Q2: How was the new maximum amount for the Disability Award determined?

The new maximum value of $360,000 is comparable to other forms of compensation paid in Canada for pain, suffering and diminished enjoyment that impact a person's quality of life (e.g., Workers Compensation and the Government Employees Compensation Act). The amount is also consistent with recommendations made by the Veterans Ombudsman and the Standing Committee on Veterans Affairs. The new rate further recognizes and compensates serving Canadian Armed Forces members and Veterans for the non-economic impacts of their service-related injuries.

Q3: Is the Death Benefit also increased?

Yes. As of April 1, 2017, the new Death Benefit amount is $360,000 (up from the 2017 maximum of $314,723.89).

Q4: Will anyone who received a Disability Award or Death Benefit prior to April 1, 2017, benefit from the increased rate?

Yes. Anyone who received a Disability Award or Death Benefit prior to April 1, 2017, is eligible to receive an additional, tax-free payment. No application is required for this additional payment. The amount of the one-time lump sum additional payment is the difference between this adjusted amount and the Disability Award and/or Death Benefit amount already paid.

Q5: Will I need to apply?

If you have already received a Disability Award or a Death Benefit, no application is necessary to receive the additional lump sum payment.

Q6: I am eligible for the increase in Disability Award. When should I expect a payment?

Once we have up to date mailing and banking information, you will receive the payment within 3 weeks, either by direct deposit or cheque.

There are some situations where more information or time is needed to process your payment. In these situations, you will receive your payment within 3 weeks from the date you return this information to VAC.

Q7: Do I need to complete a VAC 888 Disability Award Payment Options to receive this additional payment?

No. A VAC 888 is not required to receive this payment. This is a one-time payment with no annual payment options.

Q8: I received a "Verification of address and Banking Information" form. I have verified the information and/or made my changes on My VAC Account, do I still need to upload the form to My VAC Account? My address and payment instructions are the same, do I still need to send the form back to VAC, i.e., Matane?

Yes, if you received a "Verification of address and Banking Information" form in the mail, you must either verify/update and submit this form electronically through MVA or complete and sign the form and if applicable, the Direct Deposit form and return to us in the enclosed envelope provided. Once we receive the completed form and verify the information, you will receive your payment within 3 weeks.

Q9: I had to change banks and did not think to notify VAC of the change as I was not receiving any regular payments. My old account is closed, what will happen to my additional payment?

If a payment went to a bank account that is closed the payment will be rejected at the bank and returned to VAC. VAC will reissue the payment to the correct bank as soon as we have the updated information.

Q10: I changed my bank account yesterday for personal reasons but my other account is still open, what will happen with my additional payment?

If the bank account is still open then the payment that went out this week will be deposited into the account. As the account is still open you will be able to get your payment.

Q11: My spouse and I have separated in the last week and my account with VAC is a joint account but I updated my banking information today. Will my additional payment go to this new account?

If the bank account is still open then the payment that went out the first of this week will be deposited into the account.

Q12: I am a Canadian Armed Forces member/Veteran who has received a Disability Award and have not been contacted yet?

On April 1, 2017, we sent letters to everyone for whom we had current mailing and banking information to let them know they are eligible to receive the additional payment. As well, letters were sent to everyone who we had not been in touch with for more than two years to see if any updates were needed. It is possible that if we did not have your current mailing information, you did not receive a letter. Please confirm your address and banking information in My VAC Account or call 1-866-522-2122 (toll-free) Monday to Friday, 8:30 to 4:30, local time.

Q13: What do I need to do to get my payment as soon as possible?

If you received a Disability Award and are receiving other monthly Veterans Affairs Canada program benefits, or if you received a Disability Award payment within the last two years, you will automatically get a letter confirming the amount of your additional lump sum payment.

If you are a Canadian Armed Forces member/Veteran and received a Disability Award more than two years ago and are not currently receiving other monthly Veterans Affairs Canada program benefits, please update your address and banking information now by calling 1-866-522-2122 or through My VAC account.

Q14: I am a survivor/dependent child who received a Disability Award and/or Death Benefit payment on behalf of a deceased member or Veteran prior to April 1, 2017. Will I benefit from the increased rate?

Yes. As of April 1, 2017, survivors and/or individuals who were dependent children at the time of the Canadian Armed Forces member’s or Veteran’s death who received a Disability Award and/or a Death Benefit on behalf of a deceased member or Veteran are eligible for the additional payment.

Q15: My spouse/common-law partner/parent was a CAF member/Veteran who received a Disability Award, but is now deceased. Am I entitled to the additional payment? How do I apply?

If a Canadian Armed Forces member or Veteran has died since receiving a Disability Award, the additional payment is payable to the Canadian Armed Forces member’s /Veteran’s survivor and/or individuals who were dependent children at the time of the Canadian Armed Forces member’s or Veteran’s death.

However, before you receive an additional payment, we will contact you to declare all beneficiaries (e.g. spouse/common-law partner, natural child, child of spouse/common-law partner, adopted child or child with disability of any age). We will be in contact with you.

Q16: I am an individual who was a dependent child at the time of my parent’s death and I am now 18 years of age or older. Will I receive the additional payment directly?

Yes, if you were a dependent at the time of your parent’s death and your eligibility was already established, you will receive the additional payment directly.

However, before you receive an additional payment, we will contact you as we will need some information. We will be in contact with you.

Q17: I am the mother/father/guardian calling on behalf of an individual who was a dependent child at the time of the Veteran’s/member’s death and she/he is less than 18 years of age. Will I receive the additional payment on their behalf?

If we determined that the dependent child is eligible, yes the additional payment will be paid to the mother/father/guardian “in trust” on behalf of the dependent child.

Q18: How is this one-time lump sum additional payment calculated?

Essentially, the one-time lump sum additional payment is the difference between the adjusted amount(s) from the year you were paid and the Disability Award(s) and/or Death Benefit amount(s) you already received.

To calculate the amount of the one-time lump sum additional payment, VAC takes the new maximum Disability Award and/or Death Benefit amount ($360,000)—that came into effect on April 1, 2017—and adjusts downward by the Consumer Price Index for each year back to 2006. Veterans Affairs Canada then calculates the amount you would have been paid (based on the new adjusted maximum for that year) and subtracts the amount of Disability Award and/or Death Benefit already paid.

Each payment differs depending on when the Disability Award(s) was paid and whether it was one Disability Award or multiple Disability Awards.

Example (hypothetical):

A Veteran received a 20% Disability Award in 2007. At that time, the maximum amount was equal to $255,729.25, so the Veteran was paid $51,145.85 (20% of the maximum amount).

To calculate the amount of the additional payment for this Veteran, VAC would take 20% of the newly adjusted maximum amount for 2007 (20% of $303,925.36 = $60,785.07) and subtract the previous amount the Veteran was paid ($51,145.85). The difference ($9,639.22) is the one-time lump sum additional payment that the Veteran would receive from VAC.

Calculation:

Adjusted 2007 rate (new maximum) $303,925.36 x 20% = $60,785.07
Original 2007 rate previously paid $255,729.25 x 20% = $51,145.85
One-time lump sum additional payment $9,639.22

The table below illustrates the new maximum Disability Award amounts. As of April 1, 2017, those who are entitled to 100% of the Disability Award will receive $360,000, adjusted by the Consumer Price Index for each year between 2017 and 2006 for the purposes of calculating the additional payment.

Year of
Disability Award
Inflationary increase
Maximum Disability Award Amount
Before April 1st, 2017
New Maximum Disability Award
2017 $314,723.89 $360,000.00
2016 $310,378.59 $354,679.80
2015 $306,698.21 $350,128.13
2014 $301,275.26 $343,937.26
2013 $298,587.97 $340,531.94
2012 $293,308.42 $334,510.75
2011 $285,319.47 $325,083.33
2010 $276,079.70 $319,649.29
2009 $267,364.94 $318,375.79
2008 $260,843.84 $310,307.79
2007 $255,729.25 $303,925.36
2006 $250,000.00 $297,674.20
Lump sum increase

Q19: I have an outstanding overpayment with VAC. Will the additional payment be used towards this overpayment?

It depends on each individual’s situation. In some cases, for example, those who have a repayment plan already established of less than two years will receive the additional payment. In other situations, this payment may be used to reduce your overpayment. You will receive a letter explaining how the overpayment will be applied.

Q20: I noticed an amount was deposited into my bank account and I am wondering if it is the additional payment related to the Disability Award increase. It shows up as Government of Canada deposit and not Veterans Affairs Canada.

It is possible the payment may be the additional payment related to the Disability Award increase. To confirm, please call 1-866-522-2122 (toll-free) Monday to Friday, 8:30 to 4:30, local time.

Q21: I received a letter saying that I can expect a payment within two weeks but I never applied for anything. Can you explain?

No application is required for the additional payment related to Disability Award increase. Because you received a Disability Award and we had your up to date information, we were able to calculate the amount of your additional payment and deposit the payment into your bank account/or make the payment by cheque.

Q22: I received a letter saying that I can expect a payment within two weeks, however it is over that period of time now. Who should I contact?

Please call 1-866-522-2122 (toll-free) Monday to Friday, 8:30 to 4:30, local time.

Q23: I am a survivor of a deceased Canadian Armed Forces member or Veteran and received my letter and my mother is getting 50% of the additional payment and my sister and I are only getting 25% each. Why is it not split equally among all three of us?

The division of this additional payment has been made in keeping with the legislation. When there is a survivor and dependent children who qualify to receive the additional payment, the survivor is entitled to 50% of the payment and the other 50% is to be equally divided amongst the dependent children. Based upon this, you and your sister are each entitled to 25% of the total payment.

Survivor only

If there is a survivor and no dependent child, the survivor is entitled to 100% of the additional payment.

Survivor and dependent child(ren)

If there is a survivor and one or more dependent children, the survivor is entitled to 50% of the additional payment, and dependent children are entitled to 50% of the additional payment, divided equally among them;

Dependent child(ren) only

If there are one or more dependent children but no survivor, each of the dependent children is entitled to the amount obtained by dividing the additional payment by the number of those dependent children.

Q24: I have moved since the last time I communicated with VAC. How can I change my address?

If you are a registered user of My VAC Account, you can access your file and update your address as needed. If you are not a registered user of My VAC Account, you can register by going to veterans.gc.ca and accessing My VAC Account.

You can call 1-866-522-2122 to update your address information.

If you wish to submit your changes in writing, please send a letter, ensuring to include your name and signature, file or service number, your old and new addresses, and the effective date to:

Veterans Affairs Canada
PO Box 6000
Matane QC G4W 0E4

Q25: How can I confirm OR update my bank account information?

If you are currently receiving benefits from VAC, and you are currently a registered user of My VAC Account, you can access your file and update your bank account information as needed. If you are not a registered user of My VAC Account, you can register by going to veterans.gc.ca and accessing My VAC Account.

Alternatively, we can send you the form you will need to complete and return to Veterans Affairs Canada. Please contact us at 1-866-522-2122.

Q26: Will the new rates for the Disability Award be indexed?

Yes. On January 1st of each year, VAC will adjust the rates for the Disability Award(s) in accordance with the Consumer Price Index percentage increase.

Q27: I previously chose to have annual payments for my Disability Award instead of a lump sum. Will the additional payment that I receive impact my annual payment?

No. Based upon the legislation, the additional payment can only be paid as a one-time lump sum. As such, you will continue to receive your annual payments as previously calculated with no impact on your existing arrangements.

Q28: Is the additional payment taxable?

No. The additional payment is a tax-free lump sum.

Q29: I am currently receiving a monthly Disability Pension or a Survivor’s Pension and I have never received a Disability Award . Am I eligible for an additional payment? Why am I not included in this change?

If a Veteran has been granted pensioned disabilities only under the Pension Act and has not been awarded a disability award, then this Veteran would not be eligible to receive the additional one-time lump sum payment.

This was to address concerns that the value of the disability award was less when compared with the value of the disability pension over the lifetime of the Veteran. Also, this change makes the disability award more comparable to other forms of compensation paid in Canada for pain and suffering.

Q30: Is there a plan to have the Disability Pension increased in addition to its annual indexing?

No, the maximum Disability Award lump-sum amount was increased so that it is comparable to or greater than similar non-economic compensation amounts payable in Canada under private and public sectors insurance plans, by the Workers’ Compensation Board or as non-pecuniary damages awarded by Canadian courts.

Q31: Prior to May 2012, Disability Pensions were taken into consideration when calculating the Earning Loss Benefit (ELB) amount. Will this additional payment create an overpayment for ELB payment?

No. The additional payment will not be considered income and therefore will not create an ELB overpayment.

Q32: Will individuals who received an ex gratia payment for a sudden service-related death that occurred between May 2005 and April 2006 be eligible to receive the additional payment?

No. The additional payment related to the Budget 2016 Disability Award increase do not apply to ex gratia payments that were paid between May 2005 and April 2006.

Q33: How much will my increase be?

Payment amounts are on a case-by-case basis. You will get a letter confirming the amount of your additional lump sum payment.

Date modified:

Hausse de l’indemnité d’invalidité

Index

Q1 : Quel sera le nouveau montant maximal non imposable de l’indemnité d’invalidité?

À compter du 1er avril 2017, le nouveau montant maximal non imposable de l’indemnité d’invalidité (98 % à 100 %) est de 360 000 $ (comparativement à l’indemnité maximale de 2017 de 314 723,89 $). Tous les autres montants d’indemnité d’invalidité (1 % à 97 %) ont également été haussés de façon proportionnelle à titre de pourcentage du montant maximal de 360 000 $.

Q2 : De quelle façon a-t-on déterminé le nouveau montant maximal d’indemnité d’invalidité?

Le nouveau montant maximal de 360 000 $ est comparable ou supérieur aux montants maximaux d’autres formes semblables d’indemnisations non pécuniaires canadiennes pour la douleur, la souffrance et la perte de jouissance qui ont une incidence sur la qualité de vie d’une personne (p. ex. les montants adjugés par les tribunaux, les indemnités pour accident du travail, les montants versés au titre de la Loi sur l’indemnisation des agents de l’État). Le montant est également conforme aux recommandations soumises par l’ombudsman des vétérans et le Comité permanent des anciens combattants. Cette nouvelle hausse renforce la reconnaissance et la compensation des répercussions non financières des blessures attribuables au service qu’ont subies les membres des FAC et les vétérans.

Q3 : L’indemnité de décès augmentera-t-elle également?

Oui. À compter du 1er avril 2017, le nouveau montant de l’indemnité de décès est de 360 000 $ (comparativement à l’indemnité maximale de 2017 de 314 723,89 $).

Q4 : Les personnes ayant reçu une indemnité d’invalidité ou une indemnité de décès avant le 1er avril 2017 bénéficieront-elles de cette augmentation?

Oui. Toute personne ayant reçu une indemnité d’invalidité ou une indemnité de décès avant le 1er avril 2017 est admissible à un paiement supplémentaire non imposable. Il n’est pas nécessaire de présenter une demande pour recevoir ce paiement supplémentaire. Le montant du paiement supplémentaire forfaitaire ponctuel est la différence entre le montant rajusté et le montant de l’indemnité d’invalidité ou de l’indemnité de décès déjà versé.

Q5 : Faudra-t-il que je présente une demande?

Si vous avez déjà reçu une indemnité d’invalidité, vous n’avez pas à présenter de demande pour recevoir le paiement forfaitaire supplémentaire.

Q6 : Je suis admissible à l’augmentation de l’indemnité d’invalidité, quand recevrai-je un paiement?

Une fois que votre adresse et vos renseignements bancaires sont à jour, vous recevrez le paiement dans un délai de 3 semaines, soit par dépôt direct ou par chèque.

Il y a certaines situations où plus de renseignements ou de temps est requis pour traiter votre paiement. Dans ces situations, vous recevrez votre paiement dans un délai de 3 semaines à compter de la date suivant la réception de cette information à ACC.

Q7 : Dois-je remplir le formulaire VAC 888 Modalités de paiement de l’indemnité d’invalidité afin de recevoir ce paiement supplémentaire?

Non. Il n’est pas nécessaire de remplir ce formulaire pour recevoir le paiement. Il s’agit d’un versement unique ne comportant aucune option de paiement sur une base annuelle.

Q8 : J'ai reçu un formulaire « Vérification de l'adresse et des renseignements bancaires ». J'ai vérifié l'information et/ou fait mes changements sur Mon dossier à ACC, ai-je encore besoin de soumettre le formulaire par voie électronique sur Mon dossier à ACC? Mon adresse et directives sur les versements de fonds sont les mêmes, ai-je encore besoin d'envoyer le formulaire à ACC, i.e., Matane?

Oui, si vous avez reçu un formulaire « Vérification de l'adresse et des renseignements bancaires » par la poste, vous devez soit vérifier/mettre à jour et soumettre ce formulaire par voie électronique par l'entremise de Mon dossier à ACC ou remplir et signer le formulaire et, s'il y a lieu, la formulaire Dépôt Direct et nous le retourner dans l'enveloppe ci-jointe. Une fois que nous aurons reçu le formulaire rempli et vérifier les renseignements, vous recevrez votre paiement dans un délai de trois semaines.

Q9 : J’ai dû changer de banque et je n’ai pas pensé à aviser ACC du changement puisque je ne recevais pas de paiements courants. Mon ancien compte est fermé. Qu’arrivera-t-il à mon paiement supplémentaire?

Si un paiement est déposé dans un compte bancaire fermé, le paiement est refusé à la banque et retourné à Anciens combattants Canada (ACC). ACC déposera le paiement dans le bon compte bancaire dès que nous recevrons vos renseignements bancaires mis à jour.

Q10 : J’ai changé de compte bancaire hier pour des raisons personnelles, mais mon ancien compte est toujours ouvert. Qu’arrivera-t-il à mon paiement supplémentaire?

Si le compte bancaire est toujours ouvert, le paiement effectué cette semaine sera déposé dans ce compte. Étant donné que le compte est toujours ouvert, vous serez en mesure de recevoir votre paiement.

Q11 : Mon épouse et moi nous sommes séparés la semaine dernière. Mon compte bancaire associé à ACC est un compte conjoint, mais j’ai mis à jour mes renseignements bancaires aujourd’hui. Mon paiement supplémentaire sera-t-il déposé dans mon nouveau compte?

Si le compte bancaire est toujours ouvert, le paiement effectué le premier jour de cette semaine sera déposé dans ce compte.

Q12 : Je suis un membre des FAC/vétéran et j’ai reçu une indemnité d’invalidité, mais on ne m’a pas encore contacté.

Le 1er avril 2017, Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC) a envoyé une lettre à toute personne dont il avait l’adresse et les renseignements bancaires pour l’informer qu’elle est admissible à un paiement supplémentaire. Ainsi, des lettres ont été envoyées à tous ceux et celles qui nous n'avions pas été en contact avec de plus de deux ans, pour voir si des mises à jour sont nécessaires. Il est possible que vous n’ayez pas reçu cette lettre si ACC ne disposait pas de votre adresse courante. Veuillez confirmer votre adresse et des renseignements bancaires dans mon dossier à ACC ou composez le 1 866 522-2022 (sans frais) du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h 30 à 16 h 30, heure locale.

Q13 : Que dois-je faire pour recevoir mon paiement aussitôt que possible?

Si vous êtes un membre ou un vétéran des Forces armées canadiennes qui a obtenu une indemnité d’invalidité et que vous touchez des prestations mensuelles au titre des programmes d’Anciens Combattants Canada ou si vous avez touché un paiement d’indemnité d’invalidité au cours des deux dernières années, vous recevrez automatiquement une lettre confirmant le montant de votre paiement forfaitaire supplémentaire.

Si vous êtes un membre ou un vétéran des Forces armées canadiennes et que vous avez reçu une indemnité d’invalidité il y a plus de deux ans et que vous ne touchez pas à l’heure actuelle des prestations mensuelles au titre des programmes d’Anciens Combattants Canada, vous êtes invité à mettre à jour vos coordonnées et vos renseignements bancaires dès maintenant en composant le 1-866-522-2022 ou en ouvrant une session dans Mon dossier ACC pour que vous receviez votre paiement à la mi-avril.

Q14 : Je suis un survivant/enfant à charge ayant reçu une indemnité d’invalidité ou une indemnité de décès au nom d’un militaire ou d’un vétéran décédé avant le 1er avril 2017. Vais-je également bénéficier de l’augmentation de l’indemnité?

Oui. À compter du 1er avril 2017, le survivant et/ou les personnes qui étaient des enfants à charge au moment du décès d’un membre des FAC ou d’un vétéran et qui ont reçu une indemnité d’invalidité ou une indemnité de décès au nom d’un militaire ou vétéran décédé sont admissibles à un paiement supplémentaire.

Q15 : Mon époux/conjoint de fait/parent était un membre des FAC/vétéran qui a reçu une indemnité d’invalidité, mais il est maintenant décédé. Ai-je droit au paiement supplémentaire? Comment présenter une demande?

Si un militaire ou vétéran est décédé après avoir reçu une indemnité d’invalidité, le paiement supplémentaire est payable au survivant et/ou aux personnes qui étaient enfants à charge du membre des FAC ou vétéran au moment de son décès.

Toutefois, avant que vous ne receviez le paiement supplémentaire, nous communiquerons avec vous afin de déclarer l’ensemble des bénéficiaires du membre des FAC/vétéran décédé (p. ex., époux/conjoint de fait, enfant naturel, enfant de l’époux/du conjoint de fait, enfant adopté ou enfant handicapé de tout âge). Nous communiquerons avec vous.

Q16 : J’étais un enfant à charge au moment du décès de mon parent et je suis maintenant âgé de 18 ans ou plus. Me versera-t-on directement le paiement supplémentaire?

Oui, puisque vous étiez une personne à charge au moment du décès de votre parent, votre admissibilité a déjà été établie, et vous recevrez le paiement supplémentaire directement.

Toutefois, avant que vous ne receviez le paiement supplémentaire, nous communiquerons avec vous afin d’obtenir des renseignements.

Q17 : Je suis la mère/le père/le tuteur d’une personne qui était enfant à charge au moment du décès du membre des FAC/vétéran et qui est âgée de moins de 18 ans, et j’appelle aujourd’hui en son nom. Me versera-t-on le paiement supplémentaire en son nom?

Si nous déterminons que l'enfant à charge est admissible, oui le paiement supplémentaire sera versée à la mère/le père/le tuteur « en fiducie » au nom de l'enfant à charge.

Q18 : De quelle façon calcule-t-on le paiement supplémentaire forfaitaire?

Le paiement supplémentaire forfaitaire unique représente essentiellement la différence entre le ou les montants rajustés de l’année à laquelle l’indemnité ou les indemnités d’invalidité vous ont été payées et/ou le ou les montants de l’indemnité de décès qui ont déjà été versés.

Pour calculer le montant du paiement supplémentaire forfaitaire unique, Anciens Combattants Canada prend le nouveau montant maximal de l’indemnité d’invalidité et/ou de l’indemnité de décès (360 000 $) - entré en vigueur le 1er avril 2017 – et le rajuste à la baisse en fonction de l’indice des prix à la consommation pour chaque année depuis 2006. Anciens Combattants Canada calcule ensuite le montant que vous auriez reçu (selon le nouveau montant maximal rajusté pour l’année en question), puis il soustrait le montant de l’indemnité d’invalidité et/ou l’indemnité de décès déjà versé.

Chaque paiement supplémentaire variera en fonction du moment où l’indemnité ou les indemnités d’invalidité ont été payées et s’il s’agissait d’une ou de plusieurs indemnités d’invalidité.

Exemple (hypothétique) :

Un vétéran a reçu une indemnité d’invalidité de 20 % en 2007. En 2007, le paiement maximal de s’élevait à 255 729,25 $. Le vétéran a donc reçu 51 145,85 $ (soit 20 % du montant maximal).

Afin de calculer le paiement supplémentaire auquel a droit ce vétéran, Anciens Combattants prend 20 % du montant maximal rajusté pour 2007 (soit 20 % de 303 925,36 $), puis il soustrait le montant que le vétéran a déjà reçu (51 145,85 $). La différence (9 639,22 $) est le paiement supplémentaire forfaitaire unique que le vétéran recevrait d’ACC.

Calcul :

Montant rajusté de 2007 (nouveau paiement maximal) 303 925,36 $ x 20 % = 60 785,07 $
Montant payé selon le taux de 2007 255 729,25 $ x 20 % = 51 145,85 $
Paiement supplémentaire forfaitaire unique 9 639,22 $

Le tableau ci-dessous illustre les nouveaux montants maximaux de l’indemnité d’invalidité. À partir du 1er avril 2017, les vétérans qui sont admissibles à une indemnité d’invalidité de 100 % recevront 360 000 $, rajusté selon l’indice des prix à la consommation pour chaque année entre 2017 et 2006 aux fins de calcul du paiement supplémentaire.

Année du versement
de l’indemnité
d’invalidité
Hausse d’inflation
Maximum de l’indemnité
d’invalidité avant
le 1er avril 2017
Nouveau montant maximal
de l’indemnité d’invalidité
2017 314 723,89 $ 360 000,00 $
2016 310 378,59 $ 354 679,80 $
2015 306 698,21 $ 350 128,13 $
2014 301 275,26 $ 343 937,26 $
2013 298 587,97 $ 340 531,94 $
2012 293 308,42 $ 334 510,75 $
2011 285 319,47 $ 325 083,33 $
2010 276 079,70 $ 319 649,29 $
2009 267 364,94 $ 318 375,79 $
2008 260 843,84 $ 310 307,79 $
2007 255 729,25 $ 303 925,36 $
2006 250 000,00 $ 297 674,20 $
Hausse du montant forfaitaire

Q19 : J’ai un trop-payé non réglé avec ACC. Utilisera-t-on le paiement supplémentaire pour rembourser ce trop-payé?

Cela est déterminé par les circonstances de chaque individu. Dans certains cas, par exemple, ceux pour qui un plan de remboursement a déjà été établi depuis moins de deux ans recevront le paiement supplémentaire. Dans d’autres circonstances, ce paiement pourra être utilisé afin de réduire le trop-payé. Vous recevrez une lettre expliquant de quelle façon le trop-payé sera appliqué.

Q20 : J’ai remarqué qu’une certaine somme avait été versée dans mon compte bancaire et je me demandais s’il s’agissait du paiement supplémentaire lié à la hausse de l’indemnité d’invalidité. Le versement provient du Gouvernement du Canada, et non d’Anciens Combattants Canada.

Il est possible que le paiement corresponde au paiement supplémentaire lié à la hausse de l’indemnité d’invalidité. Pour confirmer, veuillez composez le 1 866 522-2022 (sans frais) du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h 30 à 16 h 30, heure locale.

Q21 : J’ai reçu une lettre m’expliquant que j’allais recevoir un paiement dans les deux semaines, mais je n’ai rien demandé. Pouvez-vous me donner des précisions?

Aucune demande n’est requise pour bénéficier du paiement supplémentaire lié à la hausse de l’indemnité d’invalidité dans le cadre du budget de 2016. Étant donné que vous avez reçu une indemnité d’invalidité et que nous disposions de vos renseignements à jour, ACC a pu calculer le montant de votre paiement supplémentaire et verser ce paiement dans votre compte bancaire ou par chèque.

Q22 : J’ai reçu une lettre m’expliquant que j’allais recevoir un paiement dans les deux semaines, mais ce délai est maintenant dépassé. Pouvez-vous me donner des précisions?

Pour confirmer, veuillez composez le 1 866 522-2022 (sans frais) du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h 30 à 16 h 30, heure locale.

Q23 : J’ai reçu ma lettre et ma mère touche 50 % du paiement supplémentaire, alors que ma sœur et moi-même n’en touchons que 25 %. Pourquoi le montant n’est-il pas réparti équitablement entre nous?

La répartition de ce paiement supplémentaire a été effectuée conformément à la législation. Lorsqu’un survivant et un enfant à charge sont admissibles au paiement supplémentaire, le survivant a droit à 50 % du paiement, et les 50 % restants sont équitablement répartis entre les enfants à charge. C’est pourquoi votre sœur et vous-même avez chacun droit à 25 % du paiement total.

Survivant seulement

S’il y a un survivant, mais aucun enfant à charge, le paiement supplémentaire est versé en entier au survivant.

Survivant et enfant(s) à charge

S’il y a un survivant et un ou plusieurs enfants à charge, le survivant a droit à 50 % du paiement supplémentaire, et les enfants à charge ont droit aux 50 % restants, répartis équitablement entre eux.

Enfant(s) à charge seulement

S’il y a un ou plusieurs enfants à charge, mais pas de survivant, chaque enfant à charge a droit au montant obtenu en divisant le paiement supplémentaire par le nombre d’enfants à charge.

Q24 : J’ai déménagé depuis la dernière fois où j’ai communiqué avec ACC. Quelle est la marche à suivre pour modifier mon adresse?

Si vous avez un compte Mon dossier ACC, vous pouvez accéder à votre dossier et y mettre à jour votre adresse au besoin. Si vous n’avez pas de compte Mon dossier ACC, vous pouvez vous inscrire en vous rendant sur le site veterans.gc.ca et en cliquant sur Mon dossier ACC.

Vous pouvez également appeler au 1-866-522-2022 pour mettre à jour vos coordonnées.

Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos changements par écrit, veuillez envoyer une lettre contenant votre nom et votre signature, votre numéro de matricule ou de dossier, vos adresses (l’ancienne et la nouvelle), ainsi que la date d’entrée en vigueur du changement à :

Anciens Combattants Canada
C. P. 6000
Matane (Québec) G4W 0E4

Q25 : Quelle est la marche à suivre pour confirmer OU mettre à jour les renseignements relatifs à mon compte bancaire?

Si vous recevez actuellement des avantages d’ACC et que vous avez un compte Mon dossier ACC, vous pouvez accéder à votre dossier et y mettre à jour les renseignements relatifs à votre compte bancaire, au besoin. Si vous n’avez pas de compte Mon dossier ACC, vous pouvez vous inscrire en vous rendant sur le site veterans.gc.ca et en cliquant sur Mon dossier ACC.

Si vous le souhaitez, nous pouvons aussi vous faire parvenir le formulaire approprié, que vous devrez remplir et retourner à ACC. Communiquez avec nous en composant le 1-866-522-2022.

Q26 : Les nouveaux taux pour l’indemnité d’invalidité ou l’invalidité de décès seront-ils indexés?

Oui. Le 1er janvier de chaque année, ACC rajustera les taux de l’indemnité d’invalidité et de l’invalidité de décès en fonction de l’augmentation en pourcentage de l’indice des prix à la consommation.

Q27 : J’ai précédemment opté pour des paiements annuels d’indemnité d’invalidité au lieu d’un versement forfaitaire. Le paiement supplémentaire que je recevrai aura-t-il une incidence sur mon paiement annuel?

Non. Selon la législation en vigueur, le paiement supplémentaire ne peut être versé que sous forme de montant forfaitaire. Pour cette raison, vous continuerez de recevoir vos paiements annuels comme ils ont déjà été calculés, sans qu’il n’y ait d’effet sur votre entente en vigueur.

Q28 : Le paiement supplémentaire est-il imposable?

Non. Le paiement supplémentaire est une somme forfaitaire non imposable.

Q29 : Je reçois actuellement une pension d’invalidité ou de survivant et je n’ai jamais touché une indemnité d’invalidité. Suis-je admissible à un paiement supplémentaire? Pourquoi ne suis-je pas visé par ce changement?

S'il a été établi qu'un vétéran est atteint d'invalidités ouvrant droit à pension uniquement en vertu de la Loi sur les pensions et qu'il n'a pas reçu une indemnité d'invalidité, alors ce vétéran ne serait pas admissible à recevoir le paiement forfaitaire unique additionnel.

Cette mesure a pour but d'éviter que la valeur de l'indemnité d'invalidité soit moins élevée que la valeur de la pension d'invalidité au cours de la durée de vie du vétéran. De plus, ce changement fait en sorte que l'indemnité d'invalidité se compare davantage aux autres formes d'indemnisation qui sont payées au Canada pour la douleur et la souffrance.

Q30 : Prévoit-on augmenter la pension d’invalidité, ainsi que son indexation annuelle?

Non. Le montant maximal du paiement forfaitaire de l’indemnité d’invalidité a été haussé afin qu’il soit comparable ou supérieur aux autres formes semblables d’indemnisations non pécuniaires payées au Canada au titre des régimes d'assurance des secteurs privé et public, de la Commission des accidents du travail, ou encore aux dommages-intérêts non pécuniaires adjugés par les tribunaux canadiens.

Q31 : Avant mai 2012, on tenait compte des pensions d’invalidité pour calculer le montant de l’allocation pour perte de revenus (APR). Le paiement supplémentaire entraînera-t-il un trop-payé d’APR?

Non. Le paiement supplémentaire ne sera pas considéré comme un revenu et n’entraînera donc aucun trop-payé d’APR.

Q32 : Les personnes ayant reçu des paiements à titre gracieux pour cause de décès subit lié au service et survenu entre mai 2005 et avril 2006 toucheront-elles un paiement supplémentaire?

Non. Le paiement supplémentaire relatif à la hausse de l’indemnité d’invalidité et de l’indemnité de décès annoncée dans le Budget de 2016 ne s’applique pas aux paiements versés à titre gracieux entre mai 2005 et avril 2006.

Q33 : Quel sera le montant de mon augmentation?

Les montants des paiements seront déterminés en fonction de chaque cas. Vous recevrez, d’ici la mi-avril, une lettre qui confirmera le montant de votre paiement supplémentaire.

Date de modification :