Language selection

Gulf War Stage 2

The Coalition offensive begins

After Iraq refused to withdraw, the Coalition forces began a massive air campaign. Our CF-18 jets launched Canada's first air-to-surface attacks since the Korean War.

15 January 1991 – 3 March 1991


Gulf War

Operation Desert Storm

The United Nations deadline for Iraq to withdraw passed on 15 January 1991. In response, Coalition forces launched one of the largest air campaigns in history. This phase of the conflict was codenamed Operation Desert Storm. The Coalition forces targeted Iraqi aircraft, communications, weapons facilities and infrastructure.

To try to destabilize the Coalition countries, Iraq launched scud missiles at Israel. The missiles killed hundreds of people and caused major damage. Iraq also launched missiles at Saudi Arabia, Bahrain and Qatar. However, these attacks did not cause the conflict to spread and the Coalition remained united.

An air force weapons technician helps load a CF-18 warplane. December 16, 1990. Photo: Department of National Defence ISC90-5040

Canadian air operations during Desert Storm

Canada's biggest contributions during Operation Desert Storm came in the air. CF 18 jet squadrons and 500 personnel operated out of the “Canada Dry” bases in Qatar. As the conflict intensified, Canadian jets bombed Iraqi land and sea targets. It was the first time since the Korean War that Canadian air-to-surface attacks took place.

Canadian naval efforts during Desert Storm

The role of Canadian warships changed to a logistical role when the fighting began. They coordinated ship movements for the Coalition fleet. HMCS Terra Nova and HMCS Athabaskan also protected some Coalition ships that were farther away from the fighting. HMCS Athabaskan took part in a tense mission to aid the USS Princeton. Damaged by Iraqi mines off the coast of Kuwait, our sailors helped in the rescue of the American ship. HMCS Protecteur transported supplies and refueled other vessels as well.

HMCS Athabaskan returns from escorting the cruiser USS Princeton in the northern Persian Gulf. February 1991. Photo: Department of National Defence

Ground combat

On 24 February 1991, Coalition forces began an intense ground combat campaign. It resulted in a lot of destruction, with most of the casualties coming from the Iraqi forces. Iraq put up a short fight as Coalition forces rapidly pushed them from Kuwait and back into Iraqi territory. As the Iraqis retreated, they set hundreds of Kuwaiti oil wells on fire.

First Canadian field hospital

Canada built a field hospital in Al Qaysumah, Saudi Arabia, near the Kuwait border in late February 1991. Its 530 personnel cared for both Coalition and Iraqi wounded. The fighting soon ended and the hospital stopped operating shortly thereafter.

General view of the No. 1 Canadian Field Hospital in Al Qaisumah, Saudi Arabia. February 11, 1991. Photo: Department of National Defence REC92-1558

Coalition forces triumph

Coalition forces overwhelmed the Iraqi forces during Operation Desert Storm. One hundred hours after ground combat began, American President George H. W. Bush declared a ceasefire on 28 February 1991. The Coalition had liberated Kuwait.

The Coalition had defeated Iraq, but Saddam Hussein retained power. He controlled Iraq for more than 12 years until the second Gulf War swept him from power in 2003.

Post-war efforts

After the war was over, Canadian warships patrolled the region with Coalition vessels. CAF members also worked with a special commission to try to find Iraq's biological, chemical and nuclear weapons production facilities. Canada also enforced sanctions on Iraq, assisted in diplomatic efforts, helped rebuild, and removed mines.

HMCS Winnipeg during a sunset in the Arabian Gulf while enforcing UN sanctions against Iraq in the aftermath of the Gulf War. May 19, 2001. Photo: Department of National Defence ISD01-4148

Sacrifice

Theatres of war, like the Persian Gulf in the early 1990s, are dangerous places. There are many risks that go beyond the obvious ones of enemy attack or landmines. No Canadians lost their lives during the Gulf War, but the stressful conditions took a toll on the physical and mental health of some of those who served there. Chronic fatigue, respiratory complaints and muscular pain have been a harsh reality for them.

Canadians have long been an important part of international military efforts around the globe. The Canadians who served in conflicts like the Gulf War have accomplished much. They have also made great sacrifices in the protection of peace and freedom worldwide.


Classroom materials

Classroom materials main page

Lesson plan: 5-11

P.S. Thank you!

Lesson plan: Ages 12-18

Dear friend in the Gulf War

historical sheet

Gulf War

Open PDF
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Guerre du Golfe phase 2

L'offensive de la coalition commence

Après le refus de l'Irak de se retirer, les forces de la coalition lancent une campagne aérienne massive. Nos chasseurs CF-18 lancent les premières attaques air-sol du Canada depuis la guerre de Corée.

Du 15 janvier 1991 au 3 mars 1991


Guerre du Golfe

Opération Desert Storm

La date butoir fixée par les Nations Unies pour le retrait de l'Iraq est dépassée le 15 janvier 1991. En réaction, les forces de la coalition ont lancé l'une des plus grandes campagnes aériennes de l'histoire. Cette phase du conflit a été baptisée « Opération Desert Storm ». Les forces de la coalition ont pris pour cible les aéronefs, les communications, les installations d'armement et l'infrastructure iraquiens.

Pour tenter de déstabiliser les pays de la coalition, l'Iraq a lancé des missiles Scud sur Israël. Les missiles ont tué des centaines de personnes et causé des dégâts importants. L'Iraq a également lancé des missiles sur l'Arabie saoudite, Bahreïn et le Qatar. La coalition est toutefois restée unie et ces attaques n'ont pas provoqué l'escalade des combats.

Un technicien d’armement des forces aériennes charge un aéronef CF-18. 16 décembre 1990. Photo : Ministère de la Défense nationale ISC90-5040

Opérations aériennes canadiennes pendant l'opération Desert Storm

Les plus importantes contributions du Canada pendant l'opération Desert Storm ont été apportées dans les airs. Les escadrons de CF 18 et 500 militaires effectuaient leurs opérations à partir des bases « Canada Dry » au Qatar. À mesure que le conflit s'intensifiait, les avions à réaction canadiens ont bombardé les cibles terrestres et maritimes iraquiennes. C'était la première fois depuis la guerre de Corée que des attaques air sol canadiennes avaient lieu.

Efforts navals canadiens pendant l'opération Desert Storm

Le rôle des navires de combat canadiens s'est transformé en rôle logistique lorsque les combats ont commencé. Ils ont coordonné les mouvements des navires de la flotte de la coalition. Le NCSM Terra Nova et le NCSM Athabaskan ont également protégé certains navires de la coalition qui étaient plus loin des combats. Le NCSM Athabaskan a pris part à une mission tendue pour aider le USS Princeton. Nos marins ont participé au sauvetage du navire américain endommagé par des mines iraquiennes au large des cotes du Koweït. Pendant ce temps, le NCSM Protecteur transportait des provisions et ravitaillait d'autres navires.

Le NCSM Athabaskan au retour d’une mission d’escorte du croiseur USS Princeton dans le nord du golfe Persique. Février 1991. Photo: Ministère de la Défense nationale

Combat terrestre

Le 24 février 1991, les forces de la coalition ont lancé une intense campagne de combat terrestre. Elle a entraîné de nombreuses destructions, la plupart des victimes venant des forces iraquiennes. L'Iraq a livré un combat de courte durée, les forces de la coalition les ayant rapidement repoussés du Koweït pour les ramener en territoire iraquien. Alors que les Iraquiens battaient en retraite, ils ont mis le feu à des centaines de puits de pétrole koweïtiens.

Premier hôpital de campagne canadien

Le Canada a construit un hôpital de campagne à Al Qaysumah, en Arabie saoudite, près de la frontière du Koweït, à la fin de février 1991. Ses 530 membres du personnel ont soigné à la fois les blessés de la coalition et les Iraquiens blessés. Les combats ont bientôt pris fin et l'hôpital a cessé ses activités peu après.

Vue d'ensemble de l’Hôpital de campagne du Canada nº1 à Al Qaisumah (Arabie Saoudite). Le 11 février 1991. Photo : Ministère de la Défense nationale REC92-1558

Triomphe des forces de la coalition

Les forces de la coalition ont submergé les forces iraquiennes pendant l'opération Desert Storm. Cent heures après le début des combats terrestres, le président américain George H. W. Bush a déclaré un cessez le feu le 28 février 1991. La coalition avait libéré le Koweït.

La coalition avait vaincu l'Iraq, mais Saddam Hussein a conservé le pouvoir. Il a contrôlé l'Iraq pendant plus de 12 ans jusqu'à ce que la deuxième guerre du Golfe lui enlève le pouvoir en 2003.

Efforts d'après-guerre

Une fois la guerre terminée, des navires de guerre canadiens ont patrouillé dans la région avec des navires de la coalition. Les membres des FAC ont également travaillé avec une commission spéciale pour essayer de trouver les installations de production d'armes biologiques, chimiques et nucléaires de l'Iraq. Le Canada a également appliqué des sanctions contre l'Iraq, aidé dans les efforts diplomatiques ainsi qu'aidé à la reconstruction et au déminage.

Le NCSM Winnipeg au coucher du soleil dans le golfe Persique pendant l'application des sanctions des Nations Unies contre l’Iraq suite à la guerre du golfe Persique. Le 19 mai 2001. Photo : Ministère de la Défense nationale ISD01-4148

Sacrifice

Les théâtres de guerre, tel le golfe Persique au début des années 1990, sont des endroits dangereux. Il existe de nombreux risques qui vont au delà des risques évidents d'une attaque ennemie ou de mines terrestres. Les conditions stressantes ont nui à la santé physique et mentale de ceux qui y ont servi. Aucun Canadien n'a perdu la vie pendant la guerre du Golfe, mais de graves problèmes de santé ont frappé certains vétérans. La fatigue chronique, les troubles respiratoires et les douleurs musculaires ont été une dure réalité pour eux.

Les Canadiens jouent depuis longtemps un rôle important dans les efforts militaires internationaux partout dans le monde. Les Canadiens qui ont servi dans des conflits comme la guerre du Golfe ont accompli beaucoup de choses. Ils ont également consenti de durs sacrifices pour protéger la paix et la liberté dans le monde entier.

Feuillet historique

Guerre du Golfe

Ouvrir PDF
Date de modification :