Language selection

Introducing the Gulf War

Aim

To increase youth awareness and understanding of the 1990-1991 Gulf War.

Objectives

Through this activity, youth will:

  • develop a basic understanding of the 1990-1991 Gulf War;
  • learn how Canadian service members helped people of Kuwait during and after the war; and
  • recognize and appreciate the challenges of Canadians who served during the Gulf War.

Target audience

This activity is suitable for ages 5-8

Sequence of events and anticipated time frame [variable]

(This activity can be modified to fit available time)

  • Introduction Discussion (10 minutes)
  • Gulf War Word search (20 minutes)
  • Gulf War Colouring page (20 minutes)
  • Conclusion (10 minutes)

Materials

Discussion [10 minutes]

Before you begin your lesson, you may wish to read the Canadian Armed Forces and the Gulf War Historical Sheet to use as background information about the war. Introduce your students to the 1990-1991 Gulf War, and provide them with a basic understanding about the war.

Using a world map, show where Canada is, where your province and city are located, as well as the Persian Gulf, and the countries Iraq and Kuwait.

Describe to your students how the country of Kuwait was being “bullied” by another country, Iraq, because Iraq felt as if Kuwait should be part of their country. On 2 August 1990, Iraqi soldiers invaded Kuwait. However, an organization that represents countries around the world, named the United Nations, did not agree with Iraq’s decision to invade Kuwait and approved to send military troops from different countries, including Canada, to defend Kuwait.

You may wish to read aloud the Treats from home story to your students to help further their comprehension of the war.

Gulf War Word search [20 minutes]

Provide each student with a copy of the Gulf War word search sheet. Help students find several words that touch on the Gulf War and the Canadians in uniform who participated in the war. Words can be found left to right or up and down.

Gulf War Colouring page [20 minutes]

Provide students with a copy of the Gulf War colouring page to help think of all Canadians who served during the 1990-1991 Gulf War, where our air force, army, navy and support personnel had an important role to play.

Conclusion [10 minutes]

Lead a discussion with the class about the 1990-1991 Gulf War. Ask your students what important words they learned during the activity. You may want to display the colouring sheets in the class or the hallway.

 

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Introduction à la guerre du Golfe

But

Accroître, chez les jeunes, la sensibilisation et la compréhension relativement à la guerre du Golfe de 1990-1991.

Objectifs

Grâce à cette activité, les jeunes :

  • comprendront mieux la guerre du Golfe de 1990-1991;
  • apprendront comment les militaires canadiens ont aidé les Koweïtiens pendant et après la guerre;
  • reconnaîtront et apprécieront les défis qu’on dû relever les Canadiennes et Canadiens qui ont servi pendant la guerre du Golfe

Public cible

L’activité convient aux jeunes de 5 à 8 ans.

Séquence et durée prévue de l'activité [variable]

(L’activité peut être modifiée en fonction du temps disponible.)

  • Discussion d’introduction (10 minutes)
  • Mots croisés sur la guerre du Golfe (20 minutes)
  • Feuille à colorier de la guerre du Golfe (20 minutes)
  • Conclusion (10 minutes)

Matériel

Discussion d'introduction [10 minutes]

Avant de commencer votre leçon, vous pouvez lire le feuillet intitulé La participation des Forces armées canadiennes à la guerre du golfe Persique, que vous pouvez utiliser comme information de base sur la guerre. Présentez à vos élèves la guerre du Golfe de 1990-1991 et expliquez les détails de base de cette guerre.

À l’aide d’une carte du monde, indiquez où se trouve le Canada, votre province et votre ville, ainsi que le golfe Persique, l’Iraq et le Koweït.

Décrivez à vos élèves la manière dont le Koweït a été « intimidé » par un autre pays, l’Iraq, parce que l’Iraq avait le sentiment que le Koweït devait faire partie de son pays. Le 2 août 1990, des soldats iraquiens ont envahi le Koweït. Cependant, une organisation qui représente les pays du monde entier, appelée les Nations Unies, n’était pas d’accord avec la décision de l’Iraq d’envahir le Koweït et a approuvé l’envoi de troupes militaires de différents pays, dont le Canada, pour défendre le Koweït.

Vous pouvez lire à haute voix le récit intitulé Des colis de par chez nous! à vos élèves pour les aider à mieux comprendre la guerre.

Mots croisés sur la guerre du Golfe [20 minutes]

Remettez à chaque élève une copie de la feuille de Mots croisés sur la guerre du Golfe. Aidez les élèves à trouver plusieurs mots qui évoquent la guerre du Golfe et les Canadiens en uniforme qui ont participé à la guerre. Les mots peuvent être trouvés de gauche à droite ou de haut en bas.

Feuille à colorier de la guerre du Golfe [20 minutes]

Remettez aux élèves une copie de la Feuille à colorier de la guerre du Golfe pour les aider à penser à tous les Canadiens qui ont servi pendant la guerre du Golfe de 1990‑1991, dans le cadre de laquelle nos forces aériennes, terrestres et maritimes et notre personnel de soutien ont eu un rôle important à jouer.

Conclusion [10 minutes]

Animez une discussion avec la classe sur la guerre du Golfe de 1990-1991. Demandez à vos élèves quels mots importants ils ont appris pendant l’activité. Vous pouvez afficher les feuilles à colorier dans la classe ou dans le couloir.

 

Date de modification :